Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This list of resources for librarians provides ideas for the development of user-centered services.

• PDF

Keywords: Client characteristics, Library services, Relationships

Annotation: This set of papers discuss library user behaviors, information needs and information seeking practices, with a focus on how people engage with technology and get their information for both personal and academic situations, as well as the importance of engaging and relationship building in providing successful and effective services.

• Link

Keywords: Client characteristics, Library services, Relationships

Annotation: This guide is a toolkit for hospital librarians in the Southeastern/Atlantic region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. It includes resources, methods, and tools related to professional development, social media for libraries (including mobile app reviews), marketing and promotion, skills sets for librarians, electronic health records, policy development. disaster planning, statistics, training programs, and evidence based practices. The information included in this guide comes from a summit of hospital librarians held in Baltimore, Maryland in early 2010.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, Pittsburgh, PA Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/mar/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Hospitals, Information services, Library services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This guide explains how libraries can use social media to enhance the services provided by their libraries. It describes how libraries can use tools such as Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, and Linked-In to create and promote resources and services and to enhance the patron's library experience. The guide includes practical advice on choosing, using, and monitoring tools effectively. It explains how to obtain administrative and staff buy-in and how to write a social media policy. It discusses the concept of social capital; recommends strategies for achieving social media success; and suggests methods for evaluating social media services. Best practices and additional resources are provided.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $40.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8389-1067-2.

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Guidelines, Information sources, Internet, Library services, Model programs, Social media, Standards, Technology

Annotation: This report states the view of the MLA concerning the role of health science librarians in providing evidence based health care and in designing, developing, and managing information systems that support quality patient care. The report discusses partnership opportunities for librarians and the role of librarians in ensuring patient safety.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health science libraries, Librarians, Library services, Patient care, Quality assurance, Safety programs

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward medical librarians, provides background knowledge about health care technology to help clarify librarians' role as it relates to health informatics. The book's primary objective is to introduce health informatics and to describe the medical environment and culture in which health informatics professionals work. Topics include major areas of health informatics, the organization of medical knowledge, the electronic health record, healthcare information management systems, medical imaging, ethical and legal issues, and bioinformatics and genomic medicine.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55570-627-2.

Keywords: Health care, Information systems, Librarians, Library services

Annotation: This document presents the basic knowledge that all persons graduating from an ALA-accredited master's program in library and information studies need to possess. Topics include foundations of the profession, information resources, organization of recorded knowledge and information, technological knowledge and skills, reference and user services, research, continuing education and lifelong learning, and administration and management.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administration, Continuing education, Information services, Information sources, Librarians, Library services, Management, Professional education, Technology

Annotation: This book discusses health science reference and information sources in various formats. The book is organized into three sections which cover the organization and management of the reference collection, bibliographic sources, and information sources. Topics covered are bibliographic sources for monographs and periodicals; indexing, abstracting, and digital database resources; U.S. government documents and technical reports; and conferences, reviews and translations. Information is also given for the following sources: terminology, handbooks, manuals, drug information, consumer health, medical and health statistics, directories and biographical sources, history, and grants. Specific sources are cited, and evaluated. The sources covered are in print, electronic, audiovisual, and multimedia formats. Appendices include a health sciences reference collections survey, frequently occurring health statistics terms, and a vital and health statistic series. An index is provided.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN (13) 978-1-55570-636-4; ISBN (10) 1-55570-636-3.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Libraries, Library services, Reference materials, Reference services

Annotation: This book's purpose is to provide solid grounding about library Web site design and testing for beginners and to introduce experienced library Web site designers to to new techniques. The book is divided into 17 chapters. Chapter 1 introduces usability assessment and its application to library Web sites. Chapters 2-8 discuss the primary assessment techniques: heuristic evaluations, surveys of library users and and others in the target population the library is meant to serve, focus group interviews, card sorting to analyze how library Web site information should be grouped, paper prototyping of Web pages, developing and conducting usability testing, and Web server logs analysis. Chapters 9-11 focus on general usability testing issues, including attracting users for testing, low cost usability recording, and communicating usability results effectively. Chapters 12-17 present usability case studies in several types of libraries. The book also includes a bibliiography that lists sources for additional information. An index is included, as well.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9781555706203.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Evaluation, Libraries, Library services, Technology, Testing, World Wide Web

Annotation: This paper examines large-scale initiatives to identify issues that influence the availability and usability, over time, of the digital books that these projects create. The paper describes four key large-scale projects and their digitization strategies and discusses issues such as quality of image capture to commitment and viability of archiving institutions and their willingness to collaborate. Recommendations are included as well as an appendix including a survey of preservation implications.

Contact: Council on Library and Information Resources, 1755 Massachusetts Avenue, N. W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036-2124, Telephone: (202) 939-4750 Fax: (202) 939-4765 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clir.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Libraries, Library services

Annotation: This final report describes a project to create services and materials to meet the changing needs of the maternal and child health community by providing access to information through a national information and education resource library. Part one reports on accomplishments from the period of January 2002 to December 2004. Part two is a progress report for 2004. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: Final reports, Information services, Library services, MCH services

Annotation: This manual establishes the boundaries for the permanent collection of the National Library of Medicine, defining the range of subjects to be acquired and the extent of the library's collecting effort within these subjects. Sections on bioinformatics, molecular biology, plant science, toxicology, and biological sciences describe an increased emphasis on fundamental biological research in fields of biomedicine. New or revised statements on health services research, bioethics, public health, disaster management, biotechnology, medical humanities, biophysics, bioengineering, biomedical imaging, and neuroscience reflect increasingly interdisciplinary and collaborative areas of research and practice in health. The manual also elaborates on the National Library of Medicine's collecting policy for many print and non-print formats and literature types, such as journals, electronic resources, audiovisuals, digital images, and datasets. The electronic document is available in both html and printable .pdf versions and features several navigational aids, including a document-specific search engine

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Library collection development, Library services, Manuals, National Library of Medicine

Annotation: The kit, which is geared for health science librarians, contains a series of cards, each presenting a promotional problem to be solved, tools that can be used to solve the problem, and a reality-based example of how the problem was solved. The initial package includes the box and the first four cards of the ongoing series. Additions to the series are mailed with issues of the Journal of the Medical Library Association. Information contained on the cards will also be available on MLANET.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Library services, Problem solving

Annotation: This DVD presents a symposium held at the National Library of Medicine in Rockville, MD on November 5-6, 2003, on the need for brick and mortar libraries and documented current practices in the planning, management, construction, and renovation of health sciences library facilities. Topics include the role of the library in the 21 century; library reinvention and the coexistence of computers and books; what will new physical and virtual information hubs look like; changes in teaching, learning, and technology and how are library services and spaces affected; and models already in existence and lessons learned. Contents of the DVD include searchable video of 35 symposium presentations, "thumbnails" of speakers presentations and slides, poster sessions with explanations by presenters, biographies of all presenters and additional interviews with several speakers, and Web links to symposium resources and related Web sites.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Conferences, DVDs, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Library services, Planning, Trends

Annotation: This guide aids librarians in designing a systematic method in evaluating how the library Web site is performing for its customers. The first three chapters provide background information in the foundations of usability testing, Web design guidelines, and getting input from partners. Chapters 4 and 5 discuss the process of preparing and evaluating the usability test based on desired goals and objectives and analyzing the outcomes. Chapter 6 presents an example of how the usability process is performed in a hypothetical library. The book concludes with suggested readings and an index.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $32.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-3511-7.

Keywords: Assessment, Evaluation methods, Internet, Libraries, Library services, Measures

Annotation: This book is designed for librarians and their patrons and is divided into four chapters. Chapter one includes descriptions of 20 important bibliographic sources that make up a ready reference shelf on the history of the health sciences for the frontline public services librarian. Chapters two and three include descriptions of 150 primary sources and 120 secondary sources in the history of the health sciences. Chapter 4 includes Web links to sites related to the history of the health sciences. A 3-1/2 inch diskette is also included.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $27.00, includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, History, Library services, Medicine, Reference materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book is designed to help libraries effectively help remote users, who pose special challenges and who are becoming an increasingly large proportion of library users. The book is divided into the following chapters: (1) reaching out -- the library's new role, (2) getting to know remote users, (3) presenting the virtual library, (4) providing electronic reference services, (5) maximizing current awareness and document delivery services, (6) providing library instruction to remote users, (7) integrating library resources into online instructions, (8) supporting the remote user of licensed resources, and (9) fundraising and public relations in an electronic environment. An index concludes the book.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55570-436-0.

Keywords: Educational materials, Information networks, Information services, Internet, Library services, Outreach, Service delivery, World Wide Web

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This long range plan covers these goals: (1) organize health-related information and provide access to it; (2) promote use of health information by health professionals and the public; (3) strengthen the informatics infrastructure for biomedicine and health; and (4) conduct and support informatics research.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This guide for health information outreach programs presents a programmatic and goal-oriented approach to outreach, in which activities are directed toward the accomplishment of goals and objectives. The six stages described in this manual show how the various phases of evaluation are integrated into the whole process of planning and implementing outreach activities. The six stages covered are: 1) conducting a community assessment; 2) developing goals and objectives; 3) planning activities and strategies; 4) planning evaluation; 5) gathering data and assessing results; and 6) utilizing and reporting results. Extensive flow charts, charts, and tables illustrate the topics. The appendices are arranged by process stage and include sample surveys, questions, formats, theories, and a bibliography. The guide concludes with an index.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Pacific Northwest Region, University of Washington, Health Sciences Bldg, Rm T227, 1949 NE Pacific Avenue, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155, Telephone: (206) 543-8262 Secondary Telephone: (800) 338-7657* Fax: (206) 543-2469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nnlm.gov/pnr Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Evaluation methods, Goals, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Manuals, National Library of Medicine, Needs assessment, Outreach, Program planning, Questionnaires, Surveys