Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This article from Grantmakers In Health (GIH) describes a collaborative effort by funders to address gaps in postpartum care following the extension of Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months after birth. The piece discusses how a workgroup of funders—including Pritzker Children's Initiative, Merck for Mothers, and Community Health Acceleration Partnership—formed in 2023 to identify opportunities for improving postpartum care systems. The article includes a visual diagram that illustrates the multi-layered challenges in postpartum care on three levels: individual, community, and system. This concentric circle diagram shows how issues such as standards of care, access to quality care, care fragmentation, and policy misalignment (at the system level) interact with community-level challenges like administrative burden and workforce shortages, as well as individual-level factors including awareness of needs, social and economic barriers, and fear of medical debt. Through stakeholder interviews, the workgroup discovered significant fragmentation of services and the absence of comprehensive care standards beyond the traditional six-week postpartum period. In response, the funders issued a request for proposals aimed at creating a centralized hub to catalog and connect postpartum care initiatives, with the goal of developing comprehensive standards and addressing what they term the "postpartum cliff."

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Barriers, Collaboration, Funding, Health care reform, Library collection development, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, Requests for proposals, Service delivery systems, Standards

Annotation: This manual establishes the boundaries for the permanent collection of the National Library of Medicine, defining the range of subjects to be acquired and the extent of the library's collecting effort within these subjects. Sections on bioinformatics, molecular biology, plant science, toxicology, and biological sciences describe an increased emphasis on fundamental biological research in fields of biomedicine. New or revised statements on health services research, bioethics, public health, disaster management, biotechnology, medical humanities, biophysics, bioengineering, biomedical imaging, and neuroscience reflect increasingly interdisciplinary and collaborative areas of research and practice in health. The manual also elaborates on the National Library of Medicine's collecting policy for many print and non-print formats and literature types, such as journals, electronic resources, audiovisuals, digital images, and datasets. The electronic document is available in both html and printable .pdf versions and features several navigational aids, including a document-specific search engine

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Library collection development, Library services, Manuals, National Library of Medicine

Annotation: This report identifies and synthesizes existing practices used in developing collections of free third-party Internet resources that support higher education and research. It outlines the similarities and differences between print and free Web resources and describes how the nature and complexity of free Web resources comply with or challenge traditional library practices and services pertaining to analog collections. The report contains 10 sections including topics on selection criteria, access, data management, multilinguality, user support, human resources, financial issues, staff training, future directions, and references.

Contact: Council on Library and Information Resources, 1755 Massachusetts Avenue, N. W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036-2124, Telephone: (202) 939-4750 Fax: (202) 939-4765 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clir.org $20.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-887334-83-1.

• PDF

Keywords: Design, Internet, Libraries, Library collection development, Model programs, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report reviews existing selection practices in Digital Library Federation member libraries; identifies selection policies and best practices where they exist; and discusses the long-term implications of the opportunities and constraints that shape digital-conversion programs. The first section discusses defining a sustainable strategy for full-scale digitization of libraries. Section two reviews the criteria for identification, evaluation, and selection of materials to be digitized. The third section outlines the institutional impacts of digitizing a collection. Sections four and five include conclusions, recommendations, and references.

Contact: Council on Library and Information Resources, 1755 Massachusetts Avenue, N. W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036-2124, Telephone: (202) 939-4750 Fax: (202) 939-4765 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clir.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-887334-87-4.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Design, Electronic publications, Evaluation, Libraries, Library collection development, Model programs, World Wide Web

Annotation: This long range plan covers these goals: (1) organize health-related information and provide access to it; (2) promote use of health information by health professionals and the public; (3) strengthen the informatics infrastructure for biomedicine and health; and (4) conduct and support informatics research.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This book offers the Library of Congress support and guidance on how the library can fulfill its role of serving Congress in the digital age and document and preserv the history of American creativity in building a collection with truly worldwide scope. Topics include cooperation among libraries, the rise of electronic format documents, cost issues, a brief history of the Library of Congress and its service to Congress and the nation, the building and organizing of print and digital collections, and management issues and information technology infrastructure of the Library of Congress. Book chapters include: (1) digital revolution, library evolution, (2) the Library of Congress: from Jefferson to the twenty-first century, (3) building digital collections, (4) preserving a digital heritage, (5) organizing intellectual access to digital information: from cataloging to metadata, (6) the Library of Congress and the world beyond its walls, (7) management issues, and (8) information technology structure. A bibliography is provided. The book includes four appendices, which contain biographies of committee members, a list of briefers at the plenary meeting and site visits, a list of letters received, and a list of acronyms.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-07144-5.

• Link

Keywords: Cataloging, Computers, Data, Information, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library of Congress, Library services, Management, Online systems

Annotation: This book is intended for professional librarians who are responsible for collection development, particularly in health sciences libraries. Chapters cover various aspects of collection development, including policies, selection of books and journals, and selection of electronic resources. The book offers information about materials selection in special settings, such as reference, audiovisual, consumer health, rare book, and history of medicine collections. In addition, chapters cover budgeting, collection assessment, cooperative collection development, preservation, and research questions in collection development. Appendices contain examples of collection development policies. Also included are a bibliography, glossary, and index.

Contact: Scarecrow Press, 4501 Forbes Blvd., Suite 200, Lanham, MD 20706, Telephone: (301) 459-3366 Secondary Telephone: (800) 462-6420 Fax: (301) 429-5748 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scarecrowpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8108-3201-1.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management

Annotation: This book describes how to plan and manage the operations of a health sciences library. It covers the role of biomedical journals in the dissemination of medical information and the role of the library in providing access to them; indexing and abstracting services; using MEDLINE and other electronic bibliographic networks; the tasks associated with developing the collection, acquiring and cataloging materials, and computerizing biomedical information; reference services and sources, and the general working environments of health sciences librarians.

Contact: Greenwood Publishing Group, Customer Service Department, 130 Cremona Drive , Santa Barbara, CA 93117, Telephone: (805) 968-1911 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-313-29761-4.

Keywords: Cataloging, Health sciences libraries, Information networks, Information systems, Library collection development, Library services, Management, Reference services

Annotation: This book discusses the future for collection management, the influence of technology, selection of materials in an electronic environment, collection evaluation, document delivery, resource preservation, organization and budgeting, cooperative management and development, and recent literature on the subject. It is intended to be a resource for practicing librarians or a textbook, and includes extensive references.

Contact: Greenwood Publishing Group, Customer Service Department, 130 Cremona Drive , Santa Barbara, CA 93117, Telephone: (805) 968-1911 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.greenwood.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-313-29953-6.

Keywords: Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Planning, Program evaluation

Annotation: This book provides information and guidance on developing and managing information resources and services for nurses in a variety of settings, including clinical units and centers, laboratories and learning resource centers, and nursing libraries in hospitals, colleges, and universities. It provides resources to answer frequent and recurring queries from nurses and nursing school librarians and provides an overview of issues and practical advice relating to the development, management, and provision of information services. Chapters include information on administration; information and educational services; collection development and evaluation; cataloging and processing; special collections; preservation; learning resource centers, computer laboratories, and clinical simulation laboratories; and a review of the programs and services of the National Library of Medicine. An index concludes the book.

Contact: NLN Press, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 40 Tall Pine Drive, Sudbury, MA 01776, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbpub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88737-729-7.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Laboratories, Libraries, Library collection development, Nurses, Nursing education, Reference materials, Resource centers, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This manual helps the librarian to write a document that describes the library's collection development policies and goals. It serves in public relations with external departments and in coordinating planning, allocation, budgeting, administration and training within the library.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433 ext. 5036 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-3455-2.

Keywords: Administrative policy, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Planning

Annotation: These papers deal with various aspects of collection development in a time of tight budgets, cultural diversity in staff and clients, need to compete for resources, and ever more expensive yet important technology. Sections cover administration, financing, and the impact of new technologies.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433 ext. 5036 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-3447-1.

Keywords: Computers, Copyright, Financing, Information systems, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Planning, Program evaluation

Annotation: This manual provides principles and methods for evaluating a library's effectiveness. It guides the librarian to stating the library's purpose and goals, then using various evaluation methods to determine how effectively each aspect of the library services contributes to the plan.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433 ext. 5036 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8389-3370-x.

Keywords: Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Program evaluation