Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This policy statement expresses the vision of the Medical Library Association (MLA) of research as a foundation for excellence in health information practice, for new and expanded roles for health sciences librarians, and for attracting excellent people to the profession. It also affirms the association's commitment to collaborate with other organizations to increase support for health sciences librarians' research activities. This policy does not include a laundry list of research topics, but seeks to provide an intellectual basis and rationale for the role of research in support of professional practice. The future role of health sciences librarians, the role that current health sciences librarians must play in achieving those, and the role of MLA in this are described. A proposed action plan outlines future directions for MLA under the headings education, research, support, funding, recognition, and measurement.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Medical Library Association, Research

Annotation: This resource describes core competencies in the areas of information and knowledge services; systems and technology; resources; information and data retrieval and analysis; organization of data, information, and knowledge assets; and information ethics. It also lists enabling competencies and summarizes the task force competencies. Additional resources on using the competencies are available to members.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Guidelines, Special libraries, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This report calls for libraries to join together with schools and community organizations to establish a system of family engagement that extends throughout a child’s life, supports children and families, and prepares children for success. The report defines family engagement and explains why families matter for children's healthy development and positive feelings toward learning, why libraries matter for family engagement, and ways libraries can encourage family engagement. Examples are included.

Contact: Global Family Research Project™, Third Sector New England, 89 South Street, Boston, MA 02111, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.GlobalFRP.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child development, Community action, Families, Learning, Literacy, Participation, Public libraries, Systems development

Annotation: This booklet states the requirements for accreditation of a Master's degree program in library and information studies by the American Library Association.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Contact Phone: (800) 545-2433, ext. 7 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accreditation, Libraries, Standards

Annotation: This book is a collection of papers on the following: two surveys of special collections and archives, (1) one by the Association of Research Libraries and (2) one in the United Kingdom and Ireland; (3) archival collections assessment; (4) getting around barriers to the implementation of the standard Encoded Archival Description (EAD); (5) EAD tag analysis in ArchiveGrid and implications for discovery systems; (6) metadata as the interface for better description for better discovery of archives and special collections; (7) the use of digital cameras in the reading room; and (8) streamlined sharing of special collections;

• Link

Keywords: Archives, Case studies, Collection development, Libraries, Special collections

Annotation: This webinar series focuses on efforts to integrate museums and libraries into statewide early childhood systems. Contents include presentations (in .pdf) and recordings on the following topics: tools and methodologies for leveraging strategic connections to local library systems, state government, and early learning organizations and standards; how museums and libraries can be learning resource centers for young children and their families and caregivers; the scope, roles, and functions of state early learning and development systems; and ways to strengthen and work with museums and libraries in intentionally supporting the growth and development of young children and their families and caregivers. State-specific examples from Washington are included.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Integrated information systems, Learning disabilities, Libraries, Public health, Public private partnerships, Service delivery systems, State programs, Statewide planning, Washington, Young children

Annotation: This book discusses search engine optimization (SEO), including what it is, why it is important, how to improve your library's SEO efforts, how Internet search engine indexing works, targeting your audience, Google Scholar and institutional repositories, and measuring success.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $65,00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1555709068.

Keywords: Design, Digital libraries, Information management, Libraries, Technology, Web sites, World Wide Web

Annotation: This guide is a toolkit for hospital librarians in the Southeastern/Atlantic region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. It includes resources, methods, and tools related to professional development, social media for libraries (including mobile app reviews), marketing and promotion, skills sets for librarians, electronic health records, policy development. disaster planning, statistics, training programs, and evidence based practices. The information included in this guide comes from a summit of hospital librarians held in Baltimore, Maryland in early 2010.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, Pittsburgh, PA Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/mar/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Hospitals, Information services, Library services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report states the view of the MLA concerning the role of health science librarians in providing evidence based health care and in designing, developing, and managing information systems that support quality patient care. The report discusses partnership opportunities for librarians and the role of librarians in ensuring patient safety.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health science libraries, Librarians, Library services, Patient care, Quality assurance, Safety programs

Annotation: This book discusses health science reference and information sources in various formats. The book is organized into three sections which cover the organization and management of the reference collection, bibliographic sources, and information sources. Topics covered are bibliographic sources for monographs and periodicals; indexing, abstracting, and digital database resources; U.S. government documents and technical reports; and conferences, reviews and translations. Information is also given for the following sources: terminology, handbooks, manuals, drug information, consumer health, medical and health statistics, directories and biographical sources, history, and grants. Specific sources are cited, and evaluated. The sources covered are in print, electronic, audiovisual, and multimedia formats. Appendices include a health sciences reference collections survey, frequently occurring health statistics terms, and a vital and health statistic series. An index is provided.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN (13) 978-1-55570-636-4; ISBN (10) 1-55570-636-3.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information sources, Libraries, Library services, Reference materials, Reference services

Annotation: This book's purpose is to provide solid grounding about library Web site design and testing for beginners and to introduce experienced library Web site designers to to new techniques. The book is divided into 17 chapters. Chapter 1 introduces usability assessment and its application to library Web sites. Chapters 2-8 discuss the primary assessment techniques: heuristic evaluations, surveys of library users and and others in the target population the library is meant to serve, focus group interviews, card sorting to analyze how library Web site information should be grouped, paper prototyping of Web pages, developing and conducting usability testing, and Web server logs analysis. Chapters 9-11 focus on general usability testing issues, including attracting users for testing, low cost usability recording, and communicating usability results effectively. Chapters 12-17 present usability case studies in several types of libraries. The book also includes a bibliiography that lists sources for additional information. An index is included, as well.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 9781555706203.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Evaluation, Libraries, Library services, Technology, Testing, World Wide Web

Annotation: This report, which focuses on the issue of bibliographic control, is intended for use by the library community, policymakers, and decision-makers. The repot sets forth recommendations, including (1) increasing the efficiency of bibliographic production, (2) transferring effort into high-value activity, (3) positioning technology for the future by recognizing that the Internet is both a technology platform and the appropriate platform for delivering library standards, (4) positioning the library community for the future by facilitating the incorporation of evaluative and other user-supplied information into resource descriptions, and (5) strengthening the library profession through education and the development of measurements that will inform decision-making.

Contact: Library of Congress, Government Documents Section, 101 Independence Avenue at First Street, S.E., Washington, DC 20540, Telephone: (202) 707-5000 Fax: (202) 707-0380 E-mail: http://www.loc.gov/rr/aslalib/ Web Site: http://www.loc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Education, Information services, Librarians, Libraries, Public policy, Resource materials, Trends, World Wide Web

Annotation: This paper examines large-scale initiatives to identify issues that influence the availability and usability, over time, of the digital books that these projects create. The paper describes four key large-scale projects and their digitization strategies and discusses issues such as quality of image capture to commitment and viability of archiving institutions and their willingness to collaborate. Recommendations are included as well as an appendix including a survey of preservation implications.

Contact: Council on Library and Information Resources, 1755 Massachusetts Avenue, N. W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036-2124, Telephone: (202) 939-4750 Fax: (202) 939-4765 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clir.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Libraries, Library services

Annotation: This booklet discusses the application of the copyright law on health sciences libraries. It describes pertinent sections of the law, the library's responsibilities within the institution, infringement and permissions. It also gives guidelines for service. Appendices include the text of relevant documents, including guidelines for the use of videotapes and software.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ $15.00, nonmembers; $10.00, members.

• PDF

Keywords: Copyright, Health sciences libraries

Annotation: This report focuses on a study that explored the social networking attitudes and habits of users and librarians. The reports explored the following main areas: (1) user practices and preferences on their favorite social spaces; (2) the origins of social networking; (3) user attitudes about privace and trust online; (4) librarian online habits and attitudes vs. the habits and attitudes of the general public; and (5) attitudes about combining the benefits of social spaces with the offerings of libraries. The report also discusses in-depth interviews with information services professionals to gain insight into social networking, trust, and privacy online. Report highlights and conclusions are offered. The report includes six appendices: (1) college students' use of Internet services; (2) glossary, (3) people consulted, (4) readings and other sources, (5) about OCLC, and (6) comparative timeline.

Contact: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, OH 43017-3395, Telephone: (614) 764-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 848-5878 Fax: (614) 764-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oclc.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-55653-370-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Consumers, Librarians, Libraries, Social behavior, Trust, World Wide Web

Annotation: This guide explains assessment techniques and uses step-by-step instructions on how to perform evaluation studies. It is divided into three parts. Part one examines related management theory, defines the attributes of an ideal library and how to develop a culture of assessment, and what should be measured and what various measurements mean. Part two details five core methods of assessment and their application, followed by an overview of other quality improvement and evaluation systems. Part three provides tools for carrying out any type of study and effectively communicating the results; describes techniques such as surveys, focus groups, observation, interviews, sampling, and questionnaire design; and discusses ways to analyze and present data. The accompanying CD-ROM contains resources such as workbooks, supporting materials, a glossary, and an extensive list of recommended readings. An index is provided in the book.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-5570604-3.

Keywords: Assessment, Benchmarking, Data analysis, Evaluation methods, Libraries, Manuals, Measures, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This policy statement developed by the Medical Library Association (MLA) lists and describes the seven professional competency areas needed by health sciences librarians. The statement discusses the importance of placing health sciences librarianship within the appropriate context; personal attributes that contribute to success; the importance of continuing education and lifelong learning; and the knowledge and skills that health science librarians need. It includes an executive summary and recommended actions that individuals, organizations, and educational institutions can take to promote professional development and lifelong learning among health sciences librarians.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Competency based education, Guidelines, Health sciences libraries, Policy, Professional education, Standards

Annotation: This report details information submitted for the Health Information Awards for Libraries initiative to identify the best work that American libraries are doing in providing information to citizens. Program descriptions of the top ten finalists are provided with details provided for the award winner, South Carolina's REACH 2010 - The Charleston and Georgetown Diabetes Coalition's Library Partnership. The report also provides information on the initiative, a summary of the forum held May 3, 2006, the forum agenda, contact information for state award winners, a list of forum participants, and background information on award criteria and trends and issues. Finally, a list of the committee members is included.

• Link

Keywords: Awards, Community programs, Health education, Information services, Libraries, Model programs

Annotation: This report presents information from the Scholarship and Libraries in Transition: A Dialogue About the Impact of Mass Digitization Projects symposium held on May 10-11, 2006, in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The report introduces the topic and discusses issues in digitization for information policy such as copyright, quality, roles and priorities for libraries, ownership and preservation, business models, and information literacy. Conclusions are offered.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Information dissemination, Information services, Libraries, Public policy

Annotation: This report provides readers with a sequenced view of how the information consumer finds, uses, evaluates, and favors information resources, including physical and online libraries. The findings, which are based on responses to an online survey, are presented in five parts that are organized to categorize information consumer actions, attitudes, and brand values. Part 1 revies consumers' familiaritywith and use of libraries and information, as well as the information sources most frequently selected. Part 2 reports on how libraries are used and how newer information sources are impacting behavior. Part 3 looks at library brand determinants such as positive and negative attributes, trust, price, and lifestye fit. Part 4 provides unedited consumer views and advice about libraries' services, resources, and facilities. Part 5 looks at consumer differences across geographic regions. A conclusion summarizes findings, and appendices offer supporting data tables and sample verbatim responses to the survey.

Contact: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 6565 Kilgour Place, Dublin, OH 43017-3395, Telephone: (614) 764-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 848-5878 Fax: (614) 764-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.oclc.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-55653-364-0.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Information, Information services, Information sources, Libraries