Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of nine and twelve learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: This activity booklet is designed to help children between the ages of six and eight learn about healthy vision. It includes a variety of games and activities to help children learn about eye disease, eye safety, and first aid for eye injuries.

Contact: National Eye Institute, , 31 Center Drive, MSC 2510, Bethesda, MD 20892-2510, Telephone: (301) 496-5248 Fax: (301) 402-1065 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nei.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational materials, Eye care, Learning activities, Materials for children, Vision

Annotation: These guidelines contain a set of standards to advance the quality and safety of early care and education environments. It is a companion to Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards -- Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 3rd edition. Included are new and updated standards on on safe sleep, handling and feeding of human milk, introducing solid foods to infants, monitoring children's development, unimmunized children, preventing expulsions, and availability of drinking water. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Children with special health care needs, Facilities, Health promotion, Learning activities, Management, Nutrition, Out of home care, Personnel, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials , Standards

Annotation: The Provider and Staff Survey (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-provider-and-staff-survey.pdf>) and the Tiny Teeth Baseline and Followup Surveys (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-patient-engagement-tiny-teeth-baseline-and-follow-up-surveys.pdf >) are intended for use with medical providers and staff at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration, part of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net, as well as for parents or caregivers of CHC participants. The survey for providers and staff is to be administered after they have participated in the Brush, Book, Bed patient-engagement activity, to assess their perspective on the activity. The Tiny Teeth baseline and follow-up surveys are to be completed by parents or caregivers as part of the activity. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Regional programs, Community health centers, Infant health, Learning activities, Oral health, Surveys, Young children

Annotation: This guide presents activity-based oral health lessons and resources for kindergarten and first grade classroom teachers. The lessons are designed to be integrated into curricula. Each lesson includes a summary, a learning goal, guidelines for how to prepare the lesson, and ideas for how students can share what they learned with their family. Resources such as a video, storybook, and wall chart are included.

Contact: Colgate Bright Smiles, Bright Futures™, 300 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (800) 468-6502 Secondary Telephone: (212) 310-2000 Web Site: https://www.colgate.com/en-us/mission/oral-health-commitment/bsbf Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Learning activities, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School-age children

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Federal aid, Federal grants, Federal programs, Learning activities, Prevention programs, School age children, School linked programs

Annotation: This guide describes the process of action learning, which supports learning with and from peers in a team, or “set.” It provides guidance for leaders who want to apply the action learning process to organizational problem solving. Contents include sample questions and agendas for leaders and their teams. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National MCH Workforce Development Center, University of North Carolina Gillings School of Global Public Health, Department of Maternal and Child Health, Campus Box 7445, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7445, Telephone: (919) 966-6290 Fax: (919) 966-0458 Web Site: http://mchwdc.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Leadership, Learning activities, Organizational change, Problem solving, Program improvement, Teamwork

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to give parents and other caregivers tips on oral hygiene and oral health care for children and youth with special health care needs. Topics include selecting and adapting a toothbrush, addressing challenges, providing good nutrition, encouraging safety, and going to the dentist. Contents also include information sheets for specific conditions, state and national organizations, and service information.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Family support services, Learning activities, Oral health, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This guide contains 13 activities for infants and young children from birth through age four to acquaint them with their mouth, how to care for their teeth, learn to like healthy foods, and encourage them to keep their smiles safe. Each of the lessons includes information on the purpose of the activity, the time required to do the activity, the supplies needed, step by step directions, related resources such as books, suggestions for reinforcing the ideas, as well as information for parents.

Contact: South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control, Division of Oral Health, 2600 Bull Street, Columbia, SC 29201, Telephone: (803) 898-3432 Web Site: https://www.scdhec.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Learning activities, Materials for children, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This final report provides information about the I am Moving, I am Learning (IMIL) Initiative, developed in 2004 by Head Start Region III in response to a request from the Office of Head Start. The content is based on an evaluation of the following goals: to increase the amount of time children spend in moderate to vigorous physical activity, to improve the quality of structured movement activities, and to promote healthy food choices for children. The report provides an overview of the initiative and discusses results of the process and outcome evaluations (inputs, outputs, and lessons learned).

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Head Start, Health promotion, Initiatives, Learning activities, Low income groups, Nutrition, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about ways to support infants' and young childrens' learning. The fact sheet informs parents about how infants and young children develop in the following areas: language and communication, thinking skills, self-control, and self-confidence. For each area, suggestions are provided to help infants and children learn and develop. The fact sheet is in English on one side and in Spanish on the other side.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• English/Spanish Version

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Language development, Learning, Learning activities, Self control, Self esteem, Spanish language materials, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This pamphlet helps parents of young children use everyday interactions to teach their children the basic skills they need to cooperate, get along with others, and be enthusiastic learners. The brochure provide tips for helping children develop skills in four key areas: language and literacy, thinking, self-control, and self-confidence. Tips are divided by age ranges (0-12 months, 12-24 months, and 24-36 months). Information about television viewing and imparting values and beliefs is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $30.00 for packet of 20; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-87-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Infant development, Language, Learning, Learning activities, Literacy, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, School readiness, Self control, Self esteem, Social interaction, Television, Young children

Annotation: This book, which is a companion to the Creating Child-Centered Classroom series, is designed for teachers of children ages 3 to 6 and offers math and science activities that can be conducted using commonly available materials. The activities are designed to reinforce the goals of the Step by Step program. individualizing learning experiences, encouraging children to make choices, and involving families in their children's education. Topic include mathematical manipulatives, science, sand and water, dramatic play, literacy, art, outdoor activities, blocks, and music.

Keywords: Child development, Curricula, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Learning activities, Literacy, School age children, Science, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop that brought together neuroscientists, cognitive psychologists, education researchers and practitioners, and policymakers to talk about what each sector has learned that has implications for the others' work and to explore ways to connect early brain development to strategies for improving the education of young children. The workshop was designed to lay the foundation for a continuing exchange between these groups—who normally don't work together—and to spur research on early childhood education. The report consists of presentations from the neurological field and the education field and the others' responses. A listing of workshop participants is provided at the end of the report.

Contact: Education Commission of the States, 700 Broadway, Suite 810, Denver, CO 80203-3460, Telephone: (303) 299-3600 Contact Phone: (303) 299-3692 Fax: (303) 296-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecs.org Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Child development specialists, Cognitive development, Collaboration, Early childhood education, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Learning activities, Neural development, Policy development, Teachers

Annotation: This book suggests learning activities parents and child care providers can use with children; it is organized to supplement activities seen on the daily episodes of the television program, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, " hosted by Fred Rogers. The introduction suggests several ways to effectively use the book, describes the importance of creative learning in children's growth and development, and discusses adapting the activities for children with special health needs. Each activity summarizes the plot of the daily episode, lists the objectives, lists materials needed, and provides instructions for the activity. Other materials available from the publisher include a catalog; a program description of the Mister Rogers' Neighborhood Child Care Partnership; and a sample issue of the newsletter, "Around the Neighborhood." Other products include pamphlets and books from the "Let's Talk About It series;" these include a book on adoption, and pamphlets on topics such as talking with families about discipline, divorce, creativity, pets, child care, moving, dental visits, starting school, children's trips to the hospital, and about talking with young children about death. Another series of books for children is called "First Experiences;" topics include going to day care, the doctor, the dentist, and toilet training.

Contact: Family Communications, 4802 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, Telephone: (412) 687-2990 Fax: (412) 687-1226 Web Site: http://www.fci.org/ $17.95 plus $5.00 shipping and handling for book; prepayment required for orders under $50.00; make checks payable to Family Communications. Prices and shipping costs for other items vary, contact publisher. Document Number: ISBN 1-885950-004.

Keywords: Catalogs, Child care workers, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Learning activities, Materials for children, Materials for parents, Newsletters, Parents, Play, Program descriptions, Resource materials

Annotation: This book for teachers describes activities to help children increase their awareness of and appreciate differences between people and how they live in a positive way. It is illustrated with line drawings.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Curricula, Early childhood education, Learning activities