Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper evaluates the general worth of a specified lead poisoning control program confined to the Children and Youth Projects' child population only. The sensitivity of the cost/benefit model to the assumptions of the paper as well as to the input data considered is considered. The expected benefit of the proposed lead poisoning control program is compared to the expected cost. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Cost effectiveness, Federal MCH programs, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This toolkit compiles educational, advocacy, and planning resources for public health agencies working to prevent and mitigate maternal and child lead poisoning. The web site is divided into focus areas: clinical setting, housing, childcare and schooling, community, products and industry, and family engagement and partnership. Each focus area contains strategies and action steps. There are also case studies and a full index of resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Lead poisoning, Prevention programs

Annotation: This document provides the results of scan of health care policies in all 50 states plus Washington DC that promoted lead screening and treatment for children and pregnant women. This review includes metrics, incentives, provider guidelines, CHIP abatement coverage, and reporting requirements. The report was developed in partnership with the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) as part of the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Environmental Health (MCEH) Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (CoIIN). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health policy, Lead poisoning, State legislation, State surveys

Annotation: This report for educators and community leaders provides information about ways to limit children's exposure to lead in drinking water in schools and early childhood education facilities. Contents include information about the danger of lead in drinking water, how federal regulation has reduced exposure to lead in drinking water, deciding if a lead testing program is necessary, getting school buy-in for a program, involving external and community partners, preparing and taking lead samples, choosing remediation options, and communicating with the public. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: WKKF, One Michigan Avenue, East, Battle Creek, MI 49017-4012, Telephone: (269) 968-1611 Fax: (269) 968-0413 Web Site: http://www.wkkf.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Name And Email Address

Keywords: Child care centers, Communication, Community action, Environmental exposure, Lead, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Lead poisoning screening, Regulations, School health programs, Schools, Testing, Water

Annotation: This supplement to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report examines the use of selected clinical preventive services for infants, children, and adolescents in the United States. Topics include breastfeeding counseling; screening for hearing loss and provision of follow-up services; screening for developmental delays, lead poisoning, vision impairment, and hypertension; vaccination against human papillomavirus; tobacco use and tobacco cessation counseling and medication; screening for chlamydia infection; and provision of reproductive health services. Additional topics include the potential benefits of selected services, the challenges related to their underuse, and effective collaborative strategies to improve use.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1546-0738.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Breastfeeding, Children, Chlamydia infections, Clinics, Counseling, Developmental screening, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Hearing screening, Human papillomavirus, Hypertension, Infants, Lead poisoning screening, Oral health, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Reproductive health, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Vision screening

Annotation: This paper estimates the effect of early lead exposure on academic achievement and adult earnings. It analyzes longitudinal information from individuals attending primary and secondary schools in the city of Arica (in northern Chile), which received exposure to toxic chemicals containing high concentrations of lead that put a large number of families at risk. Data include information on residential proximity to the polluted area, levels of lead exposure, comprehensive demographic information, nationally representative academic test scores and administrative data on adult earnings.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Chile, International health, Lead poisoning

Annotation: This report provides information about children and adolescents with elevated blood lead levels. The repot discusses trends; the importance of blood lead levels; state, local, and international estimates; national goals; related indicators; and data sources. A definition of elevated blood lead levels is included. [Record in process]

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Environmental exposure, Lead, Load poisoning, Research, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information about new scientific knowledge, new technical developments, and their practical implications for childhood lead-poisoning-prevention efforts. The report consideres the usefulness of the "level of concern" as a result of accumulating scientific evidence of adverse effects of even low levels of lead exposure in children. In addition, the report considers laboratory capability for measuring blood lead levels in establishing new blood-lead-level guidance, provides advice on communicating to groups affected by policy changes, and makes recommendations for further research on lead-exposure-prevention and -intervention strategies.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Communication, Intervention, Lead poisoning, Prevention programs, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents introduces a new recommendation that the Centers for Disease Prevention and Control's definition of "blood lead level of concern" be changed from 10 micrograms per deciliter to 5 micrograms per deciliter, thus increasing the number of children who may be reported as having lead exposure and allowing parents, doctors, public health officials, and communities to take action earlier to reduce the child’s future exposure to lead. The fact sheet discusses actions parents can take to make their homes more lead-safe.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Lead poisoning, Prevention

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Lead poisoning prevention programs, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief describes how two states analyzed race and ethnicity data and targeted interventions to specific geographic locations. Virginia coupled geographic information systems (GIS) mapping with multi-level spatial analysis to identify areas where infant mortality rates are the highest; the extent of racial and ethnic disparities in infant deaths; the underlying causes of those infant deaths; and how to best intervene. Rhode Island used GIS mapping in conjunction with Community Based Participatory Research (CBPR) to address health disparities related to tobacco-related diseases and lead poisoning. The technique helped the state locate communities where the most severe disparities exist; identify how multiple factors are causing the problem; and allocate resources for selected interventions.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Web Version
• Pdf Version

Keywords: Case studies, Ethnic factors, Geographical factors, Health status disparities, Infant mortality, Lead poisoning, Needs assessment, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State programs, Tobacco use, Virginia

Annotation: This report presents geometric mean lead and mercury blood levels of pregnant women in the United States. The report compares mercury and lead levels by pregnant vs. non-pregnant women, by women's ages, for pregnant women with no prior pregnancies vs. those with prior pregnancies, by education level, by race and ethnicity, and by Mexican-American women born in Mexico vs. those born in the United States.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Educational attainment, Environmental exposure, Ethnic factors, Immigrants, Lead poisoning, Mercury, Pregnant women, Racial factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses disparities in health and health insurance coverage for infants, children, and adolescents in minority groups compared with their counterparts. Information is presented in the following areas: prenatal care, low birthweight, and infant mortality; oral health; asthma; lead poisoning; and childhood obesity.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asthma, Child health, Health insurance, Infant health, Infant mortality, Lead poisoning, Low birthweight, Minority groups, Obesity, Oral health, Prenatal care, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This Web site provides users with links to the provisions of state codes that are directly related to healthy homes. The purpose of the site is to help states and localities in their efforts to ensure that buildings are well constructed and to reduce the likelihood of harmful environmental conditions in homes.

Contact: National Center for Healthy Housing, 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500 , Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Building codes, Environmental health, Fire prevention, House fires, Housing, Lead poisoning, Prevention, State legislation

Annotation: This document is a needs assessment for Yuma Country, Arizona. The document includes a summary of county characteristics (history and description, demographic indicators, marital status, economic indicators, and education) and discusses general health indicators, materal and perinatal health indicators, infant and child health indicators; Healthy People 2010; Title V block grant performance measures; and a survey of prenatal care in Yuma County.

Contact: University of Arizona, Center for Rural Health, 1295 N Martin - P.O. Box 245163, Tucson, AZ 85724, Telephone: (520) 626-5823 Fax: (520) 626-3101 E-mail: http://crh.arizona.edu/contact Web Site: http://www.crh.arizona.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Domestic violence, Economic factors, Education, Educational attainment, Health, Health care utilization, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Marital status, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Statistical data, Title V of the Social Security Act, Unemployment, lead poisoning, oral heath

Annotation: This bench book is written for judges, attorneys, and other persons interested in promoting enforcement to eliminate lead-based paint hazards and, thereby, prevent childhood lead poisoning. It is intended to increase awareness of federal lead-based paint and environmental laws; to provide an overview of federal lead-based paint enforcement programs; and suggest ways citizens and state and local authorities can support enforcement. It covers Title X of the Residential Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction Act of 1992 and the disclosure rule, the Toxic Substances Control Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, the Lead Safe Housing Rule, and Federal lead-based paint enforcement programs.

Contact: National Center for Healthy Housing, 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500 , Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Federal legislation, Lead poisoning, Manuals

Annotation: This focus report complements an annual update on trends in the overall quality of life for U.S. children and adolescents issued by the Foundation for Child Development and Youth Well-Being Index Project. The present report focuses on trends in indicators of well-being for two infant and child age groups -- birth through age 5 and 6-11 -- and makes comparisons with corresponding trends for adolescents ages 12-17 over the period 1994-2006. The report covers four main topics: (1) trends in age-specific composite well-being indices, (2) trends in domain-specific composite indices for childhood ages, (3) positive trends in specific indicators, and (4) areas of concern for specific indicators.

Contact: Foundation for Child Development, 295 Madison Avenue, 40th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 867-5777 Fax: (212) 867-5844 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fcd-us.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child health, Child mortality, Children, Education, Family income, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infants, Lead poisoning, Low birthweight, Motor vehicle safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Safety, Trends, Vaccination

Annotation: This guidebook is designed to help lead poisoning prevention professionals and others develop bench books (legal reference manuals) for judges who adjudicate state and local enforcement cases involving lead-based paint. It tells what laws to look for (including lead-based paint laws and housing laws), how to find them, and how to compile the laws and other information into a useful reference.

Contact: National Center for Healthy Housing, 10320 Little Patuxent Parkway, Suite 500 , Columbia, MD 21044, Telephone: (410) 992-0712 Secondary Telephone: (877) 312-3046 Fax: (443) 539-4150 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nchh.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Lead poisoning, Manuals, State legislation

Annotation: This report, which is intended primarily for state and local policymakers, public health officials, health care and health plan providers, local government agencies, and parents interested in improving childhood blood lead level screening, reporting, and surveillance in Allegheny County, Pennsylvania, provides a synthesis of findings from a study conducted to examine the current status of childhood blood level screening, reporting, and surveillance in Allegheny County and to offer recommendations for improving these processes. Each chapter of the report integrates relevant information from the background study of the literature, database analyses, and interviews and focus groups, as appropriate. Chapter 1 is an introduction. Chapter 2 provides a review of existing data. Chapters 3 and 4 examine the screening and reporting and surveillance processes. Chapter 5 concludes and offers recommendations. The report includes three appendices: (1) population of children and median housing age in Allegheny County, (2) advisory group members, and (3) a comparison of risk factors for lead poisoning.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org $20.00, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-3945-8; MG-423-HHR.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Lead poisoning screening, Pennsylvania, Prevention, Public health, Risk factors, Screening, Young children