Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper evaluates the general worth of a specified lead poisoning control program confined to the Children and Youth Projects' child population only. The sensitivity of the cost/benefit model to the assumptions of the paper as well as to the input data considered is considered. The expected benefit of the proposed lead poisoning control program is compared to the expected cost. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Cost effectiveness, Federal MCH programs, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Annotation: The purpose of this institute was to maintain and strengthen leadership capabilities for medical, nursing, and administrative personnel in programs providing services to children with special health care needs. One institute and one topical seminar were given each year. The institute offered orientation for new staff concerning the history, organization, funding, purposes, and functions of CSHCN programs. The topical seminar attracted senior CSHCN program officers who discussed current issues, developed problem-solving strategies, and forecasted future trends in health care services for children with special health care needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161958.

Keywords: Continuing education, Health professionals, Leadership training, Professional education, Special health care needs

Annotation: The purpose of the project "Continuing Education in Maternal and Child Health to Increase Leadership Skills" was to respond to the expressed need of directors of State Title V programs through a national program of continuing education to improve administrative and leadership skills for state Title V staff members working in key program positions. The project offered a State Title V Program that was basic to the needs of program staff members in all Title V state programs and an Advanced MCH Institute which had a more specific focus for MCH program staff. The purpose was to offer continuing education that taught and reinforced the history and philosophy of Maternal and Child Health, emphasized interdisciplinary functioning in programs and trained participants in skills needed for improved administration of programs and leadership in the field of Maternal and Child Health. Three to five Institutes (usually two of each level) were held annually, each serving 35 or more trainees and provided materials that could be used to reinforce skills learned through the institute curriculum. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96181508.

Keywords: Continuing Education, Interdisciplinary Teams, Leadership Training, State Staff Development

Annotation: This brochure provides simple steps that families can take to make their environment healthier. Topics include label reading, noise, carbon monoxide alarms, child safety, job hazards, allergies, water pollution, lead, radon, overheating, ozone, handwashing, healthy eating, tobacco products, and sun exposure.

Contact: National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709-2233, Telephone: (919) 541-3345 Fax: (919) 541-4395 E-mail: webcenter@niehs Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Allergies, Chemicals, Child health, Environment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Families, Lead poisoning, Radon, Safety, Sun exposure, Water pollution

Annotation: This handbook captures the values and beliefs of health care consumers in leadership positions in human services organizations. The handbook, which is available online only and may be printed, sets forth principles to help guide health care consumers as they assume leadership positions and provides guidance or negotiating issues that may come with their new roles. The handbook delineates eight fundamentals for practice and discusses each of them.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumers, Health care, Leadership, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This document for local policymakers and practitioners provides guidance on implementing a community school strategy. It outlines a rationale for the community school as a primary vehicle for increasing student success and strengthening families and community. The document also defines specific results that community schools seek -- both in terms of how they function and in relationship to the well being of students, families, and communities. Contents include the community schools vision, guiding principles, logic model, and framework for student success. Conditions for learning and indicators of capacity are also addressed.

Contact: Institute for Educational Leadership, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 100, Washington, DC 2008-2304, Telephone: (202) 822-8405 Fax: (202) 872-4050 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iel.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, Development, Education, Families, Leadership, Learning, Models, Program improvement, Schools, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This resource provides individuals with special health care needs and their families with tools and strategies to advocate for whatever they may need. Topics include access to health care, accessible communities, advocacy and leadership skills, communicating about health, education services and support, insurance and financial assistance, legislation and political action, steps to employment success, transition to adulthood, and youth leadership.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Communication, Family support services, Leadership, Life course, Special health care needs, Transitions

Annotation: This toolkit compiles educational, advocacy, and planning resources for public health agencies working to prevent and mitigate maternal and child lead poisoning. The web site is divided into focus areas: clinical setting, housing, childcare and schooling, community, products and industry, and family engagement and partnership. Each focus area contains strategies and action steps. There are also case studies and a full index of resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Lead poisoning, Prevention programs

Annotation: This document is intended for MCH interdisciplinary training programs, national, state, and local health agencies, and other MCH organizations. It is designed to support new and practicing MCH professionals by: (1) defining MCH leadership; (2) describing how the MCH Leadership Competencies can be used by a variety of audiences; (3) providing a conceptual framework for the development of an MCH leader;(4) outlining the knowledge and skill areas required of MCH leaders; and (5) linking to tools for implementation. The website includes the competencies document and links to related resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH training, Professional education, Public health, Standards

Annotation: This document provides the results of scan of health care policies in all 50 states plus Washington DC that promoted lead screening and treatment for children and pregnant women. This review includes metrics, incentives, provider guidelines, CHIP abatement coverage, and reporting requirements. The report was developed in partnership with the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) as part of the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Maternal and Child Environmental Health (MCEH) Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network (CoIIN). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health policy, Lead poisoning, State legislation, State surveys

Annotation: This paper describes the lack of published literature analyzing learning taking place in and with communities that has a demonstrated value to that community and the factors attributable to it, and efforts to build the evidence by establishing a common definition for community-engaged health professional education that is relevant to all health professionals in all disciplines in all settings or context. Contents include elements of the definition. Topics include sustainable community-academic partnerships; collaborative design, delivery, and evaluation; and next steps for building the evidence.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Equal opportunities, Evaluation, Goals, Health occupations, International health, Leadership, Learning, Policy development, Professional education, Public private partnerships, Strategic plans, Sustainability, Training, Underserved communities, Work force

Annotation: This document describes strategies for planning and providing recess in schools to help increase participation in physical activity and improve academic achievement. Contents include information about the definition and benefits of recess and national guidance and considerations for recess in schools. Topics include making leadership decisions, communicating and enforcing behavior and safety expectations, creating an environment supportive of physical activity during recess, engaging the school community to support recess, gathering information on recess, and taking action. Additional planning resources, case studies, a video, and infographics are also available.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Child safety, Community action, Decision making, Leadership, Multimedia, Physical activity, Policy development, Program planning, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This document is designed to help schools develop a school recess plan that can be shared with staff, students, and parents. Contents include questions that schools can consider to help them choose strategies to implement or to help them evaluate their current efforts, templates that schools can use to record information about the strategies they choose for their school recess plans, and key resources that align with the recommended recess strategies and provide additional information and examples of how to address these strategies. A companion document, Strategies for Recess in Schools, and additional planning resources; case studies; a video; and infographics are also available.

Contact: SHAPE America–Society of Health and Physical Educators, 1900 Association Drive, Reston, VA 20191-1598, Telephone: (800) 213-7193 Fax: (703) 476-9527 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.shapeamerica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child health, Child safety, Community action, Decision making, Evaluation, Leadership, Multimedia, Physical activity, Planning, Policy development, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health, Schools, Students

Annotation: This guide defines educational equity and describes actions state education chiefs can take to create a more equitable education system in their state. Topics include setting and communicating an equity vision and measurable targets; focusing on the state education agency; creating accountability for equity; engaging local education agencies and providing tailored differentiated support; allocating resources to achieve fiscal equity; investing in the youngest learners; monitoring equitable implementation of standards and assessments; focusing on teachers and leaders; focusing on conditions of learning (school culture, climate, and social-emotional development); and ensuring families have access to high-quality educational options that align to community needs.

Contact: Council of Chief State School Officers, One Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20001-1431, Telephone: (202) 336-7000 Fax: (202) 408-8072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccsso.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Assessments, Communication, Educational change, Equal opportunities, Family centered services, Leadership, Learning, Measures, Policy development, Program development, Public education, Resource allocation, Schools, Standards, State education agencies, Students, Teachers, Teaching

Annotation: This document defines the term "family leader" and describes the roles for family leaders in the Association for Maternal and Child Health Programs' activities. Topics include title, eligibility criteria, selection process, timeline, and duties.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Contact Phone: (202) 775-1472 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community participation, Consultants, Employment, Families, Leadership, Mentors, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Teaching, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Volunteers, Work force

Annotation: This brief defines toxic stress from a community perspective and presents a framework for a community approach to addressing toxic stress, nested within the broader context of working toward healthy development and well-being. The brief also provides examples of how communities are taking action and recommendations for next steps to promote and further develop comprehensive approaches to toxic stress in communities across the country. Strategies for parents and caregivers; service providers; and multisystem, community partners and policymakers are included.

Contact: Center for the Study of Social Policy, 1575 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 371-1565 Fax: (202) 371-1472 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cssp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Communication, Communities, Community action, Community based services, Community role, Coordination, Early childhood, Families, Health education, Leadership, Models, Organizational change, Parents, Policy development, Protective factors, Social change, Stress, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from an analysis of housing disclosure policies of all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to their ability to help homebuyers make informed decisions about lead service lines before they sign a sales contract. Contents include information about lead in drinking water and why reducing exposure to lead is important, property disclosures, variation and limitations of state requirements, and conclusions. State disclosure requirements are included in the appendix.

Contact: Environmental Defense Fund, 257 Park Avenue, South, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 684-3322 E-mail: https://www.edf.org/contact Web Site: https://www.edf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Decision making, Environmental health, Housing, Lead, Policy analysis, Public policy, Safety, State legislation, Water

Annotation: These resources are designed to help working group leaders contribute to a successful collective impact initiative. Contents include modules on how to build membership, plan for and run an effective meeting, build a culture of collaboration, put systems thinking into practice, engage community members, and be data-driven and learn along the way. Additional contents include sample working group strategies, meeting planning steps for co-chairs, meeting agenda templates, and a meeting follow-up email template.

Contact: Collective Impact Forum, 500 Boylston Street, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (866) 351-8484 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.collectiveimpactforum.org Available from the website.

• Download (free) Requires Username And Password

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Facilitated communication, Leadership, Learning, Meetings, Planning, Systems development

Annotation: This brief examines the research on community schools, with two primary emphases. First, it explores whether the 2015 federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) opens the possibility of investing in well-designed community schools to meet the educational needs of low-achieving students in high-poverty schools. And second, it provides support to school, district, and state leaders as they consider, propose, or implement a community school intervention in schools targeted for comprehensive support. An online research compendium summarizing the referenced studies referenced is also available.

Contact: Learning Policy Institute, 1530 Page Mill Road, Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303, Telephone: (650) 332-9797 Web Site: https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/ Available from the website.

• Brief
• Online Research Compendium

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Costs, Federal legislation, Intervention, Leadership, Policy analysis, Poverty, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Service integration, Students, Vulnerability