Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 15 (15 total).

Chicago Area Healthy Start Project. n.d.. Breastfeeding peer counselor: Train the trainer. Springfield, IL: Chicago Area Healthy Start Project, 242 pp.

Annotation: This is a training guide for peer counselors who train mothers in breastfeeding techniques. It is part of the Healthy Start Program in the Chicago area. Topics in the training guide include the following: 1) getting acquainted, 2) the art of counseling, 3) the role of the peer counselor, 4) how to start breastfeeding, 5) preventing and managing problems, 6) nutrition, and 7) infant health. Each session in the guide contains an outline; exercises; and handouts, forms, or both. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Chicago Healthy Start, 535 West Jefferson Street, First Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (312) 793-4662 Contact Phone: (217) 782-4890 Fax: (217) 782-4890 Price unknown.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Curricula, Infant feeding, Infant health, Lactation management, Training materials

Schanler RJ, Krebs NF, Mass SB, eds. 2014. Breastfeeding handbook for physicians (2nd ed). Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 320 pp.

Annotation: This book provides health care professionals and students in all specialties with a teaching and reference aid to enhance their knowledge of breastfeeding physiology and clinical practice to encourage and support breastfeeding. Topics include the rationale for promoting breastfeeding, composition of human milk, anatalomy and physiology of lactation, managing breastfeeding before and after conception, peripartum care, postpartum care in the hospital and at home, infant and mother m=breastfeeding maintenance, supoorting breastfeeding during mother-infant separation, lactation support, medications and breastfeeding, contraception, and breastfeeding and preterm infants and other special circumstances. Appendices provide resources and professional position statements on breastfeeding.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-804-0.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child nutrition, Complementary feeding, Health promotion, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Maternal health, Resources for professionals

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2013. Breast pumps: Don't be misled - get the facts. Washington, DC: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2 pp. (Consumer health information)

Annotation: This fact sheet informs breastfeeding mothers returning to work, or otherwise away from their infants, about important benefits of expressing milk via breast pumps. It offers advice on choosing the right pump kit, getting advice from a lactation consultant, basics about breast pump kits, choosing to buy or rent a kit, and keeping all parts of the kit clean and disinfected.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast pumps, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant feeding, Lactation management

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 2013. Strategies to prevent obesity and other chronic diseases: The CDC guide to strategies to support breastfeeding mothers and babies. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 52 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides state and local community members with information to help them choose the breastfeeding intervention strategy that best meets needs, including hospitals and birth centers, worksites, and communities. This guide builds upon the research evidence demonstrating effective intervention strategies and offers relevant information for each including program examples and resources. Contents include maternity care practices, professional education, access to professional support, peer support programs, support for breastfeeding in the workplace and in early care and education, access to breastfeeding education and information, social marketing, and addressing the marketing of infant formula.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Intervention, Lactation, Lactation management, MCH programs, Professional education, Resources for professionals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. [2012]. Doctors in action: A call to action from the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how physicians and other health professionals can support breastfeeding in clinical care practices. It describes how doctors can support their patients' intentions to breastfeed; provide best practices guidelines and breastfeeding support; avoid serving as advertisers for infant formula; develop skilled lactation care teams; and help create health care systems that guarantee continuity of skilled support for lactation between hospitals and health care settings in the community. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Physicians, Public health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. [2012]. Nurses in action: A call to action from the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding. [Atlanta, GA]: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how nurses can help breastfeeding mothers in clinical care practices. It describes how nurses can support mothers' intentions to breastfeed; promote breastfeeding as a standard of care; seek out opportunities to improve knowledge and skills; develop skilled lactation care teams. and provide breastfeeding support after hospital discharge. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Nurse clinicians, Physicians, Public health

Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health. 2011. Philadelphia breastfeeding resource handbook, 2011. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, 32 pp.

Annotation: This directory provides an extensive array of resources in the Philadelphia area in order to provide guidance and assistance to women in helping them make informed choices about how to feed their baby and where to get information they need to breastfeed successfully. It includes books, videos, organizations, and courses, and covers many different aspects of breastfeeding including equipment, milk banks, and special situations.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Contact Phone: (215) 685-6825 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Directories, Lactation, Lactation management, Pennsylvania, Resource centers, Resource materials

U.S. Office of the Surgeon General. 2011. The Surgeon General's call to action to support breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, 88 pp., exec. summ. (4 pp.).

Annotation: This report describes steps that mothers and their families, communities, clinicians, employers, researchers, and government leaders can take to participate in a society-wide approach to support mothers and babies who are breastfeeding. Topics include the importance of breastfeeding, rates of breastfeeding, and barriers to breastfeeding in the United States. Recommended actions and their associated implementation strategies are detailed.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Breastfeeding promotion, Community action, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation management, National initiatives, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, Public private partnerships

Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition. 2011. Rhode Island breastfeeding resource directory, 2011-2012. Jamestown, RI: Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition, 81 pp.

Annotation: This directory for health professionals serving expectant and new mothers provides breastfeeding resources such as classes, books, videos, state laws, professional services, insurance information, and websites. The directory also provides tools and guidelines that health professionals can turn to for easy access to information on managing common breastfeeding problems. It includes the Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition's position paper on breastfeeding, information on the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO), and the United Nation''s Children's Fund (UNICEF), and statistics on breastfeeding in Rhode Island from the 2010 CDC Breastfeeding Report Card. Individual sections cover prenatal and postnatal support, local and national resources, clinical information and resources, and breastfeeding tools and guidelines.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Nutrition services, Resource materials, Rhode Island, State programs, WIC Program

Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition. 2008. Massachusetts breastfeeding resource guide. Weston, MA: Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition, 135 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides resources to assist those who are working with pregnant and postpartum women who need assistance in making informed infant feeding choices and who can benefit from breastfeeding services and support. The guide includes statements on the benefits of breastfeeding; examples of breastfeeding initiatives; and contact information for La Leche League leaders, lactation consultants, and Massachusetts WIC program breastfeeding coordinators. It also lists organizations that supply educational materials for parents, childcare providers; sources for breastfeeding promotion materials; and suppliers of breast pumps and breastfeeding equipment. Other resources include guidelines on pumping and storing milk; information on medications and breastfeeding; lists of state and local breastfeeding support organizations, sources of breastfeeding literature; and courses, training, and continuing education opportunities. Patient rights under the Family and Medical Leave Act and the breastfeeding sections of the Massachusetts Hospital Licensure Regulations are included in the appendices. i

Contact: Massachusetts Breastfeeding Coalition, 254 Conant Road , Weston, MA 02493, E-mail: info@massbfc.org Web Site: http://www.massbfc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Massachusetts, Nutrition services, Resource materials, State programs, WIC Program

Best Start Social Marketing. [1997?]. Best Start's 3-step counseling strategy. Tampa, FL: Best Start Social Marketing, 25 pp., 15 transparencies, 1 videotape (VHS 1/2 inch).

Cooney KA, Koniz-Booher P, Coly S. 1997. Taking the first steps: The lactational amenorrhea method—A decade of experience. Washington, DC: Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health, 114 pp.

Annotation: This report examines in depth the Lactational Amenorrhea Method (LAM) that is designed to support and sustain breastfeeding and child spacing. Topics include the background of the method, launching the LAM program, conference proceedings, and the resultant general consensus and common ground.

Contact: Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health, , 1825 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. , Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 687-1392 Fax: (202) 687-7450 E-mail: irhinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.irh.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Family planning, Lactation management, MCH research, Nutrition, Reproductive health

Cooney KA, Nahmias SR. 1997. Bellagio and Beyond: Breastfeeding and LAM in Reproductive Health—Conference summary and papers. Washington, DC: Institute for Reproductive Health, Georgetown University , ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings summarize the Bellagio and Beyond Breastfeeding and LAM in Reproductive Health conference held in May of 1997. The two-day conference sessions are summarized and a substantial appendix consists of a copy of the program and all the papers presented at the conference.

Contact: Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health, , 1825 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. , Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 687-1392 Fax: (202) 687-7450 E-mail: irhinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.irh.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Conference proceedings, Developing countries, Family planning, Lactation management, MCH research, Reproductive health

Ross Conference on Pediatric Research (91st: 1985: Carefree, AZ). 1986. The breastfed infant: A model for performance. Columbus, OH: Ross Laboratories, 167 pp. (Report of the 91st Ross Conference on Pediatric Research )

Annotation: The report summarizes a conference on nutrient utilization by the normal full term breastfed infant in order to help future research in infant nutrition and to help serve as a model for feeding infants appropriately. It presents highly clinical information on the consumption of human milk, the regulation of milk intake, growth and development, and the effect of mode of feeding.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Contact Phone: (614) 227-3333 Web Site: http://www.ross.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Conference proceedings, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation management, Milk, Nutrients

Ross Roundtable on Critical Approaches to Common Pediatric Problems (11th: 1979: Chicago). 1980. Counseling the mother on breast-feeding: Report of the eleventh Ross Roundtable on Critical Approaches to Common Pediatric Problems in collaboration with the Ambulatory Pediatric Association. Columbus, OH: Ross Laboratories, 86 pp.

Annotation: This report provides resource material and methodology for the successful management of the breastfeeding dyad with the primary emphasis on clinical management. The discussion reported includes input from people who have been involved in some way in experience with human milk and lactation. Preparation for and management of breastfeeding, medical problems in the normal breast fed infant, special infants, special mothers, and psychological impact are discussed.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Conferences, Disabilities, Infants with special health care needs, Lactation management

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.