Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Annotation: This poster is a photograph of a woman breastfeeding her infant. The phrase in Spanish encourages breastfeeding.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB009.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster shows a safety pledge for children, in which they pledge to get an adult if they see a gun. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster bears the text: Thousands of kids are killed or badly hurt by guns every year. Now they can't play sports, can't drive, can't dance, can't even walk, talk or see. These are the kids who lived. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This poster shows three children finding a gun in a dresser drawer. It describes the danger to a family of a gun in the home and advises that any gun be emptied out and locked up. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Brady Center to Prevent Gun Violence, 1225 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7319 Fax: (202) 408-1851 Web Site: http://www.bradycenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Posters, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Annotation: These three posters use bright colors and/or large graphic images to communicate the advantages of abstinence. Each poster features the name and phone number of the Milwaukee Campaign for Our Children, and each is available in English and Spanish. The first poster displays the message: "Don't like the odds? Don't have sex." The second reads: "Virgin. It's not a dirty word." The third cautions: "Make sex a game and it'll make you a loser."

Contact: Campaign for Our Children, 120 West Fayette Street, Suite 1200, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 576-9015 Fax: (410) 752-2191 Web Site: http://www.cfoc.org $8.00 plus $4.25 shipping and handling; prepayment required.

Keywords: Abstinence, Audiovisual materials, Educational materials, Posters, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This policy statement expresses the vision of the Medical Library Association (MLA) of research as a foundation for excellence in health information practice, for new and expanded roles for health sciences librarians, and for attracting excellent people to the profession. It also affirms the association's commitment to collaborate with other organizations to increase support for health sciences librarians' research activities. This policy does not include a laundry list of research topics, but seeks to provide an intellectual basis and rationale for the role of research in support of professional practice. The future role of health sciences librarians, the role that current health sciences librarians must play in achieving those, and the role of MLA in this are described. A proposed action plan outlines future directions for MLA under the headings education, research, support, funding, recognition, and measurement.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health sciences libraries, Librarians, Medical Library Association, Research

Annotation: This manual was developed to accompany an 8-hour class. It introduces the concept of mainstreaming and relates it to the principles of early childhood education and best practice guidelines for caring for children with special needs. Module one includes sections on the importance of working with families, ethical issues, laws protecting children with special needs, typical vs. atypical development, how children learn, suggestions for working with parents are included, and diversity resources. Module two deals with motor development and concludes with a bibliography and references. Module three covers social-emotional development and behavioral issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: San Diego State University, Mainstreaming Project, 6505 Alvarado Road, Suite 108, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-4373 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Americans With Disabilities Act, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Ethics, Families, Learning, Legislation, Mainstreaming, Motor development, Parents, Psychosocial development, Special education

Annotation: The purpose of this paper is to describe a method used to assess community acceptance of a program to deliver comprehensive health care to children of low income families in New York City and to report the results. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Federal MCH programs, Low income groups, New York, Program evaluation, Program evaluation, Questionnaires

Annotation: This paper evaluates the general worth of a specified lead poisoning control program confined to the Children and Youth Projects' child population only. The sensitivity of the cost/benefit model to the assumptions of the paper as well as to the input data considered is considered. The expected benefit of the proposed lead poisoning control program is compared to the expected cost. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Cost effectiveness, Federal MCH programs, Lead poisoning, Lead poisoning prevention programs, Title V programs

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to present the findings of the fourth phase of a longitudinal study of a multi-racial cohort of youth, born on the island of Kauai, Hawaii in 1955. The results of the first three phases of the study (prenatal period to age 10) were published in the book The Children of Kauai (1971). The purposes of this report are to follow up where the previous study left off at age 10, to document the course of the learning and behavior disorders diagnosed in childhood, to take a look at new problems and new promises in adolescence, to examine a concerned community's response to its at risk youth, to consider factors that contributed to improvement, and to evaluate the predictive power of the diagnostic tools of the previous phases of the study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Hawaii, Learning disabilities, Reports

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to provide technical assistance to individuals working to improve student performance in American public schools. Examples of specific techniques that address barriers to student learning and data to support these techniques are highlighted within this document. Areas covered include (1) enhancing classroom-based efforts to enable learning, (2) providing student and family assistance, (3) responding to and preventing crises, (4) supporting transitions, (5) increasing home involvement in schooling, and (6) outreach for greater community involvement and support. [Support in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Community participation, Knowledge level, Learning, Mental health, Parent participation

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: This paper gives a historical overview of the Maternity and Infant Care (MIC) projects enabled through amendments to Title V of the Social Security Act in 1963. The paper presents available data on MIC project accomplishments, with particular emphasis on the relationship of the projects to the incidence of low birth weight. Topics include: the evolution of MIC projects; administration and financing; objectives of the projects; eligibility; coverage of women and infants at risk; quality of care; effects on the use of care and low birth weight; and cost. The difficulties in evaluating these projects is also discussed, including methodological problems and issues of interpretation. A list of references is provided. Tables with information on the projects and evaluations of these projects are provided at the end of the paper.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

Annotation: The objective of this study was to determine whether parents who participated in and completed the parent education program exhibited a decrease in stress, an increase in problem solving and had a stronger parent-child relationship. The project was aimed at parents or caregivers of children under 3 years of age who are of low-income and of varying cultural backgrounds. Three primary methods were used to meet the outcome objectives: group sessions (Approaches to Parenting), newsletter (approaches Bulletin) and seminars. Three measures given at pre-test, short-term post-test, and long-term post-test were used for evaluation. In summary, mothers who participated in the intervention were significantly less stressful, had higher self-esteem, and were less overprotective and rejecting of their children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196855.

Keywords: Caregivers, Health Promotion, Low income groups, Minorities, Parent Education, Parent-Child Interaction, Parents, Stress