Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (22 total).

Lorenzo SB, Pickett OK. 2013–. Maternal distress in the perinatal period and child outcomes: Knowledge path (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about sources of stress that pregnant women and new mothers experience and the impact of maternal distress on the developing fetus and young child. Topics include policies, programs, and practices that enhance a woman's ability to cope with stress, provide social and emotional support for pregnant women and new mothers, and build protective factors in new families. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. A separate brief lists resources for families. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the O'Neill Foundation]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Electronic publications, Families, Knowledge paths, Mental health, Parenting, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Social support, Stress, Stress management: Infant health, Young children

Lorenzo SB. 2013–. Intimate partner violence (IPV): Knowledge path (4th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about preventing, identifying, and responding to intimate partner violence (IPV) within the home and the community. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, researchers, employers, and advocates. A separate brief lists resources for victims of abuse and their families. This knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB. 2011–. Sleep in infants, children, adolescents, and pregnant women: Knowledge path (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about sleep in infants, children, adolescents, and pregnant women. Topics include anxiety and depression, autism spectrum, physical causes of sleep disturbances such as bruxism, insomnia, pregnancy, safe sleep for infants, and others. The path is aimed at health professionals, researchers, educators, and community advocates. Separate briefs present resources for families and schools. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Infants, Knowledge paths, Pregnant women, Sleep, Sleep disorders, Sleep stages, Young children

Lorenzo SB. 2007–. Emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges in children and adolescents: Knowledge path (3rd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at improving access to and quality of care for children and adolescents with emotional, behavioral, and mental health challenges. Resources tap into the heath, education, social services, and juvenile justice literature. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, educators, and community advocates. Separate briefs present resources for families and schools. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Affective disorders, Behavior development, Behavior disorders, Bibliographies, Child mental health, Children, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Knowledge paths, Mental disorders, Resources for professionals

Lorenzo SB. 2007–. Social and emotional development in children and adolescents: Knowledge path (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about promoting healthy social and emotional development in children and adolescents. Resources tap into the health, education, and social services literature. Separate sections present resources by age group and cover topics such as developmental stages; factors that impact social and emotional well-being in homes and community settings; and strategies for integrating health, developmental, and educational services. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and community advocates. Separate briefs present resources for families and schools. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Behavior development, Bibliographies, Child mental health, Children, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Emotional development, Infants, Knowledge paths, Resources for professionals

Lorenzo SB. 2006–. Autism spectrum disorders: Knowledge path (3rd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about autism spectrum disorder (ASD) screening, diagnosis, treatment, care, and impact on family life. The knowledge path includes tools for health care practices; training; improving state systems and services; research; and finding data and statistics, journal articles, reports, and other materials. Companion resource briefs include Autism Spectrum Disorder: Resources for Families; Autism Spectrum Disorder: Resources for Schools; and Screening: Resource Brief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Bibliographies, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Electronic publications, Families, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB. 2005–. Preconception and pregnancy: Knowledge path (3rd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at improving access to and quality of preconception and prenatal care to improve perinatal health outcomes. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. A separate brief lists resources for families. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Lorenzo SB, Mayer R. 2005–. Community services locator: Knowledge path (3rd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide for services providers and families on finding national, state, and local resources that can address child and family needs. Topics include child care and early education programs, education/special needs, family support, financial support, health and wellness, and parenting. A resources and services index is included. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Community based services, Electronic publications, Family support, Infants, Knowledge paths, Local programs, National programs, State programs

Lorenzo SB. 2003–. Spanish language health resources: Knowledge path (4th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to Spanish-language health resources for health professionals to share with their clients who are Spanish-speaking. Contents include health hotlines and helplines; websites; fact sheets, brochures, and other electronic resources; additional Spanish-language health materials; organizations; and guides on related topics. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Spanish language materials

Lorenzo SB. 2003–. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) services in Medicaid: Knowledge path (4th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about providing and strengthening Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services in Medicaid. Contents include guidelines for the frequency, timing, and content of health-promotion and disease-prevention services for infants, children, and adolescents. Separate sections present resources for professionals (health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, researchers) and for families. A special topics area lists resources about oral health services as part of the EPSDT benefit. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children, EPSDT, Knowledge paths, Medicaid, Oral health

Lorenzo SB. 2003–. Diabetes in children and adolescents: Knowledge path (3rd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about diabetes in children and adolescents. It offers resources for professionals (health professionals, program administrators, and researchers) on topics such as diabetes prevalence, diagnosis, management, type 2 diabetes prevention, and pediatric diabetes research. Separate sections present resources about medications and monitoring and nutrition. Separate briefs point to resources for families and schools. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Diabetes mellitus, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB. 2002–. Overweight and obesity in children and adolescents: Knowledge path (4th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about the prevention, identification, management, and treatment of overweight and obesity in children and adolescents in homes, schools, and communities. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. Separate briefs list resources for families, schools, and child care and early education programs. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Obesity

Lorenzo SB. 2001–. Adolescent violence prevention: Knowledge path (6th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about adolescent violence prevention. The materials cover many disciplines including public health, medicine, criminal justice, education, and social services. Topics include measuring, documenting, and monitoring the problem; identifying risk and protective factors; and reporting on promising intervention strategies. Separate sections identify resources on specific aspects of adolescent violence such as bullying, dating violence, family violence, firearms, gangs, media violence, school violence, suicide, and violent-crime victimization. The knowledge path is aimed at health and social services professionals, educators, policymakers, community activists, and families, and it is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Prevention programs, Violence

Lorenzo SB. 2001–. Health insurance and access to care for children and adolescents: Knowledge path (7th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at advancing health coverage and improving health care access for children and adolescents. Contents include websites; reports, briefs, and other electronic resources; data and statistics; journal articles and other literature and research; programs; and news and commentary. The knowledge path is aimed at health professionals, policymakers, program administrators, and researchers. Separate briefs provide resources for families and schools. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Health insurance programs, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB, Wilhite BC. 2001–. Nutrition in children and adolescents: Knowledge path (6th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources that present evidence-based nutrition guidance, describe public health campaigns and other promotion programs, inform policy and legislation, and report on research aimed at identifying promising strategies for improving nutrition and eating behaviors within families, schools, and communities. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and researchers. Separate briefs list resources for families and schools. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Bibliographies, Child nutrition, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB, Wilhite BC. 2001–. Physical activity and children and adolescents: Knowledge path (5th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about physical activity and children and adolescents. Contents include resources that analyze data, describe public health campaigns and other promotion programs, and report on research aimed at identifying promising strategies for improving physical activity levels within families, schools, and after-school programs, child care and early childhood education settings, and communities. The knowledge path also provides resources about physical activity for children and adolescents with special health care needs. The path is aimed at health professionals, policymakers, child care providers, and community advocates. Separate briefs present resources for schools and families. The knowledge path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Physical activity

Lorenzo SB. 2001–. Asthma: Knowledge path (5th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about asthma in children and adolescents, its prevalence, and its impact on homes, schools, and communities. Contents include tools for improving asthma management and care and staying abreast of new developments in pediatric asthma research. It is aimed at health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, researchers, and community advocates. Separate sections point to resources about environmental triggers and medications and monitoring. Separate briefs focus on resources for families and resources about asthma management in school. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Asthma, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths

Lorenzo SB. 2001–. Depression during and after pregnancy: Knowledge path (4th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about the prevalence and incidence of perinatal depression; identification and treatment; impact on the health and well-being of new mothers and their infants; and implications for service delivery. A separate brief presents resources for women experiencing perinatal depression and their families. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Depression, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Postpartum depression, Pregnant women

Lorenzo SB. 2000–. Adolescent pregnancy prevention: Knowledge path (6th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path is a guide to resources about adolescent pregnancy prevention. Topics include measuring, documenting, and monitoring the problem; identifying risk and protective factors; and reporting on promising intervention strategies. It is aimed at health and social service professionals, policymakers, and researchers. Separate briefs identify resources for families and schools. The path is updated periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Prevention programs

Lorenzo SB. 2000–. Children and youth with special health care needs: Knowledge path (8th ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health,

Annotation: This knowledge path about caring for children and youth with special health care needs presents resources that analyze data, describe effective programs, and report on policy and research aimed at developing systems of care that are family-centered, community-based, coordinated, and culturally competent. The knowledge path includes tools for health care practices; training; improving state systems and services; research; and finding data and statistics, journal articles, reports, and other materials. Companion resource briefs for families and for schools are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Children, Electronic publications, Knowledge paths, Special health care needs

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.