Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit provides resources for providers supporting pregnant and postpartum women, infants, and families related to doula care. It includes a description of doulas as non-medical professionals providing emotional, physical, and informational support before, during, and after childbirth. The toolkit outlines documentation and service recommendation requirements for doula services to be covered by Kansas Medicaid, including the types of licensed healthcare providers who can recommend doula services and acceptable methods for providing those recommendations. It also contains links to additional resources in English and Spanish aimed at reducing maternal and infant health inequities by increasing access to doula care.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Division of Public Health, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-0461, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/157/Division-of-Public-Health

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Doulas, Kansas, Medicaid, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource package from the Kansas Department of Health and Environment compiles educational materials on maternal health topics for pregnant and postpartum women. It emphasizes potential warning signs and the importance of women being aware of their bodies. The package includes patient education handouts, infographics, and action plans on topics such as signs and symptoms of preterm labor, urgent maternal warning signs, anxiety and depression around pregnancy, and postpartum warning signs. It also provides resources on perinatal hypertension, including educational handouts on preeclampsia, low-dose aspirin for prevention, increased risk of heart disease, and instructions for home blood pressure monitoring. Additional materials cover reproductive life planning, well-woman visits, and national initiatives for pregnancy and postpartum health. The resources are provided in both English and Spanish.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Division of Public Health, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-0461, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/157/Division-of-Public-Health

• Link

Keywords: Emergencies, Hypertension, Kansas, Maternal health, Patient education, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report highlights findings from the Improving Postpartum Care Affinity Group, a quality improvement initiative convened by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services from April 2021 to April 2023. Nine states participated in the affinity group to develop and test interventions addressing the high rates of preventable maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, with nearly two-thirds of maternal deaths occurring during the postpartum period. The report describes how state teams used data-driven approaches to identify disparities and quality improvement opportunities, select measures to monitor their projects, and evaluate intervention impacts. It presents four main categories of interventions tested by participating states: targeted case management services for high-risk beneficiaries, postpartum cardiac care including blood pressure monitoring and cardiomyopathy protocols, support from doulas and community health workers with home visiting programs, and beneficiary and provider education and support tools. The document includes specific examples from states such as South Carolina's pilot addressing gaps in behavioral health screening, Georgia's work to improve provider use of postpartum visit codes, and Texas's blood pressure cuff distribution program for hypertensive beneficiaries.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Missouri, Models, Oklahoma, Postpartum care, Prevention, Quality improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, Texas, Wyoming

Annotation: This policy brief examines evidence-based home visiting programs as an effective strategy to support parents and young children from the prenatal period through age three. It describes how home visiting programs provide support and education to parents through trained professionals or paraprofessionals in home-based settings, with services now available both traditionally and virtually. The brief details the positive impacts on parenting skills, state variations in implementation approaches, funding mechanisms including Medicaid, and the percentage of eligible families served across states. It highlights leading states like Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, and New York, and summarizes recent state initiatives to enhance these programs through increased funding and expanded eligibility.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Early intervention, Financing, Home Visits, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, MCH programs, Maine, Medicaid, Model programs, New York, Parent support services, Policy, Prenatal care

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools related to conducting oral health screenings in schools in Kansas. It discusses the importance of conducting such screenings. It also presents standards, discusses preparation and procedures for conducting screenings, and offers considerations for the school oral health team.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health screening, Kansas, Oral health, School health, State information

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about how Kansas is using community health workers (CHWs) to expand oral health education and care in the state. Topics include an introduction to CHWs in Kansas, incorporating oral health into each core competency of the CHW training curriculum developed by the Kansas Community Health Worker Coalition, and reimbursement and certification of CHWs in the state. Information on the state of oral health for children and adults in Kansas is also included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Community health aids, Health education, Kansas, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This plan is intended to serve as a roadmap for organizations and individuals to promote oral health in Kansas. The plan focuses on four goals related to (1) financing, (2) systems collaboration, (3) oral health literacy, and (4) the oral health workforce. Goal 4, objective 1, focuses on promoting oral health awareness in schools by providing school nurses with training and tools.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kansas, Oral health, School health, State information, Strategic plans

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the relationship between social determinants of health (SDOH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and gives case studies from North Carolina, Kansas and Oregon to describe how these states have used screenings and administrative data to identify and assess SDOH in order to better support CYSHCN.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Kansas, Managed care, Medicare, North Carolina, Oregon, Social factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This report summarizes the Medical Quality Improvement Learning Academy pilot project, created to address challenges in oral health care systems, identify opportunities for improvement, and develop and test interventions in states. The report describes the process of developing the project and discusses goals and outcomes for each selected state (Kansas, Missouri, and Ohio). It also presents lessons learned in the following areas: quality improvement infrastructure, stakeholder relationships, team commitment and collaboration, state selection, testing-improvement strategies, and state-federal partnerships.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Collaboration, Kansas, Missouri, Ohio, Oral health, Quality improvement, State initiatives

Annotation: This manual was developed for use by the workforce delivering services to women, infants children, youth, and their families. It provides an overview of maternal and child health (MCH) services in Kansas, including standards and the roles of local agency grantees and training requirements and opportunities. Additional chapters cover the MCH background; social determinants and health disparities; MCH administrative grant management; women/maternal and perinatal/infant health; MCH home visiting services; special health care needs satellite office guidance; and MCH definitions. An appendix of MCH resources is included.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-1367, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, Families, Health services, Infants, Kansas, Maternal health, State programs, Title V programs, Women

Annotation: This document provides guidance for families on using the National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN). It explains that these standards offer a framework for families, health policymakers, providers, and insurers to collaboratively improve care systems for CYSHCN. The document emphasizes the importance of these standards, noting that one in five U.S. children have special health care needs, yet four out of five CYSHCN families report not receiving care in a well-functioning system. It outlines practical ways families can use the standards as advocacy tools, including countering policies that overlook CYSHCN needs, promoting family partnerships in health-related services, and sharing knowledge with other families. The second page highlights successful implementation examples from Iowa, Georgia, Kansas, and Minnesota, and describes available resources including assessment tools, communication materials, and online toolkits to help families work with the standards to improve care systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: State CHSCN programs, Standards, Family Centered Health Care, State CHSCN programs, Case Studies, Iowa, Georgia, Kansas, Minnesota

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines how healthcare providers can utilize the National Standards for Systems of Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) to improve service delivery. It provides specific guidance for providers on implementing the Standards, which emphasize the importance of family partnership in decision-making and evidence-based care delivery. The Standards serve as a comprehensive framework designed to foster collaboration between healthcare providers, health plans, and state health programs to ensure coordinated, family-centered care.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Standards, State CHSCN programs, Health Care Providers, Case Studies, Georgia, Delaware, Kansas, Massachusetts

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the role of the Family Delegate in advocating for all families in their territories (including those with special health care needs), working with both families and local systems of care as an advisor, promoter, and educator. The brief explains the importance of the Family Delegate, the process by which this person might be selected, and provides two state examples (from Kansas and Arkansas) on the selection process and the benefits of the role in their localities.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Family centered health care, Family support services, Title V programs, Arkansas, Kansas

Annotation: This report provides a baseline comparison of coverage and costs to consumers in separate Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) plans and benchmark plans in select states; describes how coverage and costs might change in 2014; and describes how access to care by CHIP children compares to other children nationwide. Examples are provided from five states: Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, New York, and Utah.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-40.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Children', Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, New York, Utah, Case studies, Families, Health care financing, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This final report describe a 4-year project in Kansas dedicated to improving the oral health of children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Topics include collaboration among oral health professionals and networks for CSHCN, education, professional training, preventive services, and the creation of a referral hub for restorative treatment. Contents include a description of goals and objectives and a summary of materials developed for the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Final reports, Kansas, Oral health, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This document examines ways that oral health leaders can leverage the safety net health care infrastructure to provide services in underserved areas. The document describes a public-private partnership to produce sustainable investments to reduce oral health access barriers and work force shortages in Kansas. Topics include building a network, the Dental Hub and Spoke Model, return on investment, results, and lessons for foundations.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Clinics, Community based services, Kansas, Oral health, Philanthropy, Public private partnerships, Rural environment, Underserved communities, Work force

Annotation: This report presents results from a statewide survey to assess the prevalence of dental caries in and preventive services for children in Kansas and the oral health services available to them. The survey collected information from students in third grade in 65 schools across the state. Topics include dental caries, dental restorations, dental sealants, access to care, insurance status, and frequency of dental visits. A discussion and recommendations, data-summary tables, a list of participants, survey forms, and references are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau of Oral Health, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 200, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 296-5116 Web Site: https://www.kdhe.ks.gov/619/Oral-Health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, Health status, Kansas, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys

Annotation: This report describes a summit held on September 13, 2011, in Kansas City, Kansas, to facilitate a discussion on oral health and to leverage resources to optimally support federal and regional oral health priorities to advance public-private partnerships. Contents include the role of federal agencies in improving access to care and a discussion of issues and potential actions for strengthening public-private partnerships in each of four states (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska). The report also discusses key challenges, significant populations affected, individual roles in addressing the issue, additional resources that may be needed, and actions that the group can take to ensure that efforts continue.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conference proceedings, Families, Federal agencies, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Annotation: This resource provides information on safe sleep for health professionals, parents, and other caregivers in Kansas. Contents include a video titled Safe Sleep (in English and Spanish) and a booklet titled Safe Sleep for Babies: Alone, on the Back and in a Crib. The resource also provides information on preparing for baby, bringing baby home, making the crib safe, special care, and choosing high quality child care.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-1367, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Campaigns, Infant death, Infant equipment, Kansas, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Unintentional injuries