Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

Krisowaty L (facilitator), Acharya K (moderator), Tremmel Freeman L, Ogbolu Y, Sawyer M. 2020. Blue Marble thinking: How global perspectives can help address local challenges. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This webinar explores the concept of "blue marble thinking" - using global perspectives to address local maternal and child health challenges in the U.S. Linda Chriswadi introduces the session, noting that AMCHP has started a global evidence-based practice initiative to identify and share culturally appropriate best practices from around the world. Moderator Kirobi Acharya from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation explains how blue marble thinking helps us see new possibilities by looking beyond our borders, using the example of German prisons that focus on dignity and reintegration. Three panelists share their experiences: Lori Trummel Freeman discusses NACHCHO's work identifying global solutions to address health equity issues like maternal mortality and substance use disorders; Dr. Yolanda Ogbolu describes adapting Brazil's Saúde Criança program to strengthen social connections for families in West Baltimore; and Melissa Sawyer explains how Youth Empowerment Project in New Orleans implemented Brazil's biocentric education model to improve youth employment readiness. The panelists discuss participant feedback, COVID-19 adaptations, and advice for others interested in adopting global programs, emphasizing the need to be open to new approaches, engage communities meaningfully, and develop multi-year sustainability plans to successfully integrate international models. Length: 56 minutes, 36 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Global health, Thinking, International perspectives

Wallace HM, Giri K, Serrano CV. 1995. Health care of women and children in developing countries. (2nd ed.). Oakland, CA: Third Party Publishing, 757 pp.

Annotation: This book discusses the current state of health and social care of women, children, youth, and families internationally, and provides leads and suggestions for improvement before the turn of the 21st century. It is divided into six sections: the overview; women's health; infant and child mortality; child health; adolescent health; and delivery of maternal and child health and family planning services. The appendices contain a section of definitions; Convention on the Rights of the Child; World Declaration on the Survival, Protection and Development of Children and Plan of Action for Implementing the World Declaration on the Survival, Protection and Development of Children in the 1990s; Year 2000 Goals (UNICEF); and the Road to Development: Eight Steps Closer (UNICEF). Data are presented in a variety of maps, tables, charts, and graphs throughout the book.

Keywords: Child health, Developing countries, Health care delivery, International perspectives, Public health services, Women', s health

Richardson G, Marx E. 1994. A welcome for every child: How France achieves quality in child care—Practical ideas for the United States. New York, NY: French-American Foundation, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the findings of a two-week study tour in which 14 American experts in child care and related fields visited France's widely praised child care programs. It discusses such issues as financing, health care, staffing, facilities, and licensing.

Contact: French-American Foundation, 28 West 44th Street, Suite 1420, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (212) 829-8800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.frenchamerican.org Price unknown. Document Number: ISBN 1-57285-011-6.

Keywords: Child care, France, International perspectives

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Early childhood programs: Many poor children and strained resources challenge Head Start. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 32 pp.

Annotation: The report finds that preschool participation among low-income children in Head Start is lower than among high-income families, and it notes that there is a growing population among low-income children that need the services provided by Head Start. The report also considers barriers that prevent the delivery of the full range of Head Start services. These include a lack of qualified staff, rising costs, and limited availability of community resources. Seamless early childhood programs have been established in Denmark, France, and Italy. Common features from those programs that could be incorporated into Head Start are noted, and the implications of making those changes to Head Start are analyzed.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-94-169BR.

Keywords: Child care, Children, Enrollment, Head Start, International perspectives, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Programs, Qualitative evaluation, Resource allocation, Young children

Marmor TR. 1994. Understanding health care reform. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 284 pp.

Annotation: This book contains essays on issues relating to the reform of the national health care system. They presents various facets that will affect the success of the reform movement. There are four sections which address the following broad topics: the politics of medical care and the constraints they place on reform, the debate over universal health coverage, examples of other health perspectives based on experiences in Canada and Japan, and dilemmas and decisions associated with the various policy choices. Individual essays examine the following subjects, among others: medical care crises and the welfare state, nonprofit organizations and health care, rationing, cutting waste by making rules, competition in medical care, and hype and hyperbole in health reform.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-300-05879-9.

Keywords: Canada, Economic factors, History, International perspectives, Japan, National health care reform, Policy analysis, Policy development

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1993. Preventive health care for children: Experience from selected foreign countries. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 37 pp.

Annotation: This report examines how other countries with universal health insurance provide preventive health care to children and what the implications for reform efforts are in the United States. The review covered England, France, Germany, Japan, and the Netherlands. Topics covered include access to care and notification of pregnancy or birth, outreach activities, and tracking systems.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-93-62.

Keywords: Child health, International perspectives, Preventive health services

Starfield B, Harlow J. 1993. Cross-national comparisons of well-child supervision. Washington, DC: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 26 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides an analysis of well child care programs operating in other countries. The paper describes the methodology which included a literature review and direct interviews with knowledgeable individuals in Canada, Denmark, the Netherlands, Sweden, England, and the United States. The paper provides an overview of each of the following topics: the number of recommended visits; physical examinations; height and weight monitoring; and screening for vision, hearing screening, and developmental disabilities, and other conditions. The paper discusses the findings, and presents information about well child recommendations in each country in tables in the appendix. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Contact Phone: (202) 530-2300 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Canada, Child health, Denmark, England, Health promotion, Health supervision, International perspectives, Literature reviews, Netherlands, Policy development, Sweden, United States, Well child care

Hewlett SA. 1993. Child neglect in rich nations. New York, NY: United Nations Children's Fund, 61 pp.

Annotation: This book assesses international trends in the ways that governments deal with child neglect in the developed countries. It discusses the depth and scope of child neglect in the more developed countries and reviews social trends that contribute to the problem. It considers government policies developed in the Anglo-American countries which have not been particularly successful in dealing with the problem, and it examines initiatives developed by various Western European countries that are more successful. It concludes with an analysis of barriers that must be overcome to improve the situation in the future. The English edition of this publication is out of print, but it is currently available in French.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Contact Phone: (212) 755-1449 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92-806-3026-1.

Keywords: Child neglect, Developed countries, International perspectives, International programs, Non English language materials, Public policy, Social problems

Lamb ME, Sternberg KJ, Hwang CP, Broberg AG, eds. 1992. Child care in context: Cross-cultural perspectives. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 542 pp.

Annotation: Utilizing an interdisciplinary approach that covers both historic and economic contexts, this book characterizes child care in 18 countries on 5 continents. Specific historical roots and the current social contexts of child care are delineated in industrialized as well as in developing countries. Each chapter includes insights from commentators of the particular country being discussed. The editors point out that child care is an integral part of the web of influences and experiences that shape children's development.

Contact: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Inc., Taylor & Francis Group, LLC, 325 Chestnut Street, Suite 800, Philadelphia, PA 19160, Telephone: (215) 625-8900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 354-1420 Fax: (215) 625-2940 Web Site: http://www.leaonline.com/?cookieSet=1 $39.95 paperback, $89.95 cloth; plus $2.00 shipping and handling; make checks payable to Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. Document Number: 0-8058-0798-5.

Keywords: Australia, Brazil, Cameroon, Canada, Child care, China, Cultural factors, East Africa, International perspectives, Israel, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

American School Health Association. International perspectives on school health. Journal of School Health. 60(7):297-392. September 1990,

Annotation: This special issue of the "Journal of School Health" contains articles which summarize the school health programs in the following countries: Australia, Canada, Chile, China, the Federal Republic of Germany, England and Wales, Japan, Mexico, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Swaziland, Taiwan, and the United States. Each article uses the same format to simplify comparisons of the main features of the programs; for each, the leading health problems are identified, the general health care and educational systems are described, and the details of the school health programs are presented. Each article also reviews school-based research and includes an analysis of future plans and challenges. Other articles promote a new model for school health programs, review the activities of the World Health Organization, and consider the status of school health education research.

Contact: American School Health Association, 7918 Jones Branch Drive, Suite 300, McLean, VA 22102, Telephone: (703) 506-7675 Contact Phone: (216) 678-1601 Fax: (703) 506-3266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ashaweb.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Health education, Health promotion, International perspectives, Program descriptions, School health