Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (27 total).

DentaQuest Institute. 2017. MORE care: The interprofessional oral health referral. Westborough, MA: DentaQuest Institute, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document describes the Medical-Oral Expanded Care (MORE Care) process designed to address challenges to the interprofessional referral process. The document enumerates challenges to the process; describes the development of MORE Care; and provides referral tools, forms, and a dental referral treatment report. Referral recommendations for different scenarios are provided. Risk-based population health and referral type are also discussed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org

Keywords: Collaboration, Forms, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Referrals

Interprofessional Education Collaborative. 2016. Core competencies for interprofessional collaborative practice: 2016 update. Washington, DC: Interprofessional Education Collaborative, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report provides core competencies for interprofessional collaborative practice to promote and encourage interprofessional learning experiences to help prepare future health professionals for enhanced team-based care of patients and to improve population health outcomes. It offers information about the integration of core competencies and competency-based interprofessional education to guide curriculum development across health profession schools (i.e., dentistry, medicine, nursing, osteopathic medicine, pharmacy, public health).

Contact: National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, Minneapolis, MN Web Site: http://nexusipe.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Competency based education, Health professions, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional education

Center for Mental Health in Schools. 2016. Improving ESSA planning for student and learning supports. Los Angeles, CA: Center for Mental Health in Schools, 7 pp. (Research for school improvement and transformation: Policy notes)

Annotation: This document describes a framework for developing a comprehensive and equitable system to address barriers to student learning and teaching. The framework comprises student and learning supports within the context of a continuum of interconnected subsystems that promote healthy development and prevent problems, intervene early, and treat severe and chronic problems. Contents include how organizational and operational infrastructures can be reworked to enable the development, implementation, and sustainability of the approach.

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Barriers, Child development, Collaboration, Early intervention, Equal opportunities, Health promotion, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Organizational change, Policy development, Program improvement, Program planning, Resource allocation, School districts, Service integration, Standards, Students, Systems development, Teaching

Administration for Community Living and Office of Women's Health. 2016. The community guide to adult oral health program implementation. Washington, DC: Administration for Community Living, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document provides step-by-step guidance for groups working at state and local levels to launch or enhance an oral health program for older adults and people with disabilities. Contents include tips, case studies, interactive tools, and other sources of support for creating cost-effective, sustainable programs. Topics include replicating and expanding an existing program, designing and implementing a new program, recognizing the connection between oral health and overall health, and interprofessional collaboration to serve adults’ oral health needs. A corresponding database of community-based oral health programs is also available.

Contact: Administration for Community Living, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 330 C Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 401-4634 Secondary Telephone: (800) 677-1116 E-mail: https://www.acl.gov/contact Web Site: https://www.acl.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community based services, Financing, Independent living, Interdisciplinary approach, Life course, Needs assessment, Older adults, Online databases, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Sustainability

Schmitz CC, Cullen MJ. 2015. Evaluating interprofessional education and collaborative practice: What should I consider when selecting a measurement tool?. Minneapolis, MN: National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, 33 pp.

Annotation: This primer provides basic information about good practices and processes in interprofessional-education- and collaborative-practice-measurement instruments and use. Topics include the importance of validity, five sources of validity evidence, how much validity an evaluation tool should have, and things to consider when selecting a tool. Appendices include a glossary of measurement tools, rules of thumb when appraising validity data, common threats to validity, and information on the National Center Resource Exchange.

Contact: National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, Minneapolis, MN Web Site: http://nexusipe.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Interdisciplinary approach, Measures

American Dental Hygienists' Association. 2015. Transforming dental hygiene education and the profession for the 21st century. Chicago, IL: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 27 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes how changes in dental hygiene education and the profession will prepare graduates to serve health and wellness needs. Topics include the future needs of dental hygiene practice; strategies that will contribute to the expansion of oral health services to underserved populations, including mothers and children; and potential curriculum revisions and enhancements to better prepare dental hygienists for future practice.

Contact: American Dental Hygienists' Association, 444 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 3400, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 440-8900 Fax: (312) 440-1806 Web Site: https://www.adha.org Available from the website.

Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental education, Dental hygiene, Dental hygienists, Educational change, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Role, Trends, Work force

Tomasik J, Fleming C. 2015. Lessons from the field: Promising interprofessional collaboration practices. Princeton, NJ: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 59 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a project to explore, explain, and disseminate practices for effective interprofessional collaboration and the supports required to sustain them over time. Contents include lessons learned, guiding principles that describe the elements necessary to create and sustain an environment and culture of interprofessional collaboration, and a series of case studies to highlight specific practices that have been effective for the organizations that participated in the project.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Sustainability

Collective Impact Forum. 2014–. Initiative directory. Boston, MA: Collective Impact Forum, multiple items.

Annotation: This website provides information about initiatives that are using the collective impact approach to address social and environmental problems. Users can search for existing initiatives by state/locality, social issue, region, and country. Users can also create a page to highlight the work they are doing; submit information about their progress; hold discussions; and share reports, photos, news, and more.

Contact: Collective Impact Forum, 500 Boylston Street, Suite 600, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (866) 351-8484 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.collectiveimpactforum.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Community programs, Directories, Interdisciplinary approach, International programs, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Networking, Problem solving, Social interaction, State initiatives, Teamwork

Korfmacher J. 2014. Infant, toddler, and early childhood mental health competencies: A comparison of systems. Washington, DC: Zero To Three, 45 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of early childhood mental health competency systems. The report reviews what is meant by infant, toddler, and early childhood mental health competencies and issues of nomenclature; provides an overview of six competency systems (California, Colorado, Florida, Michigan, Ohio, and Vermont); presents results of a comparative analysis, summarizing areas of agreement and disagreement; and discusses the relevance of the competency systems to the early childhood mental health movement.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Collaboration, Competence, Competency based education, Infants, Interdisciplinary approach, Mental health services, Policy development, Systems development, Toddlers, Young children

American Dental Association. 2014. Action for Dental Health: Year one–2014: A report to Congress. [Chicago, IL]: American Dental Association, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report describes progress toward meeting the goals of the American Dental Association's Action for Dental Health, an initiative to remove barriers to good oral health in communities. Programmatic descriptions include providing care to people with untreated oral disease, strengthening and expanding the public/private safety net, and bringing disease prevention and education into communities.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: National initiatives, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Dental societies, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Program descriptions, Progress reports, Public health education

Robinson LA, Krol DM. 2014. Interprofessional education and practice: Moving toward collaborative patient-centered care–Part one. Journal of the California Dental Association 42(1):1–70,

Annotation: This issue addresses challenges and opportunities related to interprofessional education and practice for the dentistry profession. Topics include the roles of federal legislation and evolving health care systems in promoting medical-dental collaboration, integrating oral health care and overall health care, and efforts to develop infrastructure for medical-dental integration. Other topics include the impact of the marketplace and emerging concepts on dental practice, and an interprofessional model for dental and nursing education. This is the first of three issues dedicated to interprofessional education and practice.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Dentistry, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Models, Nursing, Professional education, Service integration, Trends

Robinson LA, Krol DM. 2014. Interprofessional education and practice: Moving toward collaborative patient-centered care–Part two. Journal of the California Dental Association 42(9):595–666,

Annotation: This issue provides the proceedings from the Conference on Interprofessional Education and Practice: Creating a Vision for the Dentist of the Future, held on February 3–4, 2014, in San Francisco, CA. Topics include efforts to build collaborative practice skills, lessons learned from the development and practice of craniofacial teams, and interprofessional practice and accountability. This is the second of three issues dedicated to interprofessional education and practice.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Dentistry, Health care delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Teamwork

Robinson LA, Krol DM. 2014. Interprofessional education and practice: Moving toward collaborative patient-centered care–Part three. Journal of the California Dental Association 42(10):671–734,

Annotation: This issue summarizes the major drivers bringing dentistry and medicine closer together, the consequences of the separation of the two professions, and progress toward their integration. The issue also discusses the importance of health profession leadership in advancing oral health care within the evolving health care system. This is the third of three issues dedicated to interprofessional education and practice.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dentistry, Health care delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership, Medicine, Service integration

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2014. Training health professionals in community settings during a time of transformation: Building and learning in integrated systems of care–Eleventh annual report to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and to Congress. [Rockville, MD]: Health Resources and Services Administration, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses principles of interprofessional education with the building of community-based collaborations and partnerships in primary care practice. Topics include integrating behavioral health care and other services into primary care, collaborative training in community settings, linking oral health care and primary care, and investing in the future of primary care and dentistry.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community-based services, Dentistry, Interdisciplinary approach, Medicine, Multidisciplinary teams, Oral health, Patient care teams, Primary care, Professional education, Service integration, Training

Health Resources and Services Administration. 2014. Transforming Dental Hygiene Education: Proud Past, Unlimited Future–Proceedings of a symposium. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report presents proceedings from a symposium held on September 18–20, 2013, in Chicago, Illinois, to discuss how the dental hygiene profession would need to transform its educational process to achieve expanded roles and new opportunities for dental hygienists in the future. Topics include the evolution of dental hygiene practice and curriculum development, perspectives on redefining education and practice, innovative collaboration models, implications of interprofessional education, funding transformational change, and strategic planning.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Dental education, Dental hygiene, Dental hygienists, Educational change, Interdisciplinary approach, Oral health, Role, Work force

Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry. 2013. Interprofessional education: Tenth annual report to the Secretary of the US Department of Health and Human Services and to Congress. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presents background and recommendations for an educational strategy to train health professionals in collaborative, team-based care to enhance client's experience of care (quality, access, and reliability), improve the population's health, and reduce the per capita cost of care. Topics include collaborative interprofessional education and training, assessment and evaluation, institutional leadership for interprofessional education, integration of oral health services and general health services, and policy development.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dentistry, Federal initiatives, Interdisciplinary approach, Medicine, Multidisciplinary teams, Patient care teams, Professional education, Teamwork, Training

U.S. National Oral Health Alliance. 2011. Summary of the first leadership colloquium: Medical and dental collaboration–U.S. National Oral Health Alliance, November 7-8, 2011, Washington, DC. Boston, MA: U.S. National Oral Health Alliance, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the first leadership colloquium of the National Oral Health Alliance to discuss the role of medical and dental collaboration in building national commitment to optimal oral health for all. The summary provides an overview of key areas of focus, shared ideas, and next steps envisioned by colloquium participants.

Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Conferences, Interdisciplinary approach, Leadership, Oral health

Interprofessional Education Collaborative. 2011. Team-based competencies: Building a shared foundation for education and clinical practice–Conference proceedings. Washington, DC: Interprofessional Education Collaborative, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes discussions from a conference held on February 16-17, 2011, in Washington, DC, to review draft core competencies and create the ground work for an action plan for using the competencies to transform health professional education and health care delivery in the United States. Topics include the need for collaborative care, factors that could influence change, and steps to advance interprofessional collaboration in education and practice. The conference agenda, participant list, and references and resources are also included.

Contact: National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, Minneapolis, MN Web Site: http://nexusipe.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Competency based education, Educational change, Health professions, Interdisciplinary approach, Professional education

Prevention Institute. 2011. Collaboration multiplier. Oakland, CA: Prevention Institute, 4 items.

Annotation: This framework and tool can be used to analyze and strengthen collaborative efforts across diverse fields. It is designed to guide an organization to a better understanding of which partners it needs and how to engage them, or to facilitate organizations that already work together in identifying activities to achieve a common goal, identify missing sectors that can contribute to a solution, delineate partner perspectives and contributions, and leverage expertise and resources. The resources are designed to complement and inform Prevention Institute's Spectrum of Prevention. Contents include a sample analysis, a case study, and an analysis worksheet.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Interdisciplinary approach, Multidisciplinary teams, Planning, Public private partnerships

Hegner RE. [2003]. The interface between medicine and dentistry in meeting the oral health needs of young children: A white paper. [Washington, DC]: Children's Dental Health Project; [Chicago, IL]: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 30 pp., exec. summ. (7 pp.) (Filling gaps)

Annotation: This white paper examines issues concerning the integration of primary care medicine and dentistry in preventing oral disease and promoting oral health among American children under age 5. It presents basic facts about children's oral health in America, examines issues related to the scope of dental and medical practice, and explores policy issues underlying the nexus between primary medical care and oral health care for young children. The appendix includes a table that delineates provider potential roles in addressing dental caries in children. The paper is intended for use by health professionals and policymakers in developing and promoting policies that contribute to improving young children's oral health. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Interdisciplinary approach, Collaboration, Dental care, Dentistry, Oral health, Primary care, Provider participation, Young children