Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This Digital Wellness Guide is designed to provide parents and caregivers with information and guidance based on clinical evidence and scientific research. In it, we discuss both the benefits and risks of digital media use and provide strategies for parents and caregivers of children from birth through young adulthood.

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital Digital Wellness Lab, Boston Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-5420 Secondary Telephone: (617) 355-9477 Fax: (617)730-0004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://digitalwellnesslab.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Infant development, Infants, Interactive media, Technology, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This document presents a national framework and action plan for making safe infant sleep a national norm. Contents include the vision, mission, principles, goals, strategies, and actions. The website includes a form for individuals and organizations to share information about activities related to each goal.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Collaboration, Health promotion, Infants, Interactive media, National initiatives, Primary prevention, Public private partnerships, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: These resources provide information about using social media as a communication tool to improve outcomes and build supports for children and families. Contents include resources for child welfare agencies on topics such as developing effective guidelines and policies; resources on using social media technology in casework practice; and resources to help youth, parents, and other caregivers stay safe when using social media networks.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Case management, Child welfare agencies, Children, Communication, Families, Interactive media, Safety

Annotation: This paper explores the impact of a reality television series, MTV's 16 and Pregnant, on adolescent attitudes and outcomes. Contents include background information on the show's content and previous research on the impact of media exposure; a description of the data including Nielson ratings, Google trends, and Twitter activity; a descriptive analysis of adolescents' exposure to the show; and analyses of high frequency data on searches and tweets and data on adolescent births. Topics include changes in searches and tweets, geographic variation in viewership, and changes in adolescent birth rates.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org $5.

• Link

Keywords: , Abortion, Adolescent attitudes, Attitude change, Behavior modification, Contraception, Economic factors, Health behavior, Interactive media, Media, Outcome evaluation, Sexual behavior

Annotation: This book for students and practicing clinicians presents a step-by-step approach to thoughtful and critical reading of health research literature utilizing scenarios, checklists, and exercises. Section one focuses on study evaluation including design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, extrapolation, randomized trials, cohort studies, and meta-analysis. The second section discusses tests with topics in variability, reference interval, definitions, test comparisons, and screening. Section three covers rate sampling, standardization, sources, and compilation. The fourth section considers costs and evaluating effectiveness by study design, assessment, analysis, interpretation, and extrapolation. Section five gives an overview of basic principles of statistics, univariable, bivariable, and multivariable analyses, along with a flowchart summary. Each section concludes with a review/question summary. The book concludes with a glossary and index. A CD-ROM is included with interactive questions and answers that parallel each of the first four sections of the text.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1860-0.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Data analysis, Evaluation, Evaluation methods, Health services, Interactive media, Medicine, Research methodology, Statistics

Annotation: This resource offers information about the growing importance of online information, including social media, for obtaining information about health and medical issues. The toolkit discusses how emerging issues can be tracked through social media in the states and provides links to resources, including a live feed of Twitter accounts, a list of state Facebook and Twitter accounts, and other resources to help states use social media. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Directories, Interactive media, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Annotation: This online training explains how social media tools can be used by agencies and organizations to establish linkages to health care, and it identifies strategies for establishing links to health and social services using Facebook, Twitter, and text messaging. The training describes what social media is, explains how each of these technology platforms works, and explores how each might be used as part of a social media strategy. In addition to online, the website provides a printable version of the training.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• Video And Print
• Print Version

Keywords: Health care utilization, Interactive media, Marketing, Service delivery, Social media, Training materials

Annotation: This resource is designed to help primary care health professionals identify screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their clients. The information is based on recommendations of the Preventive Services Task Force and can be searched by specific client characteristics such as age, sex, and selected behavioral risk factors. Contents include recommendations on routine dental caries risk assessment for preschool children. The resource is available both as a web application and as a mobile application.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Counseling, Evidence based health care, Interactive media, Mobile applications, Oral health, Preventive health services, Preventive medicine, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening

Annotation: This tabletop board game experience was designed to engage policymakers, community and business leaders, health and education service providers, and government officials in understanding the science of early brain development—what promotes it, what derails it, and what are the consequences for society. It is available in ready-made and do-it-yourself versions, the latter available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. A remote version that can be played using videoconferencing and screen-sharing in groups is available.

Contact: Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University, 50 Church Street, Fourth Floor, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 496-0578 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.developingchild.harvard.edu $99.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Brain, Early childhood development, Educational materials, Games, Infant development, Interactive media

Annotation: This book addresses the principles of remote library services and the techniques of creating and maintaining a library Web site. It is designed to show readers how to create functional and appealing Web pages, develop and incorporate interactive features, and integrate multimedia elements and databases. It is divided into the following chapters: (1) building and maintaining better library Web sites, (2) learning and mastering HTML basics, (3) moving beyond HTML, (4) designing Web graphics, (5) exploring inventive Web formats and multimedia, (6) investigating advanced Web technologies, and (7) planning for the future of building better library Web sites. Five appendices contain resources, a description of Web file formats, a glossary, a Dreamweaver tutorial, and an index. The book includes figures to enhance the text and also contains a CD-ROM.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com $59.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-55570-466-2.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Design, Interactive media, Libraries, Reference materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This research project sought to develop and test a prenatal food frequency questionnaire which could be used by nonprofessional personnel to screen low-income pregnant women for inadequate food and nutrient intake, assess the acceptability and practicality of questionnaire administration via interactive computing, and investigate patterns of food and nutrient intake by defined demographic and medical variables. The questionnaire was designed to be self-administered in either of two forms, as a paper-pencil questionnaire or as a user-friendly software program for use with an IBM-PC compatible low-cost microcomputer. Both forms were tested in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB95-208617.

Keywords: Data Collection, Interactive media, Low income groups, Nutritional Risk Assessment, Pregnant Women, Women

Annotation: The monograph is part of a series called "It's Your Choice." These fictional books are designed to help young people make informed, responsible decisions about drug use. They combine substance abuse information and models for resisting peer pressure in the popular interactive adventure book format. This book concentrates on tobacco use.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Contact Phone: (408) 429-9822 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Interactive media, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking

Annotation: This website provides information on methods for developing and implementing high-quality behavioral and social science research (BSSR) through interactive learning. Contents include major concepts in BSSR design and planning; methodologies for describing how and why something happens, and for answering questions about efficacy and effectiveness; and emerging challenges in BSSR. Tables, figures, exercises, and examples are provided. A discussion forum is also available.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Communication skills, Interactive media, Research design, Research methodology, Social sciences, Training materials