Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This data system provides information about the burden of oral disease, use of oral-health-care-delivery systems, and status of community water fluoridation on both a national and state level. The system is designed to track oral health surveillance indicators based on data sources and surveillance capacity available to most states. Indicators include adult dental visits, teeth cleaning, and tooth loss; dental sealants, caries experience, and untreated tooth decay in children; and the percentage of the population served by public water systems who receive fluoridated water.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Dental sealants, Federal initiatives, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health status, Integrated information systems, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State programs, Water

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Health care systems, Health promotion, Integrated services, Interventions, Mental health, School based programs, School linked programs, Students

Annotation: This report examines, from multiple perspectives, integrated student supports (ISS) as a strategy to address disparities in educational attainment and achievement. The report defines ISS as a school-based approach to promoting students' academic achievement and educational attainment by coordinating a seamless system of wraparound supports at multiple levels that target students academic and non-academic barriers to learning. Topics include models developed by practitioners in communities, research on child development, research on education, as well as evaluation studies. The report triangulates these knowledge bases to assess where the ISS field is and the evidence base that underlies the approach. Next steps and implications for research and evaluation are included.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, After school programs, Barriers, Community role, Education, Educational attainment, Integrated services, Learning, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School role, School safety

Annotation: This report summarizes the evidence base on the clinical effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of different types of crisis services, and then presents case studies of different approaches that states are using to coordinate, consolidate, and blend fund sources in order to provide robust crisis services.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. No. (SMA)-14-4848.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Cost effectiveness, Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Financing, Integrated services, Mental health services, Program evaluation, Service coordination, State programs

Annotation: This report highlights the health and education status of children in California by assigning letter grades to key individual determinants. Indicators of child health, education, and cross-systems issues are presented. Topics include health insurance, oral health, mental health, infant health, adolescent health, early care and education, K-12 education, after-school programs, obesity, child safety, and integrated services. Policy progress, recommendations, and data are included.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Aftercare, Asthma, California, Child safety, Children, Early childhood education, Education, Elementary education, Health insurance, Health status, Infant, Infant health, Integrated services, Mental health, Obesity, Oral health, Public policy, State surveys, Statistics

Annotation: This report describes a project for newborn screening and surveillance and an integrated public health information repository in Iowa. It identifies priority issues including accountability for newborn metabolic screening in the state, obtainable and relevant birth defects data for planning health and human service programs for children with special health needs, and enhanced methods to inform families of the services for which their child may be eligible. Report contents include a description of the project's purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination and utilization of the results, future plans and follow up, and the type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. A list of products and publications and the audience they are intended for is provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Family centered services, Final reports, Genetic screening, Integrated services, Iowa, Newborn infants, Program descriptions, State initiatives, Surveillance

Annotation: This report was prepared for the Genetic Services Branch of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau summarizing the third in a series of technical assistance meetings of grantees from 16 states. The purpose of the meeting was to share information between grantees and learn the lessons needed to forge ahead and build systems that ensure an optimal healthy start for children by providing for the assessment and provision of services. Report sections include summaries of grantee presentations and panel discussions, a review of the status of newborn screening across the nation, a review of two publications produced on best practices in information integration models, pitfalls in translating data into action, principles and core functions of integrated child health information systems, developing indicators to measure child health information systems integration, community-based systems of care, and a wrap-up summary. Also included are a participant list and an assessment tool for comparing state genetics services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Genetic screening, Health care systems, Information services, Integrated information systems, MCH research, Neonatal screening, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This publication presents brief summaries of some solutions developed by the Community Integrated Services System (CISS) Phase II grantees to address typical challenges to achieving integrated service systems at the community level. Part one discusses the Community Organization Grant (COG)grant sites and activities, and describes illustrative scenarios, building blocks, and the CISS approach. Part two contains project highlights in nine categories and includes service-delivery challenges and specific CISS solutions. The appendix contains a list of projects profiled by project title and location. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Community Integrated Service System program, Community based services, Community health services, Health care delivery, Local MCH programs, Service coordination

Annotation: This annual report describes the multifaceted federal and state activities which are supported by Title V of the Social Security Act. It begins with an overview of maternal and child health including the role of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). Part I presents more detail about demographics, health indicators, and health services and utilization in maternal and child health. Part II describes the activities of the MCHB. Part III discusses the Title V state block grant activities. Part IV deals with Title V Special Projects of Regional and National Significance (SPRANS) and Community Integrated Service Systems (CISS) Projects. Appendices include statistics on infant and maternal health and mortality including the effects of racial factors, prenatal care, and low birthweight. The title of this report varies somewhat from year to year. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Annual reports, Block grants, Child health, Community Integrated Service System program, Community health services, Federal MCH programs, Federal programs, Maternal health, Prenatal care, SPRANS, Service coordination, State programs, Statistics, Title V programs

Annotation: The Little Sisters of the Assumption Family Health Service, Inc. (LSAFHS), built on existing home-based services to improve the health and well-being of antenatal and postpartum women, infants and toddlers, and their families. Critical program components included expanding antenatal and postpartum services; providing in-home assessments, early stimulation, and participation in New York City's Early Intervention Program; and creating an integrated database. LSAFHS serves families in East Harlem—an inner-city neighborhood in Manhattan—who suffer a disproportionate share of the city's social and health problems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-151474.

Keywords: Case Management, Community Integrated Service System program, Data Collection, Databases, Early Intervention, Health Promotion, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families

Annotation: The Healthy Beginnings project was designed to expand the services currently available in the Babies First! program by adding volunteers and paraprofessionals. This staff administered the Parents As Teachers program, in addition to conducting intensive visits to provide health education, case management, parenting support, education, and advocacy under the direction of the public health nurse. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144701.

Keywords: Community Integrated Service System program, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Low Income Population, Paraprofessional Education, Paraprofessional Personnel, Parenting Skills, Preventive Health Care, Public Health Nurses, Training

Annotation: This project sought to meet the developmental needs of pregnant and parenting adolescents, and promote successful health outcomes for their infants. The project combined education and support components of LifeSpan—an established program for pregnant and parenting adolescents—with case management services, including home visiting by trained paraprofessionals. LifeSpan served as an early entry point into medical and social service supports for pregnant adolescents. Comprehensive services ensured that mothers and infants received a continuum of care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144719.

Keywords: Adolescent Parents, Case Management, Child Abuse Prevention, Child Neglect, Community Integrated Service System program, Health Education, Health Promotion, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Mother Infant Interaction, Pregnant Adolescents

Annotation: This project targeted first-time mothers in the City of Alexandria who were eligible for medicaid and who had personal or transient risk factors that may predispose them to abusing or neglecting their children. This 3-year project: (1) Ensured adequate prenatal care as prescribed by the clients' medical provider or by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; (2) ensured well-child care and advance optimal child development; (3) improved new mothers' knowledge of child care needs and child behavior; (4) enhanced parent-child interaction, bonding, and parenting skills; and (5) prevented child abuse and neglect among enrollees. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Fax: xxx E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-144743.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Case Management, Child Abuse Prevention, Child Neglect, Community Integrated Service System program, Hispanics, Home Visiting Programs, Home Visiting Services, Home Visiting for At Risk Families, Language Barriers, Minority Groups, Paraprofessional Personnel, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Education, Parenting Skills, Prenatal Care, Prenatal Care, Screening, Well Child Care

Annotation: This document presents action plans developed at a June 1995 meeting of Community Integrated Service Systems (CISS) program grantees. The plans recommend actions to be taken by the CISS and state maternal and child health (MCH) programs, as well as the regional and central MCH offices, in the areas of collaboration, state and regional support, evaluation, communication, and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community Integrated Service System program, Community health services, Federal MCH programs, Health care systems, Service coordination

Annotation: This report aims to present a broad framework for understanding the nature of the difficulties and challenges involved with reforming patterns of delivering services to children and families. The overall purpose of the report is to share preliminary thinking about what these issues are, and about the kinds of data systems and evaluation studies needed to help implement and assess the new initiatives. The report specifically focuses on the lessons from previous and current attempts to evaluate service integration and systems reform; the appropriate evaluation designs and methodologies; outcomes measures needed; how new information technologies can be used to improve service delivery, evaluate programs, and increase knowledge; some of the barriers to evaluating integrated and family-centered programs; and the federal role in promoting, funding, and supporting data systems and evaluation.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Families, Family centered services, Integrated information systems, MCH programs, Program evaluation, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report describes the procedures that were used to establish a community-based ambulatory care network in Rochester, New York. The project explored techniques for collecting and organizing clinical information in networked practices with the intent of integrating that information with other data that is routinely collected; it also sought to investigate the primary care practices of the physicians who participated in the network. The report contains information on the development of the physician network, the technical aspects of designing the network and the database, examines patterns of outpatient care, and presents information on clinical outcome management and community-based ambulatory care. The report considers the lessons learned in the study and presents information on the current status and future plans for the network. It was funded by a grant from the John A. Hartford Foundation to the University of Rochester.

Keywords: Case management, Community based services, Health professionals, Integrated information systems, Medical practices, New York, Primary care, Primary care