Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit is a collection of resources that aims to assist states as they integrate Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). The toolkit consists of tip sheets, data integration use cases, and state examples.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Data linkage, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Program coordination, Program improvement, State programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: This tool contains county-level information on child health, education, and socioeconomic status that can be searched, mapped, downloaded, and compared to national averages. Users can also map, filter, and display key characteristics of public school and school-based health center locations. A user manual and video tutorials are provided.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Education, Information systems, Integrated information systems, Maps, School based clinics, Schools, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This searchable, interactive platform provides stakeholders with community and population health resources, grants, and examples. Components include cross-sector grants, success stories, and community and population health policy papers.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Grants, Integrated information systems, Public health, Public policy

Annotation: This report provides a vision for integrated early childhood (EC) data and explains how states can use integrated data to inform decisions. The report also covers key considerations when integrating and linking EC data based on best practices from the field and lessons learned from eight states that are actively engaged in developing integrated EC data systems. Details about the eight profiled states (Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah), federal resources to support data integration, data privacy laws and regulations, and data sharing opportunities are included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Decision making, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Public policy, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This three-part webinar series expands on information from the American Academy of Pediatrics' policy statement, Patient- and Family-Centered Care Coordination: A Framework for Integrating Care for Children and Youth across Multiple Systems. The series provides guidance, tools, and resources for implementing care coordination in a pediatric practice and across multiple care systems within the community; it also includes information on how to measure these efforts. The presenter slides, webinar recording, and audience questions and answers are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Coordination, Family centered care, Health care systems, Integrated information systems, Management information systems, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This report provides an overview of findings from a project to support implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) by exploring opportunities for integration and outreach. Contents include a summary of the challenges and prospects for integration. Topics include ways in which ACA changes can help bring eligible individuals into human services programs and ways in which human services programs can aid in identifying and enrolling those newly eligible in health insurance affordability programs, including Medicaid and subsidies available through state health insurance Marketplaces. Additional topics include current integration and outreach efforts at the state and local levels and ways to help consumers make program participation choices as they navigate public benefits programs and the Marketplaces.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Integrated information systems, Medicaid, Outreach, Participation, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This data system provides information about the burden of oral disease, use of oral-health-care-delivery systems, and status of community water fluoridation on both a national and state level. The system is designed to track oral health surveillance indicators based on data sources and surveillance capacity available to most states. Indicators include adult dental visits, teeth cleaning, and tooth loss; dental sealants, caries experience, and untreated tooth decay in children; and the percentage of the population served by public water systems who receive fluoridated water.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Dental sealants, Federal initiatives, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health status, Integrated information systems, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State programs, Water

Annotation: This mobile application provides guidance to health care professionals, public health professionals,trauma program managers and coordinators, care coordinators, injury prevention coordinators, social workers and case managers, and trauma medical directors on integrating what is known about injury prevention strategies into programs. Contents include information and data on the size and scope of specific injuries in Indiana and effective evidence-based solutions to the problem of injury.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• IOS 7.1 Or Later (2.0 MB)

Keywords: Data, Indiana, Injuries, Injury prevention, Integrated information systems, Intervention, Service integration, State initiatives, Trauma

Annotation: This website provides guidance on the stages of integrated population health improvement to support increased collaboration between primary care and public health groups. Contents include information on the principles of integration; tools and resources to support integrative projects including community data sets; and stories that highlight successful partnerships contributing to population health improvement across the United States. Visitors can browse by location, topic (cross-cutting or disease-specific), or population size.

Contact: Duke University Medical Center, Box 3552, Durham, NC 27710, Telephone: (919) 681-4080 Fax: 919-681-2714 Web Site: http://medschool.duke.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Integrated information systems, Primary care, Program improvement, Public health, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This 2013 report presents findings from a survey to assess state early childhood data systems. The report focuses on state data systems' ability to securely link child-level early childhood education (ECE) data across ECE programs and to K-12, health, and social services data systems. Topics include states collecting state-level developmental screening, assessment, and kindergarten entry assessments; status of state ECE data governance structure, authority, and function; and action steps for policymakers and practitioners.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• 2013 Report

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This webinar series focuses on efforts to integrate museums and libraries into statewide early childhood systems. Contents include presentations (in .pdf) and recordings on the following topics: tools and methodologies for leveraging strategic connections to local library systems, state government, and early learning organizations and standards; how museums and libraries can be learning resource centers for young children and their families and caregivers; the scope, roles, and functions of state early learning and development systems; and ways to strengthen and work with museums and libraries in intentionally supporting the growth and development of young children and their families and caregivers. State-specific examples from Washington are included.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Integrated information systems, Learning disabilities, Libraries, Public health, Public private partnerships, Service delivery systems, State programs, Statewide planning, Washington, Young children

Annotation: This report describes how Oregon has leveraged opportunities to support a state-led, fundamental shift in how the health care and early education systems function and align with each other. Topics include why, what, and how Oregon is aligning these two systems, next steps and remaining challenges, and lessons learned. Key transformation milestones, organizational charts, and timelines of key alignment activities are also included.

Contact: Build Initiative, 89 South Street, Suite 700, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 523-6565 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.buildinitiative.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Educational change, Educational reform, Health care reform, Health care systems, Integrated information systems, Kindergarten, Oregon, Organizational change, Service delivery systems, Social change, State initiatives, Systems development, Transitions, Young children

Annotation: This database is designed for use by researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public in learning about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States. Contents include fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of sources. Users can search, sort, and view the data and create reports, charts, and maps based on the intent of injury; mechanism (cause) of injury; body region; nature (type) of injury; geographic location where the injury occurred; and the sex, race and ethnicity, and age of the injured person. Mobile applications (for iPhone and iPad) are also available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Program Site
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Databases, Economics, Injuries, Integrated information systems, Mobile applications, Public health

Annotation: This document reviews levels of integrated health care and proposes a functional standard framework for classifying sites according to these levels. The document describes six levels of integration (minimal collaboration, basic collaboration at a distance, basic collaboration on site, close collaboration on site with systems integration, close collaboration approaching an integrated practice, and full collaboration in a transformed or merged practice) within a three-part framework of coordinated care, co-located care, and integrated care. Core descriptions and key differentiators of the six levels of collaboration/integration, as well as the advantages and weaknesses at each level are also presented in tables.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Collaboration, Health care reform, Health care systems, Integrated information systems, Mental health, Primary care, Program coordination, Service integration, Standards

Annotation: This report examines the public health dimensions of the epilepsies with a focus on four areas: public health surveillance and data collection and integration; population and public health research; health policy, health care, and human services; and education for people with epilepsy and their families, health professionals, and the public. Recommendations are included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $88.00 plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-25953-8.

• Link
• Report Brief

Keywords: Data collection, Epilepsy, Health policy, Integrated information systems, Population surveillance, Professional education, Public education, Research

Annotation: This plan offers strategies for developing an effective oral health system in North Carolina that increases oral health equity through collaborative partnership, advocacy, and education. The plan identifies three strategic priorities: advance systemic change, influence policy, and increase organizational effectiveness. For each priority, goals, sub-goals, and targeted actions are presented. A strategic planning overview and a timeline are included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

• Overview
• Full Report

Keywords: Evaluation, Integrated information systems, Measures, Medical records, Oral health, Program improvement, Technology

Annotation: This report, which is based on surveys of New York state agencies that provide early learning services to young children, pulls together baseline information on the data each presently maintains on its programs, workforce, and the children and families they serve. The report describes the early learning data systems in New York state and New York City, including details such as the system's geographic scope, the agency responsible, and the focus and contents. The report includes data on early learning enrollment and demand, the early childhood workforce, program quality, costs, and financing. Recommendations are provided on steps New York state needs to take in order to build an effective integrated early childhood data system. Prepared for New York's Early Childhood Advisory Council, the report is intended to serve as a first step in the process of creating a coordinated early childhood data system for that state.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Data collection, Early childhood education, Integrated information systems, New York, Service coordination, State Initiatives, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This document discusses the benefits of integrating health information technology (HIT) in health center programs, the unmet needs of the market segment, and resources for dental directors considering HIT implementation. Topics include technology adoption in the health center oral health setting; technology systems that serve the oral health market; challenges to technology implementation among oral health professionals in health centers; and factors proven to yield positive results for organizations selecting, implementing, optimizing, and sustaining HIT. A resource guide for dental directors and staff to use in their system selection process is included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org $22; also available at no charge from the website.

• Link
• Part 1

Keywords: Integrated information systems, Medical records, Oral health, Program improvement, Technology