Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

Center for Mental Health in Schools. n.d.. Technical assistance sampler on: Using technology to address barriers to learning. Los Angeles, CA: Center for Mental Health in Schools, 75 pp.

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Bannon J, Bienstock A, Cass B, Dickinson P, Gleason L, Kendrick D, Knierim K, McCaskill M, McCormack J, Ross S, Whitley E. 2022. Obtaining and using data in practice improvement: A handbook for health IT advisors and practice facilitators. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 153 pp.

Annotation: This handbook is intended as a resource for coaches who provide primary care practices with health information technology (IT)–related assistance to support their quality-improvement (QI) and practice-transformation efforts. Topics include strategies for health IT advisors, working with electronic health records (EHRs), clinical-decision support, patient portals and engagement technologies, and incorporating patient-generated data for QI. Additional topics include EHR cases for QI, alternative data sources for QI, and reviews of clinical quality measures and of risk stratification in primary care.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ 22-0028.

Keywords: Information technology, Measures, Primary care, Quality assurance, Statistical data

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2022. Report to Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 178 pp.

Annotation: This report addresses a range of issues facing the Medicaid program. Topics include monitoring access to health care (including oral health care), improving the oversight and transparency of directed payments, improving access to vaccines for adults, encouraging the use of health information technology among behavioral health professionals, requiring states to integrate care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare, and advancing health equity in Medicaid.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adult health, Behavior health, Heath information, Medicaid, Medicare, Oral health, Reimbursement, Service integration, Technology, Vaccines

Boynes S, Davis L, Adams G, Mills M, Deutchman M. 2017. MORE Care: Narrowing the rural interprofessional oral health care gap. Westborough, MA: DentaQuest Institute, 35 pp., exec. summ. (10 pp.)

Annotation: This paper provides information about initiating interprofessional networks that integrate and coordinate person-centered oral health care in rural communities. Topics include oral health as a national issue with rural implications, interprofessional practice and the oral-systemic health connection, creating networks and a learning collaborative, state offices of rural health and medicaloral expanded care initiation, and challenges and opportunities for innovation. Examples from Colorado, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Health care delivery, Information systems, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Provider networks, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Service integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Systems development, Technology, Work force

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology. 2015. Federal health IT strategic plan 2015–2020. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Office of the Secretary, 50 pp.

Annotation: This plan describes how the federal government views the health information technology (health IT) landscape and articulates federal values and priorities. It also identifies government actions that will be most impactful in the future. Topics include the federal health IT vision and mission, principles, and goals for improving health and well-being and progressing to a person-centered infrastructure; how health IT helps users manage systemic transformation; federal efforts to modernize the nation's health IT infrastructure; strategic plan development and implementation; and measurement and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Consumer protection, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health information, Measures, Public health infrastructure, Standards, Strategic planning, Systems development, Technology

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology. 2015. Connecting health and care for the nation: A shared nationwide interoperability roadmap–Final version 1.0. [Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services], 166 pp.

Annotation: This document proposes critical actions that the public and private sector need to take to advance toward an interoperable health information technology (IT) ecosystem. Topics include the current context, the federal health IT strategic plan; guiding principles; business and technical requirements for a learning health system; process for updating the roadmap; rules of engagement and governance; supportive business, clinical, cultural, and regulatory environments; privacy and security protections for health information; certification and testing to support adoption and optimization of health IT products; core technical standards and functions; and tracking progress and measuring success.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Confidentiality, Evaluation, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Organizational change, Role, Standards, Strategic planning, Systems development, Technology

National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 2015. Health literacy and consumer-facing technology: Workshop summary. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 122 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes presentations and discussions of a public workshop on health literacy, new technology, and health. Topics include health literacy and the use of technology to inform health decision making, sharing health information via technology, or examples of health literacy best practices as they apply to the use of technology for health decisions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-37690-7.

Link

Keywords: Decision making, Health literacy, Information dissemination, Model programs, Technology

Chien E. 2014. WYhealth due date plus (v 1.4). [no place]: Wildflower Health, 1 item.

Annotation: This mobile application for pregnant women provides access to health advice and health care services offered by the Wyoming Department of Health. Features include week-by-week updates, a due date calculator, a weight gain calculator, pregnancy milestones, daily tips and affirmations, symptoms and issues, personalized healthy pregnancy actions, pregnancy programs from major health plans, and the BabyBoost relaxation tool. A version for women enrolled in Medicaid provides access to a nurse-staffed call line and other Medicaid-specific referral services.

Contact: Wyoming Department of Health, 401 Hathaway Building, Fourth Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002 , Telephone: (307) 777-7656 Secondary Telephone: (866) 571-0944 Fax: (307) 777-7439 Web Site: http://wdh.state.wy.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Information services, Medicaid, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Public health services, Referrals, Technology, Wyoming

Childhood Asthma Leadership Coalition. 2013. Continuous exchange of information and monitoring progress, using health information technology. Washington, DC: George Washington University School of Public Health and Health Services, Department of Health Policy, 2 pp. (Leveraging Affordable Care Act opportunities to improve childhood asthma outcomes)

Annotation: This chart describes Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provisions and implementation activities that target health information technology and the exchange of health information, including public reporting of provider performance information; patient safety and health care delivery system research; and new, uniform requirements for health disparities data collection and research. The chart also describes potential areas for asthma stakeholder engagement; policy research and development; and advocacy at the national, state, and local levels.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asthma, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Information, Initiatives, Legislation, Program, Public policy, Research, Safety, Statistical data, Technology

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2013. Using visual apps to connect with your target audience on social networks. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau,

Annotation: This webinar serves as an orientation to social media and e-learning technologies for MCH and public health professionals. It covers the recent accessibility of social media apps (Instagram, Pinterest, Vine, FiLMiC Pro, and Path) that can maximize the visibility of public health programs. The webinar discusses best practices, provides tips and tricks to help engage target audiences, and explains how to leverage social media networks such as Facebook, YouTube and Twitter in maternal and child health programs. Case studies that successfully demonstrate the influence of social media are also presented and discussed.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Continuing education, Information sources, Internet, MCH training, Public health, Social media, Technology

Kachur R, Mesnick J, Liddon N, Kapsimalis C, Habel M, David-Ferdon C, Brown K, Gloppen K, Tevendale H, Gelaude DJ, Romero L, Seitz H, Heldman AB, Schindelar,J. 2013. Adolescents, technology and reducing risk for HIV, STDs and pregnancy. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, 68 pp.

Annotation: This white paper provides an overview of the ways in which digital technology can be used to improve the sexual health of adolescents. It includes a brief summary of adolescents (including their demography, development, and sexual behavior) and provides an overview of the new digital technologies and media that youth are using. These include networking sites (SNS), video sharing, blogs, instant messaging, mobile technology, and virtual worlds. The paper examines technology’s potential for use in sexual health promotion as well as the risks associated with misuse of digital technology. Included are examples of innovative adolescent sexual health interventions that have used digital technology to improve their reach and effectiveness.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, HIV, Health promotion, Information sources, Internet, Prevention, Risk reduction, Social media, Technology

Arlitsch K, O'Brien PS. 2013. Improving the visibility and use of digital repositories through SEO. Chicago, IL: ALA TechSource, 128 pp. (A LITA guide)

Annotation: This book discusses search engine optimization (SEO), including what it is, why it is important, how to improve your library's SEO efforts, how Internet search engine indexing works, targeting your audience, Google Scholar and institutional repositories, and measuring success.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $65,00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1555709068.

Keywords: Design, Digital libraries, Information management, Libraries, Technology, Web sites, World Wide Web

Rein A, Kennedy H, DeCoudres B, Cohen RS, Sabharwal R, Fairbrother G. 2012. Evaluation design and technical assistance opportunities: Early findings from the Beacon Community Program evaluation teams. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 21 pp., (appendix 9 pp.).

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes the findings from evaluations of 17 communities funded by the Beacon Community Cooperative Agreement Program to build and strengthen their health information technology (IT) capabilities to enhance care coordination, improve patient and population health, and reduce or restrain costs. Based on interviews with representatives from each Beacon Community, the brief outlines various study designs, evaluation approaches, outcome measures, and data sources in use. It also identifies some common challenges, including establishing governance models, determining baseline measures, and assessing impact within a constrained timeframe. An appendix indicates the clinical focus of each of the Beacon communities.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Evaluation, Health, Information, Models, Program improvement, Service coordination, Technology

National Network for Oral Health Access, Health Information Technology Workgroup. 2012. Guide to the future: A strategic roadmap to achieving meaningful use objectives and selecting an integrated electronic dental record (EDR) electronic health record (EHR) system to improve oral health access and outcomes. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 93 pp.

Annotation: This plan offers strategies for developing an effective oral health system in North Carolina that increases oral health equity through collaborative partnership, advocacy, and education. The plan identifies three strategic priorities: advance systemic change, influence policy, and increase organizational effectiveness. For each priority, goals, sub-goals, and targeted actions are presented. A strategic planning overview and a timeline are included.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 410, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (303) 957-0635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Evaluation, Integrated information systems, Measures, Medical records, Oral health, Program improvement, Technology

DeFrancis Sun B, Pickett OK. 2012. Health information technology (Health IT): Professional resource brief. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Information systems, Medical records, Medical technology, Resources for professionals

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. State options for enhancing health information exchange for MCH systems. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 8 pp.

Annotation: This resource describes what states have done to improve their systems for sharing data through widespread adoption of electronic records, including population screening, programs for infants and children with special health care needs, and registry and data programs.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Health care systems, Information systems, MCH programs, Medical records, Program improvement, State programs, Technology

American Public Health Association, Health Communication Working Group. [2011]. A guidance document to the navigation and use of the Healthy People 2020 website. Washington, DC: American Public Health Association, Health Communication Working Group, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes the Healthy People 2020 website and explains how online users (public health professionals as well as the general public) can take advantage of the site's features. It includes a brief overview of the Healthy People 2020 initiative, including its overarching goals; a description of the features on the site's home page; and summaries of the information available in each section of the site. The guide also describes the site's relational database called Closer Look, Health Disparities, which can be used to access a wide variety of data from federal agencies. Information on external Web 2.0 tools, mobile applications, and GIS-mapping data sites is also provided.

Contact: Healthy People 2030, Web Site: https://health.gov/healthypeople Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Guidelines, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Information sources, Information systems, Internet, Technology, World wide web

Solomon L. 2011. Doing social media so it matters: A librarian's guide. Chicago,IL: American Library Association, 80 pp. (ALA editions: special reports)

Annotation: This guide explains how libraries can use social media to enhance the services provided by their libraries. It describes how libraries can use tools such as Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, and Linked-In to create and promote resources and services and to enhance the patron's library experience. The guide includes practical advice on choosing, using, and monitoring tools effectively. It explains how to obtain administrative and staff buy-in and how to write a social media policy. It discusses the concept of social capital; recommends strategies for achieving social media success; and suggests methods for evaluating social media services. Best practices and additional resources are provided.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $40.00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-8389-1067-2.

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Guidelines, Information sources, Internet, Library services, Model programs, Social media, Standards, Technology

Purington K, Dierker, Stanek M. 2011. Health IT, quality reporting and Medicaid well child benefits: An assessment of progress and potential in the District of Columbia. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 68 pp.

Annotation: This report addresses how evolving health information technology and health information enterprise capacity and the emerging quality measurement framework for children's health can promote better quality measurement and reporting for EPSDT services. Contents include key findings and recommendations for EPSDT quality oversight and improvement in the District of Columbia.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: District of Columbia, EPSDT, Health information technology, Legal responsibility, Medicaid, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State surveys, Well child care

National Center for Medical Home Implementation and Child Health Informatics Center. 2011. Improving the medical home through the use of health information technology: A fact sheet for health care professionals. Elk Grove, IL: National Center for Medical Home Implementation and Child Health Informatics Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the relationship between health information technology (HIT) and the medical home, considerations for practices, translating HIT functionality to medical home implementation, and HIT resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health, Information, Medical home, Service coordination, Technology