Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this paper is to present a solution algorithm for the general linear programming problem of providing decision-makers in human organizations a with tools that will enable him to make decisions in an orderly fashion and with as much precision as possible. Particular emphasis is placed on basic concepts and fundamental principles, i.e., motivation and simplicity of explanation rather than on rigorous proofs and technical details. The aim of the paper is to make more effective communication and cooperation between the non-managerial mathematician and the non-mathematical manager. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Decision making, Management information systems, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: The project's goals were to: (1) Develop and implement structures and processes in defined community areas to plan and implement a family-centered, community-based health care delivery system for children; (2) develop data system capacity and function statewide to ensure family-centered, community-based primary care services for children; and (3) share experiences in family-centered, community-based system change in the area of primary health care for children with other State, regional, and national maternal and child health providers. At the State level, strategies were directed toward developing a system of children's primary health care delivery that was family centered and community based. At the local level, child health steering committees in established projects were to continue to plan and implement child health system changes in their service areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Child Mortality, Community Based Health Services, Databases, Family Centered Health Care, Information Systems, Primary Care, Standards of Care, State Programs

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This roadmap presents four goals toward achieving oral health equity for young children in Colorado. For each goal, an introduction and context, a set of associated strategies, proposed actions for each strategy, a suggested timeline, a list of potential partners, and a workbook are included. The roadmap also includes information about Colorado’s early childhood oral health system, especially for communities of color, and information about related frameworks, plans, and recommendations.

Contact: Early Milestones Colorado, 1536 Wynkoop St #902, Denver, CO 80202, Telephone: (720) 639-9000 Web Site: https://earlymilestones.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Health care systems, Health equity, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report describes a strategic approach for the development and implementation of California's first oral health surveillance system, the purpose of which will be to provide a consistent source of up-to-date valid information for use in developing, implementing, and evaluating programs to improve the oral health of California residents. The following aspects of the system are discussed: the framework, oral health indicators, operationalization, evaluation, data security, and data gaps.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Evaluation, Information systems, Oral health, State information, State programs, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Surveillance

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a national survey to assess states' ability to link data systems related to government-funded early childhood education (ECE) programs and services. The updated information on states' progress in integrating their data systems is intended to help policy makers answer early childhood policy questions aimed at improving access to services, the quality of ECE programs, and the effectiveness of interventions.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Early childhood education, Health agencies, Integrated information systems, National surveys, School systems, Social service agencies, State programs

Annotation: This paper provides information about initiating interprofessional networks that integrate and coordinate person-centered oral health care in rural communities. Topics include oral health as a national issue with rural implications, interprofessional practice and the oral-systemic health connection, creating networks and a learning collaborative, state offices of rural health and medicaloral expanded care initiation, and challenges and opportunities for innovation. Examples from Colorado, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Collaboration, Colorado, Community based services, Dental care, Health care delivery, Information systems, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Provider networks, Rural environment, Rural health, Rural population, Service integration, South Carolina, State initiatives, Systems development, Technology, Work force

Annotation: This toolkit is a collection of resources that aims to assist states as they integrate Title V data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). The toolkit consists of tip sheets, data integration use cases, and state examples.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Data linkage, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Program coordination, Program improvement, State programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: This tool contains county-level information on child health, education, and socioeconomic status that can be searched, mapped, downloaded, and compared to national averages. Users can also map, filter, and display key characteristics of public school and school-based health center locations. A user manual and video tutorials are provided.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Data, Education, Information systems, Integrated information systems, Maps, School based clinics, Schools, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This searchable, interactive platform provides stakeholders with community and population health resources, grants, and examples. Components include cross-sector grants, success stories, and community and population health policy papers.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Grants, Integrated information systems, Public health, Public policy

Annotation: This mobile app/platform is designed to help youth and others make progress towards the 17 global Sustainable Development Goals (SDB) through mapping, mobilization, and measurement. Topics include ending poverty and hunger, good health, quality education, gender equality, clean water and sanitation, renewable energy, good jobs and economic growth, innovation and infrastructure, reduced inequalities, sustainable cities and communities, responsible consumption, climate action, life in water and on land, peace and justice, and partnerships. Contents include portals for groups and organizations to document opportunities for taking action and for reporting progress towards SDG goals. A video on how to use the app/platform and a toolkit for organizing communities are also available.

Contact: Creative Associates International, 5301 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (202) 966-5804 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.creativeassociatesinternational.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Community action, Goals, Information systems, Maps, Mobile application, Multimedia, Online systems, Outreach, Sustainability, Youth

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report examines the proportion and characteristics of Medicaid beneficiaries served in fee-for-service arrangements and federal and state resources to help them find participating providers and report related challenges. A discussion of state actions to address access challenges is included. The report addresses medical care and specialty services such as behavioral/mental health care, oral health care, vision care, pharmacies, and ancillary services such as transportation and translation and sign language services.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: GAO-16-809.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Consumer satisfaction, Family support services, Hotlines, Information sources, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Provider participation, Service delivery systems, State programs

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This report provides a vision for integrated early childhood (EC) data and explains how states can use integrated data to inform decisions. The report also covers key considerations when integrating and linking EC data based on best practices from the field and lessons learned from eight states that are actively engaged in developing integrated EC data systems. Details about the eight profiled states (Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Utah), federal resources to support data integration, data privacy laws and regulations, and data sharing opportunities are included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Decision making, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Federal initiatives, Integrated information systems, Interagency cooperation, Learning, Program coordination, Program improvement, Public policy, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Systems development, Young children

Annotation: This report examines the use of measures to improve health care quality across the Department of Health and Human Services' (DHHS's) programs and private payers, with a focus on reducing burden. Topics include what is known about the extent and effects of quality-measure alignment, key factors that can contribute to misalignment, and efforts to address misalignment. Recommendations for (1) prioritizing development of electronic quality measures and related data elements for the core measures DHHS and private payers have agreed to use and (2) comprehensively planning efforts to develop more meaningful quality measures are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-17-5.

• Full Report
• Highlights

Keywords: Data collection, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Information systems, Measures, Medicaid, Program improvement, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Systems development, Third party payers

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This three-part webinar series expands on information from the American Academy of Pediatrics' policy statement, Patient- and Family-Centered Care Coordination: A Framework for Integrating Care for Children and Youth across Multiple Systems. The series provides guidance, tools, and resources for implementing care coordination in a pediatric practice and across multiple care systems within the community; it also includes information on how to measure these efforts. The presenter slides, webinar recording, and audience questions and answers are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Coordination, Family centered care, Health care systems, Integrated information systems, Management information systems, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This report provides an overview of findings from a project to support implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) by exploring opportunities for integration and outreach. Contents include a summary of the challenges and prospects for integration. Topics include ways in which ACA changes can help bring eligible individuals into human services programs and ways in which human services programs can aid in identifying and enrolling those newly eligible in health insurance affordability programs, including Medicaid and subsidies available through state health insurance Marketplaces. Additional topics include current integration and outreach efforts at the state and local levels and ways to help consumers make program participation choices as they navigate public benefits programs and the Marketplaces.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Integrated information systems, Medicaid, Outreach, Participation, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Service integration, State programs