Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website for Alaskan Native pregnant women and Tribal Partner organizations has information on the harm that can be done to a fetus when the mother smokes, hotlines for help to stop smoking for mothers, and printable rack cards for healthcare providers. It also has links to reports on research that was conducted with the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (ANTHC), Southcentral Foundation (SCF), and Mayo Clinic researchers and Alaska Native women who received care at the Anchorage Primary Care Center on levels of tobacco exposure between a mother and her baby. (The study was funded by the National Cancer Institute: U54 CA153605.)

Contact: Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium, 4000 Ambassador Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508, Telephone: (907) 563-2662 E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, Information resources, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: The American Thoracic Society produced this 2-page pamphlet for pregnant women as an aid to help them quit smoking. It contains information on the harm cigarettes and cigarette smoke ( including vaping and hookah pipes) pose to a developing fetus. Tips on how to quit smoking and resources such as a counseling services and a telephone number with information on smoking cessation are included.

Contact: American Thoracic Society, 61 Broadway, New York, NY 10006-2755, Telephone: 212-315-8600 Fax: 212-315-6498 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thoracic.org

• PDF

Keywords: Information resources, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This fact sheet provides recommended strategies and a selection of resources and evidence-based practices to aid Healthy Start grantee organizations, partners and their staff in promoting safe infant sleep practices among the women and families they serve. It includes individual and family level strategies, and community level strategies. Its declared benchmark is to increase the proportion of Healthy Start women participants who engage in safe sleep practices to 80%.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• PDF

Keywords: Asphyxia, Information resources, SIDS, Safe sleep, Suffocation

Annotation: This website provides guidance on the stages of integrated population health improvement to support increased collaboration between primary care and public health groups. Contents include information on the principles of integration; tools and resources to support integrative projects including community data sets; and stories that highlight successful partnerships contributing to population health improvement across the United States. Visitors can browse by location, topic (cross-cutting or disease-specific), or population size.

Contact: Duke University Medical Center, Box 3552, Durham, NC 27710, Telephone: (919) 681-4080 Fax: 919-681-2714 Web Site: http://medschool.duke.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Integrated information systems, Primary care, Program improvement, Public health, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This roadmap provides resources to enhance the use of economic analyses in maternal and child health (MCH) programs. It includes a glossary of terms, process guides and toolkits for conducting return on investment (ROI) analyses, case studies showcasing ROI methods for MCH programs, webinars and presentation slides on ROI approaches, tools for ROI calculations, articles demonstrating applied economic analyses of MCH interventions, and examples of economic analyses making the business case for MCH programs. The roadmap aims to increase knowledge of cost-effectiveness, cost-benefit, cost-analysis and ROI methods among MCH professionals and policymakers. It also highlights AMCHP's work supporting state teams in developing economic analyses of their MCH programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Cost benefit analysis, Economic factors, Information resources, MCH programs, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These modules are designed to help professionals identify and implement an oral health program. Topics include an overview of oral health in rural communities, program models and ways to adapt them to meet community needs, and strategies to ensure program sustainability. The toolkit also includes a framework for evaluation, methods for disseminating results, and examples of programs that have been implemented in rural communities.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evaluation methods, Information dissemination, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Program development, Resources for professionals, Rural environment

Annotation: This registry provides information about evidence-based positive youth development programs designed to promote the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Contents include surveys for matching children's strengths and needs to specific programs based on outcome areas, risk and protective factors, and developmental stage; the program review criteria fact sheet, checklist, and standard; a searchable database that provides each program's name, target population, financing strategies, rating (promising or model program), benefits and costs, impact, and summary; instructions for nominating a program; related publications; and other resources.

Contact: University of Colorado Boulder, Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence, 483 UCB, Boulder, CO 80309-4083, Telephone: (303) 492-1032 Fax: (303) 492-2151 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cspv.colorado.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Certification, Child development, Children, Databases, Developmental stages, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Model programs, Needs assessment, Prevention programs, Program planning, Protective factors, Registries, Research, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Surveys, Violence prevention

Annotation: This guide is a toolkit for hospital librarians in the Southeastern/Atlantic region of the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. It includes resources, methods, and tools related to professional development, social media for libraries (including mobile app reviews), marketing and promotion, skills sets for librarians, electronic health records, policy development. disaster planning, statistics, training programs, and evidence based practices. The information included in this guide comes from a summit of hospital librarians held in Baltimore, Maryland in early 2010.

Contact: National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region, University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library System, Pittsburgh, PA Web Site: http://nnlm.gov/mar/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Hospitals, Information services, Library services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Information systems, Medical records, Medical technology, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These resources for professionals highlight key facts, materials, and websites on oral health topics. Topics include children and adolescents with special health care needs, dental caries, dental home, dental sealants, fluoridated water, fluoride varnish, Head Start, health literacy, home visiting, injury, K–12 education, mobile and portable services, nutrition, pregnancy, primary care, quality improvement, school health services, school readiness, and tobacco. Some of the materials and websites are available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Electronic publications, Infants, Information sources, Oral health, Pregnant women, Research, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This registry and repository contains health-care-related metadata, specifications, and standards. Topics include health information technology standards, common formats, meaningful use, all-payer claims, and children's electronic health record format. Draft quality measures that are available to the public for feedback are also included.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Claims, Data, Databases, Diffusion of innovation, Federal initiatives, Integrated information sources, Measures, Medical records, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Registries, Resources for professionals, Standards, Technology transfer, Third party payers

Annotation: This Web site provides resources and information to help corporations, organizations, and health professionals promote health literacy. Content includes information on effective communication and approaches to improving communication skills, a blog for health literacy professionals, and educational materials, forms, toolkits, and training for health professionals.

Contact: Health Literacy Media, 911 Washington Avenue, Suite 625, St. Louis, MO 63101, Telephone: (314) 361-9400 Fax: (314) 361-9410 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthliteracy.media Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Communication, Health literacy, Information services, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This electronic resource guide outlines quality health information sources gathered by medical librarians in support of clinical and scientific decision-making by doctors, scientists, and other health practitioners responsible for the nation's health. Contents include an introduction, getting started, content evaluation guidelines, additional help, Medical Library Association (MLA) "top ten" most useful consumer health Websites, and MLA recommended Websites for cancer, diabetes, and heart disease. Each entry provides the Website URL and a description of the sponsoring organization.

Contact: Medical Library Association, 225 East Wacker Place, Suite 650, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-9094 Fax: (312) 419-8950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mlanet.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health, Information services, Information sources, Public health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This paper provides a brief overview of 13 international surveys that can be used to support work in comparative research on children and youth, and in the development of internationally comparable indicators of well-being. Each overview includes a basic description of the survey; participating countries; the types of measures collected; how to access the data for analysis; how the surveys are funded; and contact information. Surveys are grouped according to their emphasis in health, education, income/employment/demographics, and a separate section for general surveys. It was funded by the National Institute for Child Health and Human Development Family and Child Research Network.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org $15.00, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Data sources, Demography, Developing countries, Education, Employment, Family income, Information sources, International programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Statistics, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This report outlines a vision and process for building the National Health Information Infrastructure (NHII), a comprehensive, knowledge-based health-support system encompassing tools such as clinical practice guidelines, educational resources for the public and health professionals, geographic information systems, health statistics at all levels of government, and many forms of communication among users. The report is divided into five chapters: (1) introduction; (2) the NHII in brief; (3) technical and functional building blocks of the NHII; (4) contributing activities and programs; and (5) leadership as the cornerstone of implementation. An appendix contains an interim report on the NHII. An executive summary, recommendations, endnotes, references, and an appendix of workgroup members are included in the report.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 2402, Hyattsville, MD 20782-2003, Telephone: (301) 458-4200 Fax: (301) 458-4022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncvhs.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Information networks, Information resources, National programs, Public health infrastructure, Strategic plans, Technology

Annotation: This book is primarily focused on libraries that provide services to physicians and other professional patient caregivers. The two introductory chapters describe the current state of health care libraries and provide an overview of the health care environment. Chapters 3-9 provide guidance on the overall management of the library. Chapters 10-14 cover basic operational and technical aspects of providing library services, including information services and resources, collection development, access to resources, and document delivery. Chapters 15 and 16 focus on audiovisual services and health information for patients and consumers. The book also contains many figures and an index.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-397-6.

Keywords: Administration, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Management, Reference materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book provides information and guidance on developing and managing information resources and services for nurses in a variety of settings, including clinical units and centers, laboratories and learning resource centers, and nursing libraries in hospitals, colleges, and universities. It provides resources to answer frequent and recurring queries from nurses and nursing school librarians and provides an overview of issues and practical advice relating to the development, management, and provision of information services. Chapters include information on administration; information and educational services; collection development and evaluation; cataloging and processing; special collections; preservation; learning resource centers, computer laboratories, and clinical simulation laboratories; and a review of the programs and services of the National Library of Medicine. An index concludes the book.

Contact: NLN Press, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 40 Tall Pine Drive, Sudbury, MA 01776, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbpub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88737-729-7.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Laboratories, Libraries, Library collection development, Nurses, Nursing education, Reference materials, Resource centers, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This bibliography contains information on computer software and services, and electronic data sources that may be useful to maternal and child health (MCH) agencies and organizations working on childhood injury prevention. The listing, though not exhaustive, identifies the types of programs and services available. Topics covered are data analysis programs, data import and retrieval programs, emergency medical services software, mapping software, library search programs, and data sources on diskette or CD-ROM. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Child health, Data, Federal MCH programs, Information sources, Injury prevention, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Resources for professionals, Software, State MCH programs

Annotation: This plan provides the focus and strategy for the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) leadership in working toward HRSA's goals and objectives between 1992 and the year 2000. The sections address access to primary care and preventive health services, primary care health professions, public health practice, mothers and children, minority health, HIV and AIDS, special populations, international health, clinical quality assurance, equal employment opportunity, total quality management, information resources management, and communications. A list of related acronyms is provided.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: AIDS, Acronyms, Children, Communication, Equal opportunities, Goals, HIV, Health Resources and Services Administration, Information services, International health, Minority health, Mothers, Planning, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public health services, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Total Quality Management

Annotation: This is one of a series of reports that describe an investigation of library/health education networking as a means for improving the availability and use of health information and health promotion resources and services.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, Information resources, Library education, Networking, North Dakota, Professional education