Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this paper is to present a solution algorithm for the general linear programming problem of providing decision-makers in human organizations a with tools that will enable him to make decisions in an orderly fashion and with as much precision as possible. Particular emphasis is placed on basic concepts and fundamental principles, i.e., motivation and simplicity of explanation rather than on rigorous proofs and technical details. The aim of the paper is to make more effective communication and cooperation between the non-managerial mathematician and the non-mathematical manager. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title II. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administration, Children and Youth Projects, Communication, Decision making, Management information systems, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report provides information on Mississippi's community water fluoridation (CWF) plan for 2022–2025. The report offers background information on fluoride, an overview of fluoride in Mississippi's water, and Healthy People 2030 goals. Also discussed are CWF operations in the state, goals, objectives, and an action plan, and program management.

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, 570 East Woodrow Wilson Drive, Jackson, MS 39216, Telephone: (601) 576-7400 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Web Site: http://www.msdh.state.ms.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drinking water, Fluoride, Mississippi, Oral health, Program management, State information, State programs

Annotation: This manual documents how the Dental Quality Alliance develops performance measures for oral health care. Topics include the roles of the research and development advisory committee and chair, conflict-of-interest procedures, confidentiality, and copyright. The report describes the measure-development process and discusses measure identification, development, evaluation, dissemination, maintenance, and updates.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Disease prevention, Group processes, Health care utilization, Information dissemination, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Program development, Program evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This three-part webinar series expands on information from the American Academy of Pediatrics' policy statement, Patient- and Family-Centered Care Coordination: A Framework for Integrating Care for Children and Youth across Multiple Systems. The series provides guidance, tools, and resources for implementing care coordination in a pediatric practice and across multiple care systems within the community; it also includes information on how to measure these efforts. The presenter slides, webinar recording, and audience questions and answers are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Coordination, Family centered care, Health care systems, Integrated information systems, Management information systems, Service delivery systems, Service integration, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This guide accompanies an online course designed to integrate the theory, research literature, and evidence-supported practices that promote optimal population health outcomes in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include course objectives and a description of the course structure, an historical overview of MCH and Title V, and eight modules. Topics include the Affordable Care Act and health reform, access to care, implementing interventions to improve population health outcomes, change management, quality in public health, understanding systems, system performance, and synthesis. An example course schedule, participant baseline and final assessments, final project, and bibliography are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Curricula, Distance education, Health care reform, Information systems, MCH programs, MCH services, MCH training, Management, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional education, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Title V

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Data, Data collection, Data sources, Early Head Start, Federal programs, Head Start, Information sources, Management information systems, Young children

Annotation: This index identifies strengths and gaps in the protections needed to keep people safe and healthy in the face of large-scale public health threats, and tracks how these protections vary across the U.S. and change over time. Contents include current and past findings and methodology, key changes, data, measures, guiding principles, and frequently asked questions. Topics include health security surveillance, community planning and engagement coordination, incident and information management, health care delivery, countermeasure management, and environmental and occupational health.

• Link

Keywords: Community coordination, Community participation, Disaster planning, Emergencies, Environmental health, Hazards, Health care delivery, Management information systems, Measures, Occupational health, Population surveillance, Safety, Trends

Annotation: This book discusses search engine optimization (SEO), including what it is, why it is important, how to improve your library's SEO efforts, how Internet search engine indexing works, targeting your audience, Google Scholar and institutional repositories, and measuring success.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org $65,00, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1555709068.

Keywords: Design, Digital libraries, Information management, Libraries, Technology, Web sites, World Wide Web

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help Promise Neighborhoods implementation grantees collect and assemble indicators to benchmark and track progress over time. Contents include an overview of data collection and use, the structure of a data system, indicators, core elements of the case management system, ensuring confidentiality and data security, neighborhood and school climate surveys, and neighborhood- and school-level data.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Innovation and Improvement, Promise Neighborhoods, LBJ Building, Room 4W338, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202-5970, Telephone: (202) 453-6615 Fax: (202) 401-4123 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.ed.gov/programs/promiseneighborhoods/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Case management, Community development, Confidentiality, Data, Data collection, Family support programs, Federal initiatives, Information systems, Measures, Neighborhoods, Outcome and process assessment, School surveys, Schools, Systems development

Annotation: This course provides a basic overview of program evaluation including the goals of evaluation, types of evaluation, and common study designs. It provides general guidance on how to successfully plan, conduct, and manage an evaluation. The course also covers how to address research quality and disseminate findings so that the results of the evaluation will have maximum impact.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Distance education, Information dissemination, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Research design, Training

Annotation: This document presents the basic knowledge that all persons graduating from an ALA-accredited master's program in library and information studies need to possess. Topics include foundations of the profession, information resources, organization of recorded knowledge and information, technological knowledge and skills, reference and user services, research, continuing education and lifelong learning, and administration and management.

Contact: American Library Association, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (800) 545-2433 Secondary Telephone: (888) 814-7692 Fax: (312) 944-3897 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ala.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administration, Continuing education, Information services, Information sources, Librarians, Library services, Management, Professional education, Technology

Annotation: This reference covers traditional public health responsibilities--assessing the burden of disease, preventing and controlling health threats, and developing policies and constituencies to improve health--in a contemporary framework that reflects the ongoing transition from a public to a population health perspective. Topics include the basics of administration including organizational design law, human resources, budgeting and financing, marketing, and communications; newly defined and emerging areas such as health information management, geographic information systems, performance measurement and improvement, ethics, leadership, and community partnerships; and effective managerial decision-making.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Administration, Assessment, Communications, Decision making, Ethics, Financing, Information systems, Leadership, Legal issues, Management, Measures, Planning, Prevention, Public health programs, Public private partnerships

Annotation: These position and practice papers are designed to assist in promoting the public's optimal nutrition, health, and well-being. Topics include food, nutrients, and ingredients; management of food and nutrition systems; health promotion and disease prevention (for example, the impact of fluoride on health and oral health and nutrition); medical nutrition therapy; nutrition and physical activity; nutrition through the lifecycle; and management of sustainable, resilient, and healthy food and water systems.

Contact: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Secondary Telephone: (312) 899-0400 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dieticians, Disease prevention, Food, Health promotion, Management, Management information systems, Nutrition policy, Nutritionists, Oral health, Physical activity, Professional societies

Annotation: This paper provides health officials and other public health practitioners an introduction into the concepts involved in knowledge management (KM) and describes how experts and practitioners have attempted to organize their information. It is organized into three major sections: (1) exploring KM concepts, tracking the evolution of data to knowledge, and identifying key components of KM; (2) relating the concepts of KM to public health activities and goals; and (3) describing key activities that contribute to implementing a KM approach in an organization or community. Appendices include a list of contributors and reviewers, public health KM activities identified by public health professionals, examples of public health KM functions for the essential public health services, and references. Additional KM resources are also provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Information dissemination, Information services, Knowledge management, Public health

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings of a conference convened to explore (1) why the slow diffusion of many health care and medical innovations persists and (2) how to accelerate the adoption of clinical technologies and health service innovations that have been shown to improve the quality and/or cost effectiveness of health care. The report, which includes an executive summary, focuses on the following issues: (1) devices and drugs: obstacles to timely product uptake, (2) innovation in the hospital and at the bedside, (3) innovation in public health, prevention, and disease management, (4) the imperative of information technology and e-health, and (5) better quality through informed consumer choice. The report also includes synopses of three papers commissioned for the conference. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. The appendix lists conference faculty with contact information.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Consumers, Cost effectiveness, Diffusion of innovation, Disease management, Disease prevention, Health care, Hospitals, Information systems, Internet, Management, Medical devices, Medical research, Prescription drugs, Prevention, Public health, Technology

Annotation: This book is designed to help information managers and practitioners gain an understanding of how an organization may manage its information processes more quickly in order to increase its capacity to learn and adapt. The book takes a introductory look at organizations, information management, and managers and then discusses concepts such as environmental scanning, online databases, and managing information sources.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-018-8.

Keywords: Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Information systems, Management, Organizations

Annotation: This book is designed to help information managers and practitioners gain an understanding of how an organization may manage its information processes more quickly in order to increase its capacity to learn and adapt. The book takes a introductory look at organizations, information management, and managers and then discusses concepts such as environmental scanning, online databases, and managing information sources. References, a subject index, and a name index are also provided.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1573870579.

Keywords: Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Information systems, Management, Organizations

Annotation: This report reviews the National Archives and Records Administration's (NARA) response to the difficulties of managing, preserving, and providing access to federal agencies' electronic records. Also reviewed are NARA's efforts to acquire an advanced electronic records archiving system, which will be based on new technologies that are still the subject of research. The report includes the following sections: results in brief; conclusions; recommendations for executive action; agency comments, and a glossary. The appendices provide information on the report's objectives, scope, and methodology; an evaluation of approaches to archiving electronic records; a review of agencies managing large volumes of important electronic records; and comments from NARA.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-02-586.

• PDF

Keywords: Electronic publications, Federal agencies, Government records, Information systems, Process evaluation, Records management

Annotation: This long range plan covers these goals: (1) organize health-related information and provide access to it; (2) promote use of health information by health professionals and the public; (3) strengthen the informatics infrastructure for biomedicine and health; and (4) conduct and support informatics research.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health sciences libraries, Information services, Libraries, Library collection development, Library services, Management