Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project was designed to improve the ability of State Maternal and Child Health Programs to: (1) effectively implement Title V of the Social Security Act; (2) coordinate with other related Federal programs; and (3) develop creative approaches for utilizing other such programs to meet the needs of mothers, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, and families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196897.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Information Dissemination, Medicaid, PL 99-457, Social Security Act, Title V, State MCH directors, WIC Program

Annotation: The goals of this project were to: (1) Develop and demonstrate office-based models that assure comprehensive services through the medical home for all children, especially those served under Part H of P.L. 99-457; (2) promote effective linkages and coordination of care between the medical home and early intervention service providers through community forums; and (3) gather, develop, and disseminate nationally creative strategies that promote comprehensive care through the medical home. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121-891.

Keywords: Children with Special Health care Needs, Early Intervention, Information dissemination, Medical Home, Minority Groups, PL 99-457, Service Coordination

Annotation: This manual documents how the Dental Quality Alliance develops performance measures for oral health care. Topics include the roles of the research and development advisory committee and chair, conflict-of-interest procedures, confidentiality, and copyright. The report describes the measure-development process and discusses measure identification, development, evaluation, dissemination, maintenance, and updates.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental care, Disease management, Disease prevention, Group processes, Health care utilization, Information dissemination, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Preventive health services, Program development, Program evaluation, Quality assurance

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what a state office of rural health (SORH) is, goals of a SORH, and why SORHs are important. Topics include how SORHs support and build local capacity and draw attention to the challenges and successes in rural health care and how they support coordination and information sharing on rural health issues within state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services delivery, Information dissemination, Public health infrastructure, Role, Rural health, Rural population, Service coordination, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This brief is designed to help Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting grantees develop a continuous quality improvement (CQI) plan and communicate it to others within their organization. The brief explains what the plan should cover and includes a sample outline and template for drafting a CQI plan. Also available are Appendix A: Sample CQI plan outline, Appendix B: Sample CQI plan template, and a 2017 update. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com Available from the website.

• Link
• 2017 Update (guide)

Keywords: Communication, Diffusion of innovation, Evaluation methods, Federal grants, Home visiting, Information dissemination, Models, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document describes federal activities and resources to support diversity and cultural competency within the maternal and child health (MCH) work force. Topics include agency-wide strategic planning to improve health equity; pipeline training program requirements for collecting data on the race and ethnicity of trainees and faculty and the degree to which programs have incorporated cultural and linguistic competence into policies, guidelines, contracts, and training; and resources to support programs in advancing and sustaining cultural and linguistic competence such as technical assistance, peer mentoring, and collaboration.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Data collection, Ethnic groups, Goals, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Information dissemination, MCH training programs, Measures, Mentors, Peer groups, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Race, Technical assistance, Work force

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

Annotation: This web resource describes how publications funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services are made freely available to the public and how scientific data is made freely available in digital formats.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal grants, Federal initiatives, Information dissemination, Research

Annotation: This document summarizes presentations and discussions of a public workshop on health literacy, new technology, and health. Topics include health literacy and the use of technology to inform health decision making, sharing health information via technology, or examples of health literacy best practices as they apply to the use of technology for health decisions.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-37690-7.

• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Health literacy, Information dissemination, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: This toolkit contains eight modules that provide information and resources for developing a community health worker (CHW) program. Topics include an overview of CHWs and their roles, CHW program models, training approaches, program implementation, planning for sustainability, measuring program impacts, disseminating best practices, and successful programs.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health, Community health advisors, Community health aides, Information dissemination, Model programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This toolkit contains seven modules that are designed to help professionals identify and implement a care coordination program. Topics include an overview of care coordination and issues specific to rural care coordination; care coordination program models and their characteristics; implementation considerations for each model; strategies to ensure program sustainability; program evaluation frameworks, data sources, and objectives and measures; methods for sharing program results, and examples of programs that have been implemented in rural communities.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Information dissemination, Model programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Rural environment, Rural health, Sustainability

Annotation: This brief provides information about the Oral Health Advocacy for Pregnant Women and Children project, a collaboration between Maternal and Child Health Access (MCHA) and the Community Clinics Association of Los Angeles County (CCALAC). Topics include the importance of and need for oral health care during pregnancy, changing dental coverage for women with pregnancy-only Medi-Cal, issues pregnant women face related to obtaining oral health care, issues health professionals face related to providing oral health care to pregnant women, the MCHA and CCALAC partnership, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Access, 1111 West Sixth Street, Fourth Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-1800, Telephone: (212) 749-4261 Fax: (213) 745-1040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mchaccess.org/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, California, Dental care, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health education, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Service integration, Technical assistance, Young children

Annotation: These modules are designed to help professionals identify and implement an oral health program. Topics include an overview of oral health in rural communities, program models and ways to adapt them to meet community needs, and strategies to ensure program sustainability. The toolkit also includes a framework for evaluation, methods for disseminating results, and examples of programs that have been implemented in rural communities.

Contact: Rural Health Information Hub, School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Room 4520, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (800) 270-1898 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ruralhealthinfo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evaluation methods, Information dissemination, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Program development, Resources for professionals, Rural environment

Annotation: This document describes a 6-year plan to estimate the prevalence of oral disease in Michigan. The purpose of the plan is to identify vulnerable population groups, monitor trends in oral health indicators, evaluate the effectiveness of programs and policy changes, and communicate information for decision-making. Topics include oral health indicators, data sources, the data-collection schedule, dissemination, privacy and confidentiality, and evaluation.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Confidentiality, Data collection, Data sources, Health status, Information dissemination, Michigan, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Statewide planning, Trends

Annotation: This toolkit presents lessons learned from the State Infant Mortality Collaborative including experiences of and guidance from five teams relevant to the analysis and interpretation of perinatal data. Topics include the importance of infant mortality as a key indicator of population health, selecting indicators of infant mortality and data sources, methodological and statistical approaches to analyzing data and interpreting findings, and translating findings into programs and policies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Data, Infant mortality, Information dissemination, Model programs, Needs assessment, Perinatal influences, Policy development, State MCH programs

Annotation: This webinar provides information about how to improve the health of women of childbearing age. Panelists include contributors to the January/February 2013 supplemental issue on preconception health of the American Journal of Health Promotion (volume 24, no. sp. e). Topics include an overview of the journal issue, consumers' perceptions of preconception health, couples and preconception health, implementing interconception care in community settings, and reaching women through health information technology.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Health care, Information dissemination, Multimedia, Outreach, Preconception health, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides a retrospective look at the National Center for Medical Home Implementation from 2008 to 2012, highlighting some of the center's activities and accomplishments. The report is organized into sections around the center's primary goals, which include building national partnerships, creating tools, fostering community and state collaborations, and integrating the medical home within the American Academy of Pediatrics' community of pediatricians. The report also describes the center's efforts to spread the concept of medical home at the local, state, and national levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Information dissemination, Medical home, Pediatricians, Progress reports, Public private partnerships, Service integration

Annotation: This literature review examines how to best communicate and disseminate evidence, including uncertain evidence, to inform health care decisions. The review focuses on three primary objectives, comparing the effectiveness of (1) communicating evidence in various contents and formats that increase the likelihood that target audiences will understand and use the information; (2) a variety of approaches for disseminating evidence from those who develop it as well as those who are expected to use it; and (3) various ways of communicating uncertainty-associated health-related evidence. In addition, the review compares the effectiveness of communication and dissemination strategies across target audiences, including evidence translators, health educators, patients, and clinicians.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. no. 13(14)-E003-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Evidence, Information dissemination, Literature reviews, Quality assurance, Research

Annotation: This course provides a basic overview of program evaluation including the goals of evaluation, types of evaluation, and common study designs. It provides general guidance on how to successfully plan, conduct, and manage an evaluation. The course also covers how to address research quality and disseminate findings so that the results of the evaluation will have maximum impact.

Contact: National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 Web Site: http://www.nrepp.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Distance education, Information dissemination, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Research design, Training