Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (66 total).

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. 2022. Science: Advancing oral health for all—NIDCR strategic plan 2021–2026. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, 43 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan presents the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research’s (NIDCR’s) plans to pursue its mission of seeking fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and applying that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability. Topics include COVID-19 and lessons learned; NIDCR’s statutory authority and brief history; office of the director; intramural research program; extramural research program; equity, diversity, and inclusion at NIDCR and the National Institutes of Health; strategic plan; strategic priorities; outcome assessment; and predictions.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: nidcrinfo@mail.nih.gov Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Cultural diversity, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Research, Strategic plans, Virus diseases

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2022. Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI)—Overview and project profiles:Update 2021. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the MCH Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health (RoMoNOH), and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information about the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Service integration, Virus diseases

Kumar N, Muñiz MA. 2022. What we have learned from community health workers throughout the pandemic: Recommendations for policymakers. Washington, DC: Families USA, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: info@familiesusa.org Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health centers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

National Network for Oral Health Access. [2021]. The role of dental providers in vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. Denver, CO: National Network for Oral Health Access, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the role that oral health professionals can play in COVID-19 vaccine delivery and policy recommendations. It discusses the state policy landscape as it relates to oral health professionals administering COVID-19 vaccines, vaccine-delivery strategies developed by health center oral health programs, policy recommendations to increase the role of oral health professionals as vaccinators, and vaccine-specific policy recommendations.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 501, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (866) 316-4995 Fax: (866) 316-4995 E-mail: info@nnoha.org Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus diseases

Haber J, Hartnett E, Cipollina J. 2021. COVID-19: Oral health resource kit—Faculty resources for integrating oral-systemic health in curricula. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice Program, 25 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit includes COVID 19–related oral health teaching resources for health professions faculty to use in classroom, simulation, and clinical settings. Resources include a case study of individuals across the life span with oral health issues related to the COVID-19 pandemic, a fact sheet about caring for teeth during the pandemic, a fact sheet about addressing problems with braces during the pandemic, a reference list of peer-reviewed articles and open-source publications that highlight the links between oral health and COVID-19, and a slide deck for integrating a COVID-19 oral-systemic health perspective into presentations.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: OHNEP@nyu.edu Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , COVID-19, Virus diseases, Disease transmission, Educational materials, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Orthodontics

C.S. Mott Children's Hospital, University of Michigan Department of Pediatrics, and University of Michigan Susan B. Meister Child Health Evaluation and Research Center. 2021. Pandemic-posed challenges to children's oral health: Mott poll report. Ann Arbor, MI: C.S. Mott Children's Hospital, 2 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from the results of a questionnaire that asked a national sample of parents about oral health for their children ages 3–18 during the COVID-19 pandemic. Topics include whether parents have tried to get oral health care for their child, parents’ perceptions of the safety of oral health care, changes to children’s oral health habits, and implications for children’s oral health.

Contact: C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health, University of Michigan Division of General Pediatrics, 300 North Ingalls Building, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5040, Telephone: (855) 277-5404 E-mail: NPCH@med.umich.edu Web Site: http://mottnpch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Costs, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Safety, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Virus diseases

Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention. 2021. Infection prevention and control guide for school sealant programs during the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Atlanta, GA: Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention, 14 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to supplement guidance provided in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention document Considerations for School Sealant Programs During the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Pandemic. The guide provides additional considerations for practical implementation. It discusses school-based dental sealant program scope of services, what to do before going into a school, setting up the dental treatment area in the school, transporting students to the treatment area, patient care, managing patient care items, environmental-infection prevention and control, and program monitoring and evaluation.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: office@OSAP.org Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Virus diseases

Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center. 2021. Improving adolescent and young adult health: Challenges and opportunities emerging from the COVID-19 pandemic. San Francisco, CA: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document highlights successful adaptations to the COVID-19 pandemic and offers recommendations to advance adolescent and young adult health during and after the pandemic. Recurring themes include innovative technology use, partnerships, and equity across the areas of well-visit and preventive services, behavioral and mental health, and systems of care. The document also provides links to additional resources related to adolescent and young adult health during the pandemic, well visits, and depression screening.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health programs, Adolescent mental health, Infectious diseases, Virus diseases, Young adults

Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention. 2021. OSAP/CareQuest Institute best practices for infection control in dental clinics during the COVID-19 pandemic. Atlanta, GA: Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention, 26 pp.

Annotation: This report presents regulations, guidance, and practice tips related to infection control for oral health professionals working in health care settings, including school dental sealant programs, during the COVID19 pandemic. The report is divided into two sections: a checklist and a resources and tools section. Section 1 topics include policies and procedures; oral health team preparation and screening; equipment and supplies; adjusting cleaning areas; and heating, ventilation and air conditioning. Section 2 topics include patient arrival for appointments, personal protective equipment for the clinical team, and patient discharge.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: office@OSAP.org Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Dental Sealants, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, School health programs, Virus diseases

Rekow ED, Ricks TL. 2021. COVID-19: A catalyst for engendering public trust in health care and building back a better health profession response. New York, NY: Santa Fe Group, 7 items. (COVID-19 challenges and consequences series)

Annotation: This paper summarizes challenges related to health care during the COVID-19 pandemic and explores the consequences of these challenges. It frames the situation; discusses ways to restore the public’s trust in health care, including oral health care; and outlines calls to action for health professionals to improve the health of the nation and accelerate recovery from future pandemics.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: , Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Virus diseases

Tranby EP, Jacob J, Kelly A, Frantsve-Hawley J. 2021. A coming surge in oral health treatment needs. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 8 pp. (State of oral health equity in America 2021: Research report #1)

Annotation: This report provides information on a likely surge in oral health treatment needs among adults owing to events that have occurred as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, including loss of dental insurance coverage, increased oral health problems resulting from loss of insurance, and delays in receiving oral health care owing to concerns about costs of care or exposure to the virus. Topics include impact on the larger health system, intensifying disparities, the spillover effect of chronic health conditions on oral health, and barriers to accessing preventive oral health care.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Uninsured persons, Virus diseases

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2021. The COVID-19 pandemic deepens oral health inequitites. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, (Communication brief)

Annotation: This brief highlights way in which the COVID-19 pandemic has accentuated oral health inequities. It discusses racial disparities in COVID-19 infections, hospitalizations, and deaths; persisting oral health disparities; and factors that contribute to having unmet oral health care needs. Other topics include the impact of racism and discrimination on oral health care use, the disproportionate impact of COVID-19 on oral health professionals of color and those serving underserved communities, and the importance of addressing inequities in oral health to achieve lasting change.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Racial factors, Virus diseases

Tiwari T, Cofno L, Wood C, Frantsve-Hawley J. 2021. Challenges in implementing school-based oral health programs: Short- and long-term impact of COVID-19. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health; Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 11 pp., 1 webinar (74 minutes). (Research brief)

Annotation: This brief presents the short- and long-term impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on implementing school-based oral health programs (SBOHPs). Topics include COVID 19–related challenges that state and territorial dental directors and SBOHPs face, challenges that SBOHPs anticipate in coming years, support from state and territorial health programs for schools, reassuring parents and schools, student population characteristics, and lessons and next steps.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, School health services, State programs, Virus diseases

Basu S, Alpert JL, Phillips RS. 2021. Primary care in the COVID-19 pandemic: Improving access to high-quality primary care, accelerating transitions to alternative forms of care delivery, and addressing health disparities. Boston, MA: Harvard Medical School, Center for Primary Care; New York, NY: Milbank Memorial Fund; Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 312 pp.

Annotation: This report presents ways that the COVID-19 pandemic has affected primary care. It discusses how well countries’ efforts to overcome the pandemic have worked, how primary care has been impacted by the pandemic, and how the field has innovated to adapt. Ways in which marginalized and vulnerable populations been disproportionally impacted by the pandemic are also addressed, along with how social determinants of ideologies including racism, ableism, and ageism have intersected and coalesced in the health inequities observed among communities and primary care patients. Lessons learned and how those lessons can be leveraged to catalyze systemic and structural change are also discussed.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Disease transmission, Global health, Infectious diseases, Primary care, Racial factors, Virus diseases

National Health Care for the Homeless Council. 2021. Oral health and behavioral health in patients experiencing homelessness. Nashville, TN: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the impact of behavioral issues on the oral health of people experiencing homelessness (PEH) and how behavioral health and oral health professionals can work together to address behavioral health and oral health issues in this population. The report discusses the prevalence of behavioral issues and oral diseases among PEH, barriers to accessing health care in this population, consequences of behavioral issues and oral diseases, access to care, access to coordinated care challenges, recommendations for behavioral health and oral health integration, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on health care delivery.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: council@nhchc.org Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, Disease transmission, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, Virus diseases

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2021. Teledentistry: What to kow and how it works. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about teledentistry. It explains what telehealth and teledentistry are, and discusses the increasing use of teledentistry across the country since the COVID-19 pandemic began. Statistical information is provided on the percentage of dentists using telehealth and the percentage planning to use it in the near future, services provided via telehealth or another virtual platform, telehealth modalities, and patients’ attitudes toward teledentistry. Snapshots about how telehealth is being used in several states are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public health, Service delivery, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Silow-Carroll S, DuPlessis H, Henry E, Di Paola S. 2021. COVID-19 policy flexibilities affecting children and youth with special health care needs: What to keep, modify, or discard?. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health; Lansing, MI: Health Management Associates, 63 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies key policy flexibilities enacted during the COVID-19 public health emergency. It summarizes stakeholders' perspectives about the impact of the pandemic and policy flexibilities on children and youth with special health care needs and their families and providers. The authors present recommendations for continuing or ceasing temporary policy changes after the public health emergency, as well as new policies and actions to best support children and youth with special heath care needs and their families.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: info@lpfch.org Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Family support, Federal initiatives, Infectious diseases, Medicaid, Mental health, Telehealth, Virus diseases, Work force

National Association of Community Health Centers. 2021. Community health centers' telehealth promising practices: Case studies from the COVID-19 pandemic. Bethesda, MD: National Association of Community Health Centers, 58 pp.

Annotation: This report describes case studies that highlight community health centers’ promising practices and lessons learned through the process of successfully adopting or expanding telehealth services in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. The case studies include both rural and urban community health centers, and they cover several different types of telehealth programs, including primary care, behavioral health, oral health, chronic disease management, home health, dietetics, paramedicine, and school-based clinics. The case studies illustrate how each community health center responded to a similar set of challenges.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Case studies, Community health, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Telemedicine, Virus diseases

MHP Salud, CSH, and the National Health Care for the Homeless Council. 2021. Community health worker/peer workforce: Recruiting and hiring for social determinants of health screening--Best practices guide and findings from COVID-19 pandemic. New York, NY: CSH, 29 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses best practices in (1) recruiting and hiring community health workers (CHWs) and peers for the communities they are serving and providing them with professional development opportunities, (2) integrating CHWs and peers into health centers, and (3) retaining CHWs and peers. The guide also discusses the value of CHWs and peers and screening for social determinants of health. Findings from health center workforce focus groups are presented, and practical considerations related to the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed. A case study is included.

Contact: CSH, 61 Broadway, Suite 2300, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 986-2966 E-mail: info@csh.org Web Site: https://www.csh.org Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Community health, Disease transmission, Health screening, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service delivery, Virus diseases

Kanan C, Boynes S, Ohrenberger K, Bayham M, Mathews R, Apostolon D, McLeod C, Tranby EP, Thakkar M, Raskin SE, Machado K. 2021. A learning community that aims to change oral health. Boston, MA: Carequest Institute for Oral Health, 12 pp. (Impact report)

Annotation: This report describes a learning community whose goal is to strategize about solutions to emerging COVID 19 pandemic–related problems. The report discusses implementing a three-domain framework designed to increase efficiency and boost patient outcomes, adapting to practice interruption with teledentistry, emphasizing minimally invasive care, coaching the change experience, and opportunities for oral health transformation. Guidelines for implementing a new level of infection control are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.