Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides guidance for developing and implementing a school-based or school-linked mobile or portable oral health program. It discusses challenges and strategies for overcoming these challenges. Selected challenges discussed include workforce considerations; state dental practice acts, legislation, and other regulations limiting the provision of oral health care; community opposition; infrastructure issues; and infection-control issues. Strategies include program planning, developing policies and procedures, community engagement and education, care coordination, developing business plans and budgets, and implementing quality measures and evaluation.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Budgets, Health programs, Infection control, Legislation, Oral health, Prevention programs, Program planning, Quality assurance, Regulations, School health, Service coordination

Annotation: These best practices are a compilation of regulations, guidance, and practice tips related to infection control in dental clinics during the COVID-19 pandemic. Part I discusses preparing the dental clinic before patient appointments. Part 2 discusses delivering safe patient care. Selected topics included policies and procedures, dental team preparation and screening, dental operatory procedures for patient care, personal protective equipment, and infection control. A checklist for preparing the dental clinic for patients and staff is included.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Guidelines, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Regulations, Virus diseases

Annotation: This report describes a learning community whose goal is to strategize about solutions to emerging COVID 19 pandemic–related problems. The report discusses implementing a three-domain framework designed to increase efficiency and boost patient outcomes, adapting to practice interruption with teledentistry, emphasizing minimally invasive care, coaching the change experience, and opportunities for oral health transformation. Guidelines for implementing a new level of infection control are included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Teledentistry, Virus diseases

Annotation: This guide is a tool to encourage common understanding among educators, families, and health professionals about infectious diseases in group settings for children. The guide identifies the role of educators, families, public health officials, and health professionals in preventing and controlling the spread of communicable infections; symptoms of infections commonly found in group settings for children; how infections are spread (route of transmission); when to seek medical attention; inclusion and exclusion criteria; strategies and sample forms for communications involving directors/caregivers, parents/guardians, and health professionals; and resources for professional development for directors/teachers/caregivers related to infectious diseases.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org . Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-050-3.

• E-book Preview

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Communicable disease control, Communicable diseases, Forms, Infection control, Infections, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Schools

Annotation: This training series covers the principles of infection prevention and control that form the basis of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendations for oral health settings. The series is divided into 10 modules. The series covers the following topics: introduction, hand hygiene, personal protective equipment, respiratory hygiene and cough etiquette, sharps safety, safe injection practices, sterilization and disinfection, environmental infection prevention and control, dental unit water quality, and program evaluation. Each module includes a slide set and speaker notes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Infection control, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Training materials

Annotation: This guide for personnel involved in the care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates in community programs, hospitals, and medical centers provides information on obstetric and neonatal care. Topics include the organization of perinatal health care, inpatient perinatal care services, quality improvement and patient safety, maternal and neonatal interhospital transfer, preconception and antepartum care, intrapartum and postpartum care, obstetric and medical complications, care of the newborn, neonatal complications and management of high-risk infants, perinatal infections, and infection control. The guide is a companion document to Guidelines for Women's Health Care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Patient care management, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This document summarizes basic infection-prevention recommendations for all oral health care settings. Contents include information about the fundamental elements needed to prevent transmission of infectious agents and the importance of routine risk assessment. Topics include administrative measures, infection-prevention education and training, personnel safety, program evaluation, standard precautions, and water quality. The appendices contain a checklist for assessing overall policies and practices and for direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices; recommendations; and references and resources organized by topic area. A mobile application and a Spanish version of the document are also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Dental care, Dental offices, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Infection control, Mobile health units, Oral health, Personnel, Professional Education, Program evaluation, Risk assessment, Safety, Standards, Training

Annotation: This resource is designed to assist states and communities in developing a coordinated response to the immediate and long term needs of infants and children affected by Zika virus (ZIKV), and their families. Contents include an overview of ZIKV, infection, and outcomes; systems of care as a public health approach for comprehensive care for infants and children exposed to ZIKV; and an overview of federal and state programs serving children affected by ZIKV. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child health, Community coordination, Comprehensive health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal programs, Health care systems, Infant health, Infection control, Neonatal screening, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program coordination, Program planning, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken down into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Checklists, Dental care, Dental offices, Infection control, Oral health, Prevention, Safety

Annotation: This handbook provides child care programs and schools with information on health, safety, and development issues. Topics include healthy living and health promotion including oral health promotion, policies and procedures, child development and guiding children's behavior, injury prevention and infection control, guidelines for childhood injuries, managing childhood illnesses and infestations, managing chronic medical conditions and special health care needs, and child abuse. Handouts, resources, and sample forms are included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 N.E. 10th Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117, Telephone: (405) 271-5600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-0203 Web Site: https://www.ok.gov/health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Child safety, Children, Consultation, Disease management, Health promotion, Infection control, Injuries, Injury prevention, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Special health care needs

Annotation: This document provides standard-of-practice recommendations for perinatal health care professionals in Georgia. It is also intended to be a blueprint for the State Perinatal Health Care System, a system to improve the quality of reproductive health care for women and perinatal health care for pregnant women and infants. Topics include strategy for action, preconception and interconception health care, antepartum care, intrapartum care, postpartum care, and perinatal infection.

Contact: Georgia Department of Public Health, Two Peachtree Street, N.W., 15th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303-3186, Telephone: (404) 657-2700 Web Site: http://dph.georgia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consultation, Georgia, Guidelines, Health care systems, Hospitals, Infant health, Infection control, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: These resources are designed to support compliance with best practice for preventing and controlling Hepatitis C virus and other infections. Contents include regulations and guidelines; articles and frequently asked questions; and instructional resources such as videos in English and Spanish, fact sheets, and training courses. Client resources are also available.

Contact: Organization for Safety, Asepsis, and Prevention, One Glenlake Parkway, NE, Suite 1200, Atlanta, GA 30328, Telephone: (410) 571-0003 Secondary Telephone: (800) 298-6727 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.osap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Guideline adherence, Guidelines, Hepatitis, Infection control, Model programs, Multimedia, Oral health, Regulations, Training

Annotation: This document is designed to help federally-qualified health centers in Louisiana implement school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include applying for a license to operate portable and mobile dental equipment, infection control recommendations and standards, and information required in the consent form for student participation in the program. Information about Medicaid reimbursement is also provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Dental care, Dental sealants, Infection control, Licensing, Louisiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Parent consent, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School age children, School based clinics, Screening, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This document outlines an updated strategic plan for improving the nation’s oral health over the next 3 to 5 years. Five public health priorities and eight goals address core/essential functions and key subject areas. These areas include dental caries, periodontal diseases, oral and pharyngeal cancers, infection control, public oral health infrastructure, elimination of health disparities, health policy and translation/dissemination of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) products, and organizational capacity and function. The document also outlines the CDC’s vision, mission, roles, and core functions as well as priorities in public oral health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Infection control, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Public health dentistry, Strategic planning

Annotation: These documents provide an overview of the burden of oral disease in the United States and federal and state efforts to address the problem. Topics include the efforts of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to support state-based programs, monitor oral health status, provide education and share expertise, support prevention science and new approaches, guide infection control in dentistry, and prevent oral cancer. Stories and description of state programs that can serve as examples are included.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Families, Government role, Health status, Infection control, Oral health, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet for adolescents and young adults provides information about what to do before and after obtaining an oral piercing. Topics include complications that may occur from a piercing, tips for reducing the risk of infection, and what to do if an infection does occur.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health literacy, Infection control, Injury prevention, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Risk factors

Annotation: This research guide serves the following purposes: (1) identify knowledge gaps, (2) describe the range of research most needed for new public health programs , (3) improve the effectiveness of a broad range of public health disciplines, (4) serve as a platform for discussion with federal partners, (5) provide a basis for discussion with state and local partners, (6) promote opportunities to work with a wide range of partners, and (7) plan for and promote public health research needs. The guide applies to both intramural and extramural research sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and other agencies. The guide is divided into the following main sections: (1) overview, (2) relationship of research themes to CDC health protection goals, (3) prevent and control infectious diseases, (4) promote preparedness to protect health, (5) promote health to reduce chronic disability, (6) create safer and healthier places, (7) work together to build a healthy world, (8) manage and market health information, and (9) promote cross-cutting public health research. The guide includes four appendices: a CDC organizational chart, two maps of research themes relating to Healthy People 2010 and to overarching health protection goals and cross-cutting research, and a list of development workgroup members and staff.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disease prevention, Federal programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Infection control, Information, Local programs, Public health, Research, Safety, State programs

Annotation: This manual was developed as a tool to encourage common understanding among caregivers, teachers, families, and health professionals about infectious diseases and to aid efforts to reduce illness, injury, and other health problems in child care settings. Topics include health history and immunizations, infection control measures, caregiver/teacher health, recognizing the ill child, oral diseases, emergency planning, and the role of the health care consultant in child care and schools. Fact sheets, sample letters to give to parents, and are also provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Delaware Health and Social Services, Division of Public Health, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4700 Secondary Telephone: (888) 459-2943 Fax: (302) 739-6659 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhss.delaware.gov/dhss/dph/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Children, Disease prevention, Infection control, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Schools

Annotation: This brochure discusses the importance of toothbrushing protocols for Head Start programs and other programs serving children ages 3 to 5 at high risk for tooth decay. Topics include when to schedule brushing and frequency of brushing; where to brush; adult supervision of children while brushing; selection, hygiene, storage, and replacement of toothbrushes; importance of using fluoridated toothpaste; selecting and dispensing toothpaste; brushing techniques; and rinsing after brushing.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Dental hygiene, Fluorides, Head Start, High risk children, Infection control, Oral health, Program planning, Protocols, Young children