Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and recommend an appropriate hearing screening model to be used in Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICUs) in the state or nation. The project was designed to compare three of the most commonly used screening procedures to determine the incidence of hearing loss, to identify the most predictive procedure or cluster of procedures for screening hearing loss in the NICU, to study the relationship between hearing screening procedures and the outcome of independent audiometric and developmental measures, and to identify the most cost effective mass hearing screening procedures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152825.

Keywords: Data Collection, Hearing, Hearing Loss, High risk infants Hearing Impaired, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Screening

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Annotation: This project established a model program for the coordination of early identification and assessment services for infants 0-3 years of age at high risk for major handicaps. It aimed to make appropriate developmental screening available as close as possible to the infant's home community, to provide the necessary developmental screening training to local health and educational service providers, and to provide the regional coordination for the many agencies and professional involved. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-156693.

Keywords: Clinics, Coordination of Health Care, Early Intervention, Education of Health Professionals, High risk infants, Rural Population, Screening

Annotation: This brochure provides information for parents of children with hearing loss. The brochure discusses genetics and hearing loss; insurance and paying for genetic testing; what parents should do once hearing loss has been diagnosed; why it is important for children with hearing loss to be seen by a geneticist; how to prepare for the genetics appointment; and what happens at the appointment.

Contact: American College of Medical Genetics, 7220 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 718-9603 Fax: (301) 718-9604 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acmg.net Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Genes, Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Genetic services, Genetics, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Infants

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit is for midwives, doulas, and other childbirth educators to introduce newborn screening into midwifery practices and into nontraditional settings including childbirth education classes. Brochures, videos, and other educational materials are provided for the states of New York, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Links to resources for national audiences are provided from the March of Dimes, the Health Services and Resources Administration, Genetic Alliance, and the Save Babies Through Screening Foundation. Materials are available in English and Spanish, with items from Pennsylvania available in Chinese, French, Portuguese, Vietnamese, and Russian.

Contact: Wadsworth Center for Laboratories and Research, NYS Department of Health, Empire State Plaza, P.O. Box 509, Albany, NY 12201-0509, Telephone: (518) 474-2160 Web Site: http://www.wadsworth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth education, Educational materials, Genetic screening, Midwifery, Midwives, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide is a model used by New York University (NYU) College of Dentistry and NYU College of Nursing for the NYU Pediatric Oral Health Interprofessional Clerkship. For this program, NYU dental students and pediatric nurse practitioner or family nurse practitioner students collaborate to develop a management plan to meet the oral health needs of children in the Bellevue Pediatric Dental Clinic through oral health screening, education, and referral. The guide includes information on interprofessional collaborative practice competencies, a student assignment example, education resources, and discussion topics.

Contact: New York University, Rory Meyers College of Nursing, 433 First Avenue, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 998-5300 Web Site: https://nursing.nyu.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Educational programs, Health education, Infant health, Nursing, Oral health, Referrals, Screening, Students

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help health and early childhood professionals working in community settings (e.g., Head Start, home visiting, WIC staff) promote oral health in the course of promoting general health for infants, children, and their families. Topics include tooth decay, risk factors, and prevention; oral health risk assessment and oral health screening; and anticipatory guidance for parents. Each of the four modules includes an overview, learning objectives, key points, a post-test, and resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Child care providers, Child health, Curricula, Dental caries, Distance education, Families, Head Start, Health personnel, Infant health, Oral health, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors, Screening, WIC program

Annotation: This guide is designed to help Head Start staff understand what a dental periodicity schedule is. It provides background on the Head Start program performance standard that addresses an oral exam, describes elements of an oral exam, and offers information on the timing of oral exams and who can conduct them.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link
• Spanish

Keywords: Head Start, Health screening, Infant health, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This statement provides recommendations for primary care clinicians about how to prevent tooth decay in infants and children under age 5. Recommendations include prescribing oral fluoride supplements starting at age 6 months for infants and children whose water supply is deficient in fluoride, applying fluoride varnish to the teeth of all infants and children starting at the age of primary tooth eruption, and routinely screening infants and children under age 5 for caries lesions.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Health screening, Infants, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Announcement

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These tools are designed to help primary care physicians reduce the incidence of dental caries in early childhood by conducting oral health risk assessments, providing anticipatory guidance, applying fluoride varnish, and referring children to a dental home by age 1. Contents include information about fluoride varnish products and vendors; program participation, certification, and billing; presentation slides and handouts; and educational materials about oral health in infants, young children, and pregnant women. A training course is also available.

Contact: Alabama Medicaid Agency, 501 Dexter Avenue, P.O. Box 5624, Montgomery, AL 36103-5624, Telephone: (334) 242-5000 Web Site: http://medicaid.alabama.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Training Course

Keywords: Alabama, Anticipatory guidance, Continuing education, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Risk assessment, Screening, State programs, Training, Young children

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management