Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a toolkit developed by the Iowa WIC program to increase WIC staff knowledge of the cultural traditions of WIC clientele. The toolkit includes information to help WIC counselors recognize the food-related practices and beliefs of different cultures. It also provides suggestions for adapting counseling methods based on traditional communication styles and interpersonal behaviors, such as body language, vocal volume, distance, and touch. It provides contact information for obtaining a copy of the toolkit.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov/WIC Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Iowa, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition services, State programs, WIC program

Annotation: This brief summarizes feeding guidelines for pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 2 that are relevant to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). Topics include WIC services and an overview of the feeding guidelines. The applications of the feeding guidelines in the WIC setting, including staff training on the guidelines, participant education, and breastfeeding support,are also discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Feeding, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This booklet for parents provides information on how to care for an infant’s or child’s oral health from birth through the elementary school years. The booklet also includes information about how to find and pay for oral health care and activities that parents can do with their child to help them learn together about the importance of good oral health. The booklet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish. A brochure and a video are also available.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infants, Michigan, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preschool children, Preventive health services, School age children, State programs

Annotation: This tool for shelter staff members contains recommendations and information on how family shelter environments, programming, policies, and staff can support early childhood safety and development. The tool contains recommendations for making shelter facilities safe and developmentally appropriate for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers in five areas: health and safety, wellness and development, work force standards and training, programming, and food and nutrition. The tool categorizes recommendations by the estimated amount of resources requires. Links to references referenced in the tool and an action plan form are also included.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of the Deputy Assistant Secretary and Interdepartmental Liaison for Early Childhood Development, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9200 Fax: (202) 205-4891 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/ecd/about Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child safety, Community action, Community health services, Early childhood development, Families, Family support programs, Homelessness, Infants, Nutrition, Policy development, Preschool children, Program development, Self evaluation, Shelters, Standards, Toddlers, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report presents findings from a nationwide three-year effort in partnership with Baby-Friendly USA and the United States Breastfeeding Committee to help hospitals improve maternity care practices to support breastfeeding, and increase the number of Baby-Friendly hospitals in the United States. The report details the activities of the BFB initiative and evaluates its effectiveness in meeting the mission and aims.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Project Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evaluation, Infant health, Maternity hospitals, Model programs, Mothers, National initiatives, Nutrition

Annotation: These videos for Head Start staff and other child care and early education professionals address oral health care for pregnant women, infants, and young children. Topics include the importance of early oral health care, fluoride varnish, healthy eating, toothbrushing, weaning from a bottle, and motivational interviewing. Many of the videos are appropriate for sharing with parents.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early Head Start, Fluorides, Head Start, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This resource focuses on state agency efforts to promote good nutrition in the maternal and child health population. Contents are listed by topic and by state. Topics include: nutrition standards; salad bars in schools; organizational change with multiple agencies; leadership; farm to institution; healthy beverages; home visiting programs; and healthy communities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Child health, Collaboration, Health promotion, Home visiting, Infant health, Maternal health, Nutrition, Organizational change, Program improvement, Public health nutritionists, State MCH programs, Strategic planning, Systems development, Training

Annotation: This cookbook for families enrolled in the Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) provides information on finding fresh, nutritious food at farmer's markets. Topics include reasons to shop at a farmer's market and how to use WIC checks to buy fruit and vegetables in season at the farmer's market. Additional contents include tips on food safety, storage, and preparation; recipes; a list of farmers' markets in Maryland; and information from national public health campaigns for pregnant women.

Contact: Maryland Department of Agriculture, 50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401, Telephone: (410) 841-8106 Secondary Telephone: (301) 261-8106 Fax: (410) 841-5914 Web Site: http://mda.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Cookbooks, Food handling, Fruit, Infants, Maryland, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Recipes, State programs, Vegetables, WIC Program

Annotation: This report describes a study on the determination of income eligibility for recipients of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) program. Included in the report are answers to the following questions: (1) How do state and local criteria for determining WIC income eligibility vary? (2) To what extent are individuals who would otherwise be ineligible for WIC deemed eligible due to their participation in other programs? (3) How does the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) assist and monitor state determination of WIC income eligibility? The report is based on the Government Accountability Office's (GAO's) review of federal laws and regulations; an analysis of USDA's national data from 2010, recent survey findings, and monitoring reports; reviews of WIC policy manuals from 10 states chosen to provide population size and geographic diversity; and interviews with federal, state, and local officials. Recommendations based on GAO's findings are included in the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-13-290.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Child nutrition, Eligibility determination, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Reports, Supplemental food programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This report introduces State Baby Facts, an online series of fact sheets for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia that provides information for early childhood professionals and policymakers about the status of infants, young children, and their families across the country. The fact sheets present data to show how infants are faring in each of the 50 states and DC and also highlight the role that many federal programs play in helping families to secure resources to nurture infants health growth and development. The report provides an overview about that status of infants, young children, and, discussing those at economic risk, health and nutrition, and strong families, positive early learning experiences.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Families, Federal programs, Health, Infants, Low income groups, Nutrition, Poverty, Public policy, State surveys, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about which countries are doing the best—and the worst—at providing nutrition beginning during pregnancy and continuing through a child's second birthday. The report looks at six low-cost nutritional solutions, including breastfeeding, that have the potential to save lives, and discusses the affordability of these solutions. Also discussed are the global malnutrition crisis and why the first 1,000 days of a child's life are particularly important in terms of nutrition.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child death, Child health, Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Costs, Developing countries, Financing, Infant death, Infant health, Infant nutrition, International health, Maternal nutrition, Maternal nutrition programs, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public policy, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This dissertation describes a project to improve perinatal case manager knowledge and self-efficacy to promote breastfeeding among black women participating in Healthy Start, a national program to improve birth outcomes, using quality improvement methods. The dissertation describes the development of the training program and an infant feeding toolkit and the evaluation of the learning by the case managers who used the training program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding promotion, Healthy Start, Infant nutrition, Local programs, Massachusetts, Mothers, Training programs

Annotation: This webcast focuses on Little Voices Healthy Choices, a national initiative to provide Early Head Start and migrant and seasonal Head Start programs with knowledge and strategies to positively influence families in their care. The initiative encompasses motor and brain development, nutrition, music and movement, and sleep. Arts experiences are also included in the initiative. The webinar includes a video that provides an overview of the initiative.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov

• Script

Keywords: Art, Child health, Cognitive development, Community programs, Early Head Start, Early childhood development, Families, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Initiatives, Low income groups, Motor development, Motor skills, National initiatives, Nutrition, Relationships, Sleep, Young children

Annotation: This directory for health professionals serving expectant and new mothers provides breastfeeding resources such as classes, books, videos, state laws, professional services, insurance information, and websites. The directory also provides tools and guidelines that health professionals can turn to for easy access to information on managing common breastfeeding problems. It includes the Rhode Island Breastfeeding Coalition's position paper on breastfeeding, information on the Baby-Friendly Hospital Initiative sponsored by the World Health Organization (WHO), and the United Nation''s Children's Fund (UNICEF), and statistics on breastfeeding in Rhode Island from the 2010 CDC Breastfeeding Report Card. Individual sections cover prenatal and postnatal support, local and national resources, clinical information and resources, and breastfeeding tools and guidelines.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consultation, Directories, Educational materials, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Lactation specialists, Nutrition services, Resource materials, Rhode Island, State programs, WIC Program

Annotation: This research brief brings together findings from a variety of research resources to identify 10 actionable, feasible goals involving non-school factors that affect educational outcomes and can be addressed through out-of-school-time programs. The goals include (1) reduce unintended pregnancies, (2) improve prenatal and postnatal maternal health, (3) improve parenting practices among parents of infants and young children, (4) improve young children's nutrition and encourage mothers to breastfeed, (5) enhance the quality and availability of educational child care, preschool, pre-kindergarten, and full-day kindergarten, (6) connect children and adolescents with long-term mentors, (7) improve parenting practices among parents of school-age children and adolescents, (8) provide family and couples counseling to improve family functioning, (9) provide high-quality educational after-school and summer programs, and (10) develop positive social skills and reduce delinquency among adolescents. The brief describes research findings related to each goal and types of programs that effectively address each goal.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Children, Early childhood education, Educational attainment, Families, Family support services, Infants, Nutrition, Parenting skills, Prenatal care, Prevention, Programs, Unwanted pregnancy, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This report focuses on low-income families facing multiple hardships during difficult economic times. The report discusses measuring and understanding the impact of hardship, the effect on multiple hardships on children, integrated solutions to multiple hardships, whether multiple benefits can offset the impact of multiple hardships, and recommendations.

Contact: Children's HealthWatch, Dowling Building, 771 Albany Street, Ground Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 414-6366 Fax: (617) 414-7915 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenshealthwatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Families, Financing, Food consumption, Housing programs, Infant development, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition, Outreach, Poverty, Program coordination, Social services

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined factors associated with the decisions of households that participate in WIC during the first year after the birth of a child to (1) delay their entry into the WIC program until after the child's birth and (2) exit the program when a child turns 1. The report explains how WIC works and discusses data, methods, and results.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Eligibility, Enrollment, Families, Family support programs, Infants, Low income groups, Nutrition, Research, Statistical data, WIC Program, Young children