Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 13 (13 total).

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. n.d.. Hearing loss fact sheet. [Atlanta, GA: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program], 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute. 2025. Looking at NJ Medicaid oral health quality performance for children through a secret shopper market survey of the MCO network directories for children ages 0 to 6. Princeton, NJ: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. 2024. Fluoride fact sheet for health professionals. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It presents background information and discusses the following topics: recommended intakes for infants, children, adolescents, and adults from birth to over age 19, sources of fluoride, fluoride intakes among people in the United States, fluoride and health (the effects of fluoride on tooth decay and bone fractures), health risks from excessive fluoride, interactions of fluoride with medications, and fluoride and healthy diets.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Dental caries, Fluoride, Fractures, Infant health, Oral heath, Prevention

National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. 2024. Fluoride fact sheet for consumers. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It presents background information and discusses the following topics: recommended intakes for infants, children, adolescents, and adults from birth to over age 19, including pregnant adolescents and women and breastfeeding adolescents and women; sources of fluoride; types of fluoride supplements; fluoride and health (the effects of fluoride on tooth decay and bone fractures); health risks from excessive fluoride; interactions of fluoride with medications; fluoride and healthy diets; and where to find more information about fluoride. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride, Fractures, Infant health, Oral heath, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Prevention

Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health. 2020, 2022. Community health center coaching tools. Denver, CO: Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health, 1 change package (2 pp.), 1 site field note template (29 pp.), 1 network field note template field note (24 pp.).

Annotation: The Coaching Change Package (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-change-package.pdf>) is for guiding coaching activities with participating CHCs. The Community Health Center Site Monthly Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-chc-field-note.pdf>) is a template to inform project leads about coaching work during the month. The Learning Network Field Note (<https://www.mchoralhealth.org/PDFs/nohi-romonoh-coaching-tools-learning-network-field-note.pdf >) is a template for recording coaching notes from learning network calls with CHCs in the state. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health centers, Infant heath, Ora health, Pregnant women, Regional programs, Service integration, Young children

Children's Dental Health Project. 2018. Introducing quality improvement methodology: Learning for action. Washington: DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement National Learning Network to enhance the evidence base for improving access to and quality of oral health care for pregnant women and infants. It discusses project activities, the rationale for the quality-improvement processes, and preliminary results of the collaborative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: , Access to health care, Infants, Oral heath, Pregnant women, Quality assurance

Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Great Start Safe Sleep Initiative. 2013. On the back to sleep, on the tummy to play. [Lawrence, MI]: Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Great Start Safe Sleep Initiative, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for parents of infants provides information to help parents ensure that their infant does not develop a flat spot on the back of the head from sleeping in his or her back. A list of things that parents can do while their infant is awake is provided, along with illustrations.

Contact: Great Start Collaborative - Van Buren County, Lawrence, MI Telephone: (269) 539-5205 E-mail: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ContactUsForm/tabid/70/Default.aspx Web Site: http://www.greatstart-vanburen.org/ Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant, Infant heath, Newborn infants, Prevention, Sleep position

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities. 2013. Hispanics in Maryland: Health data and resources. Balitmore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the health of Maryland's Hispanic population. The report includes data highlights; basic information about this population; and information about social and economic well-being, economic characteristics, mortality, access to health care, health risk and protective factors, cancer, chronic disease, HIV and infectious diseases, maternal and infant health, and mental health. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 201 West Preston Street, Room 500, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-7117 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Contact-Us.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, HIV, Health, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, Maryland, Mental heath, Minority groups, Mortality, Protective factors, Racial factors, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Schumacher R. 2011. State issues and innovations in creating integrated early learning and development systems: A follow-up to Early childhood 2010–Innovations for the next generation. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. Department of Education, 134 pp.

Annotation: This report is intended to capture the spirit of and themes from the meeting, Early Childhood 2010: Innovations for the Next Generation, held in Washington, DC, in August 2010. The purpose of the meeting was to improve collaboration and partnership at the federal, state, and local levels in support of integrated state early learning and development systems for infants and children from birth through age 8. Topics include coordinated state leadership, effective use of data, systemic quality improvement, partnerships with families and communities, physical and behavioral health integration, and children with multiple risks.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS Pub. No. (SMA) 11-4661.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Child heath, Collaboration, Communities, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, High risk children, Infant development, Infant health, Leadership, Program coordination, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Statistical data

National Commission on Children and Disasters. 2010. 2010 report to the President and Congress. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 185 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a study that examined and assessed the needs of infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 18 in relation to the preparation for, response to, and recovery from all hazards, including major disasters and emergencies, by building upon the evaluations of other entities and reviewing their findings, conclusions, and recommendations. The report includes findings, conclusions, and recommendations on the following topics: physical health, mental health, and trauma; child care; child welfare; elementary and secondary education; sheltering, temporary housing, and affordable housing; transportation; juvenile justice; evacuation; and relevant activities in emergency management.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ pub. no. 10-M037; ISBN 978-1-58763-401-7.

Keywords: Adolescent heath, Adolescents, Child care, Child health, Child welfare, Children, Costs, Disaster planning, Education, Emergencies, Housing, Infant health, Infants, Juvenile justice, Mental health, Transportation, Trauma

National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. 2010. Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (upd. ed.). [Rockville, Md]: National Institutes of Health, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). The fact sheet discusses progress in understanding, preventing, and treating the problem since alcohol's ability to cause birth defects was first recognized over three decades ago. Steps for health professionals and women who are pregnant or who are considering becoming pregnant to take to prevent FASD are provided. Research geared toward better preventing and treating FASD in the future is also discussed.

Contact: National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, , 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Birth injuries, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant health, Prevention, Reproductive heath, Research, Treatment, Trends

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and American Academy of Pediatrics. 2009. 2009-2010 influenza season triage algorithm for children ([equal to or under] 18 years) with influenza-like illness. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1 p.

Annotation: This algorithm, which was developed for physicians and those under their direct supervision, offers information to help in providing advice to parents or other caregivers of ill children about seeking medical care for influenza-like illnesses. The algorithm provides information about what type of treatment should be sought based on the child's age, symptoms, and risk factors.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Infant heath, Infants with special health care needs, Influenza

Helm T, Rice G, Hein J. 2009. Yuma County needs assessment. [Tuscon, AZ]: University of Arizona, Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health, Center for Rural Health, 68 pp.

Annotation: This document is a needs assessment for Yuma Country, Arizona. The document includes a summary of county characteristics (history and description, demographic indicators, marital status, economic indicators, and education) and discusses general health indicators, materal and perinatal health indicators, infant and child health indicators; Healthy People 2010; Title V block grant performance measures; and a survey of prenatal care in Yuma County.

Contact: University of Arizona, Center for Rural Health, 1295 N Martin - P.O. Box 245163, Tucson, AZ 85724, Telephone: (520) 626-5823 Fax: (520) 626-3101 E-mail: http://crh.arizona.edu/contact Web Site: http://www.crh.arizona.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Domestic violence, Economic factors, Education, Educational attainment, Health, Health care utilization, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Infant health, Low birthweight, Low income groups, Marital status, Perinatal health, Prenatal care, Statistical data, Title V of the Social Security Act, Unemployment, lead poisoning, oral heath