Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet lists and describes ten strategies that can help increase the health of babies in the state of Illinois. Increasing access to family planning education and affordable health care across the life span; ensuring the quality of prenatal and general healthcare; offering maternity/paternity paid leave; developing comprehensive systems of care; maintaining effective and efficient health data systems; ending discriminatory policies and practices; and advocating for community development improvements are among the strategies outlined.

Contact: Illinois Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1256 West Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60642, Telephone: (312) 491-8161 Fax: (312) 491-8171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilmaternal.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Health promotion, Illinois, Infant health, Prevention programs, State programs

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This set of national health and safety standards provides information about high-quality health and safety practices and policies for early care and education settings. Topics include staffing; program activities for healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; facilities, supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious diseases; children with special health care needs and disabilities; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58110-438-7 (American Academy of Pediatrics).

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care centers, Child development centers, Child health, Child safety, Children, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Model programs, Standards, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This series includes four handouts: (1) Keeping Baby Teeth Healthy, (2) Protecting Young People’s Teeth, (3) Protecting Your Teeth for a Lifetime, and (4) Protect Your Teeth Later in Life. Each tip sheet provides information about how to keep the mouth and teeth healthy during different life stages (e.g., pregnancy,infancy, childhood, adolescence, later years) as well as for a lifetime. The handouts are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Infant health, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to assist health professionals and parents in promoting good eating and oral health practices to help prevent oral disease in pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents. The guide provides descriptions of materials on data and surveillance, policy, professional education and training, and public education. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This checklist provides items that child care program staff can check to reflect what they are doing to promote good oral health for infants, toddlers, and young children. Items not checked can serve as goals to help staff work toward improving their practices related to foods and drinks and to oral hygiene. The checklist is divided into three main categories: infants from birth to age 1, toddlers ages 1–3, and young children ages 3–5. Within each category, items to check are listed in two subcategories: foods and drinks and oral hygiene. The checklist is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child care, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This consensus statement provides evidence-based recommendations on beverage consumption for infants and children from birth to age 5. The document includes definitions of beverage types and describes the process for developing the recommendations. It offers information about beverages that are best for infants and children, beverages to limit, and beverages to avoid. For each beverage, recommended amounts to give infants and children of different ages are provided.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluid intake, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Young children

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of the Bright Futures guidelines and how the guidelines correlate with the Title V National Performance Measures.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Bright Futures, Child development, Child health, Child health supervision, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Model programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Service delivery systems, Title V programs

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This letter for health professionals provides information on best practices for oral health care for pregnant women and their young children. Topics include the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, the impact of tooth decay during pregnancy and early childhood, and helping women with low incomes access oral health care during pregnancy and the postpartum period. Additional topics include delivering oral health messages during pregnancy, implementing oral health interventions as part of well-child care, and providing comprehensive oral health care during pregnancy and beginning at age 1.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Infants, Low income groups, Models, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This brief summarizes evidence for promoting healthy nutrition in the early care and education setting. Topics include breastfeeding, shaping food preferences among infants and toddlers, the role of the feeding environment and responsive feeding, introducing infants to complementary foods, and recognizing infants’ and toddlers’ hunger and fullness cues. Feeding strategies to reduce the likelihood that children will develop tooth decay are provided. Policy and practice implications are included.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Complementary feeding, Early childhood education, Feeding, Food allergies, Food preferences, Food safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Physical activity, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children