Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to summarize the literature concerning the relationship between breastfeeding and various infant and maternal health outcomes. The report addresses two main questions: (1) what are the benefits and harms for infants and children in terms of short-term outcomes, compared among those who mostly breastfeed, mostly formula feed, and mixed feed, and how are these outcomes associated with duration of the type of feeding? and (2) what are the benefits and harms for maternal health in terms of short-term outcomes, compared among those who mostly breastfeed, mostly formula feed, and mixed feed, and how are these outcomes associated with duration of the type of feeding? The report presents methods, results, a discussion, and a list of references and included studies. An executive summary and a list of acronyms and abbreviations are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 07-E007.

• Full Report
• Addendum

Keywords: , Breastfeeding, Child health, Infant formula, Infant health, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes the findings of a Congressionally requested study to review the potential impact of infant formula marketing on breastfeeding rates, especially for infants in the WIC (Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children) program. Topics include an estimate of breastfeeding rates for infants in the general population and for infants on WIC, and how these rates compare to recommended breastfeeding rates; how infant formula is marketed to women in general and to women on WIC in particular; and what is known about the impact of infant formula marketing. Topics also include the benefits of breastfeeding, WIC and infant formula, efforts to limit formula advertising, breastfeeding trends, and formula marketing and the use of WIC trademarks. Conclusions and an agency recommendation are provided along with appendices on advertising data and a literature review.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: GAO-06-282.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Marketing, WIC program

Annotation: This report develops an economic model that provides the theoretical framework for the econometric analysis presented in the report's companion volume, WIC and the Retail Price of Infant Formula. The model examines supermarket retail prices for infant formula in a local market area and identifies the theoretical effects of WIC and its infant formula rebate programs. Special attention is given to the rebate program's sole-source procurement system by which a single manufacturer becomes a state's one supplier to WIC infants in exchange for paying rebates to WIC. The report, which includes an abstract, is divided into discussions of the structure, solution, and results of the WIC model. The report contains one appendix: WIC model symbols. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: FANRR-39-2.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Infant health, Low income groups, National programs, State programs, WIC Program, infant formula

Annotation: This report presents findings from the most comprehensive national study of infant formula prices at the retail level. The report, which includes an abstract, a summary, and definitions, is divided into the following main sections: (1) overview of the WIC program, (2) the WIC infant formula rebate program, (3) the domestic infant formula market, (4) sources of infant formula data, (5) infant formula trends, (6) infant formula prices and availability, (7) event study analysis of retail infant formula prices, (8) multivariate analysis of the determinants of retail infant formula, (9) discussion, and (10) conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. Five appendices include (1) the history of the WIC Infant Formula Rebate Program, (2) change in price of infant formula after a change in the holder of the WIC contract by market area, (3) the economic model of the retail infant formula market, (4) detailed regression results, and (5) data sources and construction of variables. References are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website. Document Number: FANRR39-1.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Data, Infant formula, Infant health, Low income groups, National programs, Research, Trends, WIC Program

Annotation: This report addresses the regulatory and research issues that are critical in assessing the safety of the addition of new ingredients to infant formulas. It begins with an overview of infant formula regulations and guidelines and the rationale for the report. Chapter 2 reviews the parameters considered by the committee when defining "safety" and how to approach it from a practical, theoretical, and statistical point of view. Chapter 3 compares how biological and behavioral advantages of human milk with infant formulas and reviews how infant formulas were developed to meet the biological advantages of human milk. The remainder of the report reviews the current regulatory processes involved in evaluating infant formulas and provides recommendations for the overall process, preclinical studies, clinical studies, and in-market surveillance. The appendices include acronyms and a glossary, composition of infant formulas and human milk for feeding tern infants in the United States, the Redbook table of contents, applying the recommended approaches, and biographical sketches of committee members. References are provided at the end of each chapter.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-09150-0.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Food safety, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Milk, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition research

Annotation: This report discusses the economic benefits of breastfeeding. Topics discussed include the medical costs of not breastfeeding, the nonmedical costs of artificial feeding, other costs of not breastfeeding, investing in supporting breastfeeding, and what's needed to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding. The report concludes with a list of references.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Costs, Infant formula, Infant health, Women', s health

Annotation: This document announces the Research Roundtable describing research on the effects of distributing comercial infant formulas materials to pregnant women in obstetric offices and of offering noncomercial infant feeding materials that conform to World Health Organization codes for marketing breastmilk substitutes on breastfeeding initiation and duration. The Web site offers print materials including an overview of the study, presenter contact information, an HTML version of the reactor's remarks and a list of resources a nd references. The audiovisual portion of the program includes slideshows, Powerpoint presentations, a quicktime version of the reactor's presentation, and an audio recording of the session. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF
• Series Page

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Infants, MCH research

Annotation: This study addressed two adverse effects of feeding cow milk to infants. 1) Inhibition of iron absorption: The study hypothesized that significantly less iron is absorbed when babies are fed cow milk than when fed formula. 2) Occult intestinal blood loss: The study hypothesis was that infants lose more fecal blood when they are fed cow milk than when they are fed formula, that blood loss is associated with clinical symptoms and leads to deterioration of iron nutritional status. The study provides descriptive information regarding cow milk-induced intestinal blood loss. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2000-106683.

Keywords: Infant Nutrition, Infant formula, Infants, Infants, MCH Research, Research

Annotation: This framework sets out a methodology for use by authorities in countries when evaluating their action to implement the International Code of Marketing of Breast-milk Substitutes. The framework, which can be adapted as appropriate, offers a standardized method of information and data collection for monitoring progress over time. Each of the eleven articles of the Code is covered in separate sections with three parts: a summary of the main focus, a description of critical issues, and suggested key informants. Sample questionnaires are included.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data collection, Guidelines, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Marketing

Annotation: This study examined the influence of commercial formula advertising and formula distribution (through physicians' offices) on breastfeeding initiation and duration. The study protocol incorporated both antenatal and postnatal components. Women were recruited from two private practices at Rochester General Hospital—one practice served primarily Caucasian women and the other provided care for a racially and ethnically diverse population of Caucasian, African-American, and Hispanic women. Nearly half of the study sample was drawn from a geographic area in which approximately one-quarter of the population lived below the Federal poverty level. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2001-102611.

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Hispanics-All others, Hispanics–Puerto Ricans, Infant Nutrition, Infant formula, Infants, MCH Research, Newborn infants, Nonpregnant women (not otherwise identified as adolescents), Pregnant women (not otherwise defined as adolescents), Research

Annotation: This brochure discusses ways that mothers can continue to breastfeed as they return to school or work. It discusses how to transition the baby to feeding from a bottle, expressing breast milk, the use of breast milk in combination with formula, and preparing to return to work. It is one of a number of brochures used to promote breastfeeding in Missouri.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, WIC and Nutrition Services, 1730 East Elm, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-6400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 392-8209 Contact Phone: (800) 392-8209 Fax: (573) 526-1470 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/wic/index.php $0.30. Document Number: no. 192.

Keywords: Adolescent mothers, Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Educational materials, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Missouri, State initiatives, Working mothers, Young adults

Annotation: This document states the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Associates and Practitioners' policy on breastfeeding. It also includes the organization's position statement on infant formula advertising.

Contact: National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners, 20 Brace Road, Suite 200, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034, Telephone: (856) 857-9700 Fax: (856) 857-1600 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.napnap.org

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant formula, Policy statements

Annotation: This report is a comprehensive examination of pesticide use in agriculture and subsequent exposure to pesticides in the diets of infants and children. It examines infant and child development and explains how children metabolize pesticides differently from adults. The report focuses on perinatal exposure, food and water consumption by children, toxicity testing, federal pesticide regulations, and current methods of pesticide exposure risk assessment. Recommendations of the Committee on Pesticide Residues in the Diet of Infants and Children are emphasized throughout the report. Statistics and extensive bibliographies are provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-309-04875-3.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Carcinogens, Child nutrition, Fluid intake, Food consumption, Food safety, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Nutrition research, Perinatal health, Pesticides, Statistics, Toxicity, Water safety

Annotation: This manual provides in-depth guidelines for designing and monitoring a facility to prepare and handle formula for infants with special needs. Developed by a group of clinical and technical experts, this manual includes detailed information on physical facilities layout, the equipment and supplies needed, the personnel and their training needs, procedures for preparation and handling of formula, as well as infection control, an overview of microbiological issues, and quality assurance indicators. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Secondary Telephone: (312) 899-0400 Contact Phone: (800) 746-0775 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org $8.45, ADA members; $9.95, nonmembers; plus $3.50 shipping and handling.

Keywords: Group feeding, Health facilities, Hospitals, Infant formula, Infants with special health care needs, Planning

Annotation: The principal aim of this study was to identify the major determinants of infant feeding behavior in new mothers, and, for mothers choosing breastfeeding, the major determinants of the duration of breastfeeding. This study used a six-group, 2 x 3 prospective design in which the sample was stratified by two levels of race (black and white) and by three levels of education. The investigator found for both black and white women, breastfeeding rates increased with increasing years of education. Among those with a high school or higher level of education, white women were significantly more likely than black women to carry out their prenatal intention to breastfeed, as were better educated women of both races. In addition, the study identified four variables as significant predictors of failure to breastfeed for more than seven days (in women who were interviewed prenatally and who stated an intention to breastfeed). The four variables were: lower prenatal scores on confidence in ability to breastfeed, less certainty in the decision to breastfeed, delayed first breastfeeding, and not having the baby rooming in. The results of the study support the position that there are substantial ethnic and cultural influences on infant feeding practices which are independent of level of education. The findings have implications for breastfeeding promotion interventions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB88-239660.

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Education, Infant formula, Mothers, Whites

Annotation: This document contains the transcript of a hearing on infant formula and the ill effects resulting from use of infant formula that was not properly formulated and labeled.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant formula, Infant nutrition

Annotation: This document contains the proceedings of a hearing on infant feeding practices. The necessity of providing access to the most accurate, unbiased, and comprehensive nutrition information to those individuals responsible for feeding infants is the focus of the hearing. Breastfeeding should be promoted, and techniques for promotion are a part of the hearing.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Document Number: Serial No. 97-P.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant development, Infant formula, Infant nutrition

Annotation: This booklet, available in English and Spanish, is written for parents to guide them in feeding their infant. Nutrition for the infant is covered from newborn through age 12 months. Tips on burping the baby, weaning, introduction of solid foods, preparing homemade baby food, and vegetarian diets are included.

Contact: Pediatric Nutrition Consulting, P.O. Box 1199, Bonita, CA 92002-0860, $6.95 per copy plus shipping and handling; price varies with number of additional copies ordered.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Spanish language materials, Weaning

Annotation: In May 1981 the World Health Organization adopted an international code of marketing infant formula and other breast-milk substitutes. The code encompasses encouraging and supporting breastfeeding, promoting and supporting timely weaning practices with the use of local food resources, providing information and education on feeding infants and young children, promoting the health and social status of women engaged in child care, and appropriate marketing and distribution of breast-milk substitutes.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 154160 1.

• Link

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Child rearing, Education, Guidelines, Infant formula, International health, Marketing, Weaning, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide for new parents/caregivers provides information on breastfeeding, bottle feeding, and the introduction of solid foods during baby's first 12 months of life. It includes month-by-month feeding guidelines and describes what to expect during each stage of an infant's development. Included are instructions on preparing baby formula, guidance on the introduction and storage of solid foods, and growth charts adapted from the National Center for Health Statistics.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org

• Link

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Child Nutrition, Infant feeding, Child development, Consumer education , Formula preparation, Infant formula