Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Annotation: This updated policy statement addresses infant feeding from a public health perspective, promoting breastfeeding for optimal health and nutrition. Topics covered include epidemiology, health equity, exclusive breastfeeding, and duration of breastfeeding, as well as contraindications and special circumstances that may make breastfeeding difficult. A companion technical report provides the evidence and basis for the recommendations.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Stataement
• Technical Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Policy , Public health

Annotation: These resources are designed to help child care centers improve practices and policies that will create healthier environments for infants and children from birth to age 5. Topics include nutrition, physical education, screen time, and infant feeding.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Evaluation Of Healthy Way To Grow (2020)

Keywords: Behavior change, Child care centers, Health policy, Infant feeding, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This evidence review summarizes the effectiveness of workplace, community, and health care system–based programs and policies aimed at supporting and promoting breastfeeding and addresses maternal health outcomes associated with this recommended feeding method.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Program evaluation

Annotation: This handbook answers common questions about breastfeeding. The handbook discusses the choice to breastfeed; explains how breastfeeding works; and provides information about getting ready for a newborn, first feedings, special situations, going home, nutrition, common problems, breastfeeding beyond infancy, separations from the infant, the father's role, and weaning.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $15, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-160-9.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Fathers, Infant feeding, Infants, Mothers, Newborn infants, Nutrition, Weaning, Young children

Annotation: This brief describes national and international websites, lists recent publications for consumers and health professionals, and links to breastfeeding organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding care, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant feeding, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report explores the nutritional quality and other characteristics of food and drink products marketed to parents for their infants and toddlers (up to age 3). It also examines the messages used to promote these products, and evaluates how well they correspond to expert advice about feeding young children.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Evaluation, Feeding, Feeding, Food, Infants, Marketing, Toddlers

Annotation: This brief summarizes feeding guidelines for pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 2 that are relevant to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). Topics include WIC services and an overview of the feeding guidelines. The applications of the feeding guidelines in the WIC setting, including staff training on the guidelines, participant education, and breastfeeding support,are also discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Feeding, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Annotation: This brief summarizes evidence for promoting healthy nutrition in the early care and education setting. Topics include breastfeeding, shaping food preferences among infants and toddlers, the role of the feeding environment and responsive feeding, introducing infants to complementary foods, and recognizing infants’ and toddlers’ hunger and fullness cues. Feeding strategies to reduce the likelihood that children will develop tooth decay are provided. Policy and practice implications are included.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child care, Complementary feeding, Early childhood education, Feeding, Food allergies, Food preferences, Food safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Physical activity, Policy development, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This book provides health care professionals and students in all specialties with a teaching and reference aid to enhance their knowledge of breastfeeding physiology and clinical practice to encourage and support breastfeeding. Topics include the rationale for promoting breastfeeding, composition of human milk, anatalomy and physiology of lactation, managing breastfeeding before and after conception, peripartum care, postpartum care in the hospital and at home, infant and mother m=breastfeeding maintenance, supoorting breastfeeding during mother-infant separation, lactation support, medications and breastfeeding, contraception, and breastfeeding and preterm infants and other special circumstances. Appendices provide resources and professional position statements on breastfeeding.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-804-0.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child nutrition, Complementary feeding, Health promotion, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Maternal health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These resources for mothers, mothers-to-be, their families, and health professionals provide information on breasteeding initiation in the first hour after birth. Contents include breastfeeding facts and the benefits of skin-to-skin contact. Posters, social media images, and links to organizational websites are also provided.

Contact: Live Well Omaha Kids, 12809 West Dodge Road, Omaha, NE 68154, Telephone: (402) 343-4507 Web Site: http://livewellomahakids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Infant feeding, Local initiatives, Nebraska, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report reviews evidence supporting implementing child obesity prevention strategies based on the maternal-child life course approach. Topics include cumulative caloric imbalance and childhood obesity, periconceptional nutrition, weight gain during pregnancy, maternal smoking during pregnancy, breastfeeding, complementary feeding, development of food taste preferences in the infancy period, weight gain during the first year of life, and toddler and preschool nutrition. Contents include a summary of the science and implications for policy and practice, initiatives in Connecticut to reduce child obesity risk factors among children under age 3, and recommendations for action.

Contact: Child Health and Development Institute of Connecticut, 270 Farmington Avenue, Suite 367, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 679-1519 Fax: (860) 679-1521 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.chdi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Connecticut, Food habits, Gestational weight gain, Infant feeding, Infants, Life course, Model programs, Obesity, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Risk factors, State initiatives, Weight, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet informs breastfeeding mothers returning to work, or otherwise away from their infants, about important benefits of expressing milk via breast pumps. It offers advice on choosing the right pump kit, getting advice from a lactation consultant, basics about breast pump kits, choosing to buy or rent a kit, and keeping all parts of the kit clean and disinfected.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• FDA Webpage

Keywords: Breast pumps, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Infant feeding, Lactation management

Annotation: This brochure, which is geared toward working mothers who are breastfeeding, provides information about how to successfully breastfeed while working outside the home. The brochure discusses why it is important to continue breastfeeding after returning to work, introducing a bottle, choosing child care, rights of breastfeeding women, pumping and storing breastmilk at work, creating a back-to-work plan, and overcoming challenges. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Breastfeeding Coalition of Washington, 155 North East 100th Street, #500, Seattle, WA 98125, Telephone: (206) 281-8032 Fax: (206) 270-8891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.breastfeedingwa.org/ Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Bottle feeding, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Parent child relations, Parent rights, Spanish language materials, Women', Working mothers, s rights

Annotation: This resource is a printout of presentation slides that provide information about maternal and infant health priorities and opportunities in home visiting. The presentation discusses opportunities for preventing premature birth. obesity, and maternal depression in the context of home visiting, Best practices for safe sleep, infant illness care, and infant feeding problems are also discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Feeding disorders, Health care, Home visiting, Infant feeding, Infant health, Maternal health, Mental health, Obesity, Postpartum depression, Preterm birth, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This report describes steps that mothers and their families, communities, clinicians, employers, researchers, and government leaders can take to participate in a society-wide approach to support mothers and babies who are breastfeeding. Topics include the importance of breastfeeding, rates of breastfeeding, and barriers to breastfeeding in the United States. Recommended actions and their associated implementation strategies are detailed.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Barriers, Breastfeeding promotion, Community action, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation management, National initiatives, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This report examines the degree to which key obesity-prevention concepts are reflected in states' child care regulations. The content is based on an examination of documents from licensed child care centers, large or group family child care homes, and small family child care homes. The data comprise 6,826 individual ratings from 118 state documents consisting of all states' ratings of 47 variables for each child care facility type regulated. A variety of charts and graphs illustrate findings nationally and by content area (infant feeding, nutrition, and physical activity). Outcomes for states and recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Infant feeding, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Regulations

Annotation: This report describes findings from focus groups and interviews with a diverse cross section of mothers of infants in MInnesota. The research -- conducted by the Minnesota Department of Health’s Physical Activity and Nutrition Unit and Women, Infants and Children (WIC) Program in partnership with Wilder Research -- is based on questions that centered on the supports for and challenges of breastfeeding infants, particularly in relation to their experiences with health care settings, worksites, and social influences. The report discusses the characteristics of participants; their perceived knowledge of infant feeding; the knowledge and influence of health care providers; and worksite support and other social influences for infant feeding; Included are a summary of findings among specific populations (Native American women; Latina women; Somali women; Hmong women; and women with low levels of education). Recommendations are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Focus groups, Infant feeding, Interviews, Minnesota, Research, State initiatives

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the importance of breastfeeding exclusively for baby's first six months and longer. Topics include how labor, birth, and postpartum practices can facilitate or discourage the initiation, establishment, and continuation of breastfeeding; benefits to all children, as well as premature and high-risk infants; benefits for the mother; and costs.

Contact: Coalition for Improving Maternity Services, P.O. Box 33590, Raleigh, NC 27607-3590, Telephone: (866) 424-3635 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.motherfriendly.org Available from the website.

• English Version

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Women', s health