Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This small pamphlet summarizes new knowledge about infant and toddler development and its impact on public policy. New research findings and clinical experience can be used to increase the effectiveness of legislation affecting children and families, programs for health screening, disease prevention and related issues for families, and public and private policies toward parents in the workplace.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Family support services, Health policy, Infant health services, Policy development

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about hearing loss in children. It explains what hearing loss in children is; discusses some signs of hearing loss, what causes it, and whether it can be prevented; and what parents can do it they suspect that their child has hearing loss. The fact sheet is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, 1600 Clifton Road, Mailstop E-88, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-3032 Secondary Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Fax: (404) 498-3060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/hearingloss/ehdi-programs.html Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Heath services, Infant development, Infants, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This roadmap provides detailed information on policies and strategies that foster nurturing environments for infants and toddlers and reduce disparities in access and outcomes. Published annually, the roadmap is designed to help state leaders (1) Assess the wellbeing of its infants and toddlers and prioritize state policy goals; (2) Identify evidence-based policy solutions proven to impact policy goals; (3) Monitor states’ adoption and implementation of effective policies and strategies; and (4) Track the impact that policy changes have on improving the wellbeing of children and families and reducing disparities between racial and ethnic groups. A summary of each state’s progress is included.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• 2024
• 2023

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Health care access, Health status disparities, Infant health, Policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This set of national health and safety standards provides information about high-quality health and safety practices and policies for early care and education settings. Topics include staffing; program activities for healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; facilities, supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious diseases; children with special health care needs and disabilities; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58110-438-7 (American Academy of Pediatrics).

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care centers, Child development centers, Child health, Child safety, Children, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Model programs, Standards, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This Digital Wellness Guide is designed to provide parents and caregivers with information and guidance based on clinical evidence and scientific research. In it, we discuss both the benefits and risks of digital media use and provide strategies for parents and caregivers of children from birth through young adulthood.

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital Digital Wellness Lab, Boston Children's Hospital, 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-5420 Secondary Telephone: (617) 355-9477 Fax: (617)730-0004 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://digitalwellnesslab.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Child development, Children, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Infant development, Infants, Interactive media, Technology, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: This brief examines promising strategies used in three states (Texas, Colorado, and Rhode Island) to address the developmental and mental health needs of infants and toddlers involved in Child Welfare (CW). The brief focuses primarily on the roles of state and local CW and Part C of the federal Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) that establishes requirements for providing Early Intervention (EI) services to infants and toddlers with disabilities. Additional support from other sectors and settings (e.g., mental health and home visiting) are also highlighted.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Early intervention, Ethnic groups, Infants, Low income groups, Mental health, Model programs , Poverty, State programs, Toddlers

Annotation: This brief uses data from the State of Babies Yearbook: 2020 to examine state-level differences in how infants and toddlers living in rural areas are faring. It includes key findings on health care utilization among pregnant women and select infant/toddler outcome measures such as infant mortality, preterm birth, breastfeeding, vaccine uptake, and preventive checkups) Several recommendations for policy makers to help ensure equitable health care access for infants and toddlers living in rural areas are also provided.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Birthing centers, Data, Health insurance, Home births, Infant health, Outcome evaluation, Policy development, Prenatal care, Rural health, Toddlers

Annotation: This guide to the first five years of life gives parents and caregivers comprehensive guidance on essential baby and childcare topics including breastfeeding, immunizations, sleep, and much more. All of the advice, including the complete health encyclopedia, has been fully revised and updated to reflect current AAP policy

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Childbirth, Children, Developmental stages, Emergencies, First aid, Immunization, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Parenting

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This set of national standards describe evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs. Contents include intervention strategies to prevent excessive weight gain in young children. The standards detail opportunities for facilities to work with families. Topics include nutrition requirements for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and school-age children; meal service and supervision; food brought from home; nutrition education; food and nutrition service policies and plans; infant feeding policy; active opportunities for physical activity; playing outdoors; protection from air pollution while children are outside; caregivers/teachers' encouragement of physical activity; policies and practices that promote physical activity; and limiting media and computer time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Order from the website for a charge (3rd ed); available from the website (2nd ed).

• 3rd Edition
• 2nd Edition

Keywords: Child care, Early childhood education, Infants, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Policy development, Preschool children, Primary prevention, Program development, School-age children, Standards, Toddlers

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This document provides information about quality improvement (QI) measures that reflect components of the Bright Futures™ guidelines. The list combines nationally endorsed measures and measures tested in, or adopted from, previous QI preventive services projects. Contents include measures for infancy and early childhood, middle childhood and adolescence, and office-based system measures for both groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Bright Futures™ at AAP, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7785 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://brightfutures.aap.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Health promotion, Infant health, Measures, Organizational change, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This brief provides state-national comparisons on families and children in Arizona, with a focus on three key areas: Healthy children, prepared students, and strong families. Included are child health statistics and trends and a description of the ways in which Things First and its partners in Arizona’s early childhood system are working to support healthier children and promote early learning at the state and local level.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Arizona , Child health, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Families, Family health, Family support, Infant health, Infants, Learning, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, School readiness, Screenings, State surveys, Statistical data, Statistics, Trends, Vulnerability, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains examples of strategies state Title V programs can use to address National Performance Measure 6, percent of children, ages 9 through 35 months, who received a developmental screening using a parent-completed screening tool in the past year. Strategies are listed in these categories: (1) data collection, measurement, and existing landscape; (2) policy research, development, and implementation; (3) systems coordination; (4) technical assistance and training; (5) education, engagement, and resource development; and (6) other program strategies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Announcement

Keywords: Children, Developmental screening, Infants, Model programs, Resources for professionals, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children