Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This guide describes, step-by-step, how to make funeral arrangements for an infant who has died. It explains where to begin; describes the choices of cremation or burial, and discusses the various ways that grieving parents can make arrangements that will have special meaning to the family while also allowing others the opportunity to say goodbye. The guide includes lined pages where families are invited to write down their plans for the funeral.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Family support services, Funerals, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death

Annotation: This brochure is designed for coroners or medical examiners to give to families of an infant or a young child who has died suddenly. It outlines the roles of the professionals that may be involved in investigating the death, gives time estimates for the investigation process, and lists national resources. It can be used for all manners of sudden pediatric deaths. A sample of this brochure is available online; agencies can order a customized version that includes their local information. It is available in three versions: coroner only, medical examiner only, and coroner/medical examiner combined.

Contact: Sudden Unexplained Death in Childhood Foundation, 549 Pompton Avenue, Suite 197, Cedar Grove, NJ 07009, Telephone: (800) 620-SUDC Secondary Telephone: (973) 239-4849 Fax: (973) 559-6191 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sudc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Coroners, Death scene investigation, Infants, Medical examiners, Role, Sudden death, Young children

Annotation: This web page presents a chart of "do and don't" tips for placing baby safely to sleep. Topics include placing baby on their back, alone in a crib with a firm mattress and a fitted sheet, room-sharing, breastfeeding, using a pacifier, and keeping immunizations up-to-date.

Contact: Charlie's Kids Foundation, c/o Pegasus Transportation, P.O. Box 1571, Jeffersonville, IN 47131-1571, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://charlieskids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, SIDS, Sleep position

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This fact sheet for families lists several steps that caregivers and parents can follow to minimize the risk of sudden infant death syndrome. The steps include guidance about sleep environment, smoking, breastfeeding, pacifier use, visiting the doctor, and tummy time.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing, California Childcare Health Program, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-4695 Web Site: http://www.ucsfchildcarehealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• English, Spanish, And Chinese Translations

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Non English language materials, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This national campaign website presents information and resources about ways to reduce the risk for sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other sleep-related causes of infant death such as suffocation. Topics include answers to common questions about SIDS, the importance of sharing safe sleep messages with everyone who cares for infants under age 1, and crib-safety guidelines. Contents include a video; a general outreach brochure (in English and Spanish); brochures for outreach to African Americans, American Indians, and Alaska Natives; and a handout that illustrates a safe infant sleep environment. The website covers safe infant sleep basics,printable and shareable resources, research, and activities and initiatives.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Campaigns, Infant death, National initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report describes the landscape of infant mortality in Minnesota, addressing prematurity and birth defects, racial and ethnic disparities, racial justice, and statewide strategic planning to addresses health inequities and improve birth outcomes. A discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on infant mortality is included.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Alcohol use during pregnancy, Drug use during pregnancy, Ethnic factors, Infant death, Infant mortality, Minnesota, Prenatal influences, Racial factors, Risk factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This document describes the value of interviewing childbearing parents/families after the death of an infant, challenges, and steps in the process, including the parental interviewer; locating and contacting families; confidentiality, consent, and ethical considerations; conducting the interview; alternative methods; bereavement support and resources, and self-care. Appendices include sample position descriptions for interviewers, protocols, handouts and forms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death review, Infant death review committees, Interviews, Manuals

Annotation: This resource contains a collection of social media posts and graphics that can be used to raise awareness about Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and safe-sleep related deaths so that more babies reach year one. They include brief messages that can be posted to Twitter and graphics that can be copied and posted on various social media channels.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant death, Prevention, SIDS: Sleep position, Social media

Annotation: This document provides guidance to Child Death Review (CDR) and Fetal Infant Mortality Review (FIMR) teams on conducting effective reviews of the deaths of infants and children who had a disability or chronic illness. Contents include definitions of disability and special health care needs; preparing for the review meeting; background and questions for discussion at the review; medical death or natural causes; maltreatment as a factor; death in foster care, group home, institution, or jail/detention facility; mental health services for children in care; death at school or on a school bus; injury deaths; and risk factors. A structure for identifying and addressing gaps in services, policies, or protocols and model recommendations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Children with special health care needs, Infant death review committees, Infants with special health care needs, Models

Annotation: This report presents findings, conclusions, and recommendations from case reviews of overdose poison deaths among infants, children, and adolescents up to age 17 in Virginia for the five year period between 2009 and 2013. Topics include how overdose is impacting infants and children and their families in Virginia, which children are at risk, where are they at risk, how are they at risk, and what can be done to further promote health and safety in their lives. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, 400 East Jackson Street, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 786-3174 Fax: (804) 371-8595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medical-examiner Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Child death review, Child safety, Children, Health promotion, High risk groups, Household safety, Infants, Injury prevention, Opiates, Poisoning, Prescription drugs, Virginia

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of state and local Fetal and Infant Mortality (FIMR) coordinators about their FIMR team structure, process, and activities. Contents include information about operations at the local level to examine medical, nonmedical, and systems-related factors and circumstances contributing to fetal and infant deaths. Information about FIMR and child death review collaboration is also included. Survey results are provided in a set of tables following the narrative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, County programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Injury prevention, Local initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program coordination, Systems development, Teamwork

Annotation: This statement supports a safe sleep environment that can reduce the risk of all sleep-related infant deaths. Contents include the recommendations and strength of evidence for each recommendation. An accompanying technical report that discusses the rationale for the recommendations is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Policy Statement
• Technical Report

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Health policy, Infant death, Primary prevention, SIDS: Sleep position

Annotation: This guidance is designed to help partners engaged in the fetal infant mortality review (FIMR) or child death review (CDR) process address the vicarious trauma (VT) that can result from exposure to child deaths. Contents include the definition, signs, and symptoms of VT; VT and fatality review; the risk factors for VT; and steps to mitigate the impact of VT. Topics include positive ways to respond to VT including what the FIMR/CDR team, can do, what the FIMR/CDR coordinator can do, and how the agency can support the FIMR or CDR program; what individuals can do for themselves; negative ways to respond to VT including what a state FIMR/CDR coordinator can do if a team resists discussion or activities concerning VT or thinks it doesn't need them. Descriptions of articles, self-inventory checklists, presentations, and other resources are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Infant mortality, Leadership, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Role, Teamwork, Trauma, Trauma care

Annotation: This document is intended to inform Child Death Review and Fetal and Infant Mortality Review teams' reviews of fetal, infant, and child deaths known to be related, or potentially related, to Zika virus infection. Contents include an overview of Zika, including transmission, prevalance, and risk factors for pregnant women; preparing for review of cases; questions for teams to consider; and recommendations to health professionals and systems for preventing or mitigating Zika virus infection. Information about the clinical management of a pregnant woman with suspected Zika virus infection is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child death review, Infant death review committees, Virus diseases

Annotation: This handout provides information on crib-safety guidelines and other strategies to reduce the risk of SIDS and other sleep-related causes of infant death. The handout is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-5759, 12-5759(S).

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Injury prevention, Parent education, SIDS, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, infant death

Annotation: This resource brief helps families find links to care, services, and support and websites for expectant and new parents about ways to help babies survive and thrive, pregnancy loss, losing a baby, and grief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bereavement, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Families, Family support services, Grief, Infant death, Infant mortality, Infants, Pregnancy loss, Prevention programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about firearm-related injuries and deaths among infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 in the United States. Contents include data and information on the scope of the problem, the demographics of and circumstances surrounding firearm-related injuries to children, international comparison, and early prevention and safety education. Information on legislation and examples of state efforts to prevent firearm-related injuries to children is also included. A companion fact sheet addressing firearm injuries among adolescents and young adults ages 15 through 24 is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Death, Firearm injuries, Firearm safety, Firearms, Infants, Prevention programs, Protective factors