Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (1,002 total).

Pittsburgh/Allegheny County Healthy Start. n.d.. Guidebook for healthy mothers, children, families. Pittsburgh, PA: Allegheny County Healthy Start Project, 70 pp.

Annotation: This directory lists a variety of programs and services in the Pittsburgh area that are available to mothers, children, and families. It also contains health tips and fact sheets for infant care. Topics include the following: 1) child health clinics; 2) dental health; 3) family health services; 4) family/home-based support services; 5) family planning services; 6) family support centers; 7) grief support; 8) health and safety programs; and 9) Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Pittsburgh/Allegheny & Fayette County Healthy Start, 400 North Lexington Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA Telephone: (412) 247-1000 Secondary Telephone: (412) 247-4009 Contact Phone: (412) 578-8003 Fax: (412) 578-8325 Contact E-mail: 104626@compuserv.com Web Site: http://healthystartpittsburgh.org/ Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Case management, Child care services, Community programs, Family centered services, Family planning, Family support services, Infant health, Outreach, Pittsburgh Healthy Start, Social services

Great Expectations/Healthy Start. n.d.. Prenatal education curriculum. New Orleans, LA: Great Expectations/Healthy Start, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This study guide consists of a series of brief training sessions on various aspects of prenatal and infant care. Curricula topics include the following: 1) anatomy and physiology of pregnancy; 2) breastfeeding; 3) alcohol, smoking, and drug abuse; 4) personal hygiene; 5) sexually transmitted diseases; 6) contraception/family planning; and 7) domestic violence. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Breastfeeding, Contraception, Curricula, Domestic violence, Educational materials, Great Expectations/New Orleans Healthy Start, Infant care, Infant health, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Prenatal nutrition, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking, Substance dependence, Training materials

District of Columbia Healthy Start Project. n.d.. Resource parents' home visiting guide. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Healthy Start Project, 22 pp.

Annotation: This reference document is supplementary to the formal class training a resource mother receives in preparation for the job. It is intended as an organizer and a reminder of information to be covered for each monthly home visit. Each monthly section contains the following: a list of goals for the visit; materials needed; a sample dialogue; step-by-step guide; and follow-up steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Contact Phone: (202) 562-3046 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Paraprofessional, Parent support services, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Reference materials, Resource mothers

Great Expectations. n.d.. Parenting manual. New Orleans, LA: Healthy Start/Great Expectations, ca. 150 pp.

Annotation: This training manual is a curriculum in parenting for Great Expectation clients. The first section of the document includes a description of the eight week course; a parenting training schedule; guidelines for group leader or coordinator; ground rules for the participants; a parent pledge; and recruiting suggestions. The remainder of the manual provides resource material and handouts on these topics: orientation; health education; safety; nurturing and self esteem; communication and play; child reporting (types of abuse, types of neglect, mandated reporters, and factors that sometimes lead to abuse or neglect); and discipline. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Great Expectations Foundation, Inc., 4298 Elysian Fields Avenue, Suite B, New Orleans, LA 70122, Telephone: (504) 288-7818 Contact Phone: (504 ) 565-7601 Fax: (504) 288-7328 E-mail: arichard@greatexp.org Web Site: Available at no charge.

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child care, Child development, Communication, Curricula, Discipline, Education, Family planning, Health education, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Nutrition, Outreach, Parenting, Play, Prenatal care, Prevention, Safety, Self-esteem

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Fatherhood. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, and Studio Three, Samuel Merritt College, 1 videotape (10:46 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch). (Oakland Healthy Start video series)

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Infant care. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, and Studio Three, Samuel Merritt College, 1 videotape (13: 21 minutes, VHS 1/2 inches). (Oakland Healthy Start video series)

Annotation: This videotape is for new parents and discusses newborn care at home. It covers preparing the home before the baby arrives, normal infant development, and aspects of physical care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant care, Infant development, Infant feeding, Infant health, Videotapes

Oakland Healthy Start. n.d.. Pregnancy. Oakland, CA: Oakland Healthy Start, and Studio Three, Samuel Merritt College, 1 videotape (11:12 minutes, VHS 1/2 inches). (Oakland Healthy Start video series)

Annotation: This parent education videotape provides information on physical changes of pregnancy, medical tests, and preparing the home before the baby's arrival. Also included is advice on maintaining good health and eating nutritional foods during the pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-1246 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: fhaskins@admin2.mail.co.alameda.ca.us Available at no charge.

Keywords: Amniocentesis, Audiovisual materials, Household safety, Infant equipment, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Ultrasonography, Videotapes

Peoples MD. n.d.. The role of maternity and infant care projects in reducing low weight births. Unpublished manuscript, 39 pp.

Annotation: This paper gives a historical overview of the Maternity and Infant Care (MIC) projects enabled through amendments to Title V of the Social Security Act in 1963. The paper presents available data on MIC project accomplishments, with particular emphasis on the relationship of the projects to the incidence of low birth weight. Topics include: the evolution of MIC projects; administration and financing; objectives of the projects; eligibility; coverage of women and infants at risk; quality of care; effects on the use of care and low birth weight; and cost. The difficulties in evaluating these projects is also discussed, including methodological problems and issues of interpretation. A list of references is provided. Tables with information on the projects and evaluations of these projects are provided at the end of the paper.

Keywords: Federal MCH programs, History, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs

Berman C. n.d.. Project Zero to Three: [Final report]. Washington, DC: National Center for Clinical Infant Programs, 48 pp.

Annotation: The main goal of this project was to improve services for infants and toddlers with disabilities (or at risk for disabililties) and for their families by developing an interstate network for early identification and intervention services for this population. Activities included a national network meeting, two regional conferences, an intensive course, small topical meetings, consultations, publications, and a newsletter. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103373.

Keywords: American Public Welfare Association, Children's Defense Fund, Collaboration of Care, EPDST, Early Intervention, Environmental Risk, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Coalition, High risk infants, Networking, PL 99-457, WIC Program

Calkins R. n.d.. Planning and Establishment of a Parent-Child Development Center=Family Based Education Centers: [Final report]. Honolulu, HI: Kamehameha Schools/Bishop Estate Center for Development of Early Education, 50 pp.

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Lindsley C. n.d.. Mid-America Pediatric Rheumatology Outreach Program: [Final report]. Kansas City, KS: University of Kansas Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 18 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to establish a network of care that provided early and effective intervention for children with rheumatic disease in a four State area including Kansas, Western Missouri, Nebraska, and Iowa. Two specific components were clinical service and education. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-153005.

Keywords: Arthritis Service coordination, Children with special health care needs, Infants with special health care needs, Pediatric rheumatology, Rheumatic diseases

Shimizu H. n.d.. Identification of Hearing Loss in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit at The Johns Hopkins Hospital [Final report]. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, 27 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and recommend an appropriate hearing screening model to be used in Neonatal Intensive Care Units (NICUs) in the state or nation. The project was designed to compare three of the most commonly used screening procedures to determine the incidence of hearing loss, to identify the most predictive procedure or cluster of procedures for screening hearing loss in the NICU, to study the relationship between hearing screening procedures and the outcome of independent audiometric and developmental measures, and to identify the most cost effective mass hearing screening procedures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152825.

Keywords: Data Collection, Hearing, Hearing Loss, High risk infants Hearing Impaired, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Screening

Poisson S. n.d.. Maternal and Child Health Cooperative Agreement [Final report]. Rockville, MD: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 52 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Benford M. n.d.. MATCH II: A Merged Database for Health and Developmental Disabilities [Final report]. Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve coordination and continuity of early intervention and health related services to infants and young children who have, or are at risk for, developmental disabilities or delays. The project developed a collaborative mechanism via computer linkage for referring, tracking, and evaluating these children. A microbased computerized identification, referral, and tracking system has been developed for use at the local level. Through the merged database and tracking system, the project sought to improve child find, service coordination, follow-along, and program evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161974.

Keywords: Case Management, Collaboration of Care, Computer Linkage, Data Bases, Data Collection, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPDST, Early Intervention, Families, High risk infants, Medicaid, Referrals, WIC Program

Nickel R. n.d.. Oregon Developmental Monitoring Project for High Risk Infants [Final report]. Eugene, OR: Oregon Health Sciences University , 38 pp.

Annotation: This project established a model program for the coordination of early identification and assessment services for infants 0-3 years of age at high risk for major handicaps. It aimed to make appropriate developmental screening available as close as possible to the infant's home community, to provide the necessary developmental screening training to local health and educational service providers, and to provide the regional coordination for the many agencies and professional involved. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-156693.

Keywords: Clinics, Coordination of Health Care, Early Intervention, Education of Health Professionals, High risk infants, Rural Population, Screening

Branca P. n.d.. The Care of Bronchopulmonary Dysplasia In a System Encompassing Tertiary, Rehabilitative and Home Care [Final report]. Philadelphia, PA: Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, 13 pp.

Annotation: The goal of this project was the development of a multilevel model of care for infants with bronchopulmonary dysplasia that was cost effective, decreased length of hospital stays, and allowed for a physically, emotionally, socially, and developmentally healthier child. Inservice training for staff and parenting workshops were conducted as part of this project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161966.

Keywords: Bronchopulmonary dysplasia, Children with special health care needs, Coordination of services, Infants, Length of stay, Ventilator dependent

Langley M. n.d.. Continuum's Minority Connection Project [Final report]. Atlanta, GA: CONTINUUM Alliance for Healthy Mothers and Children, 32 pp.

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce postneonatal mortality rates associated with inadequate parenting skills and poor utilization of prenatal and child health care services. Activities included establishment of a resource mothers program in which church women were trained to assist pregnant women in negotiating the health care and social services systems, and implementation of a teen peer counselor program. The project also established self-sustaining local coalitions to monitor and address problems that contribute to poor pregnancy outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196889.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Blacks, Clergy, Community-Based Health Services, High risk groups, High risk pregnancy, Infant Mortality, Low income groups, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Religious organizations, Rural Populations

Mailloux S. n.d.. Improved Prenatal Care Utilization and Birth Outcome Project [Final report]. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 80 pp.

Annotation: This project surveyed 3000 postpartum Massachusetts women in order to identify barriers to, components of, and levels of participation in prenatal care, and to collect data on the social context of women's lives during pregnancy. Various interventions with high risk women at four demonstration sites were evaluated and compared. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-144236.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, Hispanics, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care

Poland M. n.d.. Increasing Access to Prenatal Care Through Problem Identification and Program Evaluation [Final report]. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University, 20 pp.

Annotation: This project addressed high infant mortality rates in Detroit and Wayne County as the general area of concern. The problems of high infant mortality rates and access to prenatal care were addressed over 3 years through a program of technical assistance to the Detroit/Wayne County Infant Health Promotion Coalition. The coalition, comprised of 36 public and private agencies, was established to address the high infant mortality rate through identification of contributing factors and development of programs to reduce these factors. Process objectives included: (1) identifing barriers to prenatal care through a review of relevant literature; (2) focus group discussions with health professionals and clients; (3) development of surveys of prenatal patients and new mothers with review of their medical charts; and (4) provide technical assistance in evaluating ongoing and proposed outreach efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196863.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care

Greene C. n.d.. Reducing High Infant Mortality in Southeast Louisiana [Final report]. Slidell, LA: Slidell Memorial Hospital Charities, Inc., 29 pp. pp.

Annotation: The project goal was to decrease the infant mortality rate in the target area to the national average by the end of the 3-year project period. The impact objective was to decrease the incidence of low birthweight to 6.5 percent and continue that downward trend to meet the U.S. Surgeon General's goal of 5 percent by the year 2000, and to increase Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment screenings to 80 percent of eligible children. The process objectives were to develop a one-stop perinatal and pediatric health facility, to draw St. Tammany Parish women into early prenatal care through aggressive outreach, and to develop a program of education and community support for indigent families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, U.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: customerservice@ntis.gov Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121875.

Keywords: EPSDT, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Motor Vehicle Crashes, One Stop Shopping, Prenatal Care, Unintentional Injuries

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.