Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This videotape discusses the effects of regulatory disorders through a case example of a seventeen month child. Common symptoms, assessment, and treatment interventions are discussed for this sensory disorder. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 12301 Academy Way, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 984-4444 Fax: (301) 881-8043 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.louriecenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, Infant behavior, Infant stimulation, Videotapes

Annotation: This videotape contains parenting information for new fathers. It covers the psychological implications of parenthood and the changes it brings to the parent's life, the physical care of the baby, and an explanation of infant behavior. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Oakland Healthy Start, 1850 Fairway Drive, San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 618-3452 Contact Phone: (510) 639-0978 Fax: (510) 483-6038 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Fathers, Infant behavior, Infant care, Infant equipment, Infant feeding, Parenting, Videotapes

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop and implement comprehensive and family-centered approaches to early identification, assessment, and treatment of infants and young children who are at risk for or suffering from emotional and/or regulatory difficulties. To this end, the Regional Center for Infants and Young Children: (1) Monitored types of families and children referred to and receiving services from an agency specializing in the early detection of emotional disorders or potential risk; (2) developed principles and technology to identify infants and young children/families at risk for psychosocial and developmental difficulties; (3) developed comprehensive, family-centered approaches to assessment and diagnosis; (4) developed prevention-oriented, family-centered approaches to intervention; (5) developed and disseminated technical assistance and training approaches; (6) engaged State and local maternal and child health (MCH) agencies in the project; and (7) accessed multiple financial resources to support its efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158236.

Keywords: Affective Disorders, Behavioral Disorders, Data Collection, Family-Centered Health Care, High risk groups: Families, High risk infants, Parents, Regulatory Disorders, Screening Tools, Temperament

Annotation: This annual report applies a model of health to rank states across multiple measures related to the health and well-being of women of reproductive age, infants, and children. The 2023 report highlights several trends in mortality among women of reproductive age and children, including rising rates of maternal mortality, drug deaths among women and injury deaths among women and children. The 2023 report also highlights several changes that occurred during the COVID-19 pandemic, including a a drop in the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds enrolled in early childhood education and decrease in the prevalence of electronic vapor product use among high- school students.

Contact: United Health Foundation, 9900 Bren Road East, Minnetonka, MN 55343, Telephone: (952) 936-3068 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.unitedhealthfoundation.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Full Report
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Environmental influences, Health behavior, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Infant health, Measures, Public policy, Racial factors, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: These resources are designed to help child care centers improve practices and policies that will create healthier environments for infants and children from birth to age 5. Topics include nutrition, physical education, screen time, and infant feeding.

Contact: American Heart Association, 7272 Greenville Avenue, Dallas, TX 75231-4596, Telephone: (800) AHA-USA1 Secondary Telephone: 1-800-242-8721 Web Site: http://www.americanheart.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Evaluation Of Healthy Way To Grow (2020)

Keywords: Behavior change, Child care centers, Health policy, Infant feeding, National initiatives, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Young children

Annotation: This guide to the first five years of life gives parents and caregivers comprehensive guidance on essential baby and childcare topics including breastfeeding, immunizations, sleep, and much more. All of the advice, including the complete health encyclopedia, has been fully revised and updated to reflect current AAP policy

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Childbirth, Children, Developmental stages, Emergencies, First aid, Immunization, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Parenting

Annotation: This infographic provides information about sugar-sweetened beverages (SSBs) and tips on healthy alternatives. Topics include the potential impact of SSB consumption on oral health; the amount of sugar in different beverages; and recommended daily limits on sugar for infants, children, adolescents, and adults. Information about reading nutrition labels, limiting juice, and choosing water is provided.

Contact: Delta Dental Foundation, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Telephone: (800) 524-0149 Web Site: http://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Fluid intake, Health behavior, Infants, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Sugar, Water

Annotation: This report provides a brief overview of stressors that affect childhood development and health, a framework for applying current brain and development science to the real world, a roadmap for implementing tailored interventions, and recommendations about improving systems to better align with our understanding of the significant impact of health equity. It builds upon and updates research from Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity (2017) and From Neurons to Neighborhoods: The Science of Early Childhood Development (2000).

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral sciences, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Health equity, Infants, Social sciences, Studies, Young children

Annotation: This letter for health professionals provides information on best practices for oral health care for pregnant women and their young children. Topics include the importance of oral health care during pregnancy, the impact of tooth decay during pregnancy and early childhood, and helping women with low incomes access oral health care during pregnancy and the postpartum period. Additional topics include delivering oral health messages during pregnancy, implementing oral health interventions as part of well-child care, and providing comprehensive oral health care during pregnancy and beginning at age 1.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Infants, Low income groups, Models, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet describes national and state initiatives to scale up and implement programs that encourage and facilitate first trimester prenatal care and help at-risk mothers commit to behaviors that reduce the numbers of low birthweight infants. Topics include a group prenatal care model called CenteringPregnancy®, smoking cessation programs, quality improvement initiatives related to the elimination of early elective deliveries, and Healthy Babies Are Worth the Wait Community Programs®.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Collaboration, Community based programs, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Financing, Health behavior, Health promotion, High risk infants, High risk mothers, High risk pregnancy, Low birthweight, Models, National initiatives, Peer support programs, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This flip chart is designed for social services providers who work with women during the prenatal period and parents of infants and children with special health care needs. Topics include taking care of the infant’s or child’s mouth, finding a dentist and planning a trip to the dentist, toothbrushing, tooth decay, intellectual and physical disabilities, cleft lip and cleft palate, autism spectrum disorder, Down syndrome, and g-tube and tracheostomy. Links to short videos and parent handouts are available.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation to assess the implementation and effectiveness of Text4baby, a free text messaging program for pregnant women and new mothers with an infant up to age one. The program is designed to improve maternal and child health among underserved populations in the United States. Topics include awareness, participation, health information knowledge, and behavior among women receiving prenatal care from four community health centers. The evaluation also addressed the role of the public-private partnership and lessons learned about the use of text messaging to provide health information during pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infant health, Knowledge level, Maternal health, Mobile applications, Outreach, Participation, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a survey to explore the oral health attitudes and behaviors of expectant and new mothers. Topics include women's self-rating of oral health before and during pregnancy and oral health problems reported during pregnancy; dental checkup participation and coverage, frequency, and cost concerns; routines impacting oral health; participation in healthy pregnancy programs; and the impact of pediatricians' and other health professionals' discussions of oral hygiene habits.

Contact: Cigna, 900 Cottage Grove Road, Bloomfield, CT 06002, Web Site: http://www.cigna.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer satisfaction, Dental care, Dental insurance, Health attitudes, Health behavior, Health insurance, Infants, Mothers, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Participation, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This paper, which focuses on the Infant Health and Development Program, a randomized multisite study of 985 low-birthweight infants and their families, examines the following three questions: (1) What are the different patterns of home visits? (2) Which child, maternal, and family demographic characteristics and qualities of the home visit are associated with these home-visitation patterns? (3) Are higher frequency patterns of home visits associated with positive effects for children's cognitive and behavioral outcomes and mothers' depression, social support, and knowledge of child development? The authors also examine the significance of the home environment. The paper includes a literature review and a description of the study method, measures, data analysis, and results.

Contact: Pew Charitable Trusts, One Commerce Square, 2005 Market Street, Suite 1700, Philadelphia, PA 19103-7077, Telephone: (215) 575-9050 Fax: (215) 575-4939 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.pewtrusts.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Behavior problems, Child behavior, Cognitive development, Depression, Early childhood development, Families, High risk groups, Home visiting, Infant development, Infants, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Mothers, Parent support programs, Postpartum depression, Programs, Young children

Annotation: This review assesses the comparative effectiveness of psychological and pharmacological interventions for infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 exposed to maltreatment in addressing child well-being outcomes (mental and behavioral health; caregiver-child relationship; cognitive, language, and physical development; and school-based functioning) and child welfare outcomes (safety, placement stability, and permanency). The review also assesses the comparative effectiveness of interventions with (1) different treatment characteristics, (2) for child and caregiver subgroups, and (3) for engaging and retaining children and caregivers in treatment. In addition, the review assesses harms associated with interventions for this population.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 13-EHC002-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Intervention, Language development, Maltreated children, Mental health, Parent child relations, Physical development, Safety, School failure, School readiness, Treatment

Annotation: This curriculum for early-childhood-education (ECE) program professionals includes weekly classroom lessons that correspond to Head Start domains and HighScope developmental indicators. The lessons focus on toothbrushing, visiting the dentist, good nutrition for oral health, the importance of primary teeth, and how oral health relates to success in school. The curriculum is designed to help ECE professionals incorporate oral health education into literacy, science, mathematics, and creative arts.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org $34.99. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-62890-068-2.

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Training, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information and resources to help women take care of their oral health during pregnancy. Topics include getting care, practicing good oral hygiene, eating healthy foods, and practicing other healthy behaviors. Additional topics include taking care of their infant’s gums and teeth and asking their pediatric health professional to check their infant’s mouth starting at age 6 months. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in Arabic, Chinese, Chuukese, English, German, Haitian Creole, Korean, Moldovan Romanian, Portuguese, Russian, Samoan, Spanish, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Health behavior, Infants, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to assist early childhood educators in helping infants and young children from birth to age 5 and their parents establish good daily oral hygiene habits and visit the dentist regularly. Components include newsletters and text messages for parents, books, a DVD, and monthly brushing charts for children. The parent materials and the books and brushing charts are available in English and Spanish. Training is also available.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org $210 (deluxe kit); $159 (basic kit); $111 (home visitor kit); materials also available separately.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This website for parents of infants provides information about gastroesphageal reflux (GER) in infants.Topics include what GER is, GER symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, points to remember, and research.

Contact: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.niddk.nih.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 06–5419.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Diagnosis, Gastrointestinal diseases, Infant behavior, Infant health, Research, Treatment, Vomiting