Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (33 total).

Danaher J. 2011. Eligibility policies and practices for young children under Part B of IDEA. [Rev. ed.]. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 21 pp. (NECTAC notes; no. 27)

Annotation: This document reflects the requirements and options to states under the Amendments to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 1997 (P.L. 105-17). The relevant portion of the IDEA statute is included in the paper as are relevant sections from the current and the proposed federal regulations. Finally, analyses are presented of data gathered by the author from the states and jurisdictions regarding their eligibility criteria and classifications.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Education, Eligibility, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part B

Lazara A, Danaher J, Kraus R, Goode S, Hipps C, Festa C. 2011. Section 619 profile. (18th ed.). Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 74 pp.

Annotation: This publication updates information provided by state coordinators on state policies, programs, and practices under the Preschool Grants Program (Section 619 of Part B) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Information includes: program administration, funding, interagency coordination, personnel, transition, monitoring, use of IEPs/ IFSPs, family-centered services, standards and outcomes, pre-kindergarten initiatives, initiatives for special populations, and services in least restrictive environments (LRE). The volume also includes a compilation of information on the Section 619 program from other sources: federal and state policies, data from www.ideadata.org, state training and TA systems, data on changes in children served by the program, and contact information for state and jurisdictional program coordinators.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Data, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Educational change, Federal grants, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part B, Preschool children, State programs

Danaher J, Goode S, Lazara A. 2011. Part C updates. (12th ed.). Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, annual.

Annotation: This publication provides a compilation of resources on the Early Intervention Program for Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities (Part C) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Section I contains information on Part C program administration, funding appropriations, and trend data related to the numbers of children served, the settings in which children receive services and the status of children exiting Part C. Section II contains information on Part C program implementation, including: states' Part C rules, regulations and policies; OSEP policy letters related to Part C; state requirements for Part C providers; state practices related to early identification of very young children with autism; promising practices for promoting the social-emotional well-being of infants and toddlers receiving early intervention services; and state efforts to meet the early childhood transition requirements of IDEA. Section III includes federal and state level Part C program contact information. Previous Editions of the Part C Updates are available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part C, Infants with special health care needs, Program evaluation, Program management, State programs, Toddlers

Danaher J, comp. 2011. Part C lead agencies. Chapel Hills, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, 4 pp. (NECTAC notes; no. 26)

Annotation: This fact sheet consists of a table listing lead agencies for Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Lead agencies in each state/jurisdiction carry out general administration and supervision, identification and coordination of resources, assignment of financial responsibility to appropriate agencies, development of procedures to ensure that services are provided in a timely manner, resolution of intra- and inter-agency disputes, and development of formal interagency agreements. The table lists lead agencies of of August 2010 by state/jurisdiction as well as the former lead agency, if one existed. An explanation of lead agencies and the process used to identify them is included.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Education, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part C, Legislation, State agencies

Lucas A, Hurth J, Kasprzak C, eds. 2011. Essential elements of high performing, high quality Part C systems. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 4 pp. (NECTAC notes; no. 25)

Annotation: This document reflects the requirements and options to states under the Amendments to the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 1997 (P.L. 105-17). The relevant portion of the IDEA statute is included in the paper as are relevant sections from the current and the proposed federal regulations. Finally, analyses are presented of data from the states and jurisdictions regarding their eligibility criteria and classifications.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Education, Eligibility, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part C

Seltzer T, Parker R. 2003. Teaming up: Using the IDEA and Medicaid to secure comprehensive mental health services for children and youth. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 26 pp.

Annotation: This publication is designed to inform practitioners—attorneys and advocates for the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) who are not familiar with Medicaid, and Medicaid attorneys and advocates who do not know IDEA or who have little experience in using Medicaid—how they may obtain the services and supports needed by children with emotional and behavioral disorders. It explains the benefits and limitations of each program as highlighted through litigation around the country. It covers these topics: class actions, individual claims for out-of-school mental health services under IDEA, coverage of residential treatment under IDEA, and Medicaid cases seeking access to comprehensive services.

Link

Keywords: Behavior disorders, Children with special health care needs, Court decisions, Federal programs, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Medicaid, Mental disorders

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2003. Reaching the children: The relationship between Title V and Part C. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 16 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief (1) examines partnerships in 20 states between Title V of the Social Security Act and Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act that address the health needs of children with disabilities, (2) outlines models of and barriers to collaboration, and (3) provides recommendations to Congress and the federal government to support this collaboration. The brief provides background, describes the survey methods used, discusses best practices, and offers recommendations to state Title V and Part C programs and for the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Department of Education, and Congress. Topics include an overview of the Title V and Part C programs, a description of program eligibility criteria, identification of eligible children, the importance of collaboration between the programs, care and service coordination, the medical home, provider availability, training and recruitment, family involvement, quality assurance, program funding, and financing. The brief includes one appendix: Action Plan for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs and Their Families: From the President's New Freedom Initiative.

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Early intervention, Eligibility, Federal programs, Individualized education programs, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part C, Service coordination, Social Security Act, Title V, State programs, State programs

National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center with ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education, ERIC/OSEP Special Project. 2001-2006. Compilation of projects addressing the early childhood provisions of IDEA . Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center, annual.

Annotation: This directory contains approximately 300 discretionary projects addressing the early childhood provisions of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. The directory was compiled from the following four volumes published by the ERIC/OSEP Special Project: (1) research, innovation, and evolution, (2) personnel preparation, (3) technical assistance, dissemination, parent training information, and state improvement, and (4) technology and media services. It was published annually from 2001 to 2006.

Link

Keywords: Directories, Disabilities, Evaluation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Information dissemination, Multimedia, Parents, Personnel, Research, Technical assistance, Technology, Training

Seltzer T. 1998. A new IDEA: A parent's guide to the changes in special education law for children with disabilities. Washington, DC: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 22 pp.

Annotation: This publication is designed to help parents understand what the 1997 changes in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) mean for students with emotional and behavioral problems. Tips are offered to help parents use the IDEA to protect children's right to an education. A list explains many of the abbreviations and special terms used in enforcing the law.

Keywords: Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Education, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Parents

Shackelford J, ed. 1997. State ICC overview: Policies, programs, and practices of state interagency coordinating councils under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 46 pp.

Annotation: This report presents general information on state interagency coordinating councils (SICCs) as well as the relationship between local or regional councils and their SICC. Information includes each SICC's composition and membership, parent roles and participation, structure and reorganization, and roles and functions. The information is designed to provide information on successful examples of practices of other SICCs.

Keywords: Administration, Community coordination, Consortia, Early intervention, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Interagency cooperation, Part H, Policy development, State programs

National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities. 1996. The education of children and youth with special needs: What do the laws say?. Washington, DC: National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities, 15 pp. (NICHCY News Digest; Interim update, October 1996)

Annotation: This newsletter focuses on the educational and civil rights of children and youth with disabilities through the age of 21 with an added emphasis on the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA). Additional federal laws are discussed to help understand the full range of services and rights available to children and youth with disabilities and their families. The newsletter letter also discusses the application of state laws and provides resources to families and professionals on how to obtain additional information.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Special education, State legislation

Ad Hoc 619 Work Group. 1995. Assisting our nation's preschool children with disabilities and their families. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 23 pp.

Annotation: This paper gives background information and reports on the achievements and future challenges of the Preschool Grants Program (Section 619 of Part B) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early childhood education, Early intervention, Federal grants, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part B, State programs

National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System. 1995. Helping our nation's infants and toddlers with disabilities and their families: A briefing paper on Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 1986-1995. Chapel Hill, NC: National Early Childhood Technical Assistance System, 39 pp.

Annotation: This briefing paper addresses four questions regarding Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act: Why is early intervention significant? What is Part H? What have the states achieved to date? What are the future challenges? Background information is provided and a preliminary assessment is given of current progress in meeting the needs of the infants and toddlers and their families. The paper contains a section for each question; a list of references; and appendices that include U.S. Department of Education contacts, state and local Part H coordinators, and Part H lead organizations. It was prepared as a preliminary report for the Federal Interagency Coordinating Council.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention, Evaluation, Families, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Part H, Special health care needs, State programs, Toddlers

Clifford RM, Bernier KY, Harbin GL. 1993. Financing Part H services: A state level view. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, 50 pp.

Annotation: In its efforts to document implementation of the infant/toddler portion of P.L. 99-457 (reauthorized in the Individual with Disabilities Act of 1991, P.L. 102-119, Subchapter VIII), the Carolina Policy Studies Program conducted a survey of state Part H coordinators. This report examines one aspect of the survey, the financing of Part H services and the use of potential sources of funding by the states. A series of recommendations completes the report.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Family support services, Federal legislation, Health care financing, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Interagency cooperation, Part H, State programs

Fullagar P, Crotser C, Gallagher JJ, Loda F. 1993. Communication, coordination, and cooperation: Perspectives on service delivery and Part H. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes an effort by the Carolina Policy Studies Program to investigate significant aspects of the implementation of Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). The theme of this report is the coordination of health services for infants and toddlers with disabilities and their families. The authors, who interviewed focus group of primary health care providers across five states, find significant barriers to the full coordination of services to children with disabilities and their families. The authors conclude that significant modifications of health, social, and economic structures may be required in order to provide the care needed by these children and families.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered services, Family support services, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Interagency cooperation, Part H, Policy development, Program development, Service coordination, State programs

Rooney R, Fullagar P, Gallagher JJ. 1993. Distinctive personnel preparation models for Part H: Three case studies. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report reveals strategies for implementing interdisciplinary personnel preparation programs for Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), and discusses barriers to meeting the spirit and intent of the personnel preparation components of the law. Three models of personnel preparation were explored: preservice, inservice and leadership training. For each of the three models, a personnel preparation program was selected for in-depth case study research. The three programs included: a preservice program in a university setting, a statewide outreach and inservice program, and a program representing the joint efforts of an organized parents group and a professional organization. Analysis of case study information yielded recommendations for policies affecting personnel development.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Inservice training, Interdisciplinary training, Leadership training, Part H, Preservice training, Professional education

National Council on Disability. 1993. Serving the nation's students with disabilities: Progress and prospects—A report to the President and the Congress of the United States. Washington, DC: National Council on Disability, 99 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the results of a study to determine how the key federal special education law, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), is working. It examines the educational outcomes of children and youth with disabilities, and how the system can be improved in the context of current education reform initiatives. Overall, the Council has found substantial shortcomings in compliance, and offers numerous recommendations on how to improve the education of students with disabilities.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Education, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

Von Rembow D, Sciarillo W, eds. 1993. Nurses, physicians, psychologists, and social workers within statewide early intervention systems: Clarifying roles under Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. Bethesda, MD: Association for the Care of Children's Health, 59 pp.

Annotation: This publication consists of papers defining certain discipline-specific roles in the early intervention system under Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), including those of nurses, physicians, psychologists, and social workers. These resource papers include sections related to child find, evaluation and assessment, Individualized Family Service Plan, early intervention services, and service coordination. The papers addressing the role of the nurse and the papers discussing the role of the physician differentiate between medical, nursing, and health services. Although the papers were developed to assist Maryland's local jurisdictions in implementing the statewide early intervention system consistent with federal and state regulations, they provide both a general framework and specific guidance relevant to other areas' early intervention efforts.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention programs, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Infants with special health care needs, Maryland, Nurses, Part H, Physicians, Psychologists, Role, Social workers, State initiatives

Harbin GL, Clifford R, Bernier K. 1993. Service system coordination under part H of IDEA: A national survey report. Chapel Hill, NC: Carolina Institute for Child and Family Policy, Carolina Policy Studies Program, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a study that was designed to determine the present nature and scope of service coordination between state agencies as required under the Individual with Disabilities Education Act, Part H. It addresses nine areas of service coordination including: 1) major goals for the coordination effort, 2) age range targeted for coordination, 3) development of the vision for a coordinated service system, 4) who is involved in the coordination of service, 5) the structure used for service coordination, 6) policies related to service coordination, 7) number of individuals designated to work on Part H activities, 8) accomplishments in the area of service coordination, and 9) state evaluation of service coordination efforts. The report explains the methodology of the study, presents its results, and provides a summary and conclusions.

Keywords: CSHCN programs, Children with special health care needs, Individuals With Disabilities Education Act, Part H, Interagency cooperation, Reports, Service coordination, Surveys

American Nurses Association Consensus Committee. 1993. National standards of nursing practice for early intervention services = The wonderful world where everyone is different. Lexington, KY: University of Kentucky, College of Nursing, 36 pp.

Annotation: This manual describes nursing's scope of practice with regard to early intervention and includes standards for nurses providing early intervention services. It provides an overview of Part H of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) and reviews the relationship between nursing and Part H of IDEA. It covers the purpose and description of standards of nursing practice, guidelines for using the standards, standards of care, standards of professional performance, and specialty practice guidelines. A glossary, references and appendices are also included. The cover shows a drawing of the globe with the legend "The Wonderful World Where Everyone Is Different" inscribed around the perimeter. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Early intervention, Federal legislation, Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, Part H, Nursing, Standards