Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This interim report focuses on the National Consensus Process (NCP) on Sexual Health and Responsible Sexual Behavior, a process on sexual health in which leaders of major constituency organizations with interest in sexual health participated. The goal of the NCP is to improve sexual health and responsible sexual behaviors in America. The report includes a letter from the former U.S. Surgeon General; an executive summary; a call to action; background; and a statement of agreement covering the following topics: vision, goal, sexuality, sexual health, individual responsibility, community responsibility, outcomes, and normative differences. Also included is a discussion of NCP areas of agreement and non-agreement and supporting documents; areas for further discussion; participant observations; commentary; and NCP's future. The report includes eight appendices: (1) best practices; (2) research recommendations; (3) HIV, AIDS, STDs, and STIs; (4) education and discussion of sexual health and responsible sexual behavior for youth by parents or caregivers; (5) sexual abstinence; (6) responsible and irresponsible social behavior; (7) sexual orientation; (8) NCP ground rules and meeting dates and locations.

Contact: Morehouse School of Medicine, Center of Excellence for Sexual Health, National Center for Primary Care , 720 Westview Drive, S.W., Suite 233, Atlanta, GA 30310, Telephone: (404) 756-5044 Secondary Telephone: (404) 756-8800 Fax: (404) 756-5709 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.msm.edu/x769.xml Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Caregivers, HIV, Individual responsibility, Parents, Sexual behavior, Sexual health, Sexual identity, Sexuality, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social responsibility

Annotation: This workbook, which is intended for young people with disabilities, presents information that readers can use to understand their disability, explain their disability to others, and decide whether and how to disclose their disability. The workbook is divided into eight units: (1) self-determination -- the big picture, (2) disclosure -- what is it and why is it so important?, (3) weighing the advantages and disadvantages of disclosure, (4) rights and responsibilities under law, (5) acommodations, (6) postsecondary disclosure, (7) disclosure on the job, and (8) disclosure in social and community settings. Each unit contains a general statement of purpose, useful terminology, a discussion section, and activities to allow the reader to understand and practice the ideas presented throughout the unit. The workbook also includes a glossary.

Contact: National Collaborative on Workforce and Disability for Youth, c/o Institute for Educational Leadership, 4455 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Stuie 310, Washington, DC 20008, Telephone: (877) 871-0744 Secondary Telephone: (877) 871-0665 Web Site: http://www.ncwd-youth.info Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Civil rights, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Disabilities, Education, Individual responsibility, Informed consent, Legal responsibility, Work force, Workplace, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This report summarizes the DC Family Policy Seminar about public and low-income housing in the District of Columbia. It discusses the importance of adequate housing, housing improvement stakeholders, resident involvement and responsibility, national and local models, limitations and challenges, and policy considerations. Appendices include a glossary of terms, an overview of the DC Housing Authority, the Renaissance Village covenant, and national and district resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: District of Columbia, Families, Housing, Individual responsibility, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Model programs, National programs, Public housing

Annotation: This report examines the relationship between housing and family well-being and self-sufficiency. Section one examines subsidized housing, including federal initiatives since the 1930s, characteristics of residents, and gaps between supply and demand. Section two looks at the specific connections between housing and self-sufficiency programs, including the logic of linking the two and an overview of programs that have been developed. Section three discusses current and future challenges for housing-based self-sufficiency programs, including major lessons that have been learned from various early and contemporary initiatives. The report also summarizes a seminar on the same topic. A two-page issue brief on this topic is also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Family support, Housing, Individual responsibility, Initiatives, Policy development, Public housing, Self care

Annotation: This book provides information adolescents who are living together need to make their lives easier; it covers day-to-day survival skills in matters such as cooking, cleaning, working, and relating to one another. It also covers topics related to planning, having, and caring for a baby. It is one of two publications developed for adolescent couples, whether married or unmarried. The other publication, "Teenage Couples: Caring, Commitment, and Change," focuses on interpersonal issues such as communication, fostering relationships, handling jealousy, and issues related to substance abuse and partner abuse. A third volume, "Teenage Couples: Expectations and Reality," presents the results of a 1994 survey on adolescent couples which considered the differences in the problems encountered by couples living singly and those living together.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-87-3, paper; 1-885356-86-5, cloth.

Keywords: Activities of daily living, Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Employment, Family income, Family relations, Individual responsibility, Materials for adolescents, Parenting, Relationships, Social behavior

Annotation: This report is a collection of state legislation relating to minors' access to and use of health care. The introduction, containing information about the legal framework that affects the health care provider's delivery of services to minors, considers questions pertaining to consent, confidentiality, and financial responsibility. The report includes the statutes of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Individual entries list the state provisions first, referencing the pertinent statutes, then provide a brief synopsis of the relevant sections of specific provisions concerning minors, their status, and types of health care. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Hospital Medical Center, Center for Continuing Education in Adolescent Health, Division of Adolescent Medicine, 3333 Burnet Avenue, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 559-4877 Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH138.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Confidentiality, Consent, Costs, Health professionals, Individual responsibility, Legal responsibility, Parental consent, Right to treatment, State legislation