Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health metrics for Indiana residents categorized by age. Topics include the oral health status of infants, children, adolescents, and adults and the proportion of each cohort that has visited the dentist or has received a preventive intervention. Data on access to fluoridated community water systems and on deaths from oral and pharyngeal cancers for all ages are also included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Home, 2 N. Meridian Street, Section 7-G, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-0746 Fax: (317) 233-7001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh/18695.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Health status, Indiana, Infants, Intervention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This mobile application provides guidance to health care professionals, public health professionals,trauma program managers and coordinators, care coordinators, injury prevention coordinators, social workers and case managers, and trauma medical directors on integrating what is known about injury prevention strategies into programs. Contents include information and data on the size and scope of specific injuries in Indiana and effective evidence-based solutions to the problem of injury.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• IOS 7.1 Or Later (2.0 MB)

Keywords: Data, Indiana, Injuries, Injury prevention, Integrated information systems, Intervention, Service integration, State initiatives, Trauma

Annotation: This toolkit provides information on how oral health professionals can develop a tobacco-cessation-intervention program and outlines key roles for each member of the oral health team. Contents include information about tobacco use and prevalence, risks of tobacco use, secondhand smoke, benefits of cessation, nicotine and the physiology of dependence, tobacco-cessation counseling, pharmacotherapy, insurance coverage and coding, the role of dentists and the dental team, barriers and solutions, and resources.

Contact: Indiana Dental Association, 1319 East Stop 10 Road, Indianapolis, IN 46227, Telephone: (317) 634-2610 Secondary Telephone: (800) 562-5646 Fax: (317) 634-2612 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indental.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Barriers, Counseling, Dental care, Drug dependence, Health insurance, Indiana, Intervention, Nicotine, Oral health, Program development, Reimbursement, Role, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website provides information about the 2013 Region V Infant Mortality Summit, held March 21-22, 2013 in Chicago, IL. Summit topics include coordinating, planning, implementing, and sharing cross state and regional efforts directed at reducing infant mortality; identifying similarities and differences across states to better understand data trends and reporting, health status of at-risk populations, contributing factors, and interventions that show promising results; identifying opportunities for leveraging resources and maximizing investments; identifying needs and provide technical assistance to state maternal and child health (MCH) and children with special health care needs (CSHCN) programs; and defining an organization framework for continued collaboration and successful program replication. The website provides links to the summit agenda, materials from sessions, summit goals and objectives, summaries and team updates, videorecordings from plenary sessions, and provides links to background and state infant and infant mortality resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Illinois, Indiana, Infant health, Infant mortality, Initiatives, Low income groups, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Prevention, Region V, Resource materials, State programs, Wisconsin

Annotation: This issue brief provides recommendations for planning, developing, implementing, and evaluating comprehensive critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) programs. The brief highlights efforts in Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, and Utah to establish collaboration between programs, particularly newborn screening and birth defects programs, to effectively implement CCHD screening and follow-up. Topics include key elements of the state approaches, data considerations, and program challenges and successes. The role of the Title V MCH Services Block Grant is discussed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Congenital abnormalities, Congenital heart defects, Indiana, Michigan, Neonatal screening, New Jersey, State programs, Title V programs, Utah

Annotation: This final report provides information about the Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children program during the period March 2007 through February 2012. The purpose of the program was to address nutrition and physical activity habits in urban pre-adolescents in a community-based setting in Indiana. The report discusses goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, and future plans a sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Communities, Community programs, Final reports, Indiana, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Programs

Annotation: This directory catalogs programs in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin that provide direct health care services, enabling services, population-based services, and infrastructure-building services related to preconception and interconception care. The aim of the document is to display the variety of initiatives that have been taken to improve the health of women of reproductive age and their families. An index of national resources including research-based articles, educational materials, funding sources, and health policy-related materials is also included.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services, Illinois, Indiana, Initiatives, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Preconception, Programs, Reproductive health, Women', and Wisconsin, s health

Annotation: The study analyzes efforts in Colorado, Indiana, Massachusetts, and Rhode Island to conduct early identification and intervention strategies for children with developmental and mental health problems. The report focuses on strategies states have used to make infant and early childhood mental health systems more comprehensive and the process of change. It highlights different approaches, such as using frequent mental health screening tools in Medicaid's Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment program to improve the health of low-income children.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Child mental health, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Colorado, EPSDT, Early intervention, Indiana, Low income groups, Massachusetts, Model programs, Rhode Island, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This document presents graphics illustrating results of a Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) analysis of 2001-2005 deaths in Marion County, Indiana. It itemizes risk factors for very low birthweight infants, causes of postneonatal death including sudden unexpected infant death, and strategic actions to improve birth outcomes. It also discusses how PPOR became a part of the fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) process and Indianapolis Healthy Start, the need for safe sleep education, and the local health systems action plan.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fetal mortality, Indiana, Infant mortality, State surveys

Annotation: This report summaries the statewide needs assessment conducted by Indiana to identify the healthcare needs of its maternal, infant, and child populations and provide a roadmap for improving health outcomes. It describes the states' health priorities and intended outcomes of its home visiting programs and lists ten Title V performance measures identified to help meet the state's health objectives over a five year period. The report describes Indiana's home visiting programs, identifies statewide gaps, and presents a plan to address these. Charts and maps compare data by County, health risk factors, program interventions, and other variables.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health care reform, Home visiting, Indiana, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State MCH programs, State surveys

Annotation: This paper discusses the oral disease burdens of dental caries and periodontal disease in Indiana, particularly among children of racial and ethnic minorities and low socioeconomic groups. Topics include a public health approach to addressing awareness and access issues in oral health care, a review of oral health epidemiology in Indiana, populations most vulnerable to untreated oral disease, critical issues and challenges in maintaining an adequate work force, and thoughts for policy makers.

Contact: Indiana University Center for Health Policy, 714 North Senate Avenue, Suite 220 EF250, Indianapolis, IN 46202, Telephone: (317) 278-5907 Fax: (317) 274-3443 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.iupui.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental caries, Indiana, Low income groups, Oral health, Periodontal disease, State surveys, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes Indiana’s progress in implementing SEAL INDIANA, a statewide mobile dental sealant innovation, with funding from the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems grant for the period 2003–2007. Program background and information on the project goals and achievements and fulfillment of performance measures are discussed. Topics include collaboration between the Indiana University School of Dentistry, dentists, and the Indiana State Department of Health; the provision of oral health services (examinations, sealants, and fluoride varnish) and dental homes for children who live in rural and urban areas; service-learning experiences for dental and dental hygiene students; and research to promote oral health and access to care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental care, Dental sealants, Final reports, Fluorides, Indiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Research, Service learning

Annotation: This fact sheet offers guidance to help expectant mothers have a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby. Based on lessons learned from a review of infant deaths throughout the state of Indiana, the fact sheet includes guidelines to help expectant and new parents (1) begin prenatal care early on; (2) avoid smoking; (3) watch weight gain during pregnancy; (4) recognize the signs of preterm labor and what to do about it; (5) pay attention to fetal movement; and (6); practice safe sleep habits to reduce the risk of sudden infant death. One side of the fact sheet is in English and the other side is in Spanish.

Contact: Indiana Perinatal Network, 1991 East 56th Street , Indianapolis, IN 46220, Telephone: (317) 924-0825 Fax: (317) 924-0831 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.indianaperinatal.org/ Available from the website.

• English/Spanish Version

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Guidelines, Indiana, Infant death, Infants, Perinatal health, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, SIDS, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This final report summarizes findings from an an independent evaluation and audit of the Indiana First Steps Early Intervention System conducted by the Early Childhood Center under contract with the state of Indiana's Division of Disability and Rehabilitative Services, Family and Social Services Administration. The report includes an analysis of data collected over several years to investigate the impact of recent policy decisions and programmatic changes in First Steps. The report describes the research methodology used in compiling the report and provides answers to questions related to impact that changes in First Steps has had on the number and types of families entering and receiving services; the types and amount of services children and families receive; the costs of providing services; the quality of services provided; and the recruitment and retention of service providers. A summary of findings presented in October 2008 is included.

Contact: Indiana Family and Social Services Administration, 402 West Washington Street, Room W461, Indianapolis, ID 46204-4454, Telephone: (317) 232-4946 Fax: (317) 233-0828 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/fssa/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early intervention programs, Indiana, Policy analysis, Program evaluation, Research, State initiatives, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This final report provides information about Indiana's Genetic Services Grant (also known as Genetics Implementation Grant) during the period September 1, 2002, through March 31, 2007. The project addressed the problem of fragmentation of data systems that link programs and services -- early intervention and health -- to children and adults with genetic conditions and special health care needs. The report discusses the project purpose; goals and objectives; methodology; accomplishments and evaluation; and products. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Data, Early intervention, Final reports, Genetic disorders, Grants, Indiana, Programs

Annotation: This document provides an evaluation of the Indiana State Maternal and Child Health Early Childhood Comprehensive System (ECCS), which began on July 1, 2003. It focuses on access and utilization of health care, sources of payment for health care, and resources, support, and development.

Contact: Indiana University Center for Health Policy, 714 North Senate Avenue, Suite 220 EF250, Indianapolis, IN 46202, Telephone: (317) 278-5907 Fax: (317) 274-3443 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.iupui.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Indiana, State MCH programs, Systems development

Annotation: This final report focuses on the Northwest Indiana Healthy Start project during the period February 1, 2002, through January 31, 2006. The project provided comprehensive prenatal care services to a population with high rates of low-birthweight infants and infant mortality. Report sections include (1) overview, (2) project implementation, (3) project management and governance, (4) project accomplishments, (5) project impact, (6) local evaluation, (7) fetal infant mortality review, (8) products, (9) project data, and (10) implementation plan. Also included are a variety of consumer-education materials, some of which are written in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Healthy Start, Indiana, Infant mortality, Low birthweight infants, Poverty, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report provides an overview of child oral health screening rates and summarizes initiatives to increase children's utilization of oral health care through the Medicaid Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) program in six states -- Alabama, Indiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Vermont, and Washington. Data are drawn from states' reports of participation rates on the uniform EPSDT reporting form (CMS Form-416) and presented in tables. The data include the percentage of children who received a well-child screen and who received oral health services in 2004 and 2005. Steps that states have taken to implement programs and initiatives designed to increase access to oral health care for children eligible for Medicaid are presented.

Contact: National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office, 1512 E. Franklin St., Suite 110, Chapel Hill, NC 27514, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alabama, Children, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Indiana, North Carolina, Oral health, Program improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, Utilization review, Vermont, Washington