Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project sought to reduce the rate of unintentional injuries and deaths among Native American adolescents in New Mexico and the Southwest. Specific goals were to: (1) Improve existing data bases on deaths and disabilities from unintentional injuries among Native American teens; (2) improve culturally relevant injury prevention materials and methodologies for these teens; (3) improve the knowledge, attitudes, and prevention practices regarding unintentional injuries among this population; (4) increase the availability of injury prevention materials and methodologies in Native American junior and senior high schools; and (5) increase the quality and quantity of injury prevention services provided to these teens by health care and tribal agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-199206.

Keywords: Southwestern United States, Adolescents, American Indians, Data Bases, Indian Health Service (IHS), Information Clearinghouses, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Mortality

Annotation: This project sought to increase coordination of service provision to chronically ill and disabled children, with a special focus on Native American children. Activities included organizing an annual conference, tracking legislation, establishing a committee which analyzed relevant portions of the state budget, and conducting a survey on the number of children receiving case management services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB91-241935.

Keywords: American Indians, Chronically Ill, Coordination of Health Care, Families, Fragmentation of Services, PL 94-142

Annotation: This project provided a model program for American Indian families and the professionals who served them. The program goals were to identify cultural, systemic, institutional, and policy barriers that inhibit Native American family participation in the "Western" health care/case management system; improve case management by facilitating effective communication between Native American families and the non-Native American health care professionals who serve them; and increase Native American family participation in health care policy development and planning forums in order to promote changes that improve services for Native American children and families. Activities included developing a videotape illustrating effective cross-cultural communication strategies for non-Indian health care providers and training an Indian parent advocate to help families seen at IHS special pediatric clinics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158251.

Keywords: American Indians, Case Management, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Care, Coordination of Health Care, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, Family-Based Health Care, Indian Health Service (IHS), Low income groups, Parents, Rural Population

Annotation: This report presents key perspectives, lessons learned, and policy recommendations for state- and federal-level initiatives that center around the work of doulas and midwives in addressing the nation’s maternal health crisis.The report discusses racial disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality and describes how birth workers can help reduce health risks, particularly among black and indigenous individuals giving birth. Information and perspectives shared by doulas and midwives interviewed for the report fall into three major categories: 1) the role and importance of community-based birth workers and the re-centering of the community in pregnancy-related care; 2) guidelines for health care system integration and the role of government; and 3) the creation of a progressive vision for pregnancy-related care in the United States.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives , American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Childbirth, Community health services, Doulas, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Racial factors, Racism, Risk factors, Social support

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health care, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health metrics for Indiana residents categorized by age. Topics include the oral health status of infants, children, adolescents, and adults and the proportion of each cohort that has visited the dentist or has received a preventive intervention. Data on access to fluoridated community water systems and on deaths from oral and pharyngeal cancers for all ages are also included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Home, 2 N. Meridian Street, Section 7-G, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-0746 Fax: (317) 233-7001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh/18695.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Health status, Indiana, Infants, Intervention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief describes programs and initiatives working to improve the health status of underserved populations in North Dakota. The brief provides the program’s or initiative's name, managing agency, mission, population served, and dates of operation. The brief also discusses state, professional, and work force supports needed to increase access to oral health care and use of oral health services and improve oral health literacy.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Financing, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Low income groups, North Dakota, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Rural population, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health disparities among students in third grade, middle school, and high school in North Dakota. Charts present data on tooth decay rates by race and National School Lunch Program status, dental visits in the past 12 months by race, and number of cavities by race. Recommendations for preventing tooth decay and improving oral health among children and adolescents from minority groups and among those from families with low incomes are included.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Low income groups, Minority groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Oral health care, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Students

Annotation: This report summarizes agency efforts to provide health care services for Native youth and their lessons learned. Topics include health issues Native youth commonly face, ways youth use health services, youth-friendly services and ways to provide them, and integrating Native culture and traditional practices with medical practice. The report concludes with a discussion of areas and issues that need to be addressed in order to increase the number of youth accessing services, as well as suggestions for other agencies and clinics trying to establish health services for Native youth.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Service integration, Youth

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses disparities between Native Americans, Alaska Natives, and whites in access to health insurance coverage and health care in the United States and summarizes the issues and challenges. Statistical data on population demographics, health insurance coverage and care, the role of the Indian Health Service, the role of Medicaid in these populations, discussion of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act coverage expansions, and looking ahead to opportunities for increased coverage, continuing gaps in coverage, as well as care inequities and poor health outcomes.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Health insurance, Indian Health Service, Low income groups, Minority groups, Minority health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened in November 2012 to discuss the sizable health inequities affecting Native American, Alaska Native, First Nation, and Pacific Islander populations and the potential role of culture in helping to reduce those inequities. This report summarizes the presentations and discussion of the workshop and includes case studies that examine programs aimed at diabetes prevention and management and cancer prevention and treatment programs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $36, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website, after registration. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29256-6.

• Link

Keywords: Minority health, Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cancer, Cultural factors, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health status disparities, Pacific Islanders, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report provides information about tribal health, including background about different tribes and health- and government-related issues, treaties and laws, and working successfully with tribes and tribal organizations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Culturally competent services, Legislation, Minority groups, Minority health, Public health

Annotation: This information memorandum for state, tribal, and territorial agencies administering or supervising the administration of Titles IV-B and IV-E of the Social Security Act, Indian Tribes and Indian Tribal Organizations, seeks to promote social and emotional well-bring for children and adolescents who have experienced maltreatment and are receiving child welfare services. The memorandum includes an overview of the issue and a discussion of the Administration on Children, Youth and Families' well-being framework, emerging evidence on the impact of maltreatment, requirements and policy opportunities, current state and county investments, screening and functional assessment, effective interventions, and maximizing resources to achieve better results.

Contact: U.S. Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/acyf Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent mental health, American Indians, Child development, Child maltreatment, Child mental health, Child welfare, Child welfare agencies, Intervention, Legislation, Public policy, Screening, Social service agencies, State agencies

Annotation: This directory catalogs programs in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin that provide direct health care services, enabling services, population-based services, and infrastructure-building services related to preconception and interconception care. The aim of the document is to display the variety of initiatives that have been taken to improve the health of women of reproductive age and their families. An index of national resources including research-based articles, educational materials, funding sources, and health policy-related materials is also included.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health, Maternal and Child Health Program, 1603 West Taylor Street (M-C923), Chicago, IL 60612-7259, Telephone: (312) 996-0724 Fax: (312) 996-3551 Web Site: http://www.uic.edu/sph/mch Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services, Illinois, Indiana, Initiatives, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Preconception, Programs, Reproductive health, Women', and Wisconsin, s health

Annotation: This report documents Family Voices' conversations with parents of children and youth with special health care needs and/or disabilities from diverse cultural groups (Hispanic, African American, and Native American). The report describes parents' concerns about and perceived barriers to (1) being partners in decision-making about supports and services and (2) being advisors to committees and councils. The report also shares parents' recommendations for how to improve their capacity to be effective decision-makers for their own children, and provides parents' suggestions for improving organizational recruitment and support for participation on advisory committees and for other leadership roles. The report discusses engaging Hispanic parents, African-American parents, and Native American parents and presents common themes across groups for recruiting and supporting parents new to advisory roles.

Contact: Family Voices of Wisconsin, P.O. Box 55029, Madison, WI 53705, Telephone: (608) 220-9598 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.FVofWI.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent with special health care needs, Advisory committees, American Indians, Blacks, Children with special health care needs, Cultural factors, Health services, Hispanic Americans, Leadership, Minority groups, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parents, Recruitment

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop held on June 11, 2010, in Bismarck, North Dakota, to discuss oral health issues and policy. Topics included priorities in committing funds to train dentists to treat clients with special health care needs, serving state and tribal entities, creating an awareness program on oral health and general health for legislators and the public, expanding tobacco-education efforts, expanding the role of dental hygienists and assistants, and expanding loan-repayment programs for dental students. Sample worksheets provided to attendees are included.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, North Daketa Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Conferences, North Dakota, Oral health, Special health care services, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This workbook packet serves as a comprehensive SIDS risk-reduction and safe-sleep guide for health professionals, social workers, community organizers, and others working in Native communities. The packet outlines the facts about sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), explains how to reduce the risk, provides strategies for reaching Native communities, and presents action steps for sustaining a Healthy Native Babies project. Included are revised handouts and other materials based on feedback provided during training sessions held in 2006-2008 by the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD). The toolkit disk and toolkit user guide allow individuals to design culturally appropriate and regionally specific materials, such as posters, flyers, postcards and brochures. In addition, there are phrases translated into Native languages as well as photographs of Native families taken across the country to assist communities in delivering customized outreach materials.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Workbook And Handout

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Community based services, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Health status disparities, High risk infants, Prevention programs, SIDS

Annotation: This report summarizes Indiana’s progress in implementing SEAL INDIANA, a statewide mobile dental sealant innovation, with funding from the State Oral Health Collaborative Systems grant for the period 2003–2007. Program background and information on the project goals and achievements and fulfillment of performance measures are discussed. Topics include collaboration between the Indiana University School of Dentistry, dentists, and the Indiana State Department of Health; the provision of oral health services (examinations, sealants, and fluoride varnish) and dental homes for children who live in rural and urban areas; service-learning experiences for dental and dental hygiene students; and research to promote oral health and access to care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Dental sealants, Final reports, Fluorides, Indiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Oral health care, Public private partnerships, Research, Service learning

Annotation: This report examines the availability of primary care services and ancillary and specialty services for Native Americans. The report also examines the underlying factors associated with variations in the availability of services and strategies used by facilities to increase availability. The report, which includes highlights and results in brief, is divided into the following five sections: (1) the availability of primary care depended nonnative Americans' ability to access service at Indian Health Services-funded facilities; (2) certain ancillary and specialty services were generally offered, but gasping other services were common; (3) factors associated with variations in service availability included facility structure, location, and funding; (4) facilities used variety of strategies to increase the availability of services; and (5) the report concludes with agency comments and the Government Accountability Office's evaluation. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Ancillary services, Primary care, Program evaluation

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Start project from 2001 to 2005 to reduce the disparities in infant morbidity and mortality among the Minneapolis and St. Paul African American and American Indian communities. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; and descriptions of project implementation, management and governance, project accomplishments, and project impact. Additional contents include the local evaluation and project data (on diskettes). Attachments include the project implementation plan in chart format, sample project brochures, a pregnancy journal for pregnant women and tip sheets for health professionals to use with the journal, articles published about the program and an orientation manual for project staff. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant morbidity, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, MCH services, Minnesota, Prevention programs, Racial factors