Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Hedden H. 2016. The accidental taxonomist (2nd ed.). Medford, NY: Information Today, 464 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses the art and science of building information taxonomies. It discusses what taxonomies are, who creates and manages them, creating terms and relationships, software for taxonomy creation and management, taxonomies for human and automated indexing, taxonomy structures and displays, taxonomy planning and implementation, and taxonomy work and the profession. A survey of taxonomists, a glossary, recommended reading, and a list of websites are included.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com Document Number: ISBN 9781573875288.

Keywords: Indexes, Knowledge management, Thesauri

Garrard J. 2014. Health sciences literature review made easy: The matrix method. (4th ed.). Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers, 217 pp.

Annotation: This book provides a way to review and organize research literature. It is intended for people with a variety of backgrounds in the health sciences. The book is organized into three parts. The first section covers fundamentals of literature review and includes an introductory chapter and a chapter on basic concepts. The second section covers the matrix method and has chapters on searching the literature, reviewing documents, abstracting literature, and using a review matrix to write a synthesis. The third section deals with applications using the matrix method and has chapters on a library of literature review books, the matrix indexing system, and matrix applications by health science professionals. The appendix lists useful resources for literature reviews.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1223-4.

Keywords: Health sciences, Indexes, Literature reviews, Research skills

Lambe P. 2007. Organising knowledge: Taxonomies, knowledge and organisational effectiveness. Oxford, England:Chandos Publishing, 277 pp.

Annotation: This guide discusses the art and science of building information taxonomies. It discusses term definition, forms taxonomies can take, use of taxonomy for organizational effectiveness, knowledge management, what taxonomies should do, designing and implementing taxonomies, and the future of taxonomy work.

Keywords: Indexes, Knowledge management, Thesauri

Duke University, Child Well-being Index Project. 2004. The Foundation for Child Development index of child well-being (CWI) 1975-2002, with projections for 2003: A composite index of trends in the well-being of our nation's children. Durham, NC: Duke University, Child Well-being Index Project, 21 pp. (Related to 29680, 32111)

Annotation: This report is a composite index of statistical measures of trends over time in the quality of life and well-being of America's children and young people. It is comprised of seven interrelated summary domains of social indication of well-being including (1) material well-being, (2) health, (3) safety and behavioral factors, (4) productive activity, (5) a sense of place in the community, (6) social relationships, and (7) emotional and spiritual well-being. Appendix A briefly describes the methods of index construction and has a table outlining the seven domains and 28 key indicators that comprise them. Appendix B lists the sources used for time series data on the key indicators. Extensive statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report.

Contact: Brookings Institution, 1775 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 797-6000 Fax: (202) 797-6004 E-mail: communications@brookings.edu Web Site: http://www.brookings.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child health, Children, Economic factors, Indexes, Social factors, Statistical data, Trends

Wellisch HH. 2000. Glossary of terminology in abstracting, classification, indexing, and thesaurus construction. (2nd ed.). Medford, NJ: Information Today, 70 pp.

Weinberg BH. 1999. Can you recommend a good book on indexing?: Collected reviews on the organization of information. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 161 pp.

Annotation: This book is a collection of reviews on book indexing, classification, information retrieval, database indexing, abstracting, thesauri, and automatic indexing. Intended for indexers, educators in the library and information science field, researchers, and librarians, the book contains the reviews of publications about these topics and comments by the author about the reviews.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com $22.00. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-041-2.

Keywords: Indexes, Information, Libraries

Anderson JD. 1997. Guidelines for indexes and related information retrieval devices. (Rev. ed.). Bethesda, MD: NISO Press, 53 pp. (NISO technical report; 2)

Annotation: These guidelines provide technical professionals with information about design and construction of indexes and related retrieval devices. The report consists of nine sections: scope of the report; definitions; function of an index; types of index; design of indexes; vocabulary; headings, entries, and search statements; display of index arrays; and alphanumeric arrangement. Other parts of the report include a reference list, a bibliography, and a glossary.

Contact: NISO Press Fulfillment, One North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 20201, Telephone: 301-654-2512 Secondary Telephone: 866-957-1593 Fax: 410-685-5278 E-mail: nisohq@niso.org Web Site: http://www.niso.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-880124-36-X; ISSN: 1081-8006; NISO-TR02-1997.

Keywords: Guidelines, Indexes, Information systems, Standards

Wellisch H. 1996. Indexing from A to Z. (2nd ed., rev. and enlarged). New York, NY: H. W. Wilson, 600 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides detailed instructions for the construction of indexes; it includes information of use to novice as well as practiced indexers. It includes information on how to create back-of-the-book indexes and on the creation of indexes for periodicals and nonprint materials.

Keywords: Indexes, Manuals

Kotelchuck M. 1994. Adequacy of prenatal care utilization index. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 3 items (8 pp., 3 pp., and 10 pp. booklets).

Annotation: This document provides technical information about software designed to manage data for a prenatal care program. The program is written in eight major parts: variable definitions; data input; acceptable data values; missing gestational age imputation; initiation of prenatal care index; received prenatal care services index; two factor summary index; and other statistical calculations. Also included as part of this paper is a narrative overview of the program and technical details and rationale. Seven tables support the analysis.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Databases, Indexes, Prenatal care, Software, Statistical analysis

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1964. Children's Bureau publications: An index to publications by number, title, author, and subject—1912 - May 1964. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document lists publications of the Children's Bureau by number in the following categories: publications, folders, headliner series, statistical series, child welfare reports, juvenile delinquency facts and facets, work with children coming before the courts series, research relating to children bulletins, and research relating to special groups of children bulletins. A list of abbreviations and an alphabetical subject index are provided.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Children's Bureau, Federal agencies, History, Indexes, MCH programs, Maternal health

Bowker J, Star SL, eds. How classifications work: Problems and challenges in an electronic age. Library Trends. 47(2):185-340. Fall 1998,

Annotation: This special issue of "Library Trends" focuses on how the globalization of the information user community impacts on the development and use of information classification systems and their vocabulary. This is a technical work for library and information professionals. Topics covered include: controlled vocabulary; intellectual access; grounded theory versus faceted classification; marginalized knowledge domains; politics in classification systems; cooperation in the electronic library; and agency and structure in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).

Contact: University of Illinois Press, 1325 South Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: (217) 333-0950 Fax: (217) 244-8082 E-mail: uipress@uillinois.edu Web Site: http://www.press.uillinois.edu/ $18.50 including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Cataloging, Classification, Databases, Indexes, Information, Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Language, Library services, Online databases, Professional education

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.