Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Annotation: The purpose of this needs assessment is to improve access to oral health care in New York state by identifying areas with the highest oral health needs and providing information on addressing barriers to access, particularly for populations that are underserved and vulnerable. The needs assessment presents information from a study conducted to assess oral health indicators and socioeconomic indicators by area in the state. It presents study findings and discusses study limitations.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, New York, Oral health, Research, Socieconomic factors, State information

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Annotation: This snapshot provides information on how states can increase access to oral health care by supporting, strengthening, and expanding their oral health workforce. The snapshot presents five things to know about access to oral health care and the oral health workforce. It also presents opportunities for states to consider to strengthen their oral health workforce.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Low income groups, Oral health, Racial and ethnic factors, State information, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief explains how the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) can promote economic stability and improve maternal health outcomes, particularly among low-income Black, indigenous, and birthing people of color. Included are action steps the maternal health workforce can take to promote awareness and support EITC uptake

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Government financing, Health promotion, Income factors, Maternal health, Social determinants of health, Tax credits

Annotation: This report provides information from a study that examined Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System health claims data to determine patterns of use of well-child medical visits and dental services in Arizona children enrolled in Medicaid from April 2016 to March 2020. The report introduces the issue and discusses methods. Results are presented on the following topics: demographic data of the study sample, days since the last dental or well child visit benefit was used, distance traveled to health care visit, procedure groupings by age group, access points to dental care by race, and a care-utilization model with presence of 1+ claims as the outcome variable.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Age factors, Arizona, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Racial factors, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2022 version reports on more than 440 measures of quality and examines data in three sections: Portrait of American Healthcare; Special Emphasis Topics (maternal health, child and adolescent mental health, substance use disorders, oral health); Quality and Disparities Tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child health, Child mental health, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Maternal health, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This tool was designed to help stakeholders analyze policies and focus oral-health-agenda setting on the principles of equity and community engagement. The tool includes (1) questions, discussion prompts, and resources to inform policy-agenda setting; (2) questions focused on how populations and marginalized groups will be affected by a policy, how inequities might be addressed, and how advocacy efforts can follow the lead of impacted populations and groups; (3) links to additional policy analysis tools; and (4) a follow-up survey.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Advocacy, Ethnic factors, Low income groups, Oral health, Public policy, Racial factors

Annotation: This paper affirms the National WIC Association’s support of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children’s (WIC’s) commitment to promote oral health to program participants. Topics include oral health in young children, oral health in women, and racial and ethnic disparities in oral health. For each topic, ways that WIC staff can help are presented. Promoting oral health in the WIC program is also discussed.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Federal programs, Health promotion, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Racial factors, Women', Young children, s health

Annotation: This document provides background on the annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (NHQDR) and modifications that have occurred over time. This Introduction and Methods document also includes an overview of the methods used to generate estimates, measure trends, and examine disparities. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2021 report is organized in sections that provide an overview of the healthcare system and summarize access, quality, and disparity measures. In addition, the Quality and Disparity sections are divided into domain-specific chapters that highlight key healthcare trends or gaps in care. Appendixes include a list of data sources, definitions and abbreviations, and measures used in summary maps. The full report tracks over 200 healthcare process, outcome, and access measures, covering a wide variety of conditions and settings. Most of the analyses presented in the full report include data from 2000-2002 to 2013-2019.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This infographic provides information about benefits of and barriers to receiving preventive dental visits for children and adolescents. It emphasizes the importance of these visits to reduce oral health problems and promote overall health throughout life. It discusses integration of oral health care into primary care, the cost savings that early intervention can confer, and disparities in oral health status and in access to oral health services. The infographic is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Early intervention, Income factors, Low income groups, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Racial factors, Service integration, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report examines factors that promote or hinder children's healthy development, drawing on recent studies to illustrate the importance of parent resiliency in the development of social-emotional competence among children from families with low incomes. The report concludes with program and policy recommendations that have proven effective in promoting the development of protective factors, reducing vulnerabilities, and cultivating resiliency among parents with low incomes and, consequently, their children.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Competence, Coping, Emotional development, Low income groups, Mental health, Parenting skills, Parents, Policy development, Program development, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Resilience, Vulnerability

Annotation: This infographic provides information about oral health disparities among children in Appalachia Ohio. Topics include percentage of children with untreated cavities, percentage of children with a history of tooth decay, sugar-sweetened beverage consumption, oral health status by county, and untreated cavities among children in Appalachia compared with children in rural, urban, and suburban counties.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Appalachia, Dental caries, Economic factors, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Poverty

Annotation: These resources for policymakers, health professionals, and health advocates provide information about and strategies for preventing dental caries in young children. Contents include talking points, fact sheets, an issue brief, infographics, and videos. Topics include risk-based care, oral health during pregnancy, and what states can do to prevent dental caries in early childhood. Findings on adults’ knowledge of oral health and prevention, strategies for reducing caries in a Medicaid population, and tips for encouraging local media to cover early childhood caries are also included.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Disease prevention, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Safety, Young children

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to expand existing research about Social Security's indirect role in lifting children out of poverty by examining the effect on those living in extended households. It documents how the multi-generational impact of Social Security has grown and how it has provided an important and increasing income source across different racial and ethnic groups. Policy implications are included.

Contact: Center for Global Policy Solutions, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 975, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 265-5111 Fax: (202) 265-5118 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://globalpolicysolutions.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Ethnic factors, Family income, Federal programs, Intergenerational programs, Policy development. , Poverty, Racial factors, Social Security, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about students' oral hygiene practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages. It discusses third-grade students' access to toothbrushes, toothbrushing and flossing practices, and consumption of sugar-containing beverages, as well as whether they have visited a dentist; middle school students’ toothbrushing practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages; and high school students’ consumption of soda.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Dental caries, Health behavior, Low income groups, Minority groups, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevalence, Rural population, Social factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Sugar

Annotation: This brief examines oral health services provided to residents by federally funded community health centers (CHCs) and their satellite sites in North Dakota. Contents include information and data on state and CHC population demographics such as income status, health insurance status, and race/ethnicity; sources of CHC revenue; and CHC dental vs. medical costs per visit and per patient.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health centers, Costs, Dental care, Geographic factors, Health care delivery, Low income groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Rural population, State programs, Uninsured persons, Work force