Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This web page describes the Vaccines for Children Program (VFC )-- a federally funded program offered through the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that provides vaccines free of charge to children who otherwise may not have been able to afford the vaccines. Eligibility, the types of vaccines covers, and vaccination locations are among the topics covers.

Contact: National Center for Health Research , 1001 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 1100 , Washington, DC 20036,

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Immunization program

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and tools to assist school-based healthcare programs in providing all children access to preventive health care and required/recommended vaccinations. Emphasizing the importance of health equity in schools, the toolkit describes the ways in which school/district administrators, superintendents, community healthcare providers, and school-based healthcare staff can participate as partners in improving. Case studies of successful partnerships are included.

Contact: School-Based Health Alliance, 1010 Vermont Avenue, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 638-5872 Secondary Telephone: (888) 286-8727 Fax: (202) 638-5879 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.sbh4all.org

• Link

Keywords: Partnerships, Child health, Community participation, Immunization, Prevention, School age children, School based programs, Vaccination, Vaccines

Annotation: This policy brief evaluates the receipt of vaccines routinely recommended during pregnancy in rural and urban areas of the United States. Specifically, it analyzes the receipt of influenza and pertussis vaccines among pregnant women over a seven-year period from 2012-2018. Findings show that pregnant women in rural areas were significantly less likely than pregnant women in urban areas to receive a recommendation for influenza vaccination from their health care provider and were less likely to receive an influenza vaccine during pregnancy. Overall, the percentage of women who received a pertussis vaccine in rural areas during pregnancy was similar to the percentage of pregnant women who received one in urban areas. The policy brief also presents the implications for these findings.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Immunization programs, Immunizations, Influenza, Pregnant women, Rural health, Rural populations, Urban health, Urban populations, Vaccines

Annotation: In this recording from April 2021, AMCHP's Global Health Workgroup provides information on the growth of vaccine hesitancy as it pertains to the COVID-19 pandemic and introduces guest presenters from global and domestic organizations that address vaccine hesitancy in their practice. Guest presenters provide context and examples from their COVID-19 responses and explain their strategies in combating vaccine hesitancy in their communities. Special guests include Anne Zink, MD, FACEP, Chief Medical Officer for the State of Alaska; Cecelia Thomas, JD, Senior Government Relations Manager, Trust for America's Health; Bruce Gellin, MD, MPH, President, Global Immunization, Sabin Vaccine Institute. Length: 1 hour, 17 minutes.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Global health, Covid-19, Alaska, Vaccines, Immunization programs

Annotation: This webinar describes the Text4baby program, the text messaging service for pregnant and new parents begun in 2010, primarily aimed to low-income, underserved populations. The service is subscribed to with the due-date or birth-date, and evidence-based developmental and time-appropriate advice is sent at varying intervals until the infant is age one. The service is available in English or Spanish. Messages include topics such as prenatal care tips, health and safety advisory information, father involvement, flu vaccination, oral health for mother and baby, Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program information, appointment reminder services, breastfeeding, safe sleep for infants, and more. Tje webinar provides dditional information on studies on user satisfaction, audiences reached, and changes in knowledge and behavior of pregnant women and new parents.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Communication, Immunization, Infant care, Low income groups, MCH programs, National programs, Parents, Postnatal care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Well child care

Annotation: This illustrated publication for parents discusses the importance of vaccinating children against preventable diseases, how the vaccines work, and their safety. It outlines thirteen diseases, why vaccinations are provided, and what side effects and precautions should be considered. The appendix offers information on the childhood immunization schedule, a diseases summary, questions and answers, what to do if there is a reaction, other vaccines, immunization trivia, a glossary, sources for more information, and an index.

Contact: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncird Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Federal initiatives, Immunizations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Vaccine effects, Vaccines

Annotation: This compendium on immunization summarizes the goals, outcomes, and future plans of the American Academy of Pediatric's (AAP's) Healthy People 2010 Grant Program for Chapters. Contents include information on the program's selection criteria, topical summaries by state, and related AAP initiatives and resources.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community based services, Grants, Healthy People 2010, Immunization programs, Pediatric care, Prevention programs, Professional societies

Annotation: This report describes the activities of New Mexico benefitting the children and youth of the state. It includes socioeconomic data on children and youth and their families; a brief review of budget allocations for state programs and services; health statistics, such as adolescent pregnancy rates and immunizations; state education data; and safety, including injury and suicide prevention. Additional budget and tax details are provided.

Contact: New Mexico Early Childhood Action Network, NM E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.earlychildhoodnm.com Available from the website.

• 2011 Report
• 2010 Report

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Budgets, Child health, Children, Immunization, New Mexico, Safety, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report highlights the 62 Healthy People 2020 objectives that the Department of Health and Human Service's Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion determined most directly address reproductive health. The objectives are divided into eight topic areas: access to health services; adolescent health; education and community-based programs; family planning; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; maternal, infant, and child health; and sexually transmitted diseases.

Contact: U.S. Office of Population Affairs, , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (204) 453-2800 Fax: (204) 453-2801 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Disease prevention, Education, Family planning, HIV, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Immunization, Infant health, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Women', s health

Contact: World Health Organization, Global Programme for Vaccines and Immunization, Avenue Appia 20, Geneva, Switzerland 27, Telephone: 41 22 791 4227 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/vaccines/

• PDF
• All Language Editions

Keywords: Immunization, International health, International programs, Program development, Vaccination effects

Annotation: This briefing, which is intended for public health officials, school administrators, and health professionals, presents the results of an assessment of the current climate for adolescent immunization in the United States, to recommend broad strategies for immunizing adolescents from families with low incomes and to identify promising practices consistent with the proposed strategic framework. The brief includes the study approach, findings, recommendations, and a summary and next steps.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Immunization, Immunization programs, Low income groups, Prevention

Annotation: This report identifies policies and practices that can advance the health of children by reducing health disparities. Beginning with an overview of these disparities and selected determinants of health outcomes, the report then documents disparities in outcomes across several major conditions affecting children and provides an analysis of several indicators related to children's health. The report also explores community strategies to reduce health disparities in several children's conditions (infant mortality and prenatal care, immunization, lead poisoning, dental care, asthma, and obesity) to begin to identify a framework for promising practices that can be used across communities. A community program is identified in each section, and additional programs are described in the appendix. A list of selected readings is included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Children, Community action, Community programs, Immunization, Infant, Infant mortality, Lead poisoning, Obesity, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Annotation: This report describes a Healthy Start program to reduce infant mortality and eliminate disparities in the health status experienced by Hispanic women and children while continuing to improve the health of all women and children in Doña Ana County, New Mexico from 2000 to 2004. Project activities address the need to redesign the perinatal system of care to combat poor immunization rates for children, and poor early and adequate prenatal care for Hispanic women. Report sections provide an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project, project implementation; project management and governance; accomplishments; the impact of the project on local systems of care, the community, the state, the role of local government, and lessons learned. Appendices include a chart of objectives, strategies and activities, and accomplishments; a copy of the local evaluation report; and forms providing data on the project budget, individuals served, performance measures, characteristics of program participants, risk reduction and prevention services, and the major service table. Also provided are ample materials produced during the project including a hat and bib, two 2-sided posters in English and Spanish, a button, a brochure, a magnet frame, and a calendar. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Immunizations, Infant mortality, MCH services, New Mexico, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials, State initiatives, Women’s health

Annotation: This impact final report describes a Healthy Start program to provide services for participants identified as "high-risk" for poor perinatal (maternal and child) outcomes in Des Moines, Iowa. The impact report covers the period June 2001 through May 2005. Report contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project, the implementation of the project, management and governance, and project accomplishments. Also reported are impacts on local systems of care, the community, the state, and the role of local government. Additional sections provide information on fetal and infant mortality review, samples of products developed during the project, and project data provided in table format. Appendices include the project area map, a best practices manual that describes policies and procedures, bylaws on the consortium and steering and sustainability committee, and project data. Additional attachments include project accomplishments, goals, objectives and strategies; a copy of the local evaluation report; a progress report for case managers on depression counseling; and more sample products. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community programs, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Iowa, Local MCH programs, Low birthweight infants, Low income groups, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, including background, overview, and how to file a claim. It also provides a table of vaccines, adverse events associated with them, and time periods during which the injury may develop.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the website (2002 English only).

• 2002 (English)

Keywords: Adverse effects, Federal programs, Immunization, Legal processes, Patient rights, Vaccination effects

Annotation: This volume (the third in a three-volume set) presents overviews from research on five new Healthy People 2010 focus areas and accompanying models for practice, as well as detailed literature reviews for these topics. The topics covered include immunizations and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; access to quality health services -- access to long-term care; education and community-based programs; and public health infrastructure.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Education, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Injury, Literature reviews, Long term care, Public health, Rural health, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report focuses on the need to ensure that all preschool-age children have access to the full series of immunizations in a timely manner. The report discusses the importance of childhood immunization, immunization rates, and factors contributing to the fact that 20 percent of preschool-age children in the United States are not receiving needed immunizations. Recommendations are also included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes three case studies. The report concludes with a list of endnotes.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Disease prevention, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Immunization, Preschool children, Racial factors

Annotation: This study offers an in-depth examination of state insurance immunization coverage mandates. The study's overall purpose is to provide the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with information on the extent and nature of insurance immunization coverage under U.S. law. The study includes the following sections: (1) excessive summary, (2) introduction, (3) background and study methods, (4) findings, (5) synthesis of findings: illustrative maps, and (6) discussion. Statistics are presented in tables throughout the study. The study concludes with two appendices containing statutory language and a list of cited statutes.

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Immunization, Legislation, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This paper reports on a study that tested whether the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) was associated with differential changes among poor and near-poor children relative to their non-poor counterparts in either age-appropriate immunization rates or in the proportion of vaccines delivered by private providers. The paper includes background on vaccination policy and participation, a description of the empirical implementation, a results section, and a conclusion. The paper concludes with a reference list. Statistics are presented in tables and figures grouped together at the end of the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Economic factors, Immunization, Poverty, State children', s health insurance programs

Annotation: This report describes goals and activities in the Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start program to provides services to rural Whitley County, Kentucky. Goals include: appropriate immunizations given to all children under 2 years of age; increase use of prenatal care by women in their first trimester; and reduce the rates of low birthweight, very low birthweight, and small for gestational age babies to participating women. Report sections include service initiation, service accomplishments, mentoring, consortium and collaboration, program impact, and other Healthy Start components. Attachments include demographic and statistical data forms, major service tables, and a copy of the local evaluation report. Statistical data are presented in tables throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Voices of Appalachia Healthy Start Project, Whitley County Health Department, 114 North Second Street, P.O. Box 147, Williamsburg, KY 40769, Telephone: (606) 549-3380 Fax: (606) 549-8940

Keywords: Child health, Final reports, Healthy Start, Immunization, Infant mortality, Kentucky, Local initiatives, Low birthweight infants, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Statistical data