Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This section of the 2021-2026 Idaho Oral Health Improvement Plan comprises reports from partner organizations and individual oral health champions who have undertaken activities that align with the plan and are working to improve, support, or otherwise positively impact oral health for Idahoans. For each partner organization or individual, information on the geographic area served, the target population, and the oral-disease-prevention activities, activities to improve access to oral health care, and policy-related activities is provided.

Contact: Idaho Oral Health Alliance, P.O. Box 2309, Boise, ID 83701, Telephone: (208) 994-9058 Web Site: http://www.idahooralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Idaho, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, State programs

Annotation: This white paper discusses access to oral health care in Idaho, explains what teledentistry is and its benefits, summarizes how it has been used in Idaho through the Project to Address Oral Health Access and Workforce, and describes conditions needed for successful adoption of teledentistry. Also discussed are consequences of poor access to oral health care and advancing teledentistry in the state.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care access, Idaho, Oral health, State information, Teledentistry

Annotation: This report outlines Idaho’s oral health needs in the areas of prevention, access, and policy and infrastructure and provides strategies for improvement in these areas. It also highlights opportunities to address health disparities and health equity, reduce the social and economic costs of oral disease, and guide efforts to bring appropriate and equitable care to individuals in Idaho.

Contact: Idaho Oral Health Alliance, P.O. Box 2309, Boise, ID 83701, Telephone: (208) 994-9058 Web Site: http://www.idahooralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Health equity, Idaho, Oral health, Prevention, State materials

Annotation: This assessment of Idaho's oral health workforce is divided into three sections. Section 1 discusses Idaho's current oral health workforce and includes information on characteristics of Idaho, access to oral health care, supply and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists, and education and training. Section 2 discusses Idaho's ability to provide oral health care to populations that are underserved and includes information about those populations, health professional shortage areas, access to oral health care by geographic location, Idaho's Medicaid workforce, and community outreach and initiatives. Section III discusses the future of Idaho's workforce and provides information about workforce projections, opportunities for workforce advancement, and workforce planning.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Community outreach, Geographic factors, Health education, Idaho, Medicaid, Oral health, State information, State initiatives, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report presents information from the Idaho 2017 Smile Survey, which examined 3,687 students at 68 randomly selected schools in the state to determine prevalence of untreated tooth decay, treated tooth decay, and missing permanent teeth due to tooth decay; presence of dental sealants; and need for restorative dental care. The report introduces the issues and presents a map of Idaho public school districts and key findings. Topics include active tooth decay, tooth decay experience, restorative dental service needs, and dental service history. For each topic, information is provided in text, tables, and figures. Sample design, data collection, and data limitations are also discussed.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Oral Health Program, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Web Site: https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/health-wellness/healthy-infants-children/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Idaho, Oral health, School age children, State information, Surveys

Annotation: This report is a cumulative analysis of seven traumatic brain injury (TBI) needs and resource assessments conducted between 2001 and 2011 in Idaho. Contents include the study methodology and survey results for individuals with TBI, family members, and service agencies. Topics include changes in reported needs across time, changes in services and supports across time, and the quality of the match between reported needs and available support. Implications for the role of telehealth are also discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Idaho Traumatic Brain Injury Virtual Program Center, Idaho State University, Institute of Rural Health, Meridian Health Sciences, 1311 East Central Drive, Meridian, ID 83642, Telephone: (208) 373-1773 Fax: (208) 373-1777 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.caregiver.org/idaho-traumatic-brain-injury-virtual-program-center Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Brain injuries, Family support services, Idaho, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, Telemedicine, Trauma, Trends

Annotation: This series of reports describe federal funding for chronic disease prevention programs in six states (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Washington) and the potential impact on the individuals served by these programs if federal funds are reduced or eliminated. The report addresses programs and impacts in the following areas: breast, cervical, and colon cancer; diabetes; domestic violence and sexual assault; heart disease and stroke; oral health; and tobacco.

Contact: Coalition of National Health Education Organizations, Normal, IL 61790-5220, Telephone: (309) 438-2324 Fax: (309) 438-2450 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnheo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Alaska, Block grants, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, Program budgeting, Public health services, South Carolina, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This supplemental information request provides guidance for preparing an updated state plan for a state home visiting program in Idaho, including identification of the at-risk community or communities where home visiting services are to be provided, a detailed assessment of the particular needs of that community or communities in terms of risk factors, community strengths, and existing services; identification of home visiting services proposed to be implemented to meet identified needs; a description of the state and local infrastructure available to support the program; specification of any additional infrastructure support necessary to achieve program success; and a plan for collecting benchmark data, conducting continuous quality improvement, and performing any required research or evaluation.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Secondary Telephone: (208) 334-5500 Web Site: http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communities, High risk groups, Home visiting, Idaho, Low income groups, Program evaluation, Research, Risk factors, Services, State MCH programs

Annotation: This final report describes a Healthy Tomorrows project in Idaho from March 2006 through February 2011. The project focused on reaching and enrolling low-income, uninsured youth, ages 13 to 19 years, into Idaho's children's health insurance programs. The report contains the project's abstract and a summary of activities; descriptions of the project's purpose, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, and results and outcomes. Additional information is provided on publications and products delivered during the project, and the dissemination and utilization of results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal MCH programs, Final reports, Health insurance, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Idaho, Low income groups, State programs, Uninsured persons

Annotation: This 2010 five-year maternal and child health (MCH) needs assessment for Idaho discusses (1) the process for conducting the needs assessment, (2) partnership building and collaborative efforts, (3) strengths and needs of the MCH population groups and desired outcomes, (4) MCH program capacity by pyramid levels, (5) selection of state priority needs, and (6) federal and state outcome measures.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Secondary Telephone: (208) 334-5500 Web Site: http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Idaho, Needs assessment, State MCH programs, Women', s health

Annotation: This report describes a 2004-2010 program to improve access to mental health services, particularly psychiatric services for low income children, by increasing and strengthening the capacity of primary care physicians in the provision of medical care for children with emotional and mental disorders. Report contents include a description of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination or utilization of the results, and future plans and followup. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Affective disorders, Children, Final reports, Idaho, Low income groups, Mental disorders, Primary care, Professional training, Referrals

Annotation: This 2010 needs assessment for Idaho's maternal, infant, and early childhood home visiting program provides a statewide data report, describes the unit selected as "community," provide a data report for each at-risk community, discusses the quality and capacity of existing programs in at-risk communities, discusses capacity for providing substance-abuse treatment and counseling services in at-risk communities, and provides a summary of needs-assessment results.

Contact: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, P.O. Box 83720, 450 West State Street, Boise, ID 83720-0036, Telephone: (800) 926-2588 Secondary Telephone: (208) 334-5500 Web Site: http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: High risk groups, Communities, Counseling, Data, Families, Health care reform, Home visiting, Idaho, Infants, Needs assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pregnant women, State MCH programs, Substance abuse treatment, Young children

Annotation: This report investigates how Action for Healthy Kids teams are working to help diverse communities communicate with one another and appreciate cultural differences for the ultimate purpose of helping schools help students in the areas of nutrition and physical fitness. The report profiles the progress of Action for Healthy Kids teams in Utah, New York and New Jersey, South Carolina, and Idaho.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Blacks, Child health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Families, Hispanic Americans, Idaho:, Low income groups, New Jersey, New York, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Poverty, Prevention, Rural population, Schools, South Carolina, Utah

Annotation: This brief explains why oral health is an important part of overall health and well-being, describes risk factors for poor oral health, and discusses barriers and opportunities to improve access to oral health care for pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, and adults including older adults. The brief also provides a snapshot of the public oral health service infrastructure in Idaho including Medicaid, Head Start and Early Head Start, school dental sealant and fluoride mouthrinse programs, and projects to increase access to and use of oral health care during pregnancy and prevent dental caries in infants and young children. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: Idaho Dental Hygienists' Association, Web Site: http://idha.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Children, Disease prevention, Idaho, Infants, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Risk factors, School health programs, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This report provides information about continuing activities of the Idaho Head Start Association after the Head Start oral health forum held on November 18-19, 2004, in Boise, Idaho. Contents include a summary of educational initiatives in communities, action steps, activities accomplished, outcomes, additional activities planned, and the need for additional resources to accomplish other follow-up activities. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Final reports, Head Start, Idaho, Oral health, State initiatives

Annotation: This final report summarizes the oral health forum held on November 18-19, 2004, in Boise, Idaho, about the oral health of Idaho's children, particularly children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start. Contents include presentation and plenary session summaries, breakout session descriptions, and recommendations and next steps. The first attachment provides a chart of responses to a pre-survey of efforts, unmet needs, and solutions, divided into categories of preventive care, primary care, education and outreach, and community partnerships. The second attachment provides the oral health plan of action resulting from the forum. It includes background information and key elements, strategies, and action steps for prevention, education, and access. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Conferences, Head Start, Idaho, Oral health, State initiatives, Strategic plans

Annotation: This final report describes the Expanded Newborn Screening Using Tandem Mass Spectrometry: Financial, Ethical, Legal, and Social Issues Project during the period June 1, 2001, through August 31, 2005. This multi-state, collaborative project was designed to research, identify strategies, and develop materials for addressing the financial, ethical, legal,and social issues surrounding the use of tandem mass spectrometry for neonatal metabolic screening of culturally and ethnically diverse populations. Participating states included Hawaii, California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The final report is divided into the following sections: (1) overview, (2) collaboration, (3) experiences to date, (4) dissemination of materials, (5) copies of publications and other materials, and (6) next steps. The report also includes seven appendices: (1) educational activities (development), (2) educational activities (products), (3) financial, ethical, legal, and social issues, (4) parent fact sheets, (5) professional fact sheets, (6) information dissemination, and (7) Web site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hawaii Department of Health, Genetics Program, 741 Sunset Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96816, Telephone: (808) 733-9055 Fax: (808) 733-9068 Web Site: http://www.hawaiigenetics.org

Keywords: California, Cultural diversity, Ethics, Ethnic factors, Final reports, Financing, Hawaii, Idaho, Legal issues, Neonatal screening, Oregon, Social factors, Washington

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to present the collective findings on health disparities between urban and non-urban populations from white papers produced by the states of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The white papers look at barriers that rural residents face in accessing health care services. The report provides a tool to better understand the unique factors that influence health disparities and serves as a starting point for further discussion. Statistical and other information is presented in tables throughout the report. The report includes contact information for agencies in each of the four states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska, Barriers, Families, Idaho, Oregon, Rural population, Urban population, Washington

Annotation: This draft report summarizes the proceedings of the oral health summit held on November 16, 2001, in Boise, Idaho. Topics include the Idaho Oral Health Alliance; highlights from the summit; proposed strategies to support, enhance, and develop access to oral health care in Idaho; and closing comments by the summit facilitators. Also included is an attachment section with presummit telephone interview feedback, detailed chronological notes, and Web links to Idaho foundations and other helpful sites.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conference proceedings, Families, Idaho, Oral health, Parents, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This report presents the results of a national study, conducted for the National Policy Center for Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN), of the Title V roles in coordinating care for CSHCN. The study was conducted in two phases, a written survey and follow-up telephone interviews with selected respondents. The study explored two levels of care coordination activities: the client level, where assistance in care coordination is provided to individual children and families; and the systems level, where coordination efforts are focused on linking and integrating policies and programs. The report organizes the results as follows: concepts of care coordination; methodology; client-level coordination services; systems-level care coordination services; interpretation and implications of findings; and references. Appendices include: A. National survey instrument; B. Interview protocol; and C. Contact information for highlighted states. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Alabama, Arkansas, Children with special health care needs, Colorado, EPSDT, Florida, Health care financing, Idaho, Iowa, Managed care, Medicaid, National surveys, Service coordination, Social Security Act, Title V, State children', State programs, Utah, Wisconsin, s health insurance program