Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster shows a woman in a long white dress looking at her reflection in a pool. She is pregnant and her reflection holds a healthy baby.

Contact: American Council for Drug Education, , 50 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201, Telephone: (718) 222-6641 Secondary Telephone: ( Contact Phone: (301) 294-0600 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acde.org/ Out of print.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Drugs, Infant health, Posters, Teratology

Annotation: This poster shows two Star Wars characters in a futuristic setting. The legend reads: "Parents of earth, are your children fully immunized? Make sure - Call your doctor or health department today. And may the force be with you."

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child health, Immunization, Posters

Annotation: This book explains the steps needed to plan and implement collaboration between community programs, agencies and individuals who provides services to children with disabilities and their families. This book was reprinted by the Georgetown University Child Development Center as a part of the Workbook Series for Providing Services to Children with Handicaps and Their Families.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community based services, Interagency cooperation

Annotation: This poster shows a young Native American women holding a young child in her arms. The legend reads: Natural bonding: Breastfeed.

Contact: Chickasaw Nation WIC Program, 1007 N. Country Club Rd. , Ada, OK 74820, Telephone: (580) 421-4581 Web Site: http://www.chickasaw.net/site06/services/258_773.htm $4.00.

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Materials for parents

Annotation: This poster shows a young Native American woman breastfeeding a baby. The legend reads: Mother, nature's choice: Breastfeed.

Contact: Chickasaw Nation WIC Program, 1007 N. Country Club Rd. , Ada, OK 74820, Telephone: (580) 421-4581 Web Site: http://www.chickasaw.net/site06/services/258_773.htm $4.00.

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Materials for parents

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This questionnaire, distributed by the Anchorage Department of Health and Human Services, obtains information regarding hot water usage and water temperature modification. The hot water gauge offers information to help control hot water temperatures.

Contact: Anchorage Department of Health and Human Services, Health Planning & Preparedness, PO Box 196650, Anchorage, AK 99519, Telephone: (907) 343-4109 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ci.anchorage.ak.us/healthchp/index.cfm Price unknown.

Keywords: Injury prevention

Annotation: This report highlights innovative efforts that are underway to address the treatment and prevention needs of substance using pregnant women, mothers, and their drug affected infants. It also presents a summary of the 1989 annual conference of the National Association for Perinatal Addiction Research and Education and lists information resources including organizations and publications.

Contact: U.S. Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 1 Choke Cherry Road , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (800) 694-4747 ext. 4820 Fax: (240) 747-5453 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Drug affected infants, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This booklet describes for parents the safety criteria they should look for when choosing furniture, equipment, and toys for infants. Detailed drawings and texts provide information on how to judge the safety of cribs, gates, high chairs, playpens, toys, walkers, carriers, carrier seats, changing tables, diaper pails, hook-on chairs, pacifiers, strollers, and carriages. Tips for the safe use of such items and for general household safety are also included, as is a checklist of safety features for each item.

Contact: Consumer Product Safety Commission, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Product safety, Safety, Toys

Annotation: This booklet provides information and forms to help families work with their health insurance companies. It includes questions to ask the insurance company and billing office, tips for keeping records of bills and claims, and who to talk with for assistance. A glossary of terms and list of publications on health insurance are included. Resource organizations in Cuyahoga County and the state of Ohio are also listed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered, community based care, Health care financing, Insurance, Medical records

Annotation: This small pamphlet summarizes new knowledge about infant and toddler development and its impact on public policy. New research findings and clinical experience can be used to increase the effectiveness of legislation affecting children and families, programs for health screening, disease prevention and related issues for families, and public and private policies toward parents in the workplace.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (202) 638-0840 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org

Keywords: Family support services, Health policy, Infant health services, Policy development

Annotation: This manual is intended as a guide for health professionals to establish a new health care delivery system for transitioning adolescents with chronic illness to adult health care. Health professionals learn about eight objectives: exploring one's commitment to transition, identification of initial partners; securing institutional support; assuring economic feasibility, developing a structure, developing a successful partnership, and achieving a successful transfer of patients. A self-assessment form is included.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health services, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This report provides an introduction to the Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, which involve Head Start in state planning and policy making efforts that affect low income children and families. It includes some fact sheets on the Collaboration Projects, project profiles and contact list, legislation regarding Head Start-State Collaboration Projects, and an excerpt from the report of the Advisory Committee on Head Start Quality and Expansion.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Early childhood education, Family support, Head Start, Low income groups, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: Each poster in this collection was prepared by an insurance company or a state agency. They direct attention to various issues in child safety. A poster by American Re-Insurance Company shows a child with his head bandaged, and cites the statistic on injuries when bike helmets are not worn. A second poster by American Re-Insurance Company repeats the statistic, but illustrates it with an overturned bike. The New York State Health Department poster shows a cross section of a house in which a hazardous activity is pictured in each room. The viewer is told that these hazards number forty, and is asked to identify them. The reverse side of the poster shows the answers. The remaining posters are by Massachusetts health and safety agencies. One shows a baby in a car seat and points out safety features of the seat. Another shows two gallon jugs: one of milk and one of bleach. The viewer is made to realize that a two year old would not know the difference. Three posters reinforce the "buckle up" message, and there is one on playground safety. Both English and Spanish are used in the posters.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program, 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5557 Contact Phone: (617) 727-1246 Price unknown.

Keywords: Bicycles, Car seats, Helmets, Poisoning, Posters, Residential injuries, Seat belts, Spanish language materials

Keywords: Child mortality, Infant mortality, Maternal mortality, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents the results of a 1989 survey of state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs and children with special health needs (CSHN) programs with respect to their roles in serving adolescents. The publication brings together the results of adolescent health initiatives from both MCH and CSHN perspectives in order to examine how these programs might be better coordinated and strengthened. The survey revealed that most Title V-supported programs routinely bill Medicaid (and, to a lesser extent, private insurance) for some services. Limited revenues are received from insurance due to inadequate billing capacity, the type of services offered by Title V programs, and low reimbursement from Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child health, Insurance, Maternal health, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Special health care needs, Title V

Annotation: This poster provides an overview of the programs sponsored by the two organizations aimed at achieving their goal of reducing the number of gun-related injuries and deaths. The poster lists efforts in eleven different areas including state and federal legislation, law enforcement, media relations, public health outreach, and youth education, among others.

Keywords: Federal legislation, Firearms, Gun control, Handguns, Injury prevention, Policy development, Posters, State legislation

Annotation: This videotape discusses the effects of regulatory disorders through a case example of a seventeen month child. Common symptoms, assessment, and treatment interventions are discussed for this sensory disorder. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Reginald S. Lourie Center for Infants and Young Children, 12301 Academy Way, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 984-4444 Fax: (301) 881-8043 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.louriecenter.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Assessment, Audiovisual materials, Infant behavior, Infant stimulation, Videotapes

Annotation: This directory lists federal maternal and child health information centers arranged by topic. Each entry includes annotations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Federal government, Information centers, Maternal health

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors