Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit is a resource for advocates who are concerned about the health and well-being of black women and girls. It takes a human rights based approach to maternal health, identifying the rights of pregnant and birthing parents and the corresponding role of government to ensure safe and respectful maternal health care for all.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org

Keywords: Advocacy , Blacks, Female children, Human rights, Maternal health, Racial factors, Reproductive rights, Women

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help parents, teachers, and students deal with bullying directed toward children with special health care needs. The toolkit comprises a set of resources to help users confront bullying from many angles, including talking to children, being aware of one's rights, and teaching tolerance in schools. Resources are divided into separate sections for parents, students, and teachers.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Bullying, Children with special health care needs, Communication, Human rights, Parent child relations, Prevention, Resource materials, School age children, Schools

Annotation: This journal issue includes articles that are related to ethical issues in interventions to prevent and control childhood obesity. Topics include protecting children from harmful food marketing, policy approaches, weight bias, children with special health care needs, public vs individual rights in childhood obesity interventions, the ethical basis for promoting nutritional health in public schools, ethical family interventions, state requirements and recommendations.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 1545-1151.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Civil rights, Ethics, Families, Health promotion, Human rights, Intervention, Marketing, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy, Research, School heath, Social bias

Annotation: This report addresses maternal mortality and morbidity and the provision of health care within the context of human rights and offers recommendations to improve maternal health care in the United States. The report is based on research carried out during 2008 and 2009 by Amnesty International USA. In particular, the report focuses on maternal deaths and complications from pregnancy-related causes. The report provides recommendations and discusses maternal health and human rights, discrimination and maternal health, barriers to maternal health care services, systemic failures, and accountability.

Contact: Amnesty International Secretariat, Peter Benenson House, 1 Easton Street, London, UK WC1X ODW, Telephone: 44(0)20-7413-5500 Fax: 44(0)20-7956-1157 Web Site: http://www.amnesty.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-86210-458-0.

• Full Report
• Web Page With Updates

Keywords: Childbirth, Costs, Ethnic factors, Health care systems, Human rights, Income factors, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Pregnancy, Racial factors, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides a review of the empirical research to date on the effects physical punishment has on children. The report synthesizes 100 years of social science research and hundreds of published studies on physical punishment. The report defines physical punishment and discusses its prevalence in the United States and the status of Americans' approval for it, when it is likely to be used, research, effects on child behavior, risks, cultural perspectives, the legal status of physical punishment in the United States, human rights, and countries that have banned physical punishment.

Contact: Center for Effective Discipline, 327 Groveport Pike, Canal Winchester, OH 43110, Telephone: (614) 834-7946 Fax: (614) 321-6308 Web Site: http://www.stophitting.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child behavior, Children', Corporal punishment, Cultural factors, Discipline, Families, Human rights, Legal issues, Mental health, Research, s rights

Annotation: This report aims to articulate a full range of policies necessary to ensure reproductive freedom and health care, delineate the values associated with support for such policies, and discuss the benefits of a proposed agenda. The report also sets forth a proposed role for government in enabling individuals to make decisions about sexuality, reproduction, and family. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses the four cornerstones of a progressive reproductive health and rights agenda, progressive values and principles for reproductive health and rights, and the benefits of a comprehensive reproductive health and rights agenda. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family, Health care, Human rights, Moral values, Public policy, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality, Women', s rights

Annotation: This pamphlet lists 20 rights of childbearing women, and briefly describes each. The rights span a range of topics, including access to and choices about health care, the birth setting, information, privacy, access to records, support, freedom of movement during labor, contact with the newborn, and breastfeeding. The pamphlet also provides a list of problems with maternity care in the United States.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection , 1725 Eye Street, Suite 950 , Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nationalpartnership.org/childbirthconnection/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Family support, Health care, Human rights, Information, Medical records, Pregnant women, Social support, Women', s rights

Annotation: This paper critiques a review article titled Abstinence and Abstinence-Only Education and a second article titled Abstinence-Only Education Policies and Programs: A Position Paper of the Society of Adolescent Medicine. Both were published by the Journal of Adolescent Health. The paper, which includes an executive summary, discusses the articles' methodologies, the way they define abstinence, their treatment of (1) the physical and psychological health outcomes of adolescent sexual behaviors and of public support for abstinence and comprehensive sexuality education; (2) currrent federal policy and local programs; (3) concepts of efficacy for abstinence in preventing pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections; (4) abstinence-only education and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender adolescents; (5) the human right to sexual health information; (and 6) ethical obligations of health professionals and health educators. References are incluced.

Contact: Medical Institute for Sexual Health, 1101 S. Capital of Texas Highway, Building B, Suite 100, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-6268 Secondary Telephone: (800) 892-9484 Fax: (512) 328-6269 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.medinstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Human rights, Local programs, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public policy, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This book, which is aimed at academics, people with disabilities, and those interested in forming social welfare policies, focuses on issues and debated framing disability studies and places the studies in a historical and cultural context. The book is divided into three sections, each representing an overarching theme: the shaping of disability studies as a field (Part 1), experiencing disability (Part 2), and disability in context (part 3). The parts are divided into chapters, each of which includes an overview, a conclusion, notes, and references. The book also includes an author index, a subject index, and an about the contributors section.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7619-2874-X.

Keywords: Advocacy, Cultural factors, Disabilities, Education, Health personnel, History, Human rights, Public health, Public policy, Research, Social conditions, Social support, Trends

Annotation: This publication presents papers from a public forum on the concerns and problems surrounding the use of human subjects in research. Topics include perspectives of biomedical research; individual risks versus societal benefits; regulatory, judicial, and legislative processes; and future policy options. Subtopics include consent, the fetus, the child, the military, prisoners, and the poor.

• Link

Keywords: Human rights, Medical ethics, Medical research