Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 10 (10 total).

University of North Carolina, School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine; Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine; and District of Columbia, Department of Maternal, Child Health, Division of Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services for Children. n.d.. North Carolina emergency medical services for children: Pediatrics protocols for prehospital and emergency department management. Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina, Department of Pediatrics and Emergency Medicine, Charlotte, NC: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine; Washington, DC: District of Columbia, Department of Maternal, Child Health, Division of Injury Prevention and Emergency Medical Services for Children, 35 pp.

Annotation: These protocols for emergency medical technicians and hospital personnel in North Carolina provide guidelines for triage, transport, and treatment of children who have suffered traumatic injuries or have life threatening conditions. The protocols are grouped in two sections; the first contains prehospital paramedic protocols; and the second contains hospital treatment protocols. The first section also includes guidelines for transport. The individual protocols are presented as flow-charts with the critical procedures indicated for each step in caring for the child. Conditions include: multiple trauma, head trauma, newborn resuscitation, poisoning, and seizures, among others. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine, 1000 Blythe Boulevard , Charlotte, NC 28203, Telephone: (704) 355-3658 Fax: (704) 355-7047 E-mail: EMresidency@CarolinasHealthCare.Org Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Hospital emergency services, Hospital personnel, Injuries, North Carolina, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics

American Hospital Association, Committee on Performance Improvement. 2014. Managing an intergenerational workforce: Strategies for health care transformation. Chicago, IL: American Hospital Association, Health Research and Educational Trust, 46 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies approaches and initiatives to help leaders deploy strategies and competencies essential to developing the future health care work force. Topics include the characteristics of four generations in the work force and their impact on the health care industry, strategies to support health care transformation, and creating high-performing teams. Case studies and examples of intergenerational management strategies are included. The future work force is also discussed.

Contact: American Hospital Association, Health Research and Educational Trust, 155 North Wacker, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (800) AHA-2626 Secondary Telephone: (312) 422-2600 Fax: (312) 422-4568 Web Site: http://www.hret.org/hret_app/index.jsp Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Hospitals, Intergenerational programs, Personnel management, Systems development, Teamwork, Trends, Work force

Sultz HA, Young KM. 1999. Health care U.S.A.: Understanding its organization and delivery. (8th ed.). Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers, 586 pp.

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Randolph L, Cooper L, Fonseca-Becker F, York M, McIntosh M. 1994 (ca.). Baby friendly hospital initiative feasibility study: Final report. Washington, DC: Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies National Coalition, 37 pp., exec. summ. (15 pp.).

Annotation: This document reports on a feasibility study aimed at determining whether and how the UNICEF/WHO criteria and assessment process for baby-friendly hospitals (i.e., hospitals that fully support mothers who breastfeed) could be adapted for use in the United States. It contains the recommendations of the work group charged with reviewing and revising the WHO/UNICEF "Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding" and the Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) global criteria and assessment process for the United States. The report also includes "Ten Steps and Criteria for the U.S. Breastfeeding Health Initiative," which outlines how hospitals should address issues of training, clinical practice, and psychosocial support to maximize support for breastfeeding mothers. An executive summary accompanies the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Feasibility studies, Hospital personnel, Hospitals, Infant nutrition

Hanson JL, Johnson BH, Jeppson ES, Thomas J, Hall JH. 1994. Hospitals: Moving forward with family-centered care. Bethesda, MD: Institute for Family-Centered Care, 44 pp.

Annotation: This document begins by defining family centered care and discussing its benefits. It goes on to explain the components of a family centered hospital care program: committed hospital leadership, personnel policies and practices, supportive architecture and design, professional communication with families, family-to-family support and networking, linking families with community resources, educating family-centered professionals, research design, and family involvement in hospital decisions. The concluding chapters offer practical tips for hospital personnel starting a family centered care program and strategies for family involvement in the process. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Institute for Patient and Family-Centered Care, 7900 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 405, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 652-0281, ext. 16 Contact Phone: (301) 320-2686 Fax: (301) 652-0186 E-mail: institute@ipfcc.org Web Site: http://www.familycenteredcare.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9642014-0-2.

Keywords: Child health services, Collaboration, Community programs, Ethics, Facility design and construction, Family centered care, Family support services, Health personnel, Hospital services, Parent participation, Parents, Policy development, Professional education, Program development, Research design

National Center for Health Statistics. 1983-2003. International health data reference guide. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, biennial.

Annotation: This document provides information on the availability of selected national vital, hospital, health manpower resources, and population-based health survey statistics for forty-four nations. A profile of each survey is included, citing the title, responsible agency, objective, scope, collection method, data content, frequency and availability of data. Also included is a matrix of the data variables from the surveys. The main purpose of the guide is to provide information not readily available in published form. A secondary purpose is to support the World Health Organization's goal of developing a common basis for international data comparison.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (301) 436-7039 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available in libraries. Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 96-1007.

Keywords: Directories, Health personnel, Health statistics, Hospitals, Vital statistics

Bostin MJ. 1978. Study to quantify the uniqueness of children's hospitals: Summary of major findings. Wilmington, DE: National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on a study to identify and quantify the operating and capital costs of children's hospitals and identify and quantify the cost differences with general hospitals of similar size. The areas discussed are intensity of care and specialized services, occupancy, nurse staffing, support service staffing, interns and residents, education and research, community service costs, administrative and nonpayroll variable costs, payment and uncompensated care, space allocations, and construction costs.

Keywords: Fees and charges, Medical personnel, Operating costs, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Pediatric nursing, Research

American Academy of Pediatrics, Committee on Fetus and Newborn. 1977. Standards and recommendations for hospital care of newborn infants. (6th ed.). Evanston, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 178 pp.

Committee on Perinatal Health. 1976. Toward improving the outcome of pregnancy: Recommendations for the regional development of maternal and perinatal health services. White Plains, NY: The National Foundation-March of Dimes, 38 pp.

Jacobziner H, Levy DM, Suchman EA, O'Neill G. 1964. Mental health in the child health conference: An evaluation of the Attitude Study Project of the New York City Health Department. Washington, DC: U.S. Children's Bureau, 108 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 407-1964)

Annotation: This report discusses the evaluation of the Attitude Study Project (ASP) for doctors and nurses of the New York City Department of Health. The project provides brief training in applying mental health concepts in children's departments in hospitals. The report provides information on participants' evaluation of the project, factors influencing the evaluation, and effects of the project on physicians and nurses.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health programs, Evaluation, Guidelines, Health policy, Hospitals, Medical personnel, Mental health, Nurses

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.