Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This book presents information from the Nurses' Health Study on a woman's probability of developing specific diseases and suggests how that probability may change with certain alterations in diet, weight control, physical activity, and other lifestyle changes. Part one discusses the Nurses' Health Study and what observations have been made by researchers and what they mean to the study of women's health issues. Part two provides information and suggestions on lowering the risk of diseases. Topics covered include coronary heart disease, different types of cancers, stroke, diabetes, osteoporosis, asthma, arthritis, age-related eye disease, and Alzheimer's disease. The third part provides information on changing behaviors including physical activity, weight control, smoking, nutrients, foods, alcohol, vitamins and minerals, postmenopausal hormones, birth control, and pain relievers. The appendices give information on types of epidemiological studies; being an informed consumer of health information; and a section on tables on weight and nutrition. The book concludes with a glossary, selected readings, and an index.

Contact: Simon and Schuster, 1230 Avenue of the Americas , New York, NY 10020, Telephone: (212) 698-7000 Web Site: http://www.simonsays.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-684-85519-4.

Keywords: Alcohols, Alzheimers disease, Analgesic drugs, Antiinflammatory drugs, Arthritis, Asthma, Breast cancer, Cancer, Colon cancer, Coronary care, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Eye diseases, Family planning, Food, Hormone replacement therapy, Life cycle, Lung cancer, Menopause, Minerals, Nutrition, Osteoporosis, Ovarian cancer, Physical activity, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Reproductive health, Research programs, Skin cancers, Smoking, Strokes, Vitamins, Weight management, Women', Women', s health, s health promotion

Annotation: This book for health and community service professionals and the general public focuses on heart disease risks common among black women. Topics include high blood pressure, obesity, diabetes, nutrition, cholesterol, estrogen replacement therapy, and smoking. Alternative treatments such as herbs, vitamins, stress reduction techniques, and visualization techniques are discussed. Appendices include questions for healthcare providers, resources, a stay-on-track checklist, an exercise checklist, and a glossary. An index is provided.

Contact: Marlowe and Company, LLC, 1667 K Street, N.W., Suite 480, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 775-1796 Fax: (202) 775-0214 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.marloweco.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56924-619-X.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Blacks, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Heart diseases, Hormone replacement therapy, Hypertension, Nutrition, Prevention, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This report highlights key findings of the 1998 Survey of Women's Health and serves as an update on women's health across the lifespan since a similar survey conducted in 1993. The survey consisted of telephone interviews with 2, 850 women and 1, 500 men on such topics as access to health care, health knowledge, health-related behaviors, and other health topics. Survey topics include preventive care; managed care; health awareness, behaviors, and physician counseling; violence and abuse; mental health; informal caregiving; and health and economic security, insurance status, and access to care for working women. The report is divided into several parts providing details in the overview and survey findings sections, with charts, tables, and methodology sections presenting statistical information.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

Keywords: Abuse, Access to health care, Caregivers, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Health behavior, Health insurance, Hormone replacement therapy, Life cycle, Managed care, Mental health, Osteoporosis, Preventive health services, Racial factors, Reproductive health, Surveys, Violence, Women', Women', Working women, s health, s health studies

Annotation: This book primarily discusses health issues generally affecting women from pre-menopause through climacteric, incorporating traditional medical and alternative health care practices. Topics include reproductive physiology and symptomology during pre- and postmenopausal phases; cardiovascular disease; osteoporosis; psychologic, sociologic, sexual and contraceptive issues; a total wellness program, hormonal and drug therapies; and complementary therapies and holistic medicine. Appendices, resources, guidelines for the care of women over 30, a list of sample questions for the health professional to ask the woman, and an index are also included.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1654-3.

Keywords: Holistic health, Hormone Replacement Therapy, Menopause, Middle age, Osteoporosis, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This book is written for women 16 and older, and discusses ways menopause can be managed and controlled with proper planning and healthy activities. Topics include understanding the myths and realities of menopause, osteoporosis, cardiovascular disease in women, management through hormone replacement therapy, and starting and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The final chapter centers on research in the area of women's health and menopause. Appendices include a glossary, a resource directory, references, and an index.

Contact: Health Leadership Associates, Inc., PO Box 1784, Germantown, MD 20875, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthleadership.com/html/certrev_live.html Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-878028-23-5.

Keywords: Cardiovascular disease, Consumer education materials, Hormone replacement therapy, Lifestyle, Menopause, Osteoporosis, Women', s health

Annotation: This issue of "CQ Researcher" considers various issues related to women's health. It covers heart disease and breast cancer in detail, and notes the tendency to exclude women from federal research programs on heart diseases. It includes information on women's perceptions of threats to their health versus actual causes of mortality, it considers the Women's Health Initiative, and it includes two essays on whether women's health should be a separate medical specialty. It notes recent trends on hysterectomies and estrogen replacement therapy, and it provides a selected bibliography.

Contact: Congressional Quarterly, 1255 22nd Street, N.W. , Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 419-8500 Secondary Telephone: 800-432-2250 Web Site: http://corporate.cq.com/wmspage.cfm?parm1=12 Individual issues $4.00 for subscribers, $7.00 for non-subscribers; quantity discounts apply to orders over ten.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Federal government, Federal initiatives, Heart diseases, Hormone replacement therapy, Hysterectomy, Public policy, Research, Statistics, Women', s health