Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report from the CDC analyzed reporting data from 1994 - 2018 on school violence. Tables of statistics illustrate incidents of school violence and gun violence in particular. It provides information on the effectiveness of evidence-based youth violence prevention programs, including strategies that promote connections between youths and caring adults, enhance problem-solving and coping skills, and reduce risk among youths who have been violent.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Elementary schools, High schools, Homicide, Middle schools, School Age Children, School violence

Annotation: This report provides state-level statistical data on injury indicators and outcomes from 26 state health departments that voluntarily participated in this surveillance effort. Categories include indicators for: (1) all-injury violence (2) traumatic brain injury, (3) drowning, (4) fire-related, (5) motor vehicle, (6) poisoning, (7) firearm-related injuries (8) homicide, and (9) suicide. The indicators for each category are presented in tabular form, preceded by explanatory text. The appendix provides instructions for calculating national public health surveillance system indicators using 1999 data.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Drowning, Firearms, Homicide, Injury, Injury surveillance systems, Motor vehicle crashes, Outcome evaluation, Poisoning, Protective factors, Public health, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This annual report for 2006 provides information about the Missouri Child Fatality Review Program.The report is divided into four sections. Section 1 provides information about the program, confidentiality issues, different categories of child fatalities, a summary of findings related to infant deaths in Missouri in 2006, fetal and infant mortality review in Missouri, and sudden unexpected infant deaths. Section 2 focuses on motor vehicle fatalities and unintentional suffocation or strangulation. Section 3 focuses on homicides, fatal child abuse and neglect, suicides, the practical application of child death review, and prevention findings. Section 4 includes seven appendices on the following topics: autopsies; mandated activities for child fatalities; the process for child fatality review; Missouri incident child fatalities by county and by age, sex, and race; definitions; and death certificate manner of death.

Contact: Missouri Child Fatality Review Program, Missouri Department of Social Services, 221 West High Street, P.O. Box 1527, Jefferson City, MO 65102-1527, Telephone: (800) 487-1626 Web Site: http://www.dss.mo.gov/stat/mcfrp.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Confidentiality, Homicide, Infant death, Missouri, Motor vehicle injuries, SIDS, State programs, Strangulation, Suffocation, Suicide

Annotation: This report describes the negative consequences -- which includes criminalization, homelessness, and homicide -- that occur when needed mental health services are unavailable. The report, which includes an executive summary, provides a road map to transform mental health care and also discusses the following steps on that road map: (1) maximize the effectiveness of scarce resources, (2) stop making criminals of those whose mental illness results in inappropriate behavior, (3) make Medicaid accountable for the effectiveness of the mental health services it pays for, (4) prevent the negative consequences of mental disorders by ensuring needed services, (5) invest in children and support families, (6) promote independence, and (7) address the mental health needs of returning veterans and their families. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: Campaign for Mental Health Reform, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://advocacy.networkofcare.org/cmhr Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Crime, Families, Health care reform, Homelessness, Homicide, Independence, Medicaid, Mental disorders, Mental health, Mental health services

Annotation: This research bulletin provides statistical information about suicides that occurred among children and adolescents ages 7-17 between 1981 and 1998. The bulletin discusses the prevalence of child and adolescent suicide, data sources, suicide rates by state, suicide rates compared with homicide rates, and the characteristics of children and adolescents at higher risk for suicide. Much of the information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 810 Seventh Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20531, Telephone: (202) 307-5911 Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 196978.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent mortality, Child behavior, Child mortality, Data, Economic factors, Geographic factors, High risk adolescents, High risk children, Homicide, Racial factors, Sex factors, Social factors, Statistics, Suicide

Annotation: This report draws on federal data to provide a statistical portrait of juvenile homicide victimization presented in overall patterns and victim age groups. Specific types of homicide victimization included are maltreatment, abduction, and school homicides. Initiatives designed to prevent homicide are discussed.

Contact: National Criminal Justice Reference Service, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Secondary Telephone: (301)240-7760 Fax: 301-240-5830 Web Site: https://www.ncjrs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NCJ 187239.

• PDF

Keywords: Abductions, Child death review, Children, Crime prevention, Family violence, Homicide, Maltreated children, Physical abuse, School violence, Statistical data, Victims, Violence prevention, Youth

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

Annotation: This annual report summarizes the activities of the Arizona Child Fatality Review Team for the year covered. It includes an executive summary and introduction, presents major findings on causes of death to children and adolescents, outlines accomplishments and challenges and presents policy recommendations. Data are included for motor vehicle crashes; drownings; smoke inhalation and burns; violence related deaths due to suicide, child abuse, homicide, and shooting deaths; and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS). Appendices include state statutes, statistical tables on the leading causes of death, lists of state and local team members, and a publications list.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Child Fatality Review Program, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/cfr.htm Available from the website.

• Reports For Recent Years

Keywords: Adolescents, Arizona, Burns, Cause of death, Child abuse, Child death review, Children, Demographics, Drowning, Firearm injuries, Fires, Homicide, Mortality, Motor vehicle injuries, Program descriptions, SIDS, Statistics, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Annotation: This two volume report analyzes the incidence and impact of violence among youth in Maine. This first part describes available data, includes findings from current literature, reports the results of written surveys conducted with professionals and young people, and explores opinions from in-depth interviews with professionals working with youth. In addition to homicide, suicide and assault, attention is paid to hate violence, sexual violence, risk taking behavior, and arrests for violent crime among the young. The second volume has a sub-title, Part Two: Recommendations; it outlines possible activities at the state and local levels to respond to violent behavior among young people in Maine. It contains draft legislation to obtain legislative authority to continue interdepartmental work on the prevention of youth violence. The report calls for increased interdepartmental coordination and collaboration in planning and implementing prevention and intervention programs, coordination of data collection activities, and more aggressive public education strategies.

• Part I
• Part II

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Data, Homicide, Maine, Policy development, Proposed legislation, Public policy, Suicide, Violence

Annotation: This book examines the role that child abuse plays in subsequent adolescent parricide. It focuses on dysfunctional families, theories on parenting, child abuse, and reform efforts. It considers facts and issues that contribute to parricide, develops a context for the problem, reviews risk factors, and discusses legal and psychological issues. It discusses current assessment techniques in regard to the case studies it includes; and it concludes with an analysis of the implications and future directions.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8039-7060-9.

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Child abuse, Family violence, Homicide, Intervention, Parents, Prevention, Risk factors

Annotation: This session of the Ross Roundtable was convened to explore some roles in helping children deal with the violence in their lives. These roles typically could be played by the professionals who care for children's health e.g. pediatricians. Presented were broad themes and issues that cut across the entire experience of children and violence. Subjects of discussion include firearms; and gang, urban, rural, domestic, and media violence. The conference was seen as a first discussion for pediatricians of the impact of violence and possible interventions. The Roundtable hopes to revisit these issues.

Contact: Ross Laboratories, Consumer Relations, 625 Cleveland Avenue, Columbus, OH 43215-1724, Telephone: (800) 227-5767 Secondary Telephone: (614) 624-7485 Contact Phone: (614) 227-3333 Web Site: http://www.ross.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Children, Counseling, Data, Domestic violence, Firearms, Gangs, Health professionals, Homicide, Hospitals, Injuries, Intervention, Media violence, Pediatricians, Prevention, Rural population, Urban population, Violence, War, Witnesses

Annotation: This bibliography was developed to help social workers, medical professionals, and others who work with black youth and plan programs for them. The bibliography includes books and book chapters, articles from professional journals and major newspapers, and materials from government reports. Chapters cover background and general material; homicide, suicide, and other violence; interventions; mental health; poverty and related social issues; sexually transmitted diseases; alcohol and other drug abuse; and adolescent parenthood and early sexual activity. [Research funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of South Carolina, College of Social Work, Columbia, SC 29208, Telephone: (803) 777-7814 Contact Phone: (803) 777-9408 Fax: (803) 777-0421 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cosw.sc.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF018.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Bibliographies, Blacks, Blacks, Firearms, Homicide, Injury Prevention, Mental health, Poverty, Rape, Sexual assault, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide, Violence prevention

Annotation: "Adolescent Health," a three-volume report from the U.S. Congress' Office of Technology Assessment, reviews the physical, emotional, and behavioral health status of American adolescents, identifies risk and protective factors for adolescent health problems, integrates national data to understand the clustering of specific adolescent problems, and evaluates options for the organization of health services available to adolescents including accessibility and financing. Volume I contains the summary and policy options.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OTA-H-468; S/N 052-003-01234-1.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol use, Assault, Bicycle helmets, Drug use, Gender, Homicide, National data, Policies, Protective factors, Risk factors, Socioeconomic status, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This monograph is based on papers and discussions from a technical review on drugs and violence held in September 1989, sponsored by the National Institute on Drug Abuse and the National Institute of Justice. The thirteen papers cover such topics as crack houses, gangs, drugs and violence; street prostitution and drug-related violence; mental illness and violence; and the connection between substance abuse and violence. A list of National Institute of Drug Research Monographs is included at the end of the book along with ordering information.

Keywords: Alcohol use, Crime, Drug use, Gangs, Homicide, Substance use, Violence

Annotation: This issue of "Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: CDC Surveillance Summaries" presents information charting the progress toward the 1990 Injury Control Objectives for the Nation. In each article, surveillance data are used to monitor the nation's progress toward a specific objective. Nine surveillance summaries address the following topics: deaths from motor vehicle-related injuries, deaths due to injury in the home, deaths from falls, drownings in the United States, hospitalizations due to tap water scalds, deaths from residential fires, unintentional firearm-related fatalities, homicides among black males, and suicides among persons 15-24 years of age. The problems impeding further progress and the steps necessary to attain the objective are also discussed. The summaries were developed to describe and clarify the injury problem, and to stimulate additional interest in applying surveillance methods to the field of injury control.

Keywords: 1990 Objectives for the Nation, Drowning, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Population surveillance, Scalds, Statistics, Suicide

Annotation: This script and accompanying slides discuss adolescent injuries and the characteristics which put adolescents at high risk for injuries. This overview explores the developmental aspects of adolescent injuries. The most common causes of injury death among adolescents—motor vehicle or motorcycle injuries, homicide, suicide, and drowning—are discussed. Causes of injury which result in hospital admission and emergency room care are also included. The script suggests actions that professionals and parents can take to reduce injuries to 13-19 year olds. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Out of print.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Drowning, Homicide, Injuries, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Motorcycles, Suicide, Violence prevention

Annotation: This curriculum includes a teacher's guide (with student handouts) and a teacher-training videotape. The 10-session course addresses the growing problems of violence and homicide among adolescents and offers positive ways to deal with anger and arguments, the leading precipitants of homicide among adolescents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Conflict resolution, Curricula, Education, Homicide, Injury prevention, Resources for professionals, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report discusses the health status of minority groups in the United States and makes recommendations for actions the Federal government can take to improve minority health status. The volumes in the series are: I. "Executive Summary;" II. "Crosscutting Issues in Minority Health;" III. "Cancer;" IV. "Cardiovascular and Cerebrovascular Disease, " Parts 1 and 2; V. "Homicide; Suicide, and Unintentional Injuries;" VI. "Infant Mortality and Low Birthweight;" VII. "Chemical Dependency and Diabetes;" and VIII. "Hispanic Health Issues/Inventory of DHHS Programs/Survey of Non-federal Community." Volumes 1–5 are available from the Office of Minority Health Resource Center.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Cerebrovascular disorders, Diabetes mellitus, Drug abuse, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Injury prevention, Low birthweight infants, Minority health, Suicide

Annotation: This issue of "Prevention Report" provides statistics on death and disability caused by violent and abusive behaviors in the United States. The report includes a graph of homicide rates for black males aged 15-24, from 1978-1987, divided by firearm- and nonfirearm-related deaths. The newsletter also includes descriptions of recent injury articles and publications, and a list of government and nonprofit organizations which may be useful resources on intentional injury prevention.

Contact: National Health Information Center, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: Blacks, Child abuse, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Men, Statistics, Suicide, Unintentional injuries, Violence, Weapons, Young adults