Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: The goal of this project was to develop an optimum habilitation and/or rehabilitation process for children (ages birth to 21 years) with special health needs, within Puerto Rico's Caguas Health Region. The principal outcomes of this project were the development of an electronic central register for patients with special health needs in the Caguas Health Region, and the interagency work agreement and interagency referral form, which have enabled project staff and Pediatric Center personnel to share information and coordinate services with other government service providers from central and local levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198901.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronically Ill, Collaboration of Care, Community-Based Health Care, Confidentiality, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Habilitation, Home Visiting, Referrals, Rehabilitation

Annotation: This website provides a collection of resources centered around the Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's framework for collaboration among Title V, Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV), and other Early Childhood Systems (ECS) programs. The framework focuses on systems building and provides tools for staff from each of the programs to use in aligning their program goals and resources towards a common early childhood goal. The resource is a digitally-accessible update of “A roadmap for collaboration among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs”, en electronic document developed in partnership with the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau that debuted in 2020.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief highlights home visiting models, affiliates, and initiatives serving the needs of adolescent parents. Examples include Teen Parent Connection: A Healthy Families America Affiliate, Family Spirit, Nurse-Family Partnership, and Show Me Strong (SMSF): A Parents as Teachers Initiative. The brief concludes with key service delivery features for consideration by other programs.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Family support services, Home visiting, Parent support programs, Pregnant adolescents

Annotation: This brief summarizes several initiatives to advance health and/or racial equity in home visiting. Some examples include: Home Visiting Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network 2.0 (HV CoIIN 2.0) Health Equity Collaborative, Michigan Home Visiting Initiative (MHV), and Massachusetts Racial Equity Movement. The brief also highlights the National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health (NLAPH) program.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Ethnic groups, Family support services, Health equity, Home visiting, Model programs, Race, Social factors

Annotation: This yearbook presents 2021 data on early childhood home visiting and provides an up-to-date look at home visiting in action. The report answers critical questions about where home visiting programs are located; the number of families and children being served by home visiting programs; home visiting models; the staffing of home visiting programs; and what is happening in the states. The yearbook includes data on virtual home visits during the COVID-19 pandemic. The National Home Visiting Resource Center uses model, state, and administrative data sources, along with publicly available information, to present the national home visiting landscape.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health

Annotation: This statewide home visiting needs assessment (1) Identifies communities at risk for poor health outcomes among mothers, infants, children, and adolescents; (2) describes the quality and capacity of existing programs or initiatives for early childhood home visitation in the state; and (3) addresses the state's capacity for providing substance abuse treatment and counseling services to individuals and families in need of such treatment or services. The assessment reports on rates of poverty, infant and fetal mortality, low birth weight, maternal mortality, racial and ethnic birth disparities, teen births, maternal depression, well child care, fiscal health, crime, domestic violence, high school dropout, substance abuse, illicit drug use, prenatal substance abuse exposure, unemployment, child maltreatment, and early intervention in the state of Virginia. Indicators used to assess risk across the state are provided in table format.

Contact: EarlyImpactVA, Alliance for Early Childhood Home Visiting , 8100 Three Chopt Road, Suite 114 and 215, Henrico, VA 23229, Telephone: (804)359-6166 Web Site: https://www.earlyimpactva.org/ Available from the website.

• 2021
• 2010 Edition

Keywords: Home visiting, Needs assessment, Reports, State MCH programs, Virginia, Virginia

Annotation: This yearbook presents 2020 data on early childhood home visiting, focusing on where home visiting programs are located, the number of families and children being served by home visiting, home visiting models, and examples of state-level programs. The yearbook includes data on virtual home visits during the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, this updated version uses revised data language with an equity focus. The National Home Visiting Resource Center uses model, state, and administrative data sources, along with publicly available information, to present the national home visiting landscape.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a systematic review of home visiting research to determine which home visiting program models have sufficient evidence to meet U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) criteria for an "evidence-based early childhood home visiting service delivery model." The brief also summarizes the evidence of effectiveness for the 20 program models that met DHHS criteria. Topics include favorable and sustained program impacts on primary and secondary outcome measures and whether or not the model has been replicated.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Family support programs, Home visiting, Maternal health, Measures, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Parenting, Research, School readiness, Sustainability, Young children

Annotation: This resource discusses common ways home visiting data are stored at the state and local levels and provides recommendations for how data integration leaders can navigate these data storage systems when integrating home visiting data with other early childhood data.

Contact: Early Childhood Data Collaborative, c/o Child Trends, 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ecedata.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Data linkage, Home visiting

Annotation: This document makes recommendations for improved program alignment among Title V, home visiting, and early childhood systems programs and suggests steps to take for collaborative action planning. A case study of the Indiana State Department of Health's internal organizational structure for improved early childhood collaboration is included.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Update

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Home visiting, Service delivery systems, State programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the importance of supportive postpartum care; describes the barriers to care that new mothers face; and outlines strategies for home visitors and health care providers to help ensure that postpartum women and their infants receive adequate follow-up care. A list of additional resources is included.

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Home visiting, Postpartum care

Annotation: The Minnesota Department of Health provided this toolkit for home visitors, who can use it to help identify developmental and social-emotional issues of children at an early age. It contains recommendations for the periodicity of assessments, links to child development screening tools, the screening process, child development referrals, and follow-up. The MIECHV Home Visitor Orientation Guidance Document was created along with this toolkit, and a link to the PDF document is included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Developmental screening, Guidelines, Home visiting programs, Minnesota

Annotation: This resource is a companion to A Guide to Conducting the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Program Statewide Needs Assessment Update. It is designed to be used by MIECHV awardees, but may provide helpful guidance to State Title V MCH Block Grant program leaders. It consists of two parts. Part 1 is a crosswalk of elements of each needs assessment, spelling out the similarities and differences between the two. Part 2 suggests opportunities for coordination.

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Home visiting, Needs assessment, State programs

Annotation: This document provides an overview of the Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness (HomVEE) review process and a summary of the review results. Contents include a summary of evidence of effectiveness by model and outcome domain, a summary of implementation guidelines for program models with evidence of effectiveness, and a discussion of gaps in the home visiting research literature. The appendix contains a list of the program models reviewed.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Home visiting, MCH research, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This guide is a technical assistance resource for grantees of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting (MIECHV) Program giving recommended steps for conducting a required update to statewide needs assessments. Appendices provide needs assessment resources and templates for the work plan and inventory of existing programs.

Contact: Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 969-7100 Fax: (617) 969-5979 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.edc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Home visiting, Needs assessment, State programs

Annotation: This presentation about family home visiting and oral health in Rhode Island provides an overview of the federally funded Perinatal and Infant Health Quality Improvement Project, the goal of which was to reduce the prevalence of oral disease in pregnant women and infants through improved access to high-quality oral health care. The presentation also provides statistical data about family home visiting in Rhode Island, an overview of oral health, an oral hygiene demonstration, and information on setting oral health goals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Rhode Island, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents final implementation and impact results from the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program Evaluation-Strong Start (MIHOPE-Strong Start)-- a study that was launched in 2012 to test whether evidence-based home visiting provided during pregnancy improves birth outcomes, prenatal health, and health care use in infancy.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 401-9215 Secondary Telephone: (800) 422-4453 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov

• Link

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant health, Maternal health, Outcome evaluation, Prenatal care, Studies

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children