Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The goal of this project was to improve the knowledge base from which policymakers and program directors make decisions regarding implementation of community-based and home-based services for children with long-term health care needs. Strategies included a literature review, a review of current innovative home and community-based programs, and the dissemination of findings and recommendations by means of publications and a state-of-the-art conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-106358.

Keywords: Children, Chronically Ill, Community-Based Health Services, Data Collection from, Home-Based Health Care, Primary Care Centers, Technology Dependence

Annotation: This policy brief examines evidence-based home visiting programs as an effective strategy to support parents and young children from the prenatal period through age three. It describes how home visiting programs provide support and education to parents through trained professionals or paraprofessionals in home-based settings, with services now available both traditionally and virtually. The brief details the positive impacts on parenting skills, state variations in implementation approaches, funding mechanisms including Medicaid, and the percentage of eligible families served across states. It highlights leading states like Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, and New York, and summarizes recent state initiatives to enhance these programs through increased funding and expanded eligibility.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• Link

Keywords: Early intervention, Financing, Home Visits, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, MCH programs, Maine, Medicaid, Model programs, New York, Parent support services, Policy, Prenatal care

Annotation: This report provides information about the relationship between oral health and behavioral health among people experiencing homelessness (PEH). It discusses the impact of behavioral illness on oral health and how behavioral health professionals and oral health professionals can work together to address problems. It offers background on behavioral health and oral health and addresses the relationship between the two, the prevalence of behavioral health issues and oral disease in PEH, barriers to accessing health care among PEH, consequences of behavioral health issues and oral disease, access to health care among POH, and COVID-19’s impact on health care delivery.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Behavioral medicine, Disease transmission, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration, Virus diseases

Annotation: This issue brief describes key characteristics of children with special health care needs and explores insurance affordability, adequacy of coverage, and benefits for children covered by Medicaid/CHIP compared to those with private insurance only. The brief provides a context for ongoing policy discussions around additional investments in Medicaid, including home and community-based services (HCBS), for children with special health care needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Health care costs, Health insurance, Home care, Medicaid, Public assistance, Special health care services, Statistics

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 1800 M Street, NW, Suite 740S, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.awhonn.org/

• Preview Of 3rd Edition

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This policy brief examines how six states structure, finance and provide home health services that are designed to provide important home-based care and family supports, improve quality of care, and avoid costly, hospitalizations and institutionalized care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Home care services, Medicaid, State programs

Annotation: This report reviews health services research findings on community health workers (CHWs) and considers key challenges for CHWs to improve health care delivery, including oral health care delivery. Topics include major roles for CHWs in the health care system, a national profile of CHWs, evidence on the clinical impact of CHWs, the policy impact potential for CHW interventions, opportunities for reimbursement through Medicaid, and state and health care innovation models.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Hubert H. Humphrey Building, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 415 F, Washington, DC 20201, Web Site: http://aspe.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Barriers, Community health aides, Community role, Culturally competent services, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Home health aides, Low income groups, Medicaid, Minority groups, Oral health, Patient care teams, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems, Standards, Sustainability, Training, Work force

Annotation: This report reviews research on parenting practices and identifies effective practices. The report also recommends ways agencies and others can support interventions that help more parents learn about effective parenting practices. A brief and webinar are also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Home visiting, Parenting support services, Prevention programs, Research

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This fact sheet for Title V programs, clinicians, and family leaders provides information about the potential effect of Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Topics include requirements for managed care organizations in CHIP and opportunities to mitigate potential unintended negative consequences of Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN and their families. Promising practices and strategies from states are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Contract services, Enrollment, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Model programs, Primary care, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Youth

Annotation: These resources for home visitors are designed to help families establish good oral health habits and obtain oral health care. The items are intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: Washington Dental Service Foundation, P.O. Box 75983, Seattle, WA 98175-0983, Telephone: (206) 528-2373 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.kidsoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Home visiting, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

Annotation: This document provides information about the costs and benefits of high quality home visiting programs for families with children from birth to age 5 in Virginia. Topics include the impact of home visiting on student performance, family health, and community economic well-being.

Contact: Virginia Home Visiting Consortium, James Madison University, The Institute for Innovation in Health and Human Services, Harrisonburg, VA , Telephone: (540) 568-5251 Fax: (540) 568-6409 E-mail: homevisitingconsortium.jmu.edu Web Site: http://www.homevisitingva.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Family health, Financing, Home visiting, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, School readiness, State MCH programs, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This brief presents 10-year trends in several key health and wellness indicators for infants and children from birth to age 5 in California. The indicators are health insurance coverage, source of medical care, dental visits, overweight-for-age, parents singing and reading to their child and going out with their child, and preschool attendance.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Children, Dental care, Health insurance, Infants, Medical home, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reading, School attendance, School readiness, Trends

Annotation: This report describes medical home and dental home models of care, Affordable Care Act–related health care system changes, and options for integrating oral health care and other health care. Topics include medical-dental integration approaches, features of highly integrated systems, integrating oral health into medical and health home models, integrating oral health into training programs, advantages and barriers to integration, and future directions for the patient-centered dental home.

Contact: University of Iowa, Center for Social Science Innovation, 605 E. Jefferson Street, Social Sciences Research Building, Iowa City, IA 52242, Telephone: (319) 335-6800 Fax: (319) 335-6801 Web Site: https://cssi.research.uiowa.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Family centered services, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical home, Model programs, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient care, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, Service integration

Annotation: This brochure describes a program to prevent and/or reduce the risk of maternal alcohol and drug abuse by providing home visitation and intervention over a 3-year period by trained and supervised case managers. Contents include a description of the program goals, approach, client outcomes, and eligibility criteria. Topics include helping mothers build and maintain healthy independent family lives, assuring that children are in safe and stable homes, and preventing future births of alcohol and drug-exposed children.

Contact: University of Washington Health Sciences Administration, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit, 180 Nickerson Street, Suite 309, Seattle, WA 98109, Telephone: (206) 543-7155 Fax: (206) 685-2903 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/fadu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Case management, Child safety, Drug abuse, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, High risk children, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Referrals, Risk factors, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Washington, Women

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines state and safety net provider policies and practices that support early entry into prenatal care using the patient-centered medical home (PCMH) as a conceptual framework. It is one in a series of fact sheets that showcase state policies and programs in four states -- California, Illinois, Massachusetts, and Washington -- that support improvement in early entry into prenatal care.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Fact Sheet Series Overview

Keywords: California, Community health centers, Early intervention, Illinois, Massachusetts, Medical home, Perinatal services, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Public policy, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a summary of the maternal and child health (MCH) related highlights and funding announcements of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and related implementation of the law in states. Topics include descriptions of individual provisions in these categories: prevention and public health, coverage and benefits, access to health care services, workforce, other key MCH investments, and healthcare quality.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Expanded eligibility, Federal health insurance programs, Financing, Health care reform, Home visiting, MCH services, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State health insurance programs, Work force

Annotation: This paper explores state policy activities to reduce costs while improving maternal and child health outcomes. In particular, the paper addresses reforms that have the potential to significantly improve outcomes for vulnerable populations such as children with special health care needs and women of color. Policy innovations described in the paper include medical and health homes, quality-based payment incentives, bundled payments for episodes of care, and accountable care organizations.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Health policy, MCH programs, MCH services, Medical home, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide provides information and guidance for working with pregnant and parenting youth, helping them as they develop both as individuals and as parents through positive casework interactions. The guide encourages a strengths-based approach to ensure the safety of both young parents and their children. It offers suggestions for engaging young parents in conferencing and supportive services while highlighting the importance of maintaining a young parent’s right to privacy and autonomy, and emphasize comprehensive planning for pregnant young people to promote well being, to minimize the need for court intervention, to ensure placement stability and to help young families move more quickly toward permanency. The guide is designed to be used primarily by provider agency case planners, but may also be useful to child protective staff, Family Services Unit staff, parent advocates, attorneys and others who work with this vulnerable population. Topics in planning and services for young parents in out of home care include: legal issues, father participation, collaborative planning and permanency, preventive services, child safety conferences, court intervention, pregnancy-related services, medical home visiting programs, parenting supports, counseling and mental health services, education, child care, and preparing a young parent for leaving foster care. Appendices provide resources for services in adolescent reproductive health, breastfeeding, the WIC program, support services and assistance, teen father support, mentoring and mental health, housing support, legal information, education, hoe visiting, and parenting education programs. Tips sheets are provided on mandatory reporting, early care and education, public housing, and transitional Medicaid.

Contact: New York City Administration for Children's Services, 150 William Street, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 341-0900 Secondary Telephone: (877) KIDSNYC E-mail: http://nyc.gov/html/mail/html/mailacs.html Web Site: http://www.nyc.gov/html/acs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Child welfare, Family support services, Foster care, New York, Out of home care, Parent education, Social services, State initiatives, Youth in transition programs