Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: Written from a nurse's perspective, this paper discusses the importance of handling the complex and unpredictable adolescent health issues that often present themselves within a clinical setting. As an example, the author describes an adolescent who seeks clinical treatment for a urinary tract infection, but she has a bruise on her face from an act of violence-- a more life-threatening health concern. The author asserts that wellness promotion, prevention strategies, policy development, and service delivery models are needed to address the complex health needs of adolescents. Supported in part by a grant from the Bureau of Child Health and Resource Development (MCJ 000978A)

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Holistic health, Nurse clinicians, Prevention

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on financial incentives, including value-based payment (VBP) models, that can improve adolescent care delivery and wellness by encouraging primary care providers to provide more holistic care that not only focuses on physical health concerns, but also addresses mental health, substance use, and other health-related social needs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health care financing, Holistic health, Model programs, Prevention

Annotation: This report is designed to assist the field of adolescent health in efforts to (1) undertake research to move the field of adolescent wellness forward; (2) translate research into policy and practice changes; and; (3) launch and promote efforts that will shape the narrative of adolescent wellness. The report offers a synthesis of perspectives, ideas, and commentary about adolescent wellness from thought leaders in the field, including researchers, advocates, funders, policy makers, practitioners, and officers from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Holistic health, Prevention, Research, Youth

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides consensus statements and recommendations resulting from a national dialogue on Effective Holistic Health for African Amereicans/Blacks convened by the Office of Minority Health in August 2010. The purpose of the dialogue was to address specific and outstanding concerns related to mental health, substance use/abuse, primary care, and the critically needed support services from a holistic health paradigm for Americans of African ancestry in the United States. The report includes four consensus statements developed by forty-five key leaders in health, religion, education, advocacy, and public policy, and recommendations calling for broad, inclusive and fully integrated approaches to behavioral health and primary care that achieve health equity across the life span.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (800)444-6472 Fax: (301)251-2160 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Conferences, Federal initiatives, Holistic health, Minority health, Reports

Annotation: This issue brief presents findings from interviews conducted with leaders of 12 medical home programs across the United States, focusing on how the model has benefitted adolescents. Topics include personal provider, physician-directed practice, whole person orientation, care coordination, quality and safety, enhanced access, and payment for excellence. Progress and challenges are discussed.

Contact: National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3557 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalalliance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Holistic health, Medical home, Physician patient relations, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Service coordination

Annotation: This book presents information on women's health from an holistic approach and using case studies. The book is divided into three parts. Part One: From External Control to Inner Guidance examines the cultural influence on women's health care, the mind-body connection, feminine intelligence and the female energy system. Part Two: The Anatomy of Women's Wisdom discusses reproduction, sexuality, fertility, childbearing, motherhood, and menopause. Part Three: Choices for Healing: Creating Your Personal Plan looks at steps for healing, medical care, nutrition, physical activity, and overall personal well being. An appendix provides choices in hormone replacement. References, resources and chapter notes are included.

Contact: Random House, Bantam Books, 1540 Broadway, New York, NY 10036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.randomhouse.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-553-37953-4.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Holistic health, Women', s health

Annotation: This book for health and community professionals and the general public discusses both traditional and alternative medical therapies for women's health issues throughout the life cycle. Part one outlines major health care issues and goals in the areas of physical, reproductive, and psycho-social-cultural-spiritual health. Part two covers traditional and alternative approaches to women's wellness including historical perspectives, psychological therapies, physical activities, nutrition, pharmacological therapies, herbal remedies, homeopathy, and acupuncture. Unique treatment options are also included such as spiritual approaches, music, drama and dance therapies, and therapeutic touch. Part three presents case studies of women's health care in Nicaragua, a use of art therapy, and storytelling as a holistic treatment. An index is provided.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1219-6.

Keywords: Acupuncture, Alternative medicine, Biofeedback, Case studies, Drug therapy, Herbs, Holistic health, Life cycle, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This book primarily discusses health issues generally affecting women from pre-menopause through climacteric, incorporating traditional medical and alternative health care practices. Topics include reproductive physiology and symptomology during pre- and postmenopausal phases; cardiovascular disease; osteoporosis; psychologic, sociologic, sexual and contraceptive issues; a total wellness program, hormonal and drug therapies; and complementary therapies and holistic medicine. Appendices, resources, guidelines for the care of women over 30, a list of sample questions for the health professional to ask the woman, and an index are also included.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-1654-3.

Keywords: Holistic health, Hormone Replacement Therapy, Menopause, Middle age, Osteoporosis, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women

Annotation: This colloquium discusses an integrative approach to the health of children in urban poverty. The holistic nature of children's health is the emphasis. The volume includes a bibliography of child health and urban poverty and a compilation of readings on this subject. A proposal for a supplement to the journal Pediatrics as a result of this colloquium is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Children, Conferences, Holistic health, Poverty, Urban health, Urban population

Annotation: This book traces a woman's life from infancy through middle age and beyond. The book is organized into 13 cycles of seven years each. The author uses both scientific data and anecdotal accounts in the examination of the life-cycle of a woman and the issues that pertain to each stage of life, emphasizing the bio-psycho-spiritual feedback loop that unfolds throughout a woman's life span. An appendix includes relaxation exercises, some guided meditations, a list of resources, and chapter notes.

Keywords: Holistic health, Life cycle, Spirituality, Women', s health

Annotation: This policy statement advocates a holistic, multidisciplinary approach to perinatal care. Topics addressed by the policy statement include: essential components of family centered perinatal care; reasons that the perinatal health care system has failed to integrate family centered philosophies; and the National Perinatal Association's 11 point family centered care agenda for achieving family-centered policies and practices through antepartum, neonatal, and postnatal care.

Contact: National Perinatal Association, 457 State Street, Binghampton, NY 13901, Telephone: (888) 971-3295 Fax: (703) 684-5968 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalperinatal.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family centered services, Health policy, Health promotion, Holistic health, Interdisciplinary approach, Perinatal care, Perinatal health