Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (202 total).

Texas Department of State Health Services. 2024. Oral health among Texas children: National survey of children's health, 2020-2021. Austin, TX: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on oral health among children and adolescents ages 1–17 in Texas in 2020–2021. The information is based on results of the 2021–2022 National Survey of Children's Health. Topics include the likelihood of children from high-income vs. lower-income households having excellent or very good teeth; the likelihood of Hispanic children vs. non-Hispanic children having excellent or very good teeth, differences in having had one or more preventive oral health visit, by age; and the overall condition of children's and adolescents' teeth, as reported by parents.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us Available from the website. Document Number: OHIP-107.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Child health, Data, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Hispanic Americans, Income factors, Oral health, Prevention, State information, Surveys, Texas

Hispanic Dental Association and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2023. Addressing the oral health needs of Hispanics in the U.S.: An exploration of oral health status, dental needs, utilization of dental services, and workforce. Boston, MA: Hispanic Dental Association and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 45 pp. (White paper, part 1)

Annotation: This paper provides information on addressing the oral health needs of Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Topics include challenges in implementing successful strategies to improve the oral health, overall health, and quality of life for this population and understanding oral health outcomes. Also addressed is use of oral health care, emergency department visits for nontraumatic oral conditions, understanding the link between oral health and congenital disabilities, and the oral health workforce. Public policy and oral health milestones from 1900 to 2022 are also presented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Emergency room, HIspanic Americans, Health care utilization, Oral health, Public policy

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity. 2022. Oral health equality project reports. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources related to the project, including a community-engagement survey available in English and in Spanish, an oral health status and knowledge survey, a discussion guide for facilitators to use with communities to learn about children’s oral health needs in the Worcester and Holyoke communities, and oral health profiles for Worcester and Holyoke. A data sheet that provides information about efforts to improve access to oral health care for black and Hispanic children ages 10–14 in these Massachusetts communities is also available.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Health Equity, 250 Washington St., 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5590 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-health-equity Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Blacks, Community programs, Health equity, Hispanic Americans, Massachusetts, Oral health

Osterman, Michelle J.K. 2022. Changes in primary and repeat cesarean delivery: United States, 2016–2021. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics., 11 pp. (Vital Statistics Rapid Release)

Annotation: This report presents trends in primary and repeat Cesarian delivery from 2016 to 2021, using data from the National Vital Statistics System. It finds that, although repeat Cesarian delivery decreased each year from 2016 to 2021, primary Cesarian rates increased for women under 40, for most race and Hispanicorigin groups, and for all gestational age. Color graphs and maps illustrate the changes by age, race, gestational age, US state, etc.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 2402, Hyattsville, MD 20782-2003, Telephone: (301) 458-4200 Fax: (301) 458-4022 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ncvhs.hhs.gov

Keywords: Cesarean section, Gestational age, Hispanic Americans, Race, Repeat cesarean birth

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Office of Behavioral Health Equity and Chau V. 2020. The opioid crisis and the Hispanic/Latino population: An urgent issue. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 27 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief addresses contextual issues related to opioid misuse and opioid use disorder in Hispanic/Latino communities, including national data, pain management, and sociocultural factors associated with accessing services, and strategies to address these problems.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: SAMHSA PEP20-05-02-002.

Keywords: Access to health care, Hispanic Americans, Opiates, Substance abuse, Substance use disorders, Treatment

Driscoll AK, Osterman MJK. 2018. Maternal characteristics of prenatal WIC receipt in the United States, 2016. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 7 pp. (NCHS data brief; no. 298)

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Lorenzo SB, Wilhite BC. 2017. Health and health care for all: Family resource brief (2nd ed., upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief presents resources for finding care, services and support and websites about health and health care for all families. Resources about the health of specific population groups are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Barriers, Bibliographies, Blacks, Cultural barriers, Electronic publications, Ethnic factors, Families, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Hotlines, Minority groups, Racial factors, Women

American College of Rheumatology, Lupus Foundation of America. 2017. Be Fierce. Take Control™. Atlanta, GA: American College of Rheumatology; Washington, DC: Lupus Foundation of America, multiple items.

Annotation: This public health campaign website was launched with the goal of educating and empowering young African American and Latino women (including those ages 15-18), who are most at-risk for developing lupus, to be aware of it signs and symptoms. The campaign uses the web, social media, digital advertising, and audience engagement to reach young women and educate them about the signs and symptoms of lupus. The campaign website also provides tools and resources such as the Lupus Foundation of America’s “Could it Be Lupus?” interactive questionnaire so those with possible symptoms can learn how to take that next step and talk to their health care provider.

Contact: Lupus Foundation of America, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 410, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 349-1155 Secondary Telephone: (800) 558-0121 Fax: (202) 349-1156 Web Site: http://www.lupus.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, African Americans, Autoimmune diseases, Early intervention programs, Empowerment, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Lupus erythematosus, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Self care, Women', s health

O'Hare WP, Mayol-Garcia Y, Wildsmith E, Torres A. 2016. The invisible ones: How Latino children are left out of our Nation's census count. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends Hispanic Institute and the National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials Educational Fund,

Annotation: This report identifies issues associated with the undercount of young Hispanic children in the U.S. Census and provides recommendations to improve the accuracy of the count in the next census. Contents include information about the net undercount of young Latino children by state and by county, drivers of the undercount, and strategies to reduce it by 2020. Topics include identifying and pursuing research questions, developing networks that will reach households with young children, raising awareness among stakeholders, targeting outreach to locations with concentrations of Latino families, leveraging government programs that serve children and existing partnerships with local organizations, and reaching out to health professionals and families of preschoolers.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Families, Hispanic Americans, Neighborhoods, Networking, Outreach, Participation, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Young children

Wilson K. 2015. Reducing health insurance inequities among Latino families raising children with special health care needs. Boston, MA: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of policies, including provisions of the Affordable Care Act, that help reduce the uninsurance rate among Latinos and narrow inequities in coverage. Topics include efforts to address coverage inequities experienced by Latino families as a whole and also those of Latino children with complex care needs for whom uninsurance may be particularly damaging to health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Ethnic groups, Families, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hispanic Americans, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Special health care needs, Young adults

U.S. Office of Minority Health. 2015. Promoting healthy choices and community changes: An e-learning program for promotores de salud. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Minority Health, 1 v.

Annotation: This course for promotores de salud (community health workers) comprises four units about understanding healthy choices, helping people make healthy choices, understanding community change, and helping people make community change. The course can by used by individuals or by groups of individuals. Contents include a video introduction; quizzes; stories; examples; and handouts that summarize each unit including key points, definitions, and questions to consider and discuss. Users can choose to answer the questions at the end of each unit and print a certificate of completion or receive a certificate by email. The units can be completed in sequence or in any order and in whole or in part. The course is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health workers, Decision making, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Social change, Spanish language materials, Training

Barrett M, Breen N, Casale C, Fingar K, Gomez M, Heslin K, Moy E, Velasco J, Wilson-Frrederick S. 2015. 2014 national healthcare quality and disparities report: Chartbook on Hispanic health care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 116 pp.

Annotation: This report commemorates the 30th anniversary of the Report of the Secretary's Task Force on Black and Minority Health (Heckler Report), highlights progress for Hispanics on priorities of the Heckler Report, summarizes trends in health care for Hispanic populations related to access to health care and National Quality Strategy priorities, and presents information on health care received by residents of the U.S.-Mexico border. Topics include cancer; diabetes; HIV/AIDS; injury prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health; oral health; and respiratory diseases.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Hispanic Americans, Measures, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Rural health, Trends

Salud America!. 2015. Health navigators in elementary schools increase Latinos' access to health services. [San Antonio, TX: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Institute for Health Promotion Research], 8 pp. (Health equity success story)

Annotation: This document describes a partnership model between a local health department and a school district to eliminate barriers to health care among Latinos by embedding bilingual, bicultural health navigators in elementary schools. Topics include efforts to build awareness, frame the issue, educate and mobilize partners, debate and frame policy, make change happen, and implement an equitable and sustainable program. A video is also available.

Contact: Salud America!, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, Institute for Health Promotion Research, 7411 John Smith, Suite 1000, San Antonio, TX 78229, Telephone: (210) 562-6500 Fax: (210) 562-6545 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://salud-america.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Access to health care, Coordination, Culturally competent services, Elementary schools, Financing, Medicaid, Model programs, Parents, Program descriptions, School districts, School health services, State programs, Students, Teachers

National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health. 2014. Women of color health data book (4th ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health, 98 pp.

Annotation: This document is intended for use by policy makers and advocates of women's health issues. It addresses issues of minority women's health, covering Native Americans, Hispanics, African Americans, Asian Americans, with special attention to adolescent and elderly women. Information is presented about life expectancy, major causes of death, behavior and lifestyles, risk factors, prenatal health care services, access to health insurance and services, and morbidity and mortality. The document includes numerous graphs, and a list of references. It concludes with recommendations to improve the health of women of color.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 98-4247.

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Morbidity, Older adults, Risk factors, Statistics, Women', s health

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2014. About our health: Results from the Hispanic community health study/study of Latinos. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 41 pp. (Hispanic community heath study)

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to document the health of Hispanics/Latinos in selected United States locations. All content is presented in English and Spanish and includes a description of the study and participants and results across the field centers (Bronx, NY; Chicago, IL; Miami, IL; and San Diego, CA) in the following areas: asthma, oral health (based on a dental exam), depression, diabetes, heart disease, high blood pressure, and health habits. Tips to improve health are also included.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health behavior, Health promotion, Health status, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Research, Spanish language materials

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. 2014. Strategies for behavioral health organizations to promote new health opportunities in Latino and Hispanic communities. Rockville, MD: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 3 pp.

McDaniel M, Popkin SJ, Berman J, Barahona P, Saxena P, Quint D, Teach SJ. 2014. Making sense of childhood asthma: Lessons for building a better system of care. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 33 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights key findings from a qualitative exploratory study about asthma care for African American and Latino children ages 4-14 from families with low incomes in Washington, DC. Topics include poor housing, the lack of health professionals in low-income neighborhoods, the gap between acute and chronic care, barriers to asthma management, and lessons for improving asthma care and children's asthma outcomes. The appendices contain information about the study sample, recruitment, lessons learned, and focus group and one-on-one interview discussion guides.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Blacks, Children, Chronic diseases and disabilities, Critical care, Disease management, Hispanic Americans, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Pediatric care, Program improvement, Research

Leadership for Healthy Communities. 2014. Overweight and obesity among Latino youths. Washington, DC: Leadership for Healthy Communities, 5 pp.

Moore KA, Caal S, Rojas A, Lawner EK. 2014. Child Trends' evaluation of the Abriendo Puertas/Opening Doors program: Executive summary and discussion brief. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends Hispanic Institute, 6 pp.

Murphey D, Guzman L, Torres A. 2014. America's Hispanic children: Gaining ground, looking forward. Bethesda, MD: Child Trends, 35 pp.

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.