Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project attempted to improve the health status of children in families in which one or both parents have mental retardation by reducing the risks associated with lack of immunization, poor nutrition, undiagnosed medical or developmental problems, injuries, and inadequate early stimulation. Efforts included both direct services (such as immunization, screening, and home care programs) and a consultation and technical assistance program aimed at improving the accessibility of the service delivery system for these children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-201051.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Barriers to Health Care, Health Education, High risk children, High risk groups: Families, Mental Retardation, Parents, Parents with disabilities, Preventive Health Care, Primary Care

Annotation: The main goal of this project was to improve services for infants and toddlers with disabilities (or at risk for disabililties) and for their families by developing an interstate network for early identification and intervention services for this population. Activities included a national network meeting, two regional conferences, an intensive course, small topical meetings, consultations, publications, and a newsletter. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103373.

Keywords: American Public Welfare Association, Children', Collaboration of Care, EPDST, Early Intervention, Environmental Risk, Families, Family-Based Health Care, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Coalition, High risk infants, Networking, PL 99-457, WIC Program, s Defense Fund

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce the incidence of poor health characteristics among low-income, culturally diverse populations by promoting the involvement of primary care physicians (pediatricians) in early screening and intervention. Project goals included increasing the level of preventive health care for underserved children, reducing the severity of psychosocial problems, increasing physicians' sense of involvement as part of a team in providing services to project children and their families, and demonstrating a practical process for accomplishing these goals which can be replicated across the nation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152833.

Keywords: American Academy of Pediatrics, Child Abuse and Neglect Preventive, Continuing Education, Developmentally Delayed/Disabled, EPSDT, Hawaiians, Health Care, Health Supervision Guidelines, High risk children, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary Care, Psychological Problems, Well Child Care

Annotation: This project's goals were to provide comprehensive community-based nutrition consultation services to children with special health needs, nutrition-related intervention to children and adolescents identified as high risk for future coronary heart disease, and nutrition-related weight management services to children and adolescents identified as obese. The objectives were to: (1) Make available a comprehensive nutritional program for children with handicapping conditions or chronic diseases by means of screening and, if needed, through their involvement in a nutrition care plan; (2) identify at an early age and screen for hypercholesterolemia those children and adolescents who have a family history of coronary heart disease and to provide them and their families with subsequent dietary and other risk factory counseling; and (3) make available a comprehensive, individualized regional weight management program for obese children and adolescents and their families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-152916.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Handicapped High risk children, Heart Disease, Nutrition, WIC Program

Annotation: Project AIMS worked to strengthen the capacity of Maine's service system (including P.L. 99-457 efforts) to meet the emotional health needs of young children (birth to 5 years old) and their families. The project objectives were to: (1) Establish a multidisciplinary network of project associates; (2) develop and field-test an emotional health brief assessment tool for children birth to 5 years old; (3) recommend to the service network methods of conducting comprehensive psychosocial assessments of children/families with emotional difficulties; and (4) strengthen treatment services which facilitate attachment, interaction, mastery, and support within families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-158608.

Keywords: 99-457, Community-Based Health Services, Coordination of Health Care, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Emotional Health, High risk children, High risk groups: Families, L, P, Parent-Child Interaction, Screening Tools

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This tool is designed to help health professionals implement oral health risk assessment for infants and children from birth to age 6 during health supervision visits. The tool, which can be used to document dental caries risk, presents a checklist for evaluating the oral health status of a child that includes risk factors, protective factors, and clinical findings, as well as an assessment and plan. Guidance on the factors in the checklist and color photographs depicting clinical findings are included. The tool is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental caries, High risk groups, Infants, Oral health, Protective factors, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Risk factors, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration

Annotation: This chartbook provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children. The chartbook provides data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and other health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, High risk children, High risk infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]zzz

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration

Annotation: This paper describes a multi-state technical assistance project on statewide approaches to address adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) across the lifespan, starting in June 2020. It addresses the goals, policy, and programs developed and launched by five states (Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wyoming) that were selected to participate in the project by the National Governors Association and its partner organizations. A summary of the states’ work focuses on the following: (1) Establishing trauma-informed states by creating a holistic, cross-agency vision for cultural change; (2) Developing a common, statewide language and lens around trauma and ACEs and implementing universal trauma awareness communications and/or training; (3) Improving the quality of ACEs surveillance data; and (4) Increasing access to ACEs screening and developing a comprehensive, trauma-informed system of care. Highlighted are lessons learned from states that served as models for statewide approaches that prevent and address ACEs (e.g., disruption in family life, loss of income, food insecurity, and social isolation) and the development of trauma-informed policies (Alaska, California, New Jersey, and Tennessee).

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Family health, High risk children, High risk families: Trauma, Model programs, Policy development, Prevention, Risk factors, State initiatives, Stress

Annotation: This report presents findings, conclusions, and recommendations from case reviews of overdose poison deaths among infants, children, and adolescents up to age 17 in Virginia for the five year period between 2009 and 2013. Topics include how overdose is impacting infants and children and their families in Virginia, which children are at risk, where are they at risk, how are they at risk, and what can be done to further promote health and safety in their lives. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Office of the Chief Medical Examiner, 400 East Jackson Street, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 786-3174 Fax: (804) 371-8595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/medical-examiner Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Child death review, Child safety, Children, Health promotion, High risk groups, Household safety, Infants, Injury prevention, Opiates, Poisoning, Prescription drugs, Virginia

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document summarizes state reporting on the quality of health care service for children covered by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during the fiscal year. which generally covers care delivered during the calendar year. Contents include detailed analyses of state performance on publicly reported measures. Topics include the child core set, primary care access and preventive care, perinatal care, care of acute and chronic conditions, behavioral health care, oral health services, and trends in state performance. Reference tables and additional resources are also included. The information presented is abstracted from the Annual Secretary's Report on the Quality of Care for Children in Medicaid and CHIP.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Acute care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Chronic illnesses and disabilities, High risk children, Measures, Medicaid, Mental health, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report details the Mother and Infant Home Visiting Program Evaluation-Strong Start (MIHOPE-Strong Start) process of acquiring administrative vital records and Medicaid data from 20 states and more than 40 state agencies. MIHOPE-Strong Start examines the effectiveness of home visiting services on improving birth and maternal health outcomes for women who are enrolled in Medicaid or the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP), as well as their effectiveness at reducing costly health care encounters. The study relies on administrative data to measure infant and maternal health, health care use, and cost outcomes. The MIHOPE-Strong Start experience sheds light on the process of acquiring permission to access such data.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative problems, Children', Confidentiality, Costs, Data collection, Health care utilization, Health status, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Infants, Measures, Medicaid, Multimedia, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brochure describes a program to prevent and/or reduce the risk of maternal alcohol and drug abuse by providing home visitation and intervention over a 3-year period by trained and supervised case managers. Contents include a description of the program goals, approach, client outcomes, and eligibility criteria. Topics include helping mothers build and maintain healthy independent family lives, assuring that children are in safe and stable homes, and preventing future births of alcohol and drug-exposed children.

Contact: University of Washington Health Sciences Administration, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Institute, Fetal Alcohol and Drug Unit, 180 Nickerson Street, Suite 309, Seattle, WA 98109, Telephone: (206) 543-7155 Fax: (206) 685-2903 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://depts.washington.edu/fadu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Case management, Child safety, Drug abuse, Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, High risk children, High risk mothers, Home visiting, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program descriptions, Referrals, Risk factors, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services, Washington, Women

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-888393-28-9.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Crisis intervention, Developing countries, Disasters, High risk groups, International health, Mothers

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Anxiety, Child mental health, High risk children, Initiatives, Intervention, Risk factors, Stress

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the health and mental health needs of girls and boys in the juvenile justice system and the role of Medicaid in addressing those needs. It focuses on the circumstances of those girls and boys who are placed in juvenile justice residential facilities, the discontinuity of Medicaid coverage for those youth, and the options for improving coverage, continuity of care and access to needed services post-discharge, including opportunities provided by the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Data, Health insurance, High risk adolescents, Juvenile justice, Medicaid, Mental health, Program improvement, State Children', Youth, s Health Insurance Program

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children', Data, Family health, High risk children, Life change events, Maltreated children, Statistics, Trauma, s mental health